Reviews for Men of War Cap

84

Recommended

kalil | June 20, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

The 3rd game in MoW series, after Soldiers of Honor and Faces Of War. It's an improved version of Faces Of War, with some more options to use, a bit better graphic engine and better multiplayer. For me just perfect tactical RTS, which I play from time to time even now. As a WWII history buff and a RTS gamer I can honestly say it is one of the best games I've ever played. Tons of historically accurate weapons, vehicles and uniforms, coupled with the decent graphics and realistic effects (ballistics, explosions,cover, etc.) make me feel almost as if I was in the battle myself. The best thing about Men of War definitely is the GEM editor that allows you to create your own maps and missions. The endless possibilities of the GEM Editor really make up for the single player, that has some interesting missions but overall way too few. Assault Squad is a HUGE improvement, I would highly recommend this game

81

Commandos meets Company of Heroes

mutsuriini | June 7, 2013 | See all mutsuriini's reviews »

Men of War is the third game in the series of tactical WWII strategy games that began with Soldiers: Heroes of WWII and its sequel Faces of War. While it has kept all the strong points of these two games, namely the tactical squad-based combat, micro-management, detailed and interactive environments, Men of War expands the gameplay to include large-scale assaults and more conventional army operations. In between those massive engagements, the game always returns to the series' roots and lets you maneuver a small squad of elite soldiers behind enemy lines, focussing on stealth and silent takedowns.

The game put a lot of emphasis on historical accuracy, attention to detail and tactical planning, making it a lot more challenging than Company of Heroes. Highly recommended for wargamers.

85

A very good game

Mikagee | Dec. 23, 2012 | See all Mikagee's reviews »

This game was one of my favorite 1C games.

The sound of gun shots and tanks moving around is absolutely great, but the voice acting of units in english is just overall very poor. The engine the game runs on is great as explosions can kill your entire army in a blink of an eye and can alter the landscape. You command every individual soldier to do different orders which is totally different from any strategy game I have ever played.

This game also has a very good single player campaign. Multiplayer on this game is very fun and addictive and many different modes to choose from

85

Quite fun

dakata353 | Dec. 10, 2012 | See all dakata353's reviews »

I enjoyed this game a lot. The begining can be tough, but once you get the hang of it, you'll get addicted to playing! At some points I was forced to rage quit but the game isn't insanely hard, altho it can be a challenge sometimes. I recommend Men of War to all you who like the Commandos series.

75

Solid Game

lachking | Nov. 9, 2012 | See all lachking's reviews »

Men of War is an action RTS game and for the most part, is a solid experience. The objectives are vast and varied, such as defending a town with a single tank. You can also take direct control of soldiers- they even have inventories and you can pick up items from dead soldiers and this is a nice touch that is very rarely seen in RTS games. The graphics are solid and run fairly decently, with the in game sounds also being solid for the most part. The game does have some shortcomings. Firstly, it is very difficult. I had to reload the first mission multiple times even on easy. The cut scenes also feature voice acting which is downright embarrassing to watch.However, the game for the most part is still a solid experience.

80

Good game, not for everyone

Malderiere | May 26, 2012 | See all Malderiere's reviews »

   Men of War is pretty nice, but I would not consider it as one of my favorite games. First off, let's start with the bad. Number one is the A.I. I could be doing something wrong, but in my case the A.I. has a mind of its own. For example, if I tell a squad to hold position, at least one of the squad members will run right up to a tank and attempt to throw an anti-tank grenade at it, often getting killed in the process.
   Number two is the steep learning curve and difficulty of the game. As another review said, you basically always need to monitor your troops ammo and your vehicles ammo/health. No pop-up messages or sounds about this stuff will be heard, although tank damage is usually visible.
   Now on to the good. The visuals/graphics are pretty nice. They do the job well, and create a pretty nice atmosphere. Tanks/grenades and other explosions can have an effect on the environment like blowing up a bridge or braking ice. Another good thing is that you do actually need to use tactics to win. You cannot just run into battle and expect to kill everything. Finally, direct-control of the troops is pretty awesome. You can take control of basically any troop under your command and control him yourself.
  All-in-all this game is a fun, challenging and rewarding game that most RTS lovers will enjoy. I will say this game is not for everyone though.

