Reviews for FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn (NA)

95

Best MMO I've played in a long time

Koga1211 | Jan. 16, 2014 | See all Koga1211's reviews »

I've played many MMO's over the last 10 year's or so, and I know many will will disagree with me on this but this is one of the best MMO's I've ever played. I haven't got bored with it, which hasn't happened in years.

As others said, it CAN fall into some grinding traps, but at the same time I've leveled faster in this WITHOUT grinding, more than a few times, than I have in any other MMO. I'm actually not sure why people are complaining so much about the grind, simply because most of it is avoidable. You can level up pretty swiftly just from doing the main storyline and dungeons, everything else is just filler that can be ignored or consumed at your leisure.

Now, on to the game itself; It's Final Fantasy! I love the worlds atmosphere because it FEELS like FF. The armory system is great: Basically you pick your starting class, and after level 10 or so, you unlock the armory system. At this point, you can go talk to other guild leaders (basically the guys you get your class-quests from) and unlock those classes.

Then all you do is equip the weapon for that class, and you change classes. You CAN play ALL the classes, and level them ALL to max on a single character. In other words, NO MORE REROLLING! Bored with melee? Feel like casting spells today? Switch gear sets and have at it.

For me, that's a god send. I hated having to make alts in other MMO's just so I could experience different fighting styles.

You may be thinking at this point "But you still have to level up again even if you're not technically rerolling" - True, but you get a sizeable EXP bonus based on your highest class level. So for example if I have a lvl 30 lancer, and then I switch to playing a Gladiator, I'll get a huge bonus to my exp gains. Which, btw, stacks with rested experience and any other bonuses I pick up (like from eating).

It's based on the gap between the class you're playing and your highest class level, so I can't give exact numbers, but basically it'll range between 50%-250% - I'm sure it goes higher than this, but currently that's the highest I think I've seen, but I haven't hit max level yet, so I don't know what it is if you're 49 levels apart, for example. That said, 250% on mobs that already give like 1000 EXP is pretty nice.

Anywhere there's lots of other features I could talk about but this is already long enough.

TL;DR: If you like FF, if you like the freedom to play the class you want without having to grind too hard to do it, if you like riding Chocobos and sending mail via Moogles, then give the game a go.

75

Great eye-candy with tedious grind

lavigator | Jan. 9, 2014 | See all lavigator's reviews »

The game looks amazing, but what set me off was the leveling. You finish quests, but then you will still be below the recommended level for the next zone. Not too many abilities (maybe this is a good thing,) but it didn't help that I was using the same 3-4 abilities while trying to level for hours. The player base is pretty friendly, rarely any trollish types, and people are always looking to party. Admittedly, I haven't really leveled too far - about level 20 - but I couldn't find myself to play much further; it's only my preference, but maybe you will get a better experience.

This doesn't affect this rating, but expect Square Enix's support to be exceedingly horrible. A good amount of my friends have had the worst possible support I've ever seen - had a friend that waited over 2 months to get a reply for a hacked account and another 4 to get it all sorted out.

If you enjoy that moment where you stop everything and just enjoy the scenery or like to play with an MMO that encourages you to play in a party, then check it out.

80

Very Pretty MMORPG

ironman517 | Jan. 5, 2014 | See all ironman517's reviews »

Honestly, I only bought this game because my friends were playing it at the time. But I had a blast while playing. The graphics in this game are very good when compared to other MMOs, it might not be as good as Skyrim, but as far as MMORPGs go, it has some of the best graphics out there. It has a pretty open world, you can level in different places depending on your level. You often have the opportunity to level in multiple places. This game, as well as many other MMORPG's is very grind heavy. You grind levels, you grind out your gear and you raid.

The problem I have with this game is that the endgame gear is very boring, it has no customization, or variety. Everyone looks the same at the end game. This game is great for people that like to level many characters in a MMO since you can level all of your classes with only 1 character. If you do not like to level multiple characters, you might get pretty bored on your off raid days.

80

Nostalgic Final Fantasy MMO, with a bit too much grind.

koztah | Nov. 29, 2013 | See all koztah's reviews »

With the release of Guild Wars 2, it was assumed that that would mark the end of the subscription-based MMO. After all, GW2 offers all the bells and whistles of a sub-based MMO, without the sub.

But Final Fantasy XIV is another beast entirely. If you enjoy Final Fantasy in general, particularly if you enjoyed it during the SNES and PS1 days, you will adore FFXIV:ARR. The music is composed by Nobuo Uematsu, the main story is classic Final Fantasy, all the iconic monsters are there and it plays really quite well.

