Reviews for Civilization Pack

96

Over 600 Hours played

brandonm87 | Nov. 23, 2013 | See all brandonm87's reviews »

I bought this game when it came out and it has been the most played gamed I have ever owned with over 600 hours logged in. If that doesn't tell you how addicting the game can be I don't know what else to say. The vanilla game it self is not as in depth as the previous civilization (IV Beyond the Stars) but when you add in the two expansions (Gods & Kings and Brave New World) and the considerable amount of mods available. You're looking at one superb game. Highly Recommended!

95

A great pack

Matthew_Lumie | Nov. 7, 2013 | See all Matthew_Lumie's reviews »

Civilization is a good game all by itself, but having additional content adds a lot of variety and crucial features that really make the game the experience it was intended to be. Nothing beats having nearly limitless options to pursue over the course of your career as a ruler. Indeed you can now choose from a grand total of 43 rulers. In my humble opinion, this game is much better with both Gods & Kings and Brave New World because they both considerably deepen the game and enhance it in all number of ways you probably never thought were possible, and the rest of the content is icing on the big cake!

85

Got it on discount, definitely worth it

massimo_tv | Sept. 15, 2013 | See all massimo_tv's reviews »

Get ready to spend hundreds of hours into this game. The base game offers a lot but all the packs combined extend the number of scenarios and hours you will spend. One of the top strategy games out there, however this one is extremely easy to pick up and play. Unlike some other games, Civ 5 will not let you continue until you have completed everything on that turn. This is a great feature for beginners to let them know what they need to do every turn. Also the advisors are great and everything is streamlined, but do not take away from the depth

93

The Complete Experience

alexshopping | Sept. 14, 2013 | See all alexshopping's reviews »

Stock Civilization V feels rather empty. It's not a horrible game by any means, but the experience is rather vacuous. The expansion packs included in this pack make this one of the finest experience games I have ever played. They fix balance issues and add depth. Gods and Kings adds a spying system and finally adds back religion, which was sadly missing from stock Civ V. Brave New World adds quite a bit to the end-game by adding both the Wold Congress and tourism. This also helps diplomacy and culture play more like Civilization 4.

The game is very addicting, and every session seems to stretch on for a few hours despite your best intentions. It has a very high replayablity factor, which is expanded by the scenarios included and the mods on the Steam Workshop.

The expansions also fix various issues with the AI, and at higher difficulties, you can get a real challenge. This is a fantastic pack and highly recommended.

96

well take allot of your time but u will love every minute of it

shadow4ever | Sept. 13, 2013 | See all shadow4ever's reviews »

in this game you have allot of things to keep you interesting a moment you think you have seen it all and the game surprises you with allot more things and stuff to do the first Civ V (without the Expansion ) wasn't that much fun to me don't get me wrong it's fun but compared to Gods and Kings and Brave New World Expansion you see the difference and if it's your first time playing Civ V then i recommend buying this pack and play Gods and Kings first to get your hand on things to come when you play Brave New World as it offer much more and you will get lost i have now the Gods and Kings in the summer sale and did't regret ever since i but it and had a lot of fun with it so far and getting my ass kicked by the ai and with this deal if you don't have the game yet it's worth the low price.

92

Better and Better with Each Expansion Pack

ecaudill | Sept. 12, 2013 | See all ecaudill's reviews »

I've been playing Civilization games since the very first one. So very addictive! "Just.. One.. More...Turn!" When Civilization 5 was released, I bought it immediately. I have to say I was a bit disappointed. The game was good, don't get me wrong, but it just didn't grab me like the previous games. That all changed when Gods and Kings came out. With the addition of religion, spies, and new leaders, it felt like the game finally had the depth I was used to in Civilization games.

Then came Brave New World. Culture has been revamped and is a bit more like Civilization 4. Social policies are vastly improved. Trade routes and caravans are a fun new way of not only making gold, but spreading your religion as well.

Civilization 5 has finally become almost as engaging and addictive as the previous games. Buying this as a bundle is a necessity in my opinion, and well worth it!

99

Civ5

tv_ | Sept. 12, 2013 | See all tv_'s reviews »

What can be said about this game? I personally still enjoy Civ3 the most, but Civ5 easily keeps me occupied and thinking.

AI is smart but playing against friends for literally HOURS is way better. Friends are unpredictable while AI may gravitate toward doing certain things...however the amount of DLC for this game almost makes anything said about the AI negatively obsolete.

I pressured people into buying this. It's a great turn-based (I guess) strategy game that is both relaxing and fun. Huge plus with Steam Workshop integration and huge plus with affordability. If you want to kill some time, this will certainly do so!

90

Awesome Strategy Game.

