Reviews for Shelter

81

A Unique Adventure

bwrussell | July 8, 2014 | See all bwrussell's reviews »

In a world of clones, look-alikes, and generic brown hallways, Shelter is a breath of fresh air. Much like the fresh air your digital badger family is undoubtedly breathing as you guide them through the beautiful and often dangerous world of Shelter.

Obviously the most readily noticeable aspect of Shelter is the unique sort of washed out/watercolor/paper-craft aesthetic. It might look overly washed out in screen shots and videos but while playing it that wasn't my feeling at all. In fact there is a lot of variety between levels, scenery and color palette wise. While the game is relatively short, you can rush it in under 2 hours (not recommended) but typical length is probably 3 hours, if you're engaged it's quite tense. It does a good job of making you aware that there is danger but not directly showing it to you. It's up to you to determine what is safe and what isn't and if you let your guard down or take to big of a risk it will likely result in the death of a cub. Above all else though, finish the game. The ending has that sort of perspective shifting impact that can stick with you beyond even the context of the game. Overall Shelter is a great example as games as art, even beyond it's aesthetics and in it's mechanics and message.

Shelter is a game I think everyone should play, it's well worth the time, at least once. The standard price might be a little steep for a once-through experience so unless quirky little indies are your thing wait until you find a sale price and then absolutely jump all over it.

71

An artistic and engaging game, but very short.

BlockAgent | April 12, 2014 | See all BlockAgent's reviews »

Shelter has a very unique and enchanting art design. Little bits and pieces you will notice while playing the game will make you smile. The gameplay is engaging and the controls work well. This game makes you truly worry about your badger babies. The game is very short though. The first time I played through it I beat it with 2 out of 5 babies surviving and it only took me 1.3 hours. The game runs smoothly but has some weird flickering sometimes between levels and at the ending scene where you see your desktop for a split second a few times. Odd, but it never crashes the game.

75

Excellent Premise

Helicuor | Dec. 13, 2013 | See all Helicuor's reviews »

This game looked like it was going to be incredible. A game where you play as a badger, guiding her cubs to safety? Having to choose between which of your cubs to feed? A brilliant art style? It looked so promising. And true, the game delivers in many ways. The art style is brilliant; the faded world feels immersive; the flora and fuana are excellently stylized, and the game's excellent sound design draws you in. Unfortunately, the gameplay falls a little flat. Waiting and waiting for predators to leave so you can pass got stale quick. The feeding mechanic is rather pointless, as there is never a scarcity of food that it makes you choose between your cubs. Overall still a fairly good game, but it could have been so much better.

76

Pretty good

Bytrine | Dec. 2, 2013 | See all Bytrine's reviews »

Who knew in an era where Zombie Survival games are coming out left and right, a lone badger simulator survivor game would release. This game is very unique and I haven't enjoyed it as much as I should. You are a badger and you must take care of your offspring by feeding them and making shelter. But that's not the only danger, there are various animals who would love to eat your kids. If I could be a badger trying to survive with offspring, this is how i would imagine it. Great work, and definitely worth trying out.

53

Badger's Little Helper..

XGpredator | Nov. 25, 2013 | See all XGpredator's reviews »

Despite his pitch that seems out of the parody Twitter account PeterMolydeux, the idea of ​​ embody an animal and create a virtual link is not bad, on the contrary. In practice, however, minimalism gameplay eventually cause real trouble and not particularly Shelter manages to create that famous sense of involvement. There has to be a sense of unfinished business in Shelter, a feeling that things were not pushed through. Remains an experimental aspect that will seduce the most curious.

85

Amazing

gforcesa | Nov. 5, 2013 | See all gforcesa's reviews »

This is probably the best indie game I have played and enjoyed from start to finish.The levels are quite fun and the graphics are well done.You play as a Badger that needs to protect his younglings from dangerous predators like Eagles and foxes.If you want to play something different from all the other indie games you should definitely try this one.

80

Great Concept

wire306 | Sept. 7, 2013 | See all wire306's reviews »

Really enjoying playing this game and a few things to point out are the art style, music and play style. The art is done amazingly and I really like the style, however other users may not be looking for this sort of game. The music is well done and in-sync with the game style which is not so fast paced but definitely keeps you on the edge of your seat. Overall, it's a very neat game to use your time on.

84

GRRRREAT!