The dungeons are well-designed

What is it missing? Well, quests for secondary classes. If you want an advanced job, you need to level other classes from scratch. For your first advanced job? Not a problem. Even playing casually, raising your secondary class to 15 will take under a week. But if you decide you don't like your advanced class? Well, now you have to raise another class up to 50 without the benefit of the story quests. You do FATES (open-group world quests), you repeat dungeons. Separate questlines for each class (besides the ones you get at 5-level increments) would do a lot to alleviate this.

So, in essence, very worth playing. Fantastic art design (by Yoshitaka Amano!), amazing music (by Nobuo Uematsu!) but the grindiness can get to you. Particularly if you have a lot of things to do with your free time besides play FFXIV.

84

Fun, With Minor Issues

starrman | Nov. 10, 2013 | See all starrman's reviews »

A very fun game in its own right, and just what you'd expect from a Final Fantasy MMO. Fun as it is, however, it does have some problems. First, it does get a bit grindey at times. After you finish your quests, all you can do to level up is to grind fates. Non-endgame dungeons don't sure much point as they give little to no experience. The graphics are beautiful, but the voice acting is lazy at times. Great story, pretty to look at, fun but standard issue MMO gameplay. I definitely recommend it if you enjoy Final Fantasy games.

84

Completely immersive, if a bit reptitive

Helkaweth | Nov. 5, 2013 | See all Helkaweth's reviews »

Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn hits a sweet spot for both the MMO player and the Final Fantasy buff. With all of the easter eggs, and beautifully sculpted landscapes, one can explore Eorzea for hours on end and find something to do, no matter what.

One of the strong points of the game is the crafting. In previous MMOs like WoW or FF XI, crafting was a matter of having the materials. Now, crafting is a part of the character, that requires grinding and questing. One can get lost in working on their carpentry or blacksmithing alone.

Development is also continuing for this game. Housing and PVP play are soon to arrive in version 2.1. That should be quite exciting!

Overall, it can fall in to the same issue that any MMO can, which is the constant "go here" and "kill this!", but it's still a great game to pick up and play!

89

A ridiculous improvement to the original

Pins | Nov. 5, 2013 | See all Pins's reviews »

I wasn't expecting a whole lot from this having played 1.0 but a month in to this game I have been experiencing what Square Enix can really do with this title. I was so impressed with what I have played so far I have renewed my subscription for 90 days. The combat has been fine tuned and all of the graphics have been made to look better. Overall a vast improvement and I couldn't be happier.

90

Great Game...GIVE ME CALCULATOR JOB!

m3w1thoutY0u | Nov. 3, 2013 | See all m3w1thoutY0u's reviews »

This game is a huge step from 1.0. It feels like a final fantasy game through and through. Performance is much smoother, gameplay and job systems are great...though i wish it had the Calculator job from FF Tactics lol. I can see this pleasing a hardcore mmo fan and a final fantasy fan as well. If youre both, this game is a must have.

80

Realm Reborn review

pash1k | Oct. 30, 2013 | See all pash1k's reviews »

FFXIV: ARR is the classic PvE MMO. The journey to level 50 is a pleasant one, for the first class, with lots of varied things to do. There are quests, hunting log, the main story, the duties, the dungeons, and the company bounties. However, the endgame is extremely grindy - you'll be running the same dungeon over and over again (4 or 8 man). There's not a whole lot of variety in the game after you hit level 50, or even if you want to go back and level your class.

The combat is based on global cooldowns, so there's little reason to use all of the spells/skills you're given. Spam your damage dealing spell, and every once in a while throw out a crowd control. It's simple.

The crafting classes are their own proper classes with skills, experience, and levels. There's an element of planning and decision making that goes into each piece of armor or jewelry that you craft. To me, this was a high point, usually crafting is pretty mindless.

Overall, the game was worth it to me to play through once, but the endgame content, at this point, is very lacking. PvP will be introduced at some point, but global cooldowns and the way that the server registers movement means that it will never be very competitive.