70

Quite fun, but very difficult

Antagonist121 | May 18, 2012 | See all Antagonist121's reviews »

If you've ever heard of a game called Sudden Strike, then this is very similar, except it is in full 3D and has better graphics and more gameplay mechanics. However, this is also a lot more difficult than Sudden Stike, in that it took me a while to beat even on of the first missions. Regardless, the m echanics are quite fun and it makes a change for a game to be so tactical. Plenty of missions to do as well. I would get some of the standalone expansions instead, as they have better and more updated gameplay mechanics.

81

Fantastic Strategy Game

shavsheti | May 6, 2012 | See all shavsheti's reviews »

If you don't like to build your army like every strategy game, this game is one of the best choices you have. You only control your army in this game. There's a lot of unit types to be experienced. Also, you don't only right-click in this game. When you choose a unit, you totally control the unit. Every unit has it's inventory, ammuniton and you need to check them all the time. But the bad part is Single-player gets boring over the time. The most funny part of this game is the Multiplayer. Gather your friends and beat them or team up with them to beating the quests and battles!

70

Needs Some practice but still great

1dayscandal | April 8, 2012 | See all 1dayscandal's reviews »

This game requires a lot of practice and getting used to, This is not your usual strategy games here you have to order your units from a unit bar (multiplayer only with the exceptions of a few single player missions) then from there you can either command them as a squad (infantry) or you can select to directly control a unit! for example say you're in a tight situation in a town and your tank is missing a whole bunch of targets or you see infantry creeping up behind, well no worries! just press the 'take command' key and voila! you are now in direct control of your tank!

Like I said this game is pretty intimidating at first for new players as you ALWAYS have to keep your eye on the ammo count of EVERY single soldier even if it's the driver of a tank! So this leads to some really irritating late-campaign missions where you have massive firefights all over the map. But once you get passed these firsts troubles, Men of War really pays off!

94

Great WWII Strategy Game

omgwtf | March 24, 2012 | See all omgwtf's reviews »

MoW is a great game; however, there are certain thing you should know before playing it. Multiplayer is 10 times as much fun as single player. Get your friends together and play with them if you want a good strategic experience. Single player is hard but also boring. Mods can really improve this game, and I personally recommend the Brothers of War II mod which adds tons of new units to the game. If you play mutiplayer with mods, this is an incredible game and has tons of replay value.

62

Solid gameplay premise, but some problems in execution.

Cyrosis | Jan. 3, 2012 | See all Cyrosis's reviews »

I went into Men of War fairly excited that I would find a game for the detail-minded individual, after hearing this was a truly strategic game, where the similar Company of Heroes was more action oriented. It is true that Men of War is more strategic, and realistic, and I like these qualities about it. Using cover and setting up flanking positions is very required, you can't simply overrun the enemy. Where I ran into problems were the squads seemed to have minds of there own at every situation I was trying to give very specific orders; I found them instead attempting what they thought best (attacking while hold fire is on, or charging over cover, moving from prone to standing), this almost always ended with them ruining a great surprise attack that I had been setting up the last few minutes, and forcing me to load a save game. On the other hand, once the bullets started flying and I actually wanted them to attack, the AI seemed much less willing, seemingly not able to peek from cover anymore to return fire.

It's possible these AI problems have been resolved in one of the many expansions/sequels in the series, and it would really be a great game if it wasn't for these issues. As it stand however, I can't give it high marks.

85

A great Action Strategy game

faraany3k | Sept. 2, 2011 | See all faraany3k's reviews »

I got this game from GMG promotion sometime ago, and I must say this is an amazing game. If you are a fan of Company of Heroes or the more recent Dawn of War 2 series which focuses more on action oriented strategy, this is a must have game for all of you.

Instead of building bases and gathering resources, we are given a scenario and a prebuilt army which we then use to complete our mission objectives. Game is set in WW2, so the missions range from annihilating enemy strongholds, escorting and small skirmishes. MoW boasts some of the most detailed and amazing graphics ever scene in a strategy game. From large vehicles to small trees are immaculately detailed.

Game has minor UI and control bugs but they are perfect most of the time. Destructible environments add another level of depth both visually and gameplay wise. There is also a RPG element where we can pick up loot from fallen soldiers. MoW is undoubtedly 1C studios most polished title. This game stands shoulder to shoulder with Company of Heroes in many ways.Game is a little hard and learning curve is a little steep, but nothing that strategy game veterans cant handle. MoW should be a part of every gamers collection.

