Reviews for Tropico 3: Gold Edition DNS

90

Good Game

hellomoto7 | April 22, 2013 | See all hellomoto7's reviews »

This game was on sale for a really good price, so I decided to pick it up. Becoming the "El Presidente" and building your own city, deciding what happens to it, and such, was all really fun. Great graphics, sound, and gameplay. I would recommend anyone who sees this game on sale to get it!

80

The Dictator Meets SimCity

Jelley | July 15, 2012 | See all Jelley's reviews »

Tropico is a solid and fun simulator which does just to differentiate itself from other games in the genre, while still being fun for a good period of time. Being set in the 50s and 60s, Tropico lets the player act as an authoritarian dictator while they control an islands economy, social structure and well being in a pursuit to stay in power. The games main strength lies in its unique economy structure, with workers and income coming via the movement of container ships. This periodic nature of income leads to strategic thought and balances the growth and power of the island. Building and infrastructure management highlight its setting and work well with the economic system of the game. Differing traits on dictators and government types impact game play and offer some form of replay value as well as adding to strategic game play. Although the game features game speed options, it is flawed and encourages only one game speed. Negatively, the game is highly repetitive, with similar mission goals, and the same repeating music and dialogue. The expansion adds little to the game, with only few additions to playable characters and buildings, and very similar mission structure and goals. Overall, Tropico 3 is a solid game, but lacks multiplayer options and poor replay value which both keep it from being a more enjoyable game.

80

Interesting Political +City Management Sim

lachking | July 13, 2012 | See all lachking's reviews »

Tropico 3+ its expansion is a solid game that brings some interesting elements to a city- builder. In tropico, you are the presidente of an island republic and it is up to you to provide the infrastructure for your citizens- such as roads, houses, shops and so forth. It is quite an interesting concept that you have to provide jobs for your citizens and that some jobs need education, such as high school, forcing you to make important decisions. Another interesting element in the mix is the political simulation: you can implement policies that will affect your citizens, such as free housing or privatisation. You have to please your citizens as there are elections, so if you make the majority of your citizens angry, you may be voted out. You also have to please the US and the USSR otherwise you risk a military invasion. In spite of the interesting concepts, there are pitfalls. The game can get very repetitive- many missions start off the same way: a tenant and a road to the dock with fairly similar objectives such as sell x amount of good by x date or be in power in a certain year. To be fair however, the expansion does provide a bit more variety, but overall it feels a bit repetitive in the mission design. It also does get repetitive to hear the same dialogue pieces 20+ times such as the opposition government giving the same criticism of me building a school or childhood museum every mission I play. Also, while not a huge issue, the default game speed is also quite slow, which will likely force many to play with high speed most of the time. Overall, however, I quite like this game. It adds some really interesting concepts to a sim-city type game and encourages you to make financial decisions as well as political decisions.

85

This Game Makes Me Smile - Every Time

ROKET | June 30, 2012 | See all ROKET's reviews »

This game first and foremost is a city builder and a good one at that. I bought this game and Dawn of Discovery at the same time and enjoyed the short bursts that I played this game more than the long hours of Dawn of Discovery. Both games are great but this one is more satisfying up front.

You start off with near to nothing on your island and, as you play through the game, you are challenged to create a working economy using the resources you find on the island.

Visually the game is wonderful but can be inconsistent when it comes to textures at times. I love the lighting and just how lush the island can look with green everywhere.

Gameplay-wise the game can be a bit clunky but once you get used to it you dont feel as put off.

Now, the reason why I smile every time I play is that the game is just hilarious. You arent supposed to take the setting or story too serious and just live out the humor. Its great. The towns come to life as you progress and citizens either react well or poorly depending on how much of an ass you want to be. I always found it hilarious when protesters came out to play. Haha.

Highly Recommended

90

A great game

Gh0st233 | Aug. 24, 2011 | See all Gh0st233's reviews »

When I saw this game on sale for really cheap, I just had to buy it, I heard great things from my friends, which turn out to be true. In this game, you get to choose one of many characters to be the 'El Presidente' and help them build their city and win the upcoming elections. This game offers very nice visual and audio content, nice campaigns and gameplay, and can keep you seated for hours at a time. The game is very simple, but is very fun. What you do reflects the results of the upcoming elections. Who will vote for you? It's all in your hands. I'd recommend this game to everyone, since it's been going on lots of sales lately, you can't skip it.