92

A Great Game

thoaroo | Oct. 27, 2013 | See all thoaroo's reviews »

I waited for about 3 weeks after launch to see how the game would go after hearing positive feed back from the game i thought id give it a try. When i started this game it was a blast the world felt alive. Id Recommend this game to any mmo player that likes to be challenge and have alot of customizeablity

95

The Best MMO Expierence of the Year

Desuanian | Oct. 24, 2013 | See all Desuanian's reviews »

After coming back from playing a lot of Final Fantasy XI and being disappointed with the original release of FFXIV, I was scared and worried that this game would not live up the hype of it's relaunch. Much to my surprise they took a game which stood out in my mind as something I hated playing and a terrible experience as an MMO into my favorite of this year, if not of all time. The reworking, graphical changes, mechanical changes, sound reworking is all fantastic and really helps draw the player into the game and make it one of the most immersive experiences of any video game created.

The FATE System, staying true to the triangle of an MMO in terms of classes, the dungeon. Everything is well designed and helps flow people through the massive amount of content and crafting that is here in the game and makes sure that the player is never bored with the game. Without a doubt, this is one of the few games I see lasting a while with a subscription fee simply because it is a fantastic piece of work. Good job Yoshi P. You did the impossible.

82

FFXIV: ARR is the MMORPG final fantasy fans have waited for

johnnyt305 | Oct. 15, 2013 | See all johnnyt305's reviews »

2 years ago Square-Enix came out with FFXIV and it was a big disappointment. However, the new director Yoshi-P has taken that game and re-made it into what final fantasy fans have been waiting for.

The graphics are still beautiful and IMO overall are the best of any current MMORPG out there. The music is another classic that you will love if you are a fan of this series. The combat is the classic tab-targetting MMORPG kind where you have your spells on the 1,2,3,4, etc. keys and it uses the trio system where you need a tank, healer(s) and DPS to beat dungeons. It is done well and you can level up in any class you desire. You can have al classes on one character in this game and change classes by changing the weapon you wield.

This game includes all of the best features of MMORPG from the past 10 years such as story driver quests with cutscenes, hub questing, public quests where randomly monsters appear on a part of the map and you just go to the area and everybody there can join a quest without having to be in a party, small group dungeons, bigger group dungeons, and much more.

This game is very good and will be adding a ton of great content over the next months such as PVP, a very complex Housing system, a Casino where you can play mini-games, chocobo raising/breeding, vanity gear system, and a ton more.

If you are a final fantasy fan and love MMORPGs as well this is a must have game. For those that are not fans of the series, it can still be very enjoyable as long as you are comfortable with tab-target combat and the staples of MMORPGs from the past 10 years.

90

Remade well

Pandadoll | Sept. 27, 2013 | See all Pandadoll's reviews »

This game is definitely an improvement from version 1.0. The graphics are stunning and seem to use less resources, the music is fitting and beautiful, and they've managed to make the game more accessible for players. One of my favorite changes was that they added the FATE system, which is basically a world event that gives rewards and exp like a normal quest except you all work together without joining a party.

85

A Great Series Returns

Kevduit | Sept. 24, 2013 | See all Kevduit's reviews »

Final Fantasy has always been able to satisfy the thirst for a great MMO games, and if that's what you are currently looking for, A Real Reborn is a game you'd want to get! The world is so open and vast, and the characters all have their own personality and character. The Graphics of the game are stunning and beautiful, and the environment is very well put together. The music in the game is very well developed, and the environment sounds fit very well in the game. It's around 13 dollars a month for this game, but if you're a hard core Final Fantasy MMO gamer, this game would be the right choice for you! Although, I must say a few of the things I didn't like. The voice acting was not great, it seemed very laid back, as though the characters really didn't express what they were actually feeling (I'm not usually picky about this, but this game almost dampened the mood) But over all, it is a very good game.

95

good game

Akai008 | Sept. 18, 2013 | See all Akai008's reviews »

As someone who played version 1.0, I can say that this is substantially better. I used to barely be able to play the original on the lowest settings. Now, I am able to play it on high settings. The graphics look great and runs smooth. I am very impressed with what square enix did.

97

Review after release of 2.0

ices625 | Sept. 17, 2013 | See all ices625's reviews »

This game is really great and lots of fun. This game is not as in depth as FFXI but it doesn't require 3 hours plus the time to get a party started to get decent experience.

