Reviews for Dungeon Siege

76

Good game, was great on its time

Demilisz | Dec. 3, 2013 | See all Demilisz's reviews »

Dungeon Siege may not make much impression now, but on its time it was a great hack&slash with some unique features. There was no loadings, only a rich and large world to explore. And worth exploring, though game was mostly linear with not so much places to visit outside main story. What was other new, at that time, thing was lack of character class - player itselfs forge his hero, making him warrior, mage or rogue/ranger by playing how he prefers - in Dungeon Siege it was waepons that level up by simply being used (however, it was more like waepon class that levels up and not a individual item itself: no matter if you use short bow, long bow or other range waepon - you still level up the same statistic). The same goes with magic. You could make a small party of heroes and even get an donkey to carry stuff you currently doesn't use. Too bad that game at some point essentially plays itself as you can automate many things, from attacking enemies to picking up loot.

Still - a very good classic worth playing.

90

An Old Brilliant Classic

Apparition | Oct. 31, 2013 | See all Apparition's reviews »

When this game was first released it was during a time of innovation and classic story telling, mixed with hack'n'slash. One of the greatest accomplishments of this game was the shear vastness of it. The Music itself is encompassing and pulls you into each scene. I still have yet to play a game where the music draws you into the world like Dungeon Siege is able to. You are free to build your character any way you see fit. It is easier to build a character based on the classic setups but with determination you can create a God character that is gifted in all skills.

If you are looking for a old time hack'n'slash filled with wonder and amazement this is your game.

Sadly... the even bigger component of this game was the multiplayer. The original game included a Massive continent complete with its own mystery and goals that you could explore with friends. The imagination of the developers was everywhere here, including a dungeon in a dark pit where you could not see but a mere footstep in front of you, devious devils making battles challenging, and gear to satisfy the best dungeon explorer.

The other great thing about this game were/are the mods. A huge community created some brilliant master pieces for us to enjoy. I don't know if they work with this single player version, worth a look!

88

Old but Gold

eL_Jay | Oct. 24, 2013 | See all eL_Jay's reviews »

One of the great masterpieces of Chris Taylor 0 I played this game pretty late in 2003 and immediatly got hooked on the dungeons&dragons like world. The way your characters level up is superb, you get xp every time a character uses its skill (i.e. stab, shoot, summon, heal, cast a meteor, etc.). The story iself was pretty standard however the adventure itself was immersive and very fun to play. In single-player you could command a 8 character party in total. But I had the most fun playing in co-op. Item farming was hard since it was a linieair game (creatures didn't respawn) but it wasn't needed either since half the gear you use, you buy from traders. In 2003 i rate this game a 9.5

I recently did a singleplayer playthrough on the steam version of this game (50 hours) and the graphics have aged pretty well, it looks like the increased resolution has scaled great and make it look better then it did in 2003. Don't expect groundbreaking graphics but more then sufficient if your not a graphic wh*re. Soundtrack is also more then sufficient but not epic like GTA, Total Annihilation or Guitar Hero.

This dungeon crawler is still the most enjoyable (single-player) example i've played so far therefore I rate this game in 2013 a 8

85

Classic!

Nova4 | Oct. 6, 2013 | See all Nova4's reviews »

This game is like the child of age of empiries 2 with diablo 2, is a huge rpg, with a fun enough story with some elements of strategy games. Pros: +Is fun has hell. +HUGE. you can spend 5 hous in 1 dungeon/cave, it really it is +For a game of 11 years old (2002 release date), it looks so beatiful and the world is so detailed. +Compleate freedom to pick you party. +You can customized you skill as you wish. Cons: -The controls some time feels stiff and unresposive. -Is kinda repetitive. -You kinda can see everthing that the game offer on 1 run (this is not a bad thing, but for a rpg i like replaybility value)

88

Better than Diablo

ecaudill | Oct. 2, 2013 | See all ecaudill's reviews »

From a pure single player perspective, I actually enjoyed Dungeon Siege more than Diablo. Dungeon Siege has more depth, the story is better, and I even liked the character development more.

Dungeon Siege is basically an action game with a deep underlying RPG element. You hack your way through hordes of enemies to advance the story, all the while leveling up your character and getting better loot. Nothing ground-breaking here for sure, but Dungeon Siege does a great job of keeping you interested and coming back for more.

In my opinion, the original was far better than it's sequels. If you're a fan of action RPG's, this should be a no-brainer.

60

Good but gets repetitive

Asrafil | Sept. 20, 2013 | See all Asrafil's reviews »

The first moments of Dungeon Siege are fantastic while you discover the game you enjoy every single minute. The gameplay holds for about half the game but after that it doesn't offer enough things to keep you hooked. If you are starved for Action RPGs this game while calm the hunger but not for very long.

85

Excellent example of good quality RPG's

zaosociety | Sept. 20, 2013 | See all zaosociety's reviews »

When this first came out, I was not a huge fan of RPGs, but this really pulled me in. It was enjoyable the way the characters leveled up based on HOW you played. You didn't have to invest tons of times in leveling properly. You only had to enjoy playing the game to be immersed in it.

87

Good blend of hack-and-slash and role playing

tzarinakatarina | Sept. 12, 2013 | See all tzarinakatarina's reviews »

Dungeon Siege is a successful blend of hack-and-slash and role playing genres. Although focused on action and combat, it follows an interesting and well told story, which can keep role playing gamers interested in the game. But at its heart it's primarily a good action game. Your character will need to acquire and improve his skills and equipment to be able to stand againsts the threats he will face during his quest. A quest that eventually proves to be bigger than it could initially be expected. It's very likely that after finishing Dungeon Siege you will want to play the sequel, Dungeon Siege 2. Both games are still popular and appreciated by gamers even despite the years that passed since their release dates.