90

Better than Sim City

xorn000 | Aug. 22, 2011 | See all xorn000's reviews »

I like how the game has character creation. El Presidente might be a mostly uncontrollable character that lives in your world, but they do have quite an influence on everything. After all, you're supposed to be them. Coming at this game from a Sim City perspective, I was expecting a lot more in depth things, but was glad it wasn't the case. Who seriously enjoys spending hours working the power lines, water, and every single minute detail in a game. If you enjoy pain and wasting time, then this is not your game. I never played the first two so I have no way to compare to those, but most new players probably won't bother with them anyway. New players should get used to being casual at this game and not try to take the first few islands serious. I did and was becoming frustrated since I thought I knew the game before I played it. TAKE YOUR TIME. This game will punish you for making bad mistakes and may ruin all of the work you have done on an island. Is the game fun? Yes. Worth buying? Yes. Get many many hours of play out of it? yes. I would say buy it, the worst scenario is that you like it and get your money worth from it.

90

They call me el presidente

trinest | Aug. 18, 2011 | See all trinest's reviews »

I didn't hear about this game until quite long after the title came out. My first thought was "how does it work", and many of you reading this probably also thought the same thing. How does it work? It is quite simple, think Sim City been taken over by an evil dictator who just at the end of the day wants to be loved.

The main game is put into a scenario based campaign mode. Which is sadly hit and miss when it comes to how difficult the game is.However don't to feel to bad, if you enjoy simulation games you will find yourself in sandbox mode playing for hours upon hours. The Radio DJ and the rebel leader banter on the radio will make you explode with laughter throughout your run as dictator, which in my book is a winner.

94

Tropico 3 Review

mevidek | Aug. 17, 2011 | See all mevidek's reviews »

Tropico 3 is a city-building game that puts you in the position of El Presidente, the corrupt dictator of a Caribbean Banana Republic called Tropico. The aim of Tropico 3 is to build a thriving island paradise - or hell - and attempt to help it survive the Cold War. Tropico 3 is a very original game that seems very promising, but does it live up to the hype?

Storyline: Like most city-builders, there is not set storyline. However, in Tropico there slightly is. You play as El Presidente, whose avatar is entirely customised by you. You choose what he wears, his personality traits (both negative and positive to add a layer of realism) and how he rose to power. This gives the player the feeling that they are the leading figure behind an important historical event. Once you start playing, how the story develops is up to you - have you ever wanted to create a thriving communist state, like Cuba? Go for it! Ever wanted to rule an island that sucks up to its biggest neighbour, USA? The level of choice is unmatched by almost any other game, and every playthrough will be different. Just as how the nation was born, you will also see how it will die... Will it be invaded by a foreign country? Will a large revolution overthrow the government? Will the army start a coup? Or will Tropico live on into the 21st Century? The choice is yours.

Graphics and Presentation: Tropico 3 hosts some very very impressive graphics. Lots of times you will want to watch the sun set off in the distance, or gaze at the ocean as waves gently reach the beautifully yellow beaches. When monsoon season arrives, large thunderstorms will hit your island, and vision will be greatly decreased. Trees will sway in the wind, and turtles, snakes and birds will travel around the island. The people also look fairly realistic, unlike other city building games such as Cities XL 2011. The level of detail on street level is also very impressive, and the old 1950s cars (hinting at Cuba) give the feeling that it is believable.

The HUD isn't too obstructive either, just a small minimap in the bottom left hand corner, with some options is all that is to be seen when not selecting a building. When you want to build, examine the islands citizens or issue edicts, a small bar pops up from the bottom just be clicking the right mouse button. When looking at a certain citizen, one can look at their thoughts, house, job, factions that they support (Communists, Intellectuals, Militarists, farmers, loyalists, and many, many others). The sound design and voices are also really impressive, with lots different Spanish-sounding voices.

The atmosphere is also made more realistic by the bright, cheerful latin music played in the background. It is played on a radio station, hosted by Juanito, a DJ that constantly sucks up to El Presidente. His comedic statements are very funny, at first. After a few playthroughs, you will get more and more fed up with him. Luckily, a "shoot Juanito" edict is available from the edict menu. Unfortunately there is another DJ, Betty Boom. She is a revolutionary leader that frequently condemns anything you do, even if it greatly improves the island. She however, is not funny, and unlike Juanito, cannot be shot.

Design: Tropico 3 was developed by Haemimont Games, and published by Kalypso Media. It is obvious straight away that they put a lot of effort into making the game live up to the hype. Almost everything you could imagine from a banana republic is there, from printing money to inviting the Pope, and enforcing martial law to allowing superpowers to test nuclear weapons a couple of kilometres away from Tropico. The level of depth in this city builder is unmatched by many other games, and you will want to keep on coming back for more.

