Reviews for Gun Monkeys

50

A fun fast-paced game involving monkeys with guns!

Grimagin | Dec. 17, 2014 | See all Grimagin's reviews »

What more can you ask for? The thrilling hunt of one future monkey trying to kill a monkey from an opposing company in the obtaining of a powerful energy source provided by your ancestors. This game is fun, humorous, and each game only lasts between 5 and 10 minutes, so you can get a lot of games in. After playing a match you are awarded with cash that you can spend to unlock and use up to 4 perks at a time. This allows for each new opponent to bring on new strategies and challenges. This 1v1 arena is enough to get you to say, "where did all the time fly?"

The only downside is that this game is strictly multiplier and it has gone down the wayside meaning that if you want to play, make sure that you know some friends who are going to want to head off against you.

So what are you waiting for? Go grab a bunch of your monkey friends to this game so that you can triumph on the throne after you've spent hours blowing them up!

85

A really fun casual time killer I wish had a decent player base.

TayburrFripper | Oct. 29, 2014 | See all TayburrFripper's reviews »

It is a very lighthearted, non-committal, cartoonishly, humorous little game wivery short PVP (player vs player) unfortunately this game has no players... I've seen anywhere from ZERO players online to upwards of a whole whopping TEN. seriously. the only problem with this game is lack of a user base considering it NEEDS people to play against as it is lacking a Single Player mode. If you have a friend that will play this with you then i think you guys will have a crapton o' fun; if you're friendless, or your friends are losers who don't play REAL games, like the degenerates whom I have the distinct displeasure to call my friends that only play console or only the newest most expensive games around for a month until its on to the next 60+ games; but I digress.

TLDR Really fun casual time killer with absolutely no player base. comes with extra key, so bring your own friend to kill

70

FUN

Dinamitiumus | Oct. 17, 2014 | See all Dinamitiumus's reviews »

Monkey with a big gun against another monkey also with a gun? It's ridiculous! Gun Monkey is a multiplayer deathmatch game where you kill your opponent until his/her points are zero. Both start with a certain amount of points, I don't remember how much. The goal is to take all the points from the opponent, either by killing opponent's monkey or take 3 capsules and return them to your base.The visual is very nice, I really like it. It's a fun game, but only when there is other players to play against.

50

Filler game that lacks the filler.

winsquare2 | Oct. 10, 2014 | See all winsquare2's reviews »

1 v 1 shooting deathmatch with monkeys.Although the concept is unique, the game itself is below average and the fact that the online player base is incredibly small makes it worse.Even with a friend, i can guarantee that this game will only get your attention for at least an hour at max.The graphics are pretty chunky and boxy plus the controls are really mushy.The game mechanics are also really bad.For example, where the energy cubes spawn and where the energy deposit is can be pretty bias, leading to, more often than not, 1 sided games.Its almost a coin toss when it comes to winning or losing.

All in all,there are easily better indie games than this.For the price,I extremely recommend this only if you want to try this game for yourself and decide whether it's really worth it.

80

8/10

milanp98 | Oct. 8, 2014 | See all milanp98's reviews »

Who said killing monkeys in future isn't funny? This game maybe is a 2D cross platform multiplayer, but it isn't like every 2D cross platform multiplayer. It has unique graphics design, soundtrack, and the most important, unique story, if it even has a story. Just kidding. There is a story, but it doesn't affect gameplay. You're a monkey sent to the future to bring some energy to the present because that energy is trapped in the future. Basically, all you do is collect blue cubes of energy. That's why I love this game. You have the option to kill your opponent, but you don't have to. But, there is one thing I don't like. Sometimes, I wait for about an hour on a server and no one plays with me. But, anyway, it's a great game and everyone should try it.

60

Strangely fun

midgetjacks | Sept. 28, 2014 | See all midgetjacks's reviews »

Okay, the name is silly, the controls are kinda mushy, and overall the game is just kinda bad. BUT! I keep coming back to it. Sure, it helps that I had a friend to play against online, but, hey, it comes with an extra key. Problem solved!

