Reviews for Shank 2

80

A good 2D game

patacon | June 14, 2014 | See all patacon's reviews »

From the few games I like 2D cooperative truth, the story is very good, the graphics are also quite good although the type of game that after a while you end up boring, besides that when a friend who never juice is a great opportunity because this game will also have a local and online multiplayer, plus local split screen is not, therefore, both players play full screen. If you like 2D games I recommend you buy it and play it, and if not, I recommend you look at gameplay because you can start too like, is not the kind of traditional 2D games, I love that. 8/10

84

The Indie that Shanked Me

AkiMatti | May 23, 2014 | See all AkiMatti's reviews »

Like the screenshots and the video probably will already tell you, Shank 2 is a sidescrolling platforming action game where you will shoot and kill more enemies than you thought possible. The genre is very old and you would think not much more can be added to it, but Shank 2 is so well executed that it will entertain even the genre veterans. It doesn't provide anything new to the genre itself, but what it does, it does very well.

For even more fun, it is possible to play as a team in the coop mode. Yeah, you can guess that is makes the game even more entertaining!

A solid addition to 2d sidescrolling action games. Well worth the money!

80

Interesting and Great Combat

weiweikee | Nov. 17, 2013 | See all weiweikee's reviews »

Shank 2 have multiple controls which are relatively easy to learn. Eventhough the animation of combat are repetitive, I think it has relatively good variety of combat animation for a side scrolling action RPG game. The story campaign mode is a good few hours of game play.There are multiple characters you can unlock through single player campaign mode. These character can be use for the multi-player co-op mode where you can play with another friend in a short & fun survival/wave clearing game. Overall, it got an interesting game even though it only got short single game play and limited multiplayer gameplay.

80

Not quite like the first one

magusonline | Nov. 8, 2013 | See all magusonline's reviews »

You will not find yourself enthralled with the repetitive gameplay and encounters as it does not offer much in terms of expansion from the first one. Given that this was still one of their earlier titles, Klei Entertainment has since come a long way.

The combat engine, made it an impossibility to die in this game. Lunge chaining grants you frames of invulnerability during the lung and during the execution.

It's still a nice game. But, nothing that will keep you interested.

85

You will never get bored!

safzan02 | Oct. 15, 2013 | See all safzan02's reviews »

Shank 2 is a 2D Indie Masterpiece. It has a very good storyline, awesome gameplay and a very good multiplayer! The first Shank had only local co-op and the new Shank 2 presents you a very good Steam support that connects you with players around the world. There is also a local co-op mode in the game. Survival mode is the multiplayer mode in which teamwork is a very important part of the game. You can earn upgrades that will help you defeat the enemies and gold is dropped from enemies when you kill them which you can buy items that will help you surviving. (Health, distraction, etc.) Overall, the game is awesome and perfect. Couldn't give it a 100 as it is not a REALISM SIMULATOR. Developers did a very good job on the game. Worth buying, you will never regret as the multiplayer never gets boring.

73

Shank 2 - review

Neapolis47 | Oct. 6, 2013 | See all Neapolis47's reviews »

Shank 2 is a side-scrolling action where you run, jump from platform to platform and from time to time to climb, but mostly to take out enemies. The heart of the title is definitely the combat system, greatly improved compared to its predecessor. We will bring with us three types of weapons: a knife, a weapon for close combat weapon and for long distances. In addition we will have our mines, grenades, molotovs and the ability to launch on enemies a vast variety of objects found in the levels. The programmers have decided to replace the co-op campaign present in the first Shank with a new survival mode, fun and well structured, but unable to extend the offer of the game for a long time. Shank 2 is a good sequel, but unfortunately once again, longevity is the weak point of the game.

87

Even better than the original

BlockAgent | Sept. 9, 2013 | See all BlockAgent's reviews »

The equal to Shank took everything great about the original and made it even better. This was a very fun game to play through. The character unlocks and medals to earn kept me playing beyond the first play-through as well. I love the art design in this game.