89

A bit unpolished, but a gem nevertheless

pjer177 | Aug. 22, 2011 | See all pjer177's reviews »

Being a WW2 RTS game, Men of War looks generic at the first glance, but has one specific feature that makes it everything but your usual RTS. This feature is the direct command of your troops. Select a troop (or a vehicle), and press a button to take control of it like you would do in a shooter game. Move with wasd and shoot with mouse, opening endless tactical possibilities. Every soldier has its own inventory, which means that you can equip him anyway you want. To give an example what you can expect Men of War to play, here's a typical game situation: You are controlling a tank and destroying the enemy until suddenly an enemy cannon ambushes you from the flank and you have no option but to abandon the tank. 3 crew members exit the vehicle and start running from the approaching enemy infantry. All get gunned down except one who manages run and hide in the bushes. Armed only with a handgun (he is tank crewman) he manages to find a single enemy soldier and shoot him without attracting much attention. He takes his rifle, his ammo and explosives. Next, he approaches the enemy cannon and kills its crew with explosives. What happens next? Would you mount the gun and use it against enemies? Repair the tank? Look for an enemy vehicle and try stealing it? Continue going commando and finish your mission? You can do all of these things an much more in Men of War. For WW2 fans it is also worth mentioning that the game contains a large portion of WW2 arsenal, as well as vehicles from all major powers. Graphics are also very good and detailed. The main game flaws are its mission design, which is the most probable cause of all the comment on the difficulty of the game. Missions often contain a large number of soldiers to control and in heavy combat a new player might feel overwhelmed with micromanagement, however, this is something you get used to once you learn the ropes of the game (Red Tide is much more forgiving in this aspect). The second big flaw is voice acting, which can be honestly described as dreadful.

Overall, Men of War is a game that seems complicated and unpolished, but once you really get in it, it becomes one of the most rewarding gaming experiences.

65

Not for everybody, but still a good for some. Mediocre to some.

mevidek | Aug. 18, 2011 | See all mevidek's reviews »

I didn't really like Men of War, but I'm sure that many others did. Set in Europe and North Africa during the Second World War, MoW is a RTS that takes you through the stories of various soldiers fighting during the period. With ok but not groundbreaking graphics, quite fun gameplay, but a quite steep learning curve MoW is bound to attract some, but not others. Personally I didn't really enjoy the game, but if you have a love for such games, then seriously get this if you really want to.

85

Steep learning curve, but worth it

Quizn0s | Aug. 14, 2011 | See all Quizn0s's reviews »

A lot of people compare this game to Company of Heroes, and rightly so. They're both realistic WWII RTS games. However, they play very differently. Men of War is more of a tactical simulator than Company of Heroes. It can take a while to learn how to play, but once you learn how to play it without dying, it's very rewarding.

90

A bit difficult

uber24 | Aug. 7, 2011 | See all uber24's reviews »

I downloaded Men of War during GreenManGaming's promotion. I must say that this game has taken up hour after hour of my time! It is loaded with awesome features, including four separate campaigns! It is a bit too difficult even on the easy level if you ask me, but everyone is entitled to their opinion. Like I read in a previous review, it is very difficult, but each defeat drives you toward your goal of overcoming it instead of leaving you angry and annoyed. Make a great choice and purchase this game! Its well worth it

87

great RTS

fable2 | Aug. 6, 2011 | See all fable2's reviews »

I just got this game like a week ago and I love it, it is very similiar to the game "Faces of War" except it has quite a few different weapons, vehicles, and ways (also controls) to progress through the game. I have to say, it does make you think before you take any type of action! I love the way you control your soldiers and vehicles, it is such a great idea I hope another game comes out just like this one! But if you are too lazy to "work" through a game, then this game is definitely not for you and neither do you deserve it. Those who buy this game and don't like it because they are too lazy to play it, are a total disrespect to those who made it. It's a great game, if your up to the task of using your brain and using your hands, you just have to get used to it.

The grahpics, sound, and gameplay is great so there is nothing to worry about! Multiplayer is surely different (as in FoW) and thats what makes the multiplayer wonderful! Don't judge it by the screenshots or the game cover, ITS WORTH BUYING!

79

Good Game, A Bit Difficult.

etnies | Aug. 2, 2011 | See all etnies's reviews »

Men of War is an RTS game that takes place during WW2. The graphics are great for an RTS game, and the game is full of features. The game has good gameplay but I would say that its not for everyone. The game is a bit difficult if you are new to it and might have trouble knowing what to do or what everything is used for. Its still a good game and anyone who is a fan of RTS games should look into it.