Difference between FFXI - You no longer lose exp after death instead your equipment gets the penalty - There is no longer long wait time looking for party, they have a function called dutyfinder that would match you with people available in any server. You can also start your own party first and then find the missing player. - Each class have their ability to solo and fight against an enemy your level - Instead of starting as a job that you used to know White Mage, Black Mage etc you'll start off on a base class ex: Conjurer, Thaumaturge. When you get to level 30 with a specified secondary class you'll be able to choose your new job. - You don't need to know what SATA, skillchain, elemental weakness again. - For BLM you don't need to research for the weakness of the enemy anymore. They simplified it so that Fire is your attack spell, Blizzard is your refresh spell and Thunder is your DoT spell. You no longer need to rest for mp as your mp will always be full assuming that you have Blizzard on.

What you do to gain experience: - There are plenty of quest available to get experience - Levequest are available for you to gain experience through a dedicated quest - Dungeons are available to dutyfinder to gain experience as a party - FATE is like an event that happened within the map that everyone

If you're reading that there are a lot of server issue ex: 1017 they are no longer there at least for my server.

78

Wonderful

sorto | Sept. 17, 2013 | See all sorto's reviews »

While I was not too impressed with the original launch of the game, square did good on its promise to make the experience better. This game has delivered on what the initial launch should have been. While not perfect, this MMO has held my attention for longer than the others I've tried, such as guild wars 2 and World of Warcraft.

100

best mmo ive ever played

notjustin1 | Sept. 16, 2013 | See all notjustin1's reviews »

this game is simply amazing. i never got a chance to play the first one, but im really happy i got to play this one. everything in this game from the music, to the gameplay, to the beautiful graphics is downright amazing. would recommend this game to any final fantasy fans, and mmo fans.

90

REALLY great MMO Buuuut..

Katsahuki | Sept. 16, 2013 | See all Katsahuki's reviews »

This game is totes worth the 13 or w/e a month fee, I've been enjoying it since the 3rd phase beta test. The graphics are phenomenal (note I really don't care for graphics as a whole but... wow) the sound and music quality is great, you feel like you're IN the game. Over all exploration is fun and the story is neat. Battle system is pretty cool and I love Fate battles. Fate battles is like a bunch of people see a field boss and all crowd around it

"GET EM GET EM GET EM GUYS HE'S DIFFERENT!"

Yea sorta like that. The beauty of Fate battles is that you don't have to be in a party to gain heavy exp, simply contribute, fight your hardest and you'll be rewarded.

I only gave this game a 90/100 because the voice acting is... mediocre. I would be fine listening to it in Japanese with the English subs tho I don't usually prefer it that way.

100

excellent

toffigame | Sept. 16, 2013 | See all toffigame's reviews »

is a dynamic and fast game the best in my opinion the best RPG mmorpg, which integrates you into the wonderful world of final fantasy like never before you ever seen, you can fight against all the monsters in the Final Fantasy saga including their villains and plus you can create five different classes   Hyur (Hyuuran) Elezen (Erezen) Lalafell (Raraferu) Roegadyn (Rugadin) Miqo'te (Mikotte)

completely addictive game worth playing

88

Not at first, but then... WOW

shadowsora18 | Sept. 12, 2013 | See all shadowsora18's reviews »

I played the beta and hated it. My only reason: combat was too simple. Was I wrong? No. Was I warranted in worrying about that at lvl 12? No lol. Let me first explain why I was wrong and then I'll move on to some other basic things.

I had made two big mistakes with my early judgement. First, I had been using the wrong class. During the phase of beta I was on, the only DoM (Disciple of Magic, ex: Thaumaturge, Conjurer, Arcanist (mage classes)) was Conjurer (cnj). As I played I was fully expecting a damage dealing class. This was completely due to my ignorance and my lack of research. I found out later that it was, in fact, the healing class. Second, level 12 is FAR too early to judge combat. It does start out simple and the 2.5 second global cooldown does seem like a huge waste of time, BUT, at level 30 I realized that I hadn't thought about that being an issue in dungeon/difficult content since I was level 20. The 2.5 second gcd even seems less terrible when you realize that you keep making mistakes because you are trying to fit all of your skills in as fast as you can with no time.

Other things you should know before you buy: 1. This game does have a bit of grind in it currently. Each character can play all classes and they each level independently. This means that you have 8 fighting classes to level up. You would notice though that there is only enough varied content (quests) to level one character from 1 to 50 (current max level). There are FATEs (see RIFTs from Rift) and they are the best way to grind exp on your second and more classes. The crafting classes can be grinds as well but I'm not far enough to give a good explanation.

  1. No PVP... YET! I believe PVP is coming out in the first major content patch which is supposedly coming out in a month or two. This update also has player housing and some awesome updates to current systems.

