Reviews for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn

75

Great If You Are a FF Fan..

Emoski12 | April 5, 2014 | See all Emoski12's reviews »

Ahh Final Fantasy, a name that brings back nostalgia to long time gamers like myself. In this Exciting 14th (Not Technically, but roll with it..) Installation we get a new online experience that is far from perfect, but still carries the Square Enix name. In FF 14 A Realm Reborn you choose your class, follow the story, max your class and become bored. Yes you can join guilds and create other classes as well. They story itself is decent and planned out. But the missions are ridiculous. The crafting is horrible. You have to change classes in order to craft certain items that are purchasable anyway.. If you aren't a fan of Final Fantasy, there are other MMO's out there that are a better use of your money. But sadly for me, I'm a long time Square Enix guy and have to pay. For Graphics and Story detail I give the game a 8/10. But for the price, battles system, crafting and anything else that should be good on a MMO this game gets a 6/10.

88

Enjoyable MMO world, a little different.

trashmyego | Feb. 28, 2014 | See all trashmyego's reviews »

First off, before diving into the genre tropes - this is a world worth exploring and seeing. The overall art design alone is worth a month spent playing. It isn't really forging new ground for gameplay or expectations at end-game content, but that's not really a bad thing for FF XIV, it's not clone at the same time.

Everything is extremely approachable, but also different from the other games on the market. The content available is expansive and varied and all of it can be experienced on a single character. Dungeon design is tight and focused, with some truly entertaining boss encounters throughout the levels. Upon reaching the 'end-game,' there's plenty to do and the raid content is varied enough, but to a degree lacking.

What there is, I've loved. The content design on the fights is breathtaking at times and with time, this game will likely blossom into something truly beautiful. Sadly there are limitations with the cross class system, flexibility being the main one. Over time you can easily gear and prepare numerous roles, but you're limited on their use because of lockouts in the main endgame content. And along with that, crafting feels like an afterthought in the end, though I'm sure it'll receive attention in future patches/expansions.

The jack-of-all-trades character philosophy can also burn you out quite fast upon diving into the endgame content, there aren't any real penalties or bonuses gained from leveling each class/job up, and the traditional role structure of modern MMO's will likely pigeon hole you into only using a single Job. Overall though, there is a lot to like or even love. The community feels like one of the more mature you'll find online these days and the future feels bright, although taking a break might be required while waiting for it to arrive.

90

Never play a FF game before!

fiddy187 | Feb. 21, 2014 | See all fiddy187's reviews »

I purchased FF-XIV Online after watching one of my friends play it for an hour or so. Before this, I had never played, or watched any sort of FF game. To begin with, you're run around on some small quests to get your barrings with the game. Simple stuff, can't really go wrong. After finishing a handful of quests, you can decide for yourself what you want to do. You can contniue on the main story quest line, or go for some side quests and build up money (guill) and exp. You can also choose to do nothing, and just spend your time killing as many small creatures as possible. I started out with the latter. I farmed may way to lvl 10 doing so. From here, I began doing some story quests, and evenly found myself in a higher ranking area, where I could do some side quests worth a lot more exp.

My main problem with the game is definitely the map. More specifically, finding the way-point to quests. I find myself getting lost a lot trying to find the correct way. It could just be me, but I found it very difficult to follow. Other then that, the game is brilliant. I have experienced some minor bugs here and there, but nothing I can't deal with. I find at peak times in some areas, you can get hit hard on FPS with the amount of users running around, and casting spells. Worth watching out for. This problem is gone the second you leave the area however, so nothing to worry about. One personal complaint I have, is the armor/clothing you get early on. It simply looks awful! Once you get to lvl 20+ you get stuff that will actually look nice, but until then, you're going to be running around in dresses, in weird colours (unless you dye it yourself of course)

All together, this game is brilliant! The Pay-to-play model is a bit dated in this day and age, but even still, it's a very enjoyable play. The pricing per month isn't awful, and you get a free month with your purchase anyway. If you're a fan of RPG games, you'll have no problem paying the price. Well worth buying! Highly recommended!