So maybe we should talk about what this game is all about. It's simple. You're a monkey with a gun. There is another monkey with a gun, probably evil, that you battle against while trying to collect little blue cubes and take them back to your tube base....thing. Sometimes power-ups will drop. Sometimes the procedurally generated level will try to kill you with traps, bombs, and explodey crates. But that's okay, because you'll respawn (with lost credits/points) and get to jump right back in the fray, or a giant saw blade.

If you win, you get credits in your bank, which you can use to buy global boosts, of which you can have four equipped at once. If you lose, well, you lose credits. So try not to do that.

So that's that. Gun Monkeys is simple, dumb, slightly frustrating, but strangely fun. Buy it, give it a try, drag a friend kicking and screaming along with, and have some fun blowing up an evil (probably) monkey. Unless you were the evil one all along.

75

Fun game

Suppression555 | Sept. 25, 2014 | See all Suppression555's reviews »

Gun Monkeys is a 2D deathmatch game, though a rather uniquely designed one. Rather than just killing eachother, it's a battle to drop your enemy's energy to 0 while keeping yours above that. In addition to combat, you can collect energy to deposit into your generator and collecting enough will drop your opponent's energy as well. All of this takes place in randomly generated levels which unfortunately aren't always balanced, often only spawning energy on one side of the map or placing one player's generator in a very difficult to use location.

Unfortunately the problems don't end there. For a multiplayer-only game the netcode is terrible with frequent hit detection problems, disappearing energy, and being hit by explosions by entering the area several seconds after it happened. The platforming is well designed, but is often clumsy in practice due to the random generation.

Despite these problems, the game is quite fun. It looks great, has great music, and plenty of player customization to work with. It unfortunately never took off and has very few active players but if you have some friends to play with, it's well worth your time.

50

Great filler game, with a few frustrations :|

samtahbou | Sept. 22, 2014 | See all samtahbou's reviews »

This game is pretty sweet, very simple, short matches, entertaining pvp. I played through it and got all the achievements which were easy enough, I don't know if people consider that a good or bad thing. I enjoyed it.

But it does have some massive downsides, the pvp system allows for leavers to ditch at any point, if you're winning and they rage quit you get no credit. <== this will happen a lot and it will irritate you to no end. Eventually you will only play against people you know so you avoid that, it's that prevalent.

And there aren't enough people playing the game, so getting matches can get difficult, in fact up until the game was given away free en-mass on a couple of occasions one of which was here on gmg, the game was pretty dead.

Game play 8/10 community 1/10 I'll give it a generous average of 5/10, I enjoyed the game itself, if the community issues can be fixed it's an easy 7.

60

go in with a friend

redhawk20854 | Sept. 22, 2014 | See all redhawk20854's reviews »

This can be a fun and addictive game IF you have a friend to play it with. It is entirely a multiplayer game, so the friend is pretty necessary unless you want to rely on finding someone else who doesn't have a friend out there through the game waiting to play with you.

Fortunately, when you buy the game, you get two copies so you can share with aforementioned friend and start playing right away. It is a quick game, so it doesn't require a big time commitment to play a single game, and because it is procedurally generated maps, there is some decent replayability.

So, start by getting a friend. Then get gun monkeys. Then play gun monkeys. This is pretty much the only order that makes sense with this game.

60

Good 1v1 action packed fun!

N2tZ | Aug. 26, 2014 | See all N2tZ's reviews »

I found the game to be very enjoyable, even though there aren't many players around to play with. Gun Monkeys might not be a game you can spend weeks on but it's good for an hour or two of fun every once in a while.

The game is pure, fast-based action which mostly relies heavily on skill. The goal of the game is basically to collect orbs while dealing with your opponent by killing them. Winning a match rewards you with money you can use on upgrades. You can have a limited amount of upgrades active at once, making each player different, rather than just more powerful.

