Reviews for Gun Monkeys

100

Great game

Some_Freak5981 | April 15, 2014 | See all Some_Freak5981's reviews »

This here is one of the best multiplayer games ever! The artstyle is great, there are no bugs at all, announcer is funny, gameplay is polished, everything is PERFECT!

This game is an underrated gem and you should buy it and support developers.

67

Great game

Some_Freak5981 | April 15, 2014 | See all Some_Freak5981's reviews »

Great game, you should own this! The graphics are nice, the gameplay is polished, the announcer is funny and the whole game is amazing!

75

Overall a nice game

pmuecke | April 15, 2014 | See all pmuecke's reviews »

It's a fun little 1v1 game. The gameplay is nice enough, where you have the choice of either killing your enemy directly or by gaining a power advantage. Usually you'll have to employ a strategy consisting of both elements, but do not underestimate the importance of collecting those powercubes!

I changed the action button to my LMB, as I found this easier to move and shoot at the same time.

Last but not least you get a second copy (gift) in your steam inventory which is definitely nice to send to a friend, especially since there aren't that many players online and it can be difficult to find a match sometimes.

85

Amazing game to play with friend

cezzykozzy | April 15, 2014 | See all cezzykozzy's reviews »

Cheap price game, easy to learn, fun game with friend, but hard too complete all achievement, sure challenging!

23

Multiplayer is Dead

Maluno | March 6, 2014 | See all Maluno's reviews »

It can be fun if you take it for the casual 1x1 multiplayer platformer that it is. The graphics are neato and it works well with a gamepad.

It's also cheap. I bought it for about 2 dollars after a free-weekend on Steam, and it came with a 2nd copy as a Gift in a fair attempt to hoist the playerbase. It drops trading cards, so if you decide to sell those, your cost will have been even lower.

The reason i can't recommend it is that there is no playerbase. I've never seen anyone on their servers after the free-weekend on september 2013. Since its inclusion in a bundle that is going on at the time of this review, I've seen the servers going from empty to maybe 2 or 3 people. It stands to reason it will be deserted again pretty soon, as there is no single-player content to keep people running the game when the lobby is empty.

There is a message in the lobby suggesting you to join the Gun Monkeys Steam Group and check the chatroom to find players. I did that and never found anyone in there either.

Maybe it isn't the developer's fault - for as long as i could play it the game was fine, but unless you fancy playing the tutorial over and over, Gun Monkeys is rendered unusable by this desolation problem.

Then again, maybe it is their fault for releasing a multiplayer-only casual indie game in times when there is such an overabundance of other options. Even the low price doesn't hold much significance if you consider the amount and quality of free-to-play games out there.

80

Decent game

taylw006 | Dec. 2, 2013 | See all taylw006's reviews »

This game is fun whilst playing with friends, however there are pretty much no other players to fight. The game has some great narration with some funny comments upon death. Me and my friend enjoyed playing it.

The combat could have improvements such as being able to aim in a direction other than parallel to the floor. If you plan to play with friends then it will be great fun, but otherwise don't buy

79

A good fast-action 1vs1 game

RedFrix | Nov. 17, 2013 | See all RedFrix's reviews »

Gun Monkeys is a really enjoyable fast match game if you're in a hurry but want to get fun before going out. It only takes like 2 up to 30 minutes depending how good both sides are. It's amazingly fun but it'll be quite hard to get players since almost nobody plays this game anymore, which is sad.

80

Better than expected

Numbi | Sept. 27, 2013 | See all Numbi's reviews »

I tend to avoid these multi-player only Indie titles as I have been burned before by games where the community moved on leaving empty servers. I gave this game a shot however as it has a free weekend and I have to admit that I was impressed enough to purchase the game. The levels are procedurally generated which is quite cool and it has an offline mode. The achievements and trading cards is what sold me on the game after I played it. The best part is that the game comes with two Steam keys so you can get someone else in on the action.

95

Amazing fast paced action.

manu981 | Sept. 26, 2013 | See all manu981's reviews »

Don't go on the price, this game will blow you off, once you learn how to play it. But of course, for that you need to be patient. Minimalist controls (as you'd expect in an indie), breathtaking graphics and great sound effects. Tried it on this free weekend and it swept me off. Additionally, its essence is a multi-player game, so you can either enjoy it with your mates, or challenge random people in a server lobby. Played it for like an hour or so, didn't find a glitch, except the fact that it takes a while to understand the interface, as I said, requires patience.

77

Awesome

ysk1985 | Sept. 3, 2013 | See all ysk1985's reviews »

This game is great, support the devs, they even have this game mechanic where if no one joins you in the lobby, they give out keys for you to bring more people into the game. The game is fun and fresh and the graphics aren't bad.

69

Monkey around with a gun

mahon | Sept. 2, 2013 | See all mahon's reviews »

Gun Monkeys is a simple game, which doesn't mean it's not fun to play. In fact it is, as long as you enjoy shooting monkeys. You will be playing an armed monkey fighting another monkey with a gun. Pretty much what the title suggests, isn't it? But you will be doing it in completely randomly generated sceneries, which are subject to the laws of physics. The game's full of platformer elements, like climbing, jumping and falling, which makes it very dynamic. Now bear in mind the game is about fighting against other players, either online or locally, but it's all it is about, so don't have any high singleplayer expectations. But if you have a good bunch of possible opponents, you may get to enjoy your monkeying around in this game.

85

Freakin Awesome

Barrington | Aug. 30, 2013 | See all Barrington's reviews »

Great for those burst sessions of about 20 minutes or game or 2 during your lunch break

Amazingly fun with friends plus at $6 if your friends don't have it its at a price to buy it as a gift for friends