Reviews for Castle of Illusion

91

A Beautiful game !!

markegiani | Oct. 23, 2014 | See all markegiani's reviews »

I watched a lot of trailerz on the net before I bought it and then I was in for a treat ! This game is amazin' !!!! A simple platformer very easy to play with a lot of ground to cover and a lot of treats waiting to be found. Perfectly designed for kids and for people who like to enjoy while playing and not to be frustrated with dumb quests/puzzles. Beatiful audio/visuals with easy gameplay makes Mickey a game for everyone.

79

A Very Light And Fun Platformer

Azrael360 | Sept. 26, 2014 | See all Azrael360's reviews »

Visually, it's beautiful, and really nice to play. It's not hard so everyone can play it. Although it's a little short and casual, and once you're done with it, it's done. No replay value. Unless you were a fan of the original and really enjoyed it. One thing though, not long ago the game was fixed up to 30 FPS, but that was fixed in the latest update so now can go past that limit, which is a good thing for these type of games.

Highly recommended for the kids (or the kids at heart).

88

Overall a fun classic platformer

TwerpOco | June 15, 2014 | See all TwerpOco's reviews »

Great visuals, music, and story are only a small part of what makes this game amazing. Good old fashioned platforming mechanics builds the foundation of many great classics and this is no exception. Although the puzzles weren't too tough, they were most definitely amusing and creative. One downside to the game was the length. It took me about 4 hours to complete, and a good portion of it was the final boss fight. However, there are many collectables and secrets to go back and grab up. Overall, this game has fair graphics, creative boss fights, and environments that give a truly magical experience.

85

Good Game

roman9441 | June 14, 2014 | See all roman9441's reviews »

i'm looking for the casual game. I'm found this game and think about when i was young which make me feel that this game i will buy it anyway. Because it remind me the day i was young

But only thing i don't like about this game is there is no coop at all but it ok i play alone most of the time but sometime i want to play with my elder sister.

This game is good and with some little puzzle i love it :) it good game. If your kid ask for the game that make relax this one is the game you should give them

88

Great remake of a classic Genesis game.

xAFBx | June 9, 2014 | See all xAFBx's reviews »

If you like Disney and platformers, you'll love this game. It's a great platform title (especially since there aren't a whole lot on PC these days) and it's a really, really well done port and remake. It's a bit short, but it's an old Genesis game. Finding collectibles for costumes and unlockables is fun too. Very nostalgic as well if you played the old one.

85

Totally worth getting

Seibitsu | June 6, 2014 | See all Seibitsu's reviews »

I must admit I didn't play the original back then because I may be too young but still this remake seems to make justice.

Remember those old school Disney platformers? That includes that Donal Duck's game for PSX. Well playing this gives you the same feeling. It's long enough for you to have hour and hours of fun, also got many extras and levels are not that easy to beat.

70

Cute remake

MarkDeejay | April 16, 2014 | See all MarkDeejay's reviews »

I don't want to waste too much time writing a review for Castle Of Illusion because it might take me more time to write than it took me to finish the game (yes, it's really, really short). So, let's do this:

  • Graphics
  • Cute story (typical Disney but I enjoyed the 'lesson' anyway)

  • Short, as in, 2 hours or so.

  • Controls could've been better/smoother
  • Collision detection can be awful

96

A wonderfully fun game!

BlockAgent | April 7, 2014 | See all BlockAgent's reviews »

This is a great game, especially so if you remember the original.

The levels are all fun and have no boring parts at all. The graphics are great and it runs very smoothly. This is a great game for both kids and adults. It is challenging, but not too hard. Kids will be able to progress in the game just fine. The game has unlockables such as outfits for Mickey and statues that you can build. Earning those things kept me coming back after I beat the story. My wife and I played this together by taking turns on the levels and had a blast.

It is well worth the purchase.

95

Great Mickey comes back.

daraya79 | Dec. 18, 2013 | See all daraya79's reviews »

I bought it for my daughter because she loves Disney cartoons. But finally I ended up playing it by myself. Simple rules (run, jump, collect), great graphics and sound make that it is great come back of Mickey. I have remembered old good times and hours spent with Crash Bandicoot when I have played Castle of Illusion. This game is very universal. Same good for children as for adults. If You are wondering what to buy for Your kid (or not) for a gift then this game is 100% good choice.

