Reviews for Saints Row IV (NA)

88

Awesome is a understatement

Jncocontrol | Sept. 22, 2013 | See all Jncocontrol's reviews »

I pre-ordered the game cause I was curious on how well the super power aspect would work, and to say the least I was very surprised, it really makes you feel like a superhero.

I did play SR3 (which was good in my opinion) you are back in Steelport, and now you got more activities to do, like the Professor Genki's activiites which are always a load of fun, these always give you somethig to do.

The Dialog has been greatly improved from SR3, I'm not saying SR3 was terrible but it alot better then SR3.

If i had to add anything to this review, I wish we would have gotten better missions like i SR3 where we fly out of a airplan and crash a party or fly threw a airplane shoot 3 people, Steal a backup paraschute and go for shantie.

Overall this is a great addition to the SR series.

85

A good game

Knctrnl1 | Sept. 16, 2013 | See all Knctrnl1's reviews »

Not a great game that adds so many new dynamics but a solid gameplay once they can fix the freezes and crashes. Many issues with the co op and bugs. Once they patch and fix it should be pretty entertaining. Good dialogue and some fun gameplay. If you like some freedom and open world its worth grabbing on sale.

70

the story was awesome

darkfox2401 | Sept. 16, 2013 | See all darkfox2401's reviews »

i played this game with my brother , the story line is always a riot and totally random at times. if you are gana play this game to run around and explore than the third game is a bit better but still a riot . i believe its better than grand theft auto every time graphics are way better as well

66

Solid but nothing new

Simao20 | Sept. 12, 2013 | See all Simao20's reviews »

What was meant to be part of DLC that was added into a full game is rather evident in this game. It bored me for the couple hours I played which is unfortunate because I loved the previous 3 games especially The Third.

Pros

  • Big open world
  • Great visuals
  • Same gameplay mechanics as before for easy pick up and play
  • Vast create a character mode
  • Over the top

Cons

  • Feels the same
  • Didn't enjoy the super hero elements
  • Boring and too different of a game to keep my interest

96

Absolutely crazy

Xillion | Sept. 11, 2013 | See all Xillion's reviews »

As the main character you return to the town of steelport. You are granted super powers and do anything you want. This was one of the most favorite parts about the game. Of course the comedy is as hilarious as ever. Co-op makes it all the better. I highly recommend this game.

90

A great sequel to SR3 in some ways, a step back in others

GunblazeGriffin | Sept. 1, 2013 | See all GunblazeGriffin's reviews »

Saints Row 3 revitalized my interest in the sandbox genre, and after finishing it, I craved more. Enter: Saints Row 4. This game, much like Saints Row 3, is a very enjoyable experience that advances its successor in some ways, but some of the material I enjoyed in SR3 seems missing.

I thought the writing was spot-on with some excellent spoofing of other games and genres (The Matrix and Mass Effect take most of this, and deservedly so!) and the characters were certainly memorable, although I was sad that some of my favorites from SR4 didn't make the cut.

The world feels just as open, if not more so, with the implementation of super powers, and this is where my enjoyment of the game starts to slide. The powers basically deter you from getting into any of the new vehicles. Want to drive around on a Tron cycle? Okay, but you'll get there in half the time with super sprinting and jumping! There's really no incentive to avoid using your powers, which feel a bit stale after a while.

The missions tend to get tedious too, with the side quests boiling down to "go complete challenges across the city you've been skipping!". I felt like there was more variety in SR3, but it could be rose-tinted glasses. When it comes to the plot missions, though, I've enjoyed every one.

Overall, I love this game, and I'm currently in a collectible-collecting frenzy. It's worth picking up if you're a fan of 3, or if you want a self-effacing sandbox game not burdened by reality.

89

A great and rediculous game

cordin | Sept. 1, 2013 | See all cordin's reviews »

This game as many would say is cheeky and stupid, but because of that I would find it as a very fun game to play, though the whole game is focused as if you are the male character it makes the game feel weird at times, the game is very cool and well driven, but it is still not optimized for lower end PCs, overall, i loved this game, and all the saints before it just dont go thinking that this will be like the 2nd. buy this game and your sure to have a good laugh with a buddy or two.

100

A fine line

ConorEngelb | Sept. 1, 2013 | See all ConorEngelb's reviews »

There is a fine line between fun-absurdity and absurdity that just doesn't make sense and is quite cringe-worthy. Saints Row IV toes this line, crossing it only occasionally. The leader of the Saints is now the President of the United States. With super-powers. In a Matrix-esque simulation created by aliens. Whose leader is the DJ for the Classical music radio station. And reads Jane Austen novels. The powers are amazingly fun to use; easy to adapt to and very versatile. Many of the missions had me laughing out loud: NyteBlade fan fiction brought to life, a quick-time event stripper dance, to name to just two.

Definitely worth buying. You don't wanna miss a thing.

85

Love it

DarkS2K | Sept. 1, 2013 | See all DarkS2K's reviews »

Just like Saints Row: The Third but even more over the top crazy. Loads of fun, especially if you can find a buddy to play co-op with.

97

The next step up

nightassassin1 | Sept. 1, 2013 | See all nightassassin1's reviews »

So I recently got into this series because my roommate would not stop talking about Saints Row 3 so I got 2 and 3 and they were pretty crazy and interesting, but then we both got 4 and it was just that much better. Some games stagger where some are good and some are bad or mediocre, but this franchise just seems to up itself every game. This game has all the insane game play as the previous games and more. It felt like it missed the mark in a couple places, but nothing that lasted too long. It plays similar to Saints Row III, but adds some more game elements to make it more of its own game instead of feeling like an add-on.

The absolute coolest thing about this game is the integrated modding support. Deep Silver announced the support saying it wants to let the community do whatever it wants with the game to help prolong the life of the game. Very few companies care about the longevity of the game play and some go as far as to discourage or even chastise modding of the game. This company understands what the gaming community wants and brings it into fruition. Microsoft could learn a thing or two from these people.