Reviews for Thief Pack

100

One word . . Wonderful

barrera77 | July 15, 2014 | See all barrera77's reviews »

I started playing this game in 2002 i still remeber buying it together with Gothic 1, and it seems like it never gets old, this is my 3rd time going through the whole series, is probably my favorite stealth game, eventhough the graphics are a bit rustic still they made a great job with Garret's story, too bad the didnt make a worth job with the remake.

Personally I prefer stay out of combat as much as I can, I love hiding and trying to sneak pass the enemies, thinking better ways to get around the game, hey after all Garret is a thief not a warrior.

In conclusion, the game is very atmospheric, has an awesome gameplay and storyline. If you are into stealth games, well then Thief is for you!

90

Great stealth series

Gmen | April 14, 2014 | See all Gmen's reviews »

I regard Thief as the classic stealth series. It does away with guns and typical FPS gameplay, and instead makes the player choose which approach they take. You can go in guns (or at least bows and arrows) blazing, but likely won’t last very long against the opposition, which far outnumbers you. Or you can take the stealthy route, and eavesdrop on conversations, scout enemy patrol routes, and plan your mission on the fly, with the ultimate aim of the enemy never knowing you were even there.

Thief Gold is a re-release of Thief: The Dark Project and has some extra missions. It is a bit dated graphically nowadays, although I will say there’s a very impressive mod out there which adds high definition textures to surroundings and character models, to update its looks a bit.

Thief II is my personal favourite in the series, as it has the things that made TDP/TG so good, and improves upon that, with better overall level design, more thief’s tools and weapons in your arsenal to play with, slightly improved graphics, and generally just better gameplay all round. Lots of fan made missions that you can play with this and the first game, which extends its longevity a lot.

Thief Deadly Shadows is a mixed bag for me. Graphically the game doesn’t look bad, but longish loading times, dumbing down for the Xbox version, and things that established the series – made it original – like the rope arrows being taken out kind of ruined it overall. There are many limitations with the console version of the game, and the PC version subsequently suffers because of it. This feels like a port at times. That and I find the AI isn’t even as sharp as it was in the first two games. Definitely a step down from Thief II.

This pack is worth it even if just for the first two games however. Definitely recommended if you want an original stealth gameplay experience, minus the guns.

90

Who's that taffin' about, then?!

cylerrubin | Feb. 21, 2014 | See all cylerrubin's reviews »

Ahh, what can I say about this series. You play the role of Garret, a humble thief who is very good at his job. Don't be offset by the graphics, the core mechanics of the game are very sound and there are mods if you feel like tinkering about a bit. Using the tools of your trade you will be briefed before every mission in the first two games with a stylistic pen and paper drawn cutscene. The art style and general tone of this game are still enthralling despite its age. Please make note, these games do not make for a very combat oriented playstyle, there are moments where you might be able to launch a forward assault against enemies, however it is mostly discouraged as these are not where Garret's talents lie. Truth be told, an expert thief would prefer no one knew you were there at all. Something you'll notice very different than most other games is the difficulty scaling. Most games make enemy AI's stronger and rescale health, there is a bit of that here, however you'll notice along with the minor game changes Garret will receive more mission objectives as well which have a habit of taking you to regions in the large sandbox-like levels that you might not normally wander into on lower difficulty settings. With many different ways of accomplishing your missions, an enthralling storyline overarching all three games, and a play mechanic that encourages skill and finesse with a great deal of critical thinking I hope the Thief series will suck you in as much as it has me all these years.

87

Brilliant

DeadReap | Feb. 19, 2014 | See all DeadReap's reviews »

I love thief games, they are awesome and now while we are waiting for new thief game, we can enjoy this classics. The game is old but that doesn't mean that it is bad. There are a lot of old games that are awesome. The story of this game is awesome and i remember how i played this games long time ago. They were good then and they will always be good. If you love this game or you haven't played it you should buy this game.

72

For old thief players..not so much the new

cappincrunch | Feb. 6, 2014 | See all cappincrunch's reviews »

I bought this pack after being overly excited about the new thief game. I had not played the games before, so I knew I was getting into an older game with an older design, but they feel like they were designed for consoles.

The first two thieves are a bit clunky and the combat is subpar even for its time.

The 3rd of the series was a personal favorite because it was visually well done, the controls felt very smooth, and the animations didn't feel like I was playing a game from 1998.

If you can handle the old games that are still new to the 3D designs or if you've played these in the past, then it might be for you. If you want to try out a thief game, I recommend the 3rd game (Deadly Shadows) since it is the most playable. Otherwise they run just find on Windows 7 64bit.

82

Great stealth games

gforcesa | Jan. 2, 2014 | See all gforcesa's reviews »

One of the best stealth franchises games out there.The games are pretty old so don't expect pretty graphics, but the games are pretty enjoyable due to the fact that the stealth system is really great.The stealth is done very well and you have to hide in the shadows to not be seen.If you are a big fan of stealth games you should not miss these.Thieft 4 is just around the corner and you should replay them again to understand the story.

90

Nostalgia!

cpbeura | Oct. 4, 2013 | See all cpbeura's reviews »

I remember playing Thief: Deadly Shadows a lot when I was a kid. I have to confess that I haven't played the original game and its sequel. Thief was the series that started my infatuation with stealth games and I will always consider this series as a technical achievement. Coming to the game, you star as Garrett, a master thief who steals from the rich and keeps the loot for himself. Game play is mostly centered around staying hidden in the shadows and not alerting enemies. If the enemies find you, it will be a quick and painful death. The game also has some supernatural elements which I will not delve into. The graphics in the game were spectacular when it was released and they still manage to hold up well in 2013 if you pardon the texture quality. Overall, I would say that this is a sweet deal and worth grabbing for the third game alone. This pack is a solid 9 out of 10.

91

Remember

tv_ | Sept. 12, 2013 | See all tv_'s reviews »

I remember playing these games when I was younger and reading the reviews over and over again. Thief certainly leaves a lasting impression on you that you won't forget.

You will remember this game when you play it through. The only obstacle now is the outdated nature of the game. Many current stealth-action games draw from these but still they aren't these. Thief is very unique and a good achievement to know that you have played it.

Few minor hindrances in gameplay specific to it being outdated. but has a very minor effect on score.

95

Incredibly good value

shayhidedark | Sept. 8, 2013 | See all shayhidedark's reviews »

As long as you can get past the fact that these games are rather old then you will find yourself having a blast in some of the best stealth games ever. My personal favourite of the three games is the more recent deadly shadows as it has a small open world for you to enjoy. However all though the other games are graphically, not as good, they contain a bit more of spooky and scary theme, and some how I feel that the old graphics actually help add to this. Enjoy...

81

Stealth genre

lok0812 | Sept. 6, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

This Thief Franchise pack sets the standards for all the stealth games in the future. The stealth mechanic of these games are top notch as it really emphasize the stealth and enemy AI. The shadow and the lighting worked very well together in the game. Gameplay wise is similar to the modern first person stealth games like Deus Ex. Even though the graphic is outdated fans who enjoy a good stealth game should dismiss it. This is a must get action game if you enjoy the stealth genre as well as understanding the story of Garrett for the upcoming Thief game.