82

Pretty Good

NoLove3827 | July 23, 2011 | See all NoLove3827's reviews »

Men of War is a Realtime Stratagy war game that takes place during WW2, Its graphics are pretty good for a RTS and I has Destructable environmental objects which are nice, you can level a house and create a new patch to your objective. The game is sort of like a new and MUCH improved version of Commandos. The game is easy on your PC, which means most PC's should be able to play it, if not turn the video options up to highest.

98

Addictive Gameplay, Endless Possibilities!

gypsy39 | July 22, 2011 | See all gypsy39's reviews »

This game and the series as a whole is superb. This is really a Real Time Tactical (RTT) game because it involves no resources (besides sometimes looting ammo and fuel) and building which is so overdone that it's boring and repetitive. This game gives you a set amount of troops and you have to figure out how to achieve your objectives. Some levels can be downright challenging. Another great feature is Direct Control, which gives you the option to control individual soldiers so you can aim, shoot, reload, move, etc. A tank for example usually has four crew members, but each one can be ordered to mount or dismount as needed. The replay value of levels is high because no battle will happen the same way twice. Not to mention that this includes a fantastic editor so you can set up whatever you want, making Men of War literally limitless in possibilities. There is a learning curve to use the editor, but with lots of references on the internet you'll figure it out in no time. There are also a ton of great mods out there for you to try and 1C makes these games mod friendly so even computer illiterate people like me can enjoy them. Many people have devoted some serious time to building entire campaigns with new maps, skins, vehicles and weapons. It's fantastic. If you loved this title be sure to check out Soldiers: Heroes of WW2, Faces of War, Red Tide, and Assault Squad. Let's make sure that GMG gets the upcoming MoW Vietnam and Condemned Heroes. Lastly, these titles are more than playable on a half decent laptop, you may have to adjust your settings slightly however. I love that because I can bring the battle with me anywhere I go. So do not miss this series, get ready to lock and load!

75

WW2 Strategy

IganX | July 21, 2011 | See all IganX's reviews »

With singleplayer and multiplayer modes, this RTS game based in WW2 is a higher quality game than others which have some similar display. The graphics are pretty neat, the gameplay is great allowing excellent tactical management, you have at your disposal many playable factions, and the campaigns are great. The main drawback can be the amount of micro-management required, that can make this one a complicated game for people who are getting started un RTS.

88

Fun, hard, exciting, more fun.

Antagonist121 | July 21, 2011 | See all Antagonist121's reviews »

This game is brilliant. Excellent campaign, with a great modding community. The game was very hard for me, but it was not frustrating, which made it all the more exciting. The field of view for each unit was a feature that I had not seen before, and it adds more tactics. One minor complaint is that the voice acting is pretty awful. But then again, this game is not about a deep and engrossing story. I'll leave that to the RPG's

85

a must play for commandos series fans

liquidsnake78 | July 18, 2011 | See all liquidsnake78's reviews »

wow, this game is good, i was expecting this game to be another overblown hype war game but its damn good, men of war is a must play for all those old school fans of commandos series. Being a commandos fan myself i felt this game was very familiar, the graphics is smooth and the game plays out fast depending on the tactics you use. If you are into modern war games this game will feel a lot easier as you would already know the weakness/advantage of each unit. the missions are interesting some of them are really complex and hard, but once you get to know the flow of the game mechanics the game is very entertaining. Amazingly the multiplayer for this game is still alive but the length of time it would take to complete a clean game online would take hours which becomes a bit boring. So overall the game is great and bug-free compared to other games in the series, its worth playing.

90

Awesome

scarecrow9421 | July 17, 2011 | See all scarecrow9421's reviews »

If you love tactical games where you control a squad of individual people get this game. Each soldier has its own name and equipment. It can get a little tedious to micromanage everything but if you dont mind making sure every little thing is in working order you will find a deep and rewarding experience. The game features numerous campaigns from different factions so there is plenty to keep you coming back for more. I highly recommend getting this game.

85

Okay

hotmando1 | July 11, 2011 | See all hotmando1's reviews »

Singleplayer is a challenge, it has an underdog concept. You get a small number of troops against hundreds of enemies and tanks. A lot of the single player missions are like this so expect to get tired. Graphics are nice and bearable, some glitches and bugs here and there though. For an example, pathfinding for waypoints is horrible..especially for tanks. Multiplayer is harsh on new players. Some people have over a thousand games and can easily crush you. Lots of different factions but germans and soviets are the most played. You can tell by almost every game you join there is at least on german faction. One good thing is that there is co-op for single player. MOW is better than faces of war so it's a better buy. Like MOW? Get assault squad too.

