Reviews for The Sims 4 (NA)

100

Loving this game!

iZombieLexxi | Dec. 19, 2014 | See all iZombieLexxi's reviews »

I absolutely adore The Sims 4. It seems as though people keep forgetting it's a BASE GAME. Even so, with all the FREE content we're getting it's great. They've added many things back into the game that people were complaining about. The building features of this game are spectacular. Instead of taking hours building one tiny, little house in The Sims 3; you can spend less time building, furnishing, decorating and well, the whole sha-bang, in The Sims 4. It a lot less time consuming. Another feature I enjoy is the multitasking. Your sims can do up to three things at once! If your sim has work in a few, no need to fret. You can eat, watch tv AND talk about how much you hate your job to another sim! There are sooooo many great, new features in The Sims 4. On top of all that, the game rarely ever lags. Once I start playing, I have to play for at least 2-3 hours at a time! It's so addicting and amazing.

50

What a disapointment

Joe39 | Nov. 28, 2014 | See all Joe39's reviews »

As a person who has played every single Sims game and expansion up to date, i really had some doubts when i saw the developers video's before Sims 4 was released.

When the game came out my fears were realized when i loaded the game and discovered just how bad it actually was. Every feature that was slowly expanded on since Sims 2 and Sims 3 are basically gone, there is no more active neighborhood that makes you feel like your in a real world and instead it has been streamlined into a map that lets you " Click " and " load " onto a lot such as the local bar or house. It really makes the immersion of sending your Sim out the house, getting a cab or their car to go their desired place feel wasteful when you just get teleported their " Yes that's right you no longer even have a car ". This whole scene was developed to minimize load times and frame rates within the community however whats the point where everything else around you is just an illusion.

The Sims new emotions is a complete mess as well, i went from being happy, sad, depressed, angry and energetic within 10 seconds from walking to one side of my house to another, that is without any of their mood items placed inside the home. When it works, the emotions work well within the Sims however i'm not quite sure if they are necessary.

The only real good thing Sims 4 offers is a really good building mechanic. The old styles are still there however its much easier to build a house now and it seems that the majority of time within making this game was put into that.

However, in the end Sims 4 has disappointed me, i didn't play the Sims to purely to build massive houses that i could move with one click and drag or to play with their emotions, i played cause you wanted to play a simulation of someone or their family within a massive neighborhood and that made it feel life like. Now it just feels like Sims are emotional robots with no tendency to even go outside anymore since there's really no point. The way the Sims are going and as far as I'm concern with the neighbor hood it looks like their aiming for a console release, and if that's the case i feel sorry for PC users out there, the game cant be streamlined anymore, stop taking away the features that made Sims 2 - 3 great and expand on those.

BTW - How come it took so long to patch in pools, that was ridiculous, i'm surprised they didn't charge it for DLC.

80

Good Game, Would Be Better With More Stuff

cmriney | Nov. 18, 2014 | See all cmriney's reviews »

As soon as I heard they were making a Sims 4, I saved up all my money and bought it as soon as it was released. have always loved Sims and think it's a wonderful game. I just wish that they wouldn't make you wait to get the good stuff until after they release stuff packs and expansions. That's the only thing I don't like about it. It gets really boring fast when you don't have much.

65

Meh

KyleeSunshine | Oct. 7, 2014 | See all KyleeSunshine's reviews »

Well, so far the Sims 4 is really buggy. It doesn't have a lot of the features that the Sims 3 had that I loved (e.g. family tree). I don't like the new way it transports you to places, when you want to travel to someones house, it takes you to this loading screen, and takes forever, even if the person's house it RIGHT next door. I do like how they have moods and the new create a Sim A LOT. All in all, I think the Sims 3 is better than the Sims 4.

50

Same old same old

Shaide | Oct. 2, 2014 | See all Shaide's reviews »

I'm not sure what I expected really, but this game really let me down. There's nothing really new here! If you own a past sims game, then you don't really need this, unless the enhanced graphics(And trust me on this, they ARE enhanced!) is a "Must buy" reason.