86

Fantastic!

Oblaque | Sept. 16, 2013 | See all Oblaque's reviews »

I bought this game thinking it wouldn't live up to its original predecessor and boy was I wrong! It's actually better and by when I say better, I mean better! Very nostalgic and satisfyingly fun. I recommend this title to anyone who just wants to have fun.

80

The Mouse Is Back!

Numbi | Sept. 12, 2013 | See all Numbi's reviews »

After completing Ducktales I was looking for another good platform title to sink my teeth into and Castle of Illusion fit the bill perfectly. While I never played the original title it is clear to see that Sega went the extra mile when remaking this classic. The visuals are drop-dead gorgeous with plenty of background detail and awesome animations. The challenge factor is a bit low (or I am getting better at platform games) but I had a lot of fun completing this one. Finding all the hidden items to collect new costumes is nice but the game is rather short and I finished it in a matter of hours. Next up on my list, Superfrog!

80

A fantastic re-imagining of a Classic Sega Game.

papazdo | Sept. 5, 2013 | See all papazdo's reviews »

It's short, cute and absolutely magically.

I was a huge fan of this game, when i was much younger and was probably one of the best games on the Sega Genesis. The original levels are all remade. The new levels contain a lot of the same structure from the original classic game, though with a new modern twist.The game now has a voiced narrator, which is woven into the game quite well and does not distract.

The soundtrack is brilliant on every original track. The classic soundtrack is also included into the options for you to play through the game in.

The physics of Mickey feel quite good and is quite easy to maneuver around the levels. (able to adjust direction in mid air quite easily) Precision platforming is important and the controls and handling are solid to make it all fun. The game can be replayed as you can try collect a range of items in each level.

The game took about 3-4 hours to complete. Though can probably done quicker if you really try to speed through it. The game is quite beautiful so I took a lot of time exploring more levels and enjoying each environment.

Most of the game is easy, though does progressively get harder towards the end. The final boss can be quite difficult for some, though it is a satisfying challenge to complete.

Though the PC port could have been much better. On Day 1, the game is currently running at a locked 30fps (or lower, some users are experiencing trouble even reaching this for various strange reasons) 60fps is usually the standard of PC, though this is playable at 30fps. There is no steam icon or tile icon for this game yet, and the download is only 1GB. So somebody at Sega is not doing their job. (the game also runs under DirectX9) And i really doubt this game needs 4GB ram... Hopefully patches are soon to follow, though I've seen indies release much smoother than this and PC support does not seem like it is there yet.

When the game works. It's fantastic. Reviews have been hard comparing this to the recently release Rayman Legends. Though this game doesn't try to do what Rayman does. This game is there to provide a retelling of the original classic Sega game, and it's a very good one at that. 100% worth playing if you enjoyed the classic, and 100% worth it during a sale for newcomers or even the platform genre.

80/100 It's a great game, but don't expect a masterpiece, it doesn't try to do anything new or grand. It's a nice short experience and what it does it does very well.

100

Old School Jump and Run game

wolferatus | Sept. 4, 2013 | See all wolferatus's reviews »

This Game is so sweet, if you have childrens, this is the best game you can buy. And if you are a big Child than buy it too. Graphics are beautyful, voices are original from disney movie autor, no bad or ugly synchrone, game is in english with subtitels. Best way to play this game is with Gamepad. The Story is easy, you have to safe Minni, like old Mario Games with Peech :), If you are a nostalgyfan, its a must have!

10/10 Points

  • nice graphic
  • not to easy
  • nice game for kids
  • original voices
  • nice price
  • must have for fans
  • music

90

A magic game

Cavalieroscuro | Aug. 29, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

Castle of Illusion is simply one of the best HD remake you can find at the moment. It's better then Duck Tales Remaster, because the art direction has hugely improved the title. The gameplay is pretty linear, but exploring all the levels is a magical experience. If you loved the original Genesis game, buy it. If you never played the original Genesis game, buy it now.