89

Massively Better - Worth Getting

Aqueerowl | Feb. 9, 2014 | See all Aqueerowl's reviews »

The first thing to note is that this is not an original game, but a continuation from the first Final Fantasy XIV, which was a total flop. Having played the first game, I urge you to forget about it and focus on what A Realm Reborn has become. With varied, interesting quests and engaging combat, leveling isn't as much of a chore as in other MMO's (I've played WoW, GW, GW2 and so on). The environments are astonishing and even simple tasks such as fishing keep you interested. One of the only problems I found was that when I reached end-game, the level of content dropped drastically. Hopefully they'll add more in further updates.

88

Your first time with an online FF series?

Slaughtz | Feb. 6, 2014 | See all Slaughtz's reviews »

Mine too. Today, I'm unsubscribed only because I cannot afford it. When I first started playing this game, I was disappointed that it didn't feel like a typical FF game. Over time, though, it grows on you - and you start to realize how awesome the game actually is.

Good things: 1) You get a mount relatively early compared to other MMOs. Running only out-stays it's welcome for a couple of hours. In WoW, it was more like a couple days or weeks, even. 2) Questing is fun, has intriguing enough stories, characters and lore to them. Over all, the experience of questing could only be improved by adding voice acting. 3) Music is above-average. It keeps you immersed, and that's about as much as I could ask for. 4) You can play this with a controller. The only MMO I know of which you can do this with.

Negatives: 1) Feels a little grindy, just like any MMO. 2) Grouping with people can sometimes be more trouble than it's worth. I really would prefer if they made grouping and playing with each other a purely positive experience. 3) Sometimes you're playing with people on a different platform in dungeons so they don't interact much at all with the group. Also it has the same problem as every MMO when it comes to dungeons with having to wait a while.

My experience with this game is that it would be an average single-player game by itself. That's actually quite a compliment for an MMO. If you enjoy RPGs and don't mind waiting a bit for other people (which I believe you're required to group with in order to progress) then I really suggest this game. I would get back into it if I could afford it. It's even being continually updated to have more interesting features as time goes on - finally a company not putting the immense amount of cash ($15 per month) to waste!

Note my 88 rating: I dislike the shallowing effect of MMOs in general, so that has put points counting against it! Just so you know my bias.

90

Very fun MMO

smbritton321 | Jan. 31, 2014 | See all smbritton321's reviews »

Well to start off, Square Enix revived themselves on this game. As a 1.0 player, I can personally say they improved the game 100%. As with any game there are pros and cons. Fortunately there are more pros than cons.... WAY more. There is something for everyone in this game. Detailed crafting, gathering, quests, dungeons, raids, and pvp. One of the best aspects of the game in my opinion is you really only need 1 character to have all classes,jobs, and crafting classes BUT there is a a downside to that. It can be rather grindy for you other main classes you level. All in all, the game is worth playing for any mmo player.

40

A Major Disappointment

mgold07 | Jan. 30, 2014 | See all mgold07's reviews »

Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn was Square's attempt to fix the mistakes of Final Fantasy XIV. The story follows a good while after the events that ended Final Fantasy XIV, only now with new heroes to lead this adventure. A fairly well executed revival of a failed game, I have to say. The story isn't anything you're not already familiar with being very much the standard Final Fantasy affair. I would be able to say more, however there is one vital aspect of this game to address first. My play experience was almost completely ruined due to the way in which the game is made. There is a rather major problem in Final Fantasy 14 and that's the skill hit detection. The system used is a fairly simple collision, if X is in area A, X is hit. However, the problems lay in the fact that the game will often not realise that you have left the area, and you are thusly punished by the attack. This is a major problem as a lot of the combat, in particular a mid-level boss fight, involve dodging these AoE attacks. This is the one major flaw of this game which for me makes it unplayable, and if a game truly can't be played then it can't be experienced in full which means that this review lacks substance. The game however has a charming graphical style and the audio was very much enjoyable. I dislike cutscenes in MMOs in general, but they were quite nicely done in this one. However, due to the aforementioned gameplay problems I can't really rate this title too highly, which is a shame as I entered this with high hopes but was quickly shot down and disappointed.