The series just seems to be getting stale, and they are releasing sequels for the sake of having sequels at this point. They don't bring anything new to the table, just increased system requirements. Honestly? You would be better off with sims 2 or 3. It's cheaper, and offers the same thing.

85

Worth

Moohky | Sept. 8, 2014 | See all Moohky's reviews »

If you have the creative mind to build homes and then live in them, then this is the game for you. It is an amazing game to play and gets really addicting. I stayed up all night when i started playing, couldn't resist the fun. Give this game a 8/10 only because it does not have pools. For those who say is bad, don't listen to them. The game just came out and still has over 100 expansions to be released!

80

Seems like a good game

Brockist_ | Sept. 7, 2014 | See all Brockist_'s reviews »

Some things have been left out, eg: Toddlers, Carrying your baby, Pools, create a style, and open world, I feel that this game is a great game. Some of these things were necessary to take out such as open world because if you keep an open world it lags your game by rendering a lot of un-needed items, also create a style was probably removed due to the amount of textures that needed to be loaded. Overall I love the game, the overhauled Build Mode and Create a Sim are the focal features as well as all of the new emotions.

TL:DR Sims 4 is a great game, if you're willing to look past a few downsides and the price.

PS: Take advantage of this sale GMG has going! It makes the game even more worth it!

84

A good game

JNKRedsox | Sept. 4, 2014 | See all JNKRedsox's reviews »

There have been many people complaining about the lack of features not in the game as well as the loading screens and small world. I am disappointing about all of those but the game is still fun and good. It loads much faster than Sims 3 ever did and it saves faster as well. You can still navigate through the neighborhood you are in without a loading screen but when you do encounter a loading screen, they are very quick, 30 seconds top. The gameplay is much smoother than The Sims 3 ever was. The lack of features and careers is a let down but just like any other Sims game, they come with the DLC. I give this an overall rating of 84.

55

Sims 3.5

minidruid | Sept. 2, 2014 | See all minidruid's reviews »

Fairly underwhelmed by the game in general. Graphically is looks like a polished up Sims 3 and the art style seemingly changed slightly, for the better. Creating your character is an improvement although a little clunky. The game play itself leaves a lot to be desired. I was really hoping for another breakout amazing game that i could pour hundreds of hours into like i did with Sims 2 and 3 both came out. I will be lucky if i hit 20 hours with Sims 4. It isn't necessary a horrible game but it doesn't feel like they actually put nearly the amount of time they claim into the game. In many cases I kept thinking they grabbed the Sims 3 updated the graphics, added emotions, and then sent it off. Many of the things that made the series grow have disappeared such as the whole "open world" feeling. The game also seems to be lacking items and building options that i can't fathom why they removed them from the game. Overall i'm pretty unsatisfied with the game. I can't call it a complete flop but i see no reason why i would continue playing Sims 4 when i already own 3 with multiple expansions.

78

From What I've seen it looks alright.

BigEarsCross | Dec. 10, 2013 | See all BigEarsCross's reviews »

From the little bit of game play and images i have seen of this game i can say that i am somewhat impressed with how the game will play but not impressed with how it is going to look. The new "Smart Sim" tech we will have looks pretty dang cool and makes the sims feel more alive and not so much a robot who will reset after a action is complete. Animations look smoother and more realistic than any other Sims game before. The graphics on the other hand suck like I wasn't asking for Frost Bite 3 or Cry Engine but instead something that looked smoother and over all better not something that looks like Disney made it. This game looks to childish and cartoony but then again if we make it look more realistic we start to get into uncanny valley, What I mean to say is that this game looks like a free to play game and to compare it look at The Sims 4 and then look at The Sims FreePlay they look almost the same. but i can get over the graphics because they do grow on you over time so that's why i give this game a unofficle score of 78.