78

Surprisingly good

DanielZo0 | Aug. 31, 2013 | See all DanielZo0's reviews »

I didn't played the first Shank game, so I don't know in which ways the sequel differs. A trailer shows us a bloodbath action gameplay and everything seems so awesome, but after you play a few chapters it becomes a very boring, repetitive game. There is small variety of weapons, only three in each category, but the good thing is that every weapon has it's unique combination of hits and finishing moves, so you can choose what you like the most. As for enemies, there are few kinds, they use melee and ranged weapons, also there are "gorillas" - that's how I call these big guys, which are harder to kill. In some point you will have to use a minigun turret to kill incoming enemy and some other things to do, which I don't want to spoil. And the gameplay is based on the story, so it's not just a hit'n'smash game. Graphics are really nice, especially when you slice enemy with chainsaw or do counter-attack. But there is one problem with mouse cursor, somehow it won't disappear to some players and is visible in game, so I think there will be a patch to fix this. Despite that, it's not that bad game, which have a big potential, but in current time it lacks variety of gameplay and length of it. But worth the time to play it.

90

Great 2D Game

Viirukkin | Aug. 24, 2013 | See all Viirukkin's reviews »

I enjoyed the first Shank,and this one didn't disappointed me! It has an awesome style and the way the game is drawn i say it's amazing! The boss fights are pretty hard i must say,but you kinda enjoy beating that bad guy's "back". In Shank 2 the story it's better presented than his older broter(Shank),maintaining the beat'em up and kill everything style. If you are out of games to play and have money to spend,consider buying Shank 2,and if you like it why not buy the whole series?It worths every penny

90

You will never regret it!

InBu | Aug. 24, 2013 | See all InBu's reviews »

Skank 1 was awsome game with nice gameplay and for indie game cool graphics, it had a nice story line...But Shank 2 is not different then previouse release it has nice gameplay and ool graphics. You will love how shank was made just because of it's graphics and story line. And i dont want to tell you about gameplay or controls because they are just awsome. Buy it right now...:)

76

Stylish beat 'em up

y1985 | Aug. 23, 2013 | See all y1985's reviews »

Shank 2 is straight forward Action 2D beat 'em up style. the graphic is nice, stylish but pack-up with violence too. The type of game is the best when you play together with your friends.

If you like beat 'em up style, you're gonna like Shank 2.

72

Too Short

iamkyo90 | Aug. 21, 2013 | See all iamkyo90's reviews »

The game is good is the same as the first it seemed very complicated very short keyboard only for four hours I found much shorter than the one hold till a certain point no inovation conparado with the first best is the number of characters that are much weaponry the story is good to this in English at least the price is stable Spaniards to the game is best played with nothing but megusto control was the main enemy in the fight mita show video palisa that

84

Shank no regret...

Gojko | Aug. 20, 2013 | See all Gojko's reviews »

You play first part, and you like it... than second part will nail you to your chair. Shank 2, fighting action beat 'em up game with very good 2D pen draw-ed graphic. Seven levels of very good fun and bosses on end of every level will give you a couple of hours of very good fun.

You finish game, don't worry there is a very good multi-player where you can continue to beat on various ways enemies with your friend.

83

Great!

hellinperson | Aug. 19, 2013 | See all hellinperson's reviews »

Shank 2 is a 2D beat 'em up game and it is the sequel to Shank. Shank was a good game and Shank 2 is even better. The graphic style remains the same. The story is better presented in comparison to the first game. Controls could be better, but I still enjoyed the game. Play it!

75

Good

Bolo | Aug. 19, 2013 | See all Bolo's reviews »

This is a typical 2D shooter (think Contra), but it's ultra bloody and surprisingly deep. There are six or seven single player levels and the boss fights are pretty difficult and very fun. However, this game shines in the multi-player.The multi-player is basically your typical 'horde' mode...buy items to help with different rounds of different types of enemies...but it's really deep (unlockable characters galore) and with a friend is a blast. Choose your character based on their strengths and weaknesses and go nuts. I could spend hours with this type of game.