80

A new worthwhile spin

vaseroth | Jan. 29, 2014 | See all vaseroth's reviews »

First off, one should note that this game comes as a continuations of a pre existing MMO called Final Fantasy 14. You do not need a copy of the old game nor do you really need to have played it to enjoy this game. The story is set a few years after the final act of the previous game with all the alliances separated but still together trying to recover from the Calamity. One of the things that most people not about this game is the graphics and the customization UI that players get. When running on full settings this games falls some where between ff 13 and 12 graphics. (very good for a MMORPG) Yet in my opinion the most impressive aspect of this game is the class system. Starting at level 10 you can choose to be any class you want. Its as easy as visiting the trainer for that class and then equipping the appropriate weapon. So if you are an Altoholic like , your one character can be all the classes. So for example if you are a level 10 lancer, and you just learned archer, equip the bow and BAM you are a level one archer. Equip the lance and you are back to being a level 10 lancer. and so on and so forth. A very fun game to try out with your friends.

96

Best FF Ever Made

scanner786 | Dec. 30, 2013 | See all scanner786's reviews »

This is a great game, very fun and enjoyable for hours of gaming, some players may even find this game to be very addictive, so you will need huge gaming hours to dedicate to this game to progress through the story.

The story line is also very good but the RPG style of the game where you can upgrade weapons and skills and add many different styles of combat to suit you.

I highly recommend this game. 9/10

85

A vast improvement

Lexanderion | Dec. 12, 2013 | See all Lexanderion's reviews »

As suggested, A Realm Reborn is a large improvement over the first edition of the Final Fantasy XIV MMO. The quest system is not complicated, leveling is not grindy and is actually fun. While the story is not intensely involving, the environment is beautiful and there is tons of lore for RPers. Endgame however is very lacking. If you're a Final Fantasy fan give this a try, I'm sure you won't regret it.

Best : leveling system, possibility of leveling different battle, field and trade jobs, missions and leveling are fun, free company system is good, explore Eorzea with friends and embark in a great adventure!

Worst : endgame is boring, very grindy, let's hope they add more content since its subscription based.

Conclusion : one of the best MMOs on the market, it has its flaws but stands on its own, strong title, recommended.

75

Cute MMO

Neume | Dec. 5, 2013 | See all Neume's reviews »

So would I recommend FFXIV? You should take a look at The class system the most attractive, specially crafting classes. Each crafting and gathering class is a fully realized class with 50 levels. I strongly recommend checking out FFXIV if you love the craft and you are tired of others P2W MMO.

If you're looking for end game, you will farm again and again Wallace Palace to get a properly gear and finally go to The Binding Coil of Bahamut.

The worst : Just one end game raid

The best : Old school game with trinity !

:3.

96

Nice MMO

seballot44 | Dec. 5, 2013 | See all seballot44's reviews »

This MMO is nice, you can do a lot of dungeons with your friends, and play all the classes on a character.

You can go as a Tank, and switch to DPS or Healer for the next dungeon. It's fun and it's usefull (you will unlock skills doing that).

Look everywhere around you, it's Final Fantasy, you can see that the universe is here, and well designed. The lights and shadows are amazing !!

To sum up, this game will let you live in Eorzea, with your friends !

78

An artistic success..

XGpredator | Nov. 25, 2013 | See all XGpredator's reviews »

Final Fantasy XIV : A Realm Reborn is a title that has much to tell . Rarely will a MMORPG possessed such a strong storyline while providing such freedom to the player. As adapted to the general public and enthusiasts of the genre, it offers an impressive content and the world seems still open to players once the maximum level attained. To play all classes with a single character while being able to slightly mix the skills provides opportunities for customization undeniable. However, the soul of the game features a very long time to grow up and spent his class (or set up a new ) hours could have been more interesting with fresh ideas for the combat system or for quests outside bodies . Anyway , A Realm Reborn has really enjoyed a lot of work on the part of its designers and it shows in each compartment in. With a little patience , there is little chance that you regret buying.