Gameplay: Tropico 3 is a very fun game to play. Ever wanted to rule on an island paradise? Well Tropico 3 goes a little further. Ever wanted to rule on an island paradise as a dictator, and attempt to survive the cold war? Tropico 3 maintains realism, and historical accuracy (Juanito often announces large events from around the world, like the Cuban Missile Crisis), and still being fun. From maintaining good relations with the west and the east, to attracting tourists and keeping different social groups and classes happy; you have total control over what happens in Tropico. While Tropico 3 is a city-builder, it could also be seen as a city-maintainer (if that even exists). The aim is to create a stable, happy and productive island dictatorship. In order to do this, you have a number of tools at your disposal. You can build houses for the people, or let them rot in shacks; you can attempt to provide food for your nation, or you can steal it all and make the UN give out aid; you can create a very good healthcare, or you can let them rely on centuries-old remedies. The choice is all yours. I could go on forever, however what you need to know is that this is a VERY good game. Although the game is very enjoyable, there are some rather annoying things. For example Juanito, the slow time progression, the lazy builders, and how easy it is to go bankrupt.

Summary :Tropico 3 is a very good game, but unfortunately let down by some small faults. Nonetheless, it provides a very enjoyable experience for those who like History, city-building or just like having fun.

Bottom Line: Tropico 3 is a great game for both veterans and newbies of the city-building genre, and if you have even the slightest interest in history, this is the game for you!

65

Uninteresting

midfield99 | Aug. 10, 2011 | See all midfield99's reviews »

This game was an impulse buy for me. And unfortunately, I wasn't very happy with it. I haven't played it a lot, but the game didn't catch my attention. The graphics are acceptable but, definitely not outstanding. And the gameplay seems to be just like your basic strategy game. You build buildings, keep your population employed, happy, healthy, and educated. All while embezzling money into your swiss bank account. Well, personally, I consider Sim City 4 to be a much preferable choice to this game. But if you are still interested in it, I'd suggest looking for a demo before buying.

87

More job for el presidente

satyakun | May 25, 2011 | See all satyakun's reviews »

Already finishing playing Tropico 3? This edition will make your job as el presidente continue. Absolute Power campaign will take you to 10 new scenarios to lead your island into prosperity. Decide your island income, housing, entertain, and industry in this game. The rebel sometimes will give you additional challenge. There's no different in gameplay, graphic, and sound that may we can noticed. But surely, this will give more hours to play. If you enjoyed the Tropico 3, then you will enjoy Absolute Power. Grab this one! it'll train you better to become a "presidente'

75

Tropico 3D

steamisbetter | April 9, 2011 | See all steamisbetter's reviews »

Tropico 3 remains faithful to the original Tropico. Virtually all buildings from the original game can be found here, and Tropico veterans should also recognize many of the edicts and leader backgrounds. Of course, Tropico 3 introduces some features, but they don't radically change the way the game is played.

I'd say the biggest difference is the addition of cars and instantaneously building roads, allowing you to access most of your island and its resources early on. In the original Tropico, expanding your industry required turning on the grid view and counting tiles to figure out the optimal placement for construction offices. This is no longer necessary in Tropico 3. You now also have an avatar in the game world, which can be directly controlled or have the AI control it. Your avatar can visit buildings to boost their production, give speeches from the palace or even take part in combat.

Tropico 3 has its share of problems. Factions are way too easy to please. Having maximum respect with every faction at the same time shouldn't be possible. The scenarios are too easy, most of them can be beaten on your first attempt. Finally, the scenario editor that comes with the game is nowhere near as in-depth as I'd like.

Tropico 3: Gold Edition also includes the expansion pack Absolute Power, which adds a new faction, new edicts, new buildings and new leader backgrounds. Some of the new buildings are great additions, such as the wind turbine which generates electricity up to 40 MW, depending on altitude. It's fairly cheap, has no building requirements and doesn't require workers, so you get access to electricity right off the bat. There's also a new nuclear program, which prevents superpowers from invading but is very expensive to build. The rest of the new buildings are less impressive.

Absolute Power includes 10 new scenarios, some of which are really unusual even by Tropico's standards. Without spoiling anything, in one of the scenarios you are tasked to "survive the time paradox". Another scenario involves boosting your island's tourism by spreading made-up rumors about a cryptid called La Chupacabra.

The biggest flaw of Absolute Power is the lack of new music. Other than that, I'd say it is an essential add-on to the base game. While Tropico 3: Gold Edition is a worthwhile addition to the series, the original Tropico: Mucho Macho Edition still has more scenarios and more music. I'd suggest playing the original first.