The graphics are simple and colorful. They're stylish and go well with the rest of the game. Although sometimes the bloom and tons of action going on might make it a little hard to understand what's going on.

Overall, it's a fun game and has great potential. It just needs more players and maybe some minor tweaks.

50

Fun, BUT...

iMichaelCortez | July 26, 2014 | See all iMichaelCortez's reviews »

The game is fun, however, it went the same direction most of the action packed indie multiplayer only games go: insane lack of players, and constant repetition. The graphics at the start will feel good, but after a hour or two it just starts bothering your eyes, too many colors. Only buy this game if you have a friend that will play local with you, even that way it's not worth it because you'll probably get bored of it after 15 minutes or less. Not to mention that the only way to win in-game currency is playing online, which means you won't be able to buy upgrades if you can't beat any other player because no one is playing the game.

47

Lack of players but fun.

luci2100 | July 25, 2014 | See all luci2100's reviews »

If you like monkey's with Big Guns and big explosion's this is the game for you

Take control of a monkey with a huge gun and fight against other player's in a 1v1 match to death

The game lack's tons of players so i would get my friends to buy this otherwise there wont be much fun untill you get more friends to buy Gun Monkeys i will suggest you pass this.

60

Dead game

TPCGorillaMunch | July 20, 2014 | See all TPCGorillaMunch's reviews »

Gun Monkeys is a multiplayer game which is lacking in a player base. I would only recommend getting this game if you had someone to play with. When you redeem a copy you get another free copy of the game which is a bonus and you can give it to someone to play with.

The gameplay is very simple it involves collecting energy cubes and bringing them back to your power core to score points. This is while the enemy monkey is doing the same thing and trying to stop you by using guns and bombs. Powerups can be collected to change your gun, freeze the other player, etc.

Overall it isn't a bad game and can be enjoyable if you have someone to play with, however the game is reasonably dead.

70

Fun

jmods5710 | July 17, 2014 | See all jmods5710's reviews »

Great for some casual 1v1 action. The price is very good, but it does lack in player numbers, so it is not really recommended in that way. The game is multiplayer only, with some nice looking procedurally generated arenas, but you should only play this if you get it for free now, cause it's hard to find people to play with unless you have friends to play with.

But, overall, as I stated before, very fun game.

23

Not worth it

jepherz | July 17, 2014 | See all jepherz's reviews »

This is basically a 1v1 versus game, no single player mode just to be clear. The game is pretty bland and will get boring very fast. There is also a leveling system which potentially makes the game even worse. When you win matches you get money to upgrade your character giving you an edge over others. Maybe that feature was supposed to make the game more interesting too but I don't think that's enough. I really like the art style of this game though and think it would have been a great coop adventure game if they had made it to be one.

54

Needs a bit more

Whoritiquisha | July 17, 2014 | See all Whoritiquisha's reviews »

It's a fun game and all but eventually it get less fun because you're basically repeating yourself over and over again. It's a simple 2D platform fighting game, but quite frankly, it tends to hurt my eyes. Half the time of the time your confused what's happening on the screen due to all the multicolored things!

68

Fun, but lacks players

blackmoth | July 13, 2014 | See all blackmoth's reviews »

This is a pretty fun game to waste some time on. It has a good price too. The gameplay is smooth. I haven't seen any bugs at all while playing it. The graphics are nothing special, but they fit for the type of game it is. The only real problem that I can see, is the lack of players. The playerbase is very small which makes it hard to play. I'd recommend it if you AND a few of your friends are going to get it, but if its just you, I'd pass on this one.

77

Good game but still has some problems

CARLEST | July 1, 2014 | See all CARLEST's reviews »

This game is really nice. You can be a monkey and fight other monkeys. Graphics are "different" from other games but I really like it. It is really funny when you just want to pass some time but I wouldn't play it every day. It's only problem is, that there are no other players to play with. It is pretty sad because it would be really good to play with friends.