98

Surprisingly one of the best MMO's of my life!

taskaidomi6 | Nov. 7, 2013 | See all taskaidomi6's reviews »

To be honest I've never been a big fan of MMORPG's. I've tried World of Warcraft and a lot of other MMORPG's, but I didn't like any of them. I got into the beta and the day when I started playing I quickly realized that I've spent 7 hours in a row playing the game. The art-style, the combat system is amazing, haven't seen anything like it in a while. I'm quite sure that FF XIV is the best MMORPG I've ever played in my life.

70

Great MMO

Mykolas22 | Nov. 2, 2013 | See all Mykolas22's reviews »

Whilst not inventing anything new in the MMO genre, it refines what people are already used to making them more enjoyable. On a whole, it definitely feels like a final fantasy game with a story that, whilst isn't comparable to anything we've seen in a final fantasy game before, still holds up well, however, the game suffers from lack of end-game options leaving you running the same three or four dungeons over and over again for tomes which you then trade in for gear.

The soundtrack is absolutely fantastic along with the visuals, this game has the best soundtrack I've ever heard in an MMO and with music that plays when you enter fights, you'll find yourself a lot more patient when grinding enemies for exp or items.

79

Unique MMO

gunnerau | Oct. 19, 2013 | See all gunnerau's reviews »

I've ploughed a reasonable number of hours in to FFXIV so far and I'm happy to say it's a highly enjoyable game. Despite it's issues that arised at launch, it is now all sorted and very few queues when logging in to the game.

The visuals overall are superb. Excellent character models and art design everywhere you go, although some people may find the near perfect appearance of every character off putting.

Sound wise it's typical FF... great. Amazing music all around and sometimes I enjoy just sitting and crafting purely to listen to the music. Sound effects are alright, nothing special but not bad either. Some people may be put off by no voice acting but it adds a certain flavor to the game and doesn't negatively affect it.

Gameplay wise, it's a rather standard MMO in terms of combat. Crafting is quite enjoyable and interesting though and is not mindless unlike many other MMOs. The FATE events are neat distractions while crafting and the dungeons are mostly unique and attractive.

I've not hit level cap yet, so I can't comment on that, but overall I would recommend FFXIV for anyone looking for a familiar MMO style game but with unique world and environments (and a busy world at that!).

97

Been addicted to using my brother's account!

RoosterAssassin | Oct. 13, 2013 | See all RoosterAssassin's reviews »

So far, this is one of the best MMO's, if not THE best MMO I've had the chance to play. The ability to have all these different classes available instead of restarting over and over is glorious, and it is a B E A UTIFUL game if you're PC can handle it. My only gripe is the (dying) spammers of ingame currency. Other than that, I'll be enjoying this for a loooong time... once I purchase my own copy that is ;)

95

Final Fantasy XIV

SkyorZX | Oct. 11, 2013 | See all SkyorZX's reviews »

FFXIV, maybe one of the best games that I have played. FFXIV is an enjoyable game with excellent soundtrack and graphics. The nice graphics make me feel a player that must battle to be stronger and survive in this amazing world inside the screen. Other thing that make FFXIV special is make your own character with his own discipline, gladiators, archers, lancers, conjurer... all of them are needed in a online party to defeat the most difficult bosses. You will enjoy the game if you do an effort to be strenght in this amazing world that will make you feel alive!

80

Great game but bad support

edwinw | Oct. 8, 2013 | See all edwinw's reviews »

The game has great graphics and gameplay. Very fun. But I will have to be honest and warn that Square Enix's support and billing system is atrocious. This game requires a subscription and setting one up is a pain. I suggest the buyer beware and read up on the official tech support forums on this subscription issue many are having.

60

Seems cool at first but...

deathpilot78 | Oct. 6, 2013 | See all deathpilot78's reviews »

I've played a lot of MMORPGs and this one seemed nice in beta but playing from Europe I had some issues with lag (no european datacenter in 2013?), horrible servers stability at launch and lack of content near the level cap. If you don't mind grinding public quests (GW2 style) to level up all the other classes besides the first (and even with that you'll have some grind to do) it could be a good game but... not my cup of tea.