DanielZo0 | Sept. 1, 2013 | See all DanielZo0's reviews »

I must say I am yet to finish the game, I am on the third "level" (the one with the raging river), but got stuck and that presents an opportunity to molt from badger back into human form and try to write a few thoughts down. I must say, the game introduced itself a bit harsh to me, because in the first few minutes I had no freaking idea what to do. I could quickly determine the controls move the camera with the mouse, standard WASD movement, "crouching" with Control, left-click calls for your kids, or grab the item in front of you but I was confined to a few meters of an underground den with five of my offspring. One of them did not move at all, was quite different color than the others, and could not do anything with him. I don't want to completely spoil the beginning, so I just say that this was not a bug, it's a feature, a steep uphill start of the learning curve. Because in the end I learned that the hungrier the little badgers are the more grayish they become. So, comparing the colors give you an advice which one to give the food to. Anyway, when the family is whole the game starts, indicated by the appearance of the creators' names, and you can leave the den. The following few minutes are pretty straightforward, with help from on-screen advices of your badger's abilities. You learn how to gather food, eventually you can try yourself at hunting (fing frogs...), and become a professional badger mom. If you anticipate an open-world, sandbox survival game, you'll be disappointed, just as well if you'd like to see your badger get involved in jump-kick duels with other forest animals. Most of the time you will scour the area for food, mostly apples, carrots and some other thingies you pull out of the ground. Sometimes you get to hunt other animals, but be careful, you get one shot each time, so you better succeed. In fact I quite understand the frogs that once they reach the safety of water after being chased around they would not stick their noses out again, but still, fk them. Luckily, in my experience, it is not a matter of utmost importance to be a good hunter; a vegetarian diet still provides enough nutrition for the kids to not die of hunger, and vegetables does not flee or hide. But the time will come when _you_ better do that. A giant bird of prey patrols the sky at the end of the first level, and it is a deadly threat to the kids. But you must cross that field, you just have to. Do what your instinct tells you (or me), stay in high grass, and only move when the bird is moving away from your position (its shadow is a great help). Don't try to outrun it on long distances. When you reach the knocked over trunk at the other side of the field, you're safe. At least until the next level starts. It is nighttime, and I must say the game becomes more a survival horror than the Resident Evil series recently. It's dark, with only one or two meters around you lit up, and strange noises can be heard. And sometimes _something_ gets close. A branch cracks just a few meters away, and your offspring start to flee, getting out of your "aura" quickly. You cannot call them back, so you must follow them if you want to see all of them again. That is where I lost the first little badger. I'm not saying I started to cry, but frankly, what I felt was far from happiness. And that is where the game is the strongest. You may or may not like the style of the graphics, but somehow you get attached (at least I did) to those five little badgers whose survival depends entirely on you. They may spot the food, gather and hop excitedly around it, but they can't get it, they need your help. They would be easy prey for that bird, but with caution you can lead them to safety. Other than that the only thing remaining to "review" is the music, but I think that is even more subjective than the graphics. Personally, I like it. I am sure they spent a great deal of time with it, too. At last, let me tell you why I gave it an 8, instead of 10, which otherwise the game would deserve, in my opinion. First, I think it has no real replay value. There are no difficulty levels, and the levels are pre-made. I may start it over again some time after I finish it, but I think there will be no surprises left by that time. However, that still would only decrease the score to around 9.8, but, as I mentioned in the sentence, I managed to be stuck on the third level. Not adventure-like stuck, not knowing what to do or where to go, but bug-like stuck in the river after an (unsuccessful) frog-chase (really, f*k those guys). My badger just stood in the water, and did not react to the controls. The only option was to exit, and restart the level. Yep, no checkpoints, except at the start of the levels, but that alone wouldn't be a real issue. However, bugs exist, and this game looks bug-free otherwise. Final words: I don't know how long the game is, but, I must say, I did spend far more than 9 euros on far worse games, so I am not complaining.

85

Completely different survival game

ivangroznyi1 | Aug. 30, 2013 | See all ivangroznyi1's reviews »

How many times were you given a chance to play as a badger? And how many of these times you were a female badger? A badger mother? Well, in Shelter you will have a chance.

Shelter is a survival game, but this time you won't be playing a postapocalyptic wanderer or a shipwrecked traveler. You will be a little animal that has to look after her children, feed them, and protect them. In the meantime it has to avoid dangers, and well, not spoiling too much of the story, simply survive. Don't expect hyper realistic graphics here. What you get is stylized and pretty unique indie visual creation, which fortunately suits the subject and doesn't distract from game. Even though it's not a complex game, you shouldn't be disappointed if you're open-minded enough to play as a little furry animal.

60

A very strange game

zonzon | Aug. 28, 2013 | See all zonzon's reviews »

In this game, you won't be playing as a soldier, nor an adventurer. You play as a badger that must raise her cubs. They will have to be fed, and there will have many dangers for them and for you like foxes or other animals.

The artistic direction is quite special, this is a cousin of cel-shading that looks good. Not awesome, but as expected for an indie game, it has really something particular.

72

Good

Bolo | Aug. 26, 2013 | See all Bolo's reviews »

Shelter is developed by a team of Might and Delight action-adventure game. You play the Badger who is trying to survive in the forest predators. We need to take care not only about himself but also about a troop of our offspring.