30

Born dead

Jackassman | June 8, 2014 | See all Jackassman's reviews »

The pictures and videos of this game can easily make you feel that you want to try this game. Me and my friends got it a few months ago, and we realized that the multiplayer is literally dead. Which is bad, being a multiplayer game. It is a 1v1 arena game, one match is about 5 minutes long. It has some good ideas, the gameplay is dynamic and adrenaline pumping, it's fun to play with your friend. Or it COULD be fun atleast, because it gets so boring after 2 matches, you don't even wanna hear about it anymore. Also, you can easily 100% achievement this with your friend so... this game really not worth it.

20

Simple and "empty" game.

Furrek | May 18, 2014 | See all Furrek's reviews »

Sadly, I can recommend this game only for people with friends - online, or real, no matter. The reason is simple - this game is kinda empty. You will probably have hard time finding a new player or someone to play and have fun together longer than few matches. I played it on the same day when it was out on steam - it wasn't so bad experience, but that was when everybody was starting. Another big mistake is that you can't play with bots. That's why you will need friends if you want to enjoy, or even play, this game. As for the game - it's just simple deathmatch game. Nothing less, and nothing more.

82

Great and fun game

fercarp08 | May 5, 2014 | See all fercarp08's reviews »

the gameplay it's fast, intense and incredibly fun with different stages every time and the tide of the battle can turn very easily as different weapon drops and power ups appear randomly around the map and you also have an extremely powerful bomb at your disposal which is extremely satisfying to blow up your enemy with but is equally lethal to you!

The goal is to try and defeat your opponent by collecting energy cubes and bringing them back to your base and you win if the other players energy cube counter ticks down to zero and to the victor go the spoils as you get rewarded with tons of money that you can spend on cool perks such as upgrades to weapons or getting faster, more health etc.

Definitely a recommended game for some fun

70

Great game

coop | April 16, 2014 | See all coop's reviews »

This is a great cheap game. Well, it's not fantastic, but if you like deathmatch platform games, oh this games is for you! A great idea that would be awesome for who like the genre.

100

Great game

Some_Freak5981 | April 15, 2014 | See all Some_Freak5981's reviews »

This here is one of the best multiplayer games ever! The artstyle is great, there are no bugs at all, announcer is funny, gameplay is polished, everything is PERFECT!

This game is an underrated gem and you should buy it and support developers.

67

Great game

Some_Freak5981 | April 15, 2014 | See all Some_Freak5981's reviews »

Great game, you should own this! The graphics are nice, the gameplay is polished, the announcer is funny and the whole game is amazing!

75

Overall a nice game

pmuecke | April 15, 2014 | See all pmuecke's reviews »

It's a fun little 1v1 game. The gameplay is nice enough, where you have the choice of either killing your enemy directly or by gaining a power advantage. Usually you'll have to employ a strategy consisting of both elements, but do not underestimate the importance of collecting those powercubes!

I changed the action button to my LMB, as I found this easier to move and shoot at the same time.

Last but not least you get a second copy (gift) in your steam inventory which is definitely nice to send to a friend, especially since there aren't that many players online and it can be difficult to find a match sometimes.

85

Amazing game to play with friend

cezzykozzy | April 15, 2014 | See all cezzykozzy's reviews »

Cheap price game, easy to learn, fun game with friend, but hard too complete all achievement, sure challenging!

23

Multiplayer is Dead

Maluno | March 6, 2014 | See all Maluno's reviews »

It can be fun if you take it for the casual 1x1 multiplayer platformer that it is. The graphics are neato and it works well with a gamepad.

It's also cheap. I bought it for about 2 dollars after a free-weekend on Steam, and it came with a 2nd copy as a Gift in a fair attempt to hoist the playerbase. It drops trading cards, so if you decide to sell those, your cost will have been even lower.