80

FFXIV A game worth a look

topzed | Sept. 30, 2013 | See all topzed's reviews »

It may not be the most innovative game in mmo today, but it makes up with a lot of polish in everything it does. The graphics are very good often worth taking a screenshot, movement animation in the characters are believable and pacing of the game is very good. It doesn't make you an instant end game character, but give it time and it will grow on you. One of it's cool features is character class swapping, tired of your main class? switch and refresh you gameplay without the need of making a new character. All and all you have a mmo that's beautiful with minor annoyances that every mmo has, and like all those if you support it and give it time my guess is that it will be a great one.

100

Excellent game

goforce | Sept. 14, 2013 | See all goforce's reviews »

Excellent game with amazing graphics and a really well done musical score, as expected from any FF game.

While the launch (and pre-launch) were plagued by disconnects and other server issues, they have done an excellent job over the last week or so in clearing those up, and are expected to continue to improve the server performance and stability in the coming weeks.

Game play is fluid and feels very good, animations are very well done and really match the skill or spell they are assigned to, while giving your actions a sense of weight that many games lack.

80

An enjoyable game

MrEverybody | Sept. 6, 2013 | See all MrEverybody's reviews »

A cool MMO in the Final Fantasy universe. If you enjoyed the Final Fantasy universe, you will of course feel yourself at home with this charming world. The graphics are really good for a MMO and the design is respectful of FF games, and if the game might not be as dynamic as others new MMO, it is really enjoyable to play in an old fashioned way, taking your time to develop your character. A game I really recommand, they succeeded the reborn of this FF XIV, the game is really cheap (especially on this site) and even though you might not spend the next year playing it, you will enjoy it for some time.

100

FF14 has surprised me

reckless00 | Sept. 5, 2013 | See all reckless00's reviews »

At first I was skeptical with this MMO, but after trying it all I can say is totally worthy. I love the game design that some story based quests can't be done before getting to certain level, which push you to move forward and explore other stuff.

95

Awesome game!

AtomicUniverse | Sept. 2, 2013 | See all AtomicUniverse's reviews »

Game's had a rocky launch, but these things happen with new MMOs. The most important thing is that the game itself is fantastic!

84

Solves problems of the original

tzarinakatarina | Aug. 29, 2013 | See all tzarinakatarina's reviews »

Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn is a refreshed version of Final Fantasy XIV, a famous Japanese RPG. After pretty cold reception of the game, a new version was prepared, and this is what A Realm Reborn is. The improvements are many, and they answer most of the critical remarks about the original. So a new graphical engine was used, combat engine is different and new player vs player modes introduced. I think if you were disappointed with the original Final Fantasy XIV but are a fan of the series, A Realm Reborn should be the solution of your problems and make the game what it was supposed to be from the very beginning.

90

Great game-totally addictive, but not as good as ffxi used to be

graspee | Aug. 28, 2013 | See all graspee's reviews »

This is an amazing mmo, totally addictive and engrossing. It's actually dangerous and hard to tear yourself away because there's always something to do. It really helps that you can level all the classes on one character. There have been some teething troubles at launch but they seem to be mostly over them now and I have managed to put hours upon hours into this great game. The problem for me ist that the game is not as deep as final fantasy 11 was. It could be a sign of the times and the general dumbing down of mmos, but for example you used to have to skill up your weapons by using them, airships you had to wait for and you were active while on them (not a cutscene like now). Only whm got teleport, only blm got warp and only thf got flee. Now everyone gets all three. There are no subjobs although you can select certain skills from other classes on your main class. Death has only durability loss, in ffxi it was -10% of level xp. I could go on, there are a lot of things dumbed down in 14 from 11, but the game is still surprisingly good, and some things that were removed I am glad about, eg in 11 you start with very small inventory and have to level it up. Another consideration is that there may be better mmos for you if you don't love the final fantasy lore.