85

GREAT GAME :D

Scar1358 | July 9, 2011 | See all Scar1358's reviews »

Let me start of by saying if you dont like RTS (real time strategy) you will not like this game! Being me i love RTS games! This one takes on the battle field of WW2 this game does have a single player and multiplayer. I reccomend to play this game in co-op with a friend because the missions are brutal! Which is always a great thing when you face against a game that is hard but not super hard that you give up! The setting and visuals are amazing in this game so don't be thinking its something you find in minecraft graphics xD. The gameplay is great but there are some things that are negative about this game. If you havn't had any experience with RTS wartime games you may not want to get this to try out since the missions are quite hard to complete. I give this game 85/100 :)

95

The greatest thing since....bread

Johny | July 9, 2011 | See all Johny's reviews »

With the perfect combination of realism and fun arcade combat and the added support of mods and at least 20+ hours of just single player game play (so far i have 80) this is possibly the perfect game just let down but some almost unnoticeable lackluster graphics

65

Many good missions and many bad ones too

steamisbetter | July 7, 2011 | See all steamisbetter's reviews »

Men of War is a World War 2 tactics game. I'd describe it as a light version of Company of Heroes mixed with Hidden & Dangerous. There's no base building or resources, some missions let you call in reinforcements but that's it. All units have their own inventory and you can take direct control of them, a feature which is quite important as AI-controlled units has very limited field of view and tend to waste a lot of ammo.

Difficulty is quite high and it takes some time to get used to. The cover system is a bit overeager, makes it hard to navigate through narrow passages without the unit trying to "take cover" on either wall. The difficulty system is weird, playing on easy disables the ability to use air strikes for some reason, which actually makes the game harder than on normal difficulty. Your units usually have very little ammo, if they run out they will just sit there doing nothing and you don't get a notification about it.

Missions fall roughly into 3 categories: 1. Large-scale offensive or defensive missions where you fight alongside with allied NPC units. These are quite plentiful and by far my favorite missions. They are usually designed so that you can just barely accomplish your objective, which makes them quite intense. The engine has some trouble handling all the units though, my frame rate frequently dropped below 20 regardless of graphics settings. 2. Small-scale missions with little or no allied NPCs. You're usually given a handful of units and tasked to defeat a numerically superior enemy force. An example would be the very first mission of the game, in which you're given a single tank and told to capture a village and then take out an entire convoy. I didn't like these a whole lot, expect a lot of saving and reloading to keep your invaluable vehicles alive. 3. Stealth missions. I hated these. Again, lots of saving and reloading involved thanks to enemies who can magically spot your units through 2 sets of walls. Loading a save seems to reset the AI sometimes and cause it to do something completely different than previously.

It's hard to recommend an older game like this when there are 2 standalone expansions out and the new Men of War: Vietnam in the works. Skip it unless it's very cheap, and get Assault Squad instead.

59

Not what I expected

bFasoX | July 7, 2011 | See all bFasoX's reviews »

This game lets you play with different allies through the World War II, which has been seen in other games more than once. For this reason, this game rather gets a lower position in the WWII games list. The gameplay is rather slow as you continue through the different levels. In my opinion the controls on a keyboard are a bit weird, but maybe I am just used to other games. My suggestion: If you like war games (shooters) in general, this is a possible buy for you. If you are not really interested, save your money.

81

Good old fun

hotmando1 | July 7, 2011 | See all hotmando1's reviews »

The game is pretty outdated by other titles but still retains a lot of players online. Some players have over a thousand games played, which can discourage new people in multiplayer. Graphics are okay but gameplay is heavily more focused in this. Balance is a key word in this game. It is extremely balanced between factions. It's really just a rock-paper-scissors mechanic. Snipers for long range, machine gunners for rifle men, etc etc etc. The game isn't a simple spam war too. You don't send your troops to die. You put them in buildings and cover. Sometimes that determines the entire game. The map isn't just a level, it's your playing field. You need it to win which is something I really liked. Bugs and glitches are patched by now too! While singleplayer is nice and all, I prefer the multiplayer because that is where the real game is at. Buy it for never ending fun.