The reason i can't recommend it is that there is no playerbase. I've never seen anyone on their servers after the free-weekend on september 2013. Since its inclusion in a bundle that is going on at the time of this review, I've seen the servers going from empty to maybe 2 or 3 people. It stands to reason it will be deserted again pretty soon, as there is no single-player content to keep people running the game when the lobby is empty.

There is a message in the lobby suggesting you to join the Gun Monkeys Steam Group and check the chatroom to find players. I did that and never found anyone in there either.

Maybe it isn't the developer's fault - for as long as i could play it the game was fine, but unless you fancy playing the tutorial over and over, Gun Monkeys is rendered unusable by this desolation problem.

Then again, maybe it is their fault for releasing a multiplayer-only casual indie game in times when there is such an overabundance of other options. Even the low price doesn't hold much significance if you consider the amount and quality of free-to-play games out there.

80

Decent game

taylw006 | Dec. 2, 2013 | See all taylw006's reviews »

This game is fun whilst playing with friends, however there are pretty much no other players to fight. The game has some great narration with some funny comments upon death. Me and my friend enjoyed playing it.

The combat could have improvements such as being able to aim in a direction other than parallel to the floor. If you plan to play with friends then it will be great fun, but otherwise don't buy

79

A good fast-action 1vs1 game

RedFrix | Nov. 17, 2013 | See all RedFrix's reviews »

Gun Monkeys is a really enjoyable fast match game if you're in a hurry but want to get fun before going out. It only takes like 2 up to 30 minutes depending how good both sides are. It's amazingly fun but it'll be quite hard to get players since almost nobody plays this game anymore, which is sad.

80

Better than expected

Numbi | Sept. 27, 2013 | See all Numbi's reviews »

I tend to avoid these multi-player only Indie titles as I have been burned before by games where the community moved on leaving empty servers. I gave this game a shot however as it has a free weekend and I have to admit that I was impressed enough to purchase the game. The levels are procedurally generated which is quite cool and it has an offline mode. The achievements and trading cards is what sold me on the game after I played it. The best part is that the game comes with two Steam keys so you can get someone else in on the action.

95

Amazing fast paced action.

manu981 | Sept. 26, 2013 | See all manu981's reviews »

Don't go on the price, this game will blow you off, once you learn how to play it. But of course, for that you need to be patient. Minimalist controls (as you'd expect in an indie), breathtaking graphics and great sound effects. Tried it on this free weekend and it swept me off. Additionally, its essence is a multi-player game, so you can either enjoy it with your mates, or challenge random people in a server lobby. Played it for like an hour or so, didn't find a glitch, except the fact that it takes a while to understand the interface, as I said, requires patience.

77

Awesome

ysk1985 | Sept. 3, 2013 | See all ysk1985's reviews »

This game is great, support the devs, they even have this game mechanic where if no one joins you in the lobby, they give out keys for you to bring more people into the game. The game is fun and fresh and the graphics aren't bad.

69

Monkey around with a gun

mahon | Sept. 2, 2013 | See all mahon's reviews »

Gun Monkeys is a simple game, which doesn't mean it's not fun to play. In fact it is, as long as you enjoy shooting monkeys. You will be playing an armed monkey fighting another monkey with a gun. Pretty much what the title suggests, isn't it? But you will be doing it in completely randomly generated sceneries, which are subject to the laws of physics. The game's full of platformer elements, like climbing, jumping and falling, which makes it very dynamic. Now bear in mind the game is about fighting against other players, either online or locally, but it's all it is about, so don't have any high singleplayer expectations. But if you have a good bunch of possible opponents, you may get to enjoy your monkeying around in this game.

85

Freakin Awesome

Barrington | Aug. 30, 2013 | See all Barrington's reviews »

Great for those burst sessions of about 20 minutes or game or 2 during your lunch break

Amazingly fun with friends plus at $6 if your friends don't have it its at a price to buy it as a gift for friends