  2. The community can be volatile. This is pretty common in MMORPGs but it seems that there are a few REALLY bad people roaming the servers. I haven't run into any yet. Most people believe they will leave after free trial period ends.

  3. You can do EVERYTHING by only changing your weapons. This means that I don't get bored, because when I get bored I just change classes and level that one up for a bit.

  4. It is sort of a beautiful game. It looks fantastic, though that is a personal opinion. They aren't even done yet as they plan on adding DX11 support in the near (hopefully) future.

Hope this helps!

95

Square-Enix has finally returned

seiggy | Sept. 4, 2013 | See all seiggy's reviews »

As a long time fan of SE games, the past several years have been very dissapointing. FFXI was too much of a time sink. FFXIII was just a corridor. And then there was the launch of FFXIV 1.0. It was looking like the end of the golden era of Square.

Then Yoshi P came along and said he was going to do the impossible. I thought they were insane to try and reboot a MMO in less than 24 months. To take what was a steaming pile of trash and try and build a garden. But somehow they pulled it off. This game has charm and charisma for miles. The combat is nicely paced if you're not into the whole twitchy MOBA style combat of recent MMOs. But considerably faster than older MMOs that started the genre. The crafting has quests and is very interactive. It's very zen like and has much more interaction than any other MMO I've played yet. The story is wonderful and engaging, and I find myself engrossed. It is very similar to the classic Square style stories from FFIV to FFIX. Much better written than the last few games.

The atmosphere of the game is to die for. Beautify vistas in nearly every zone. The music feels like Final Fantasy. And overall the game just looks very pretty.

And finally, there's the fan service. This game is loaded with it. Magitek Armor mounts from FFVI, armor sets from all the games in the series. All your favorite monsters show up, along with some new ones. Cloud's Braver limit break is there for Lancers. And it all surprisingly feels like part of the world, and not gimmicky like it sounds like it would be.

For the cons. They seriously underestimated the player demand for this game. Servers have been overloaded since pre-release and digital sales even had to be halted to try and control the train-wreck. Once they clean up the server issues, I think they've got a true hit on their hands.

90

A second chance

sabin666 | Sept. 4, 2013 | See all sabin666's reviews »

With FFXIV launching for a second time SE needed to change the way FFIXV was and they did it in quite a charming way. I love FFXIV so far and I don't think I'll change my MMO fix for awhile with this one. The only down side is that since launch it can be rough to get on any servers to play but it's getting better since a few hours ago with the new update.

100

welcome to eorzea the land of the bravest

rockman_uli | Aug. 30, 2013 | See all rockman_uli's reviews »

Final Fantasy a realm reborn is now my favorite game, have played wow for 5 years and all the ff series I can tell you that just the intro made me cry of happiness, is a world filled with love, every cutscene every main quest even every city is detailed and you will never feel lonely or without anything to do, just go and buy the collectors edition you will thank me later

99

The best MMO yet

nightassassin1 | Aug. 27, 2013 | See all nightassassin1's reviews »

I was lucky enough to be allowed into the early closed beta and played in every beta session up until this coming release. There was little to be fixed since the start of the beta because this game was so refined to begin with.

You have to buy the game and pay a monthly fee of $15, but this is reasonable, as the amount of works that went into this game and the work that will continue to go into it is just astounding. The game came out like a dream. This is admittedly one of the best MMOs I have played of all time, and I have played over 30 MMOs.

The graphics in this game are just astonishing. This is the way Final Fantasy was meant to be played. Running this on a high end graphics card with a 1080p LED monitor made it seem nearly real. The graphics are definitely top of the line and will require a more recent graphics card to run well.

There is no voice acting in the game at the moment, but Square Enix says the plan to add some in the near future, but that it may or may not be ready by the release date.

The game has nearly no glitches and no crashes that I had experienced. It is by far one of the most polished MMOs ever made. The only MMO that may be able to top this one is the new Elder Scrolls that is coming, however that may or may not be the case.

Ratings out of 10: Audio: 8 due to no voice acting Grphics: 10 Just stunning Single Player: 0 Does not have Single Player Multi Player: 10 A very amazing MMO system with everything

If you have the money for the monthly subscription, this game is worth every cent. It is just too stunning for words. Check the game out on YouTube before you buy and you will see just how beautiful the game is. I can not stress how amazing this game is compared to any and all other MMOs. If you love MMORPGs the you NEED this game. There is no getting around it.

I give it a 99 due to no voice acting as of yet.