YYS1995 | Sept. 11, 2013 | See all YYS1995's reviews »

Now. This game is SO addicting, you'll likely to spend hours (not couple, maybe a few hundred on it) playing it. Civilization V is one of the best released, not to mention that this pack over here offers you additional DLCs to further expand your gameplay. You get excellent graphics (oh yes, loved them) and awesome in-game gameplay controls (Hexagram style is in the house!) The original pack already offers a multitude of opportunities for the player to fufill his potential as a master strategist, and the additional DLCs provided in this pack simply serve to extend the range of scenarios and various gameplay styles. In certain scenarios, the AI does not put up much of a challenge (it gives the player a "break) but in others, gives them hell ( some of them are hard, VERY HARD. trust me on this) In essence, this game gives awesome gameplay that will get you hooked on for weeks or even months (you'll get your money worth on this pack). Why are you still reading my review? Get it. Experience it. Thumbs up, 9/10

90

Hours of Historical Goodness

Mocktugboat | Sept. 10, 2013 | See all Mocktugboat's reviews »

I was able to get the whole pack for about two dollars cheaper by watching out for sales from GMG and Steam. But at the moment, this is probably the best you're going to get. (when discounted)

Gameplay wise, this game is a definite time killer. Even on the fastest settings, I still find myself playing games that last hours upon end. In a good way though. The gameplay is addicting and fairly easy to master. On easy difficulties you can just cruise your way through, but anywhere a bit higher than 5, the game becomes a whole new monster.

If you enjoy strategy games of any type, this is definitely a sure buy.

97

Time-consuming but well worth it!

EDP | Sept. 10, 2013 | See all EDP's reviews »

Not only did Green Man Gaming get me an awesome deal on the entire Civ V collection released up till now, the game is also the best since a loooooooong time (the 90s, when games were quality). It's not the usual action filled FPS or RTS game, but it's turn based. The big advantage is that you can think through every move you make and plan. This is a necessary effort, but much fun when you get the hang of it and when it starts paying off.

The best part of this game for me are the vast amount of civilizations to play with (over 40!), each with multiple different traits. Another huge fun factor for me is the history that is valued throughout the entire game. The entire Civilopedia (the in-game help catalogue) contains historical background info on the subject you are viewing. This way it becomes a really informative and interesting game to play, apart from the awesome gameplay, great graphics and great diversity.

Be sure to join civfanatics.com to find great tutorials, Games of the Month, the Hall of Fame and other players to compete with.

Only downside: a single game (well micro-managed) can take anything from 1 to 20 hours (probably even more). But that means that every game you play will suck you in instantly!

95

Awesome Strategy Game.

YYS1995 | Sept. 10, 2013 | See all YYS1995's reviews »

Now. This game is SO addicting, you'll likely to spend hours (not couple, maybe a few hundred on it) playing it. Civilization V is one of the best released, not to mention that this pack over here offers you additional DLCs to further expand your gameplay. You get excellent graphics (oh yes, loved them) and awesome in-game gameplay controls (Hexagram style is in the house!) The original pack already offers a multitude of opportunities for the player to fufill his potential as a master strategist, and the additional DLCs provided in this pack simply serve to extend the range of scenarios and various gameplay styles. In certain scenarios, the AI does not put up much of a challenge (it gives the player a "break) but in others, gives them hell ( some of them are hard, VERY HARD. trust me on this) In essence, this game gives awesome gameplay that will get you hooked on for weeks or even months (you'll get your money worth on this pack). Why are you still reading my review? Get it. Experience it. Thumbs up, 9/10

92

Ultimate Civilization V Bundle at an unbelievable price

spycid | Sept. 9, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

It is one of the best Turn Based Strategy ever released. Gods & Kings and Brave New World are true expansion packs and not DLCs with some cosmetic add-on. The expansion adds a lot of new playable content when most of the people thought the standalone version has very little content.

Gods & Kings is something you should take a look at. It doesn't magically transform this into Civilization IV but then, that would be silly. The scenarios might be fictional but still it's great.

Brave New World completely alters the way culture, diplomacy and trade are handled.Culture is no longer simply a modifier that expands your borders, and trade isn't just a magic money connection between two cities.Instead, they're now a part of the game world.

Overall it's a must buy bundle for all Civilization and Turn Based Strategy genre gamers.

90

Great pack!

RaTcHeT302 | Sept. 8, 2013 | See all RaTcHeT302's reviews »

This is such an amazing pack when discounted, Civilization V is such an addicting game, you could easily get 30 hours out of it only on a single playthrough. The AI does cheat sometimes though but it's usualy pretty easy to defeat.

The new features BNW introduces makes this alone a worthy purchase greatly improving Civilization V. The game is also fairly easy to pickup, much easier than it's predecessors and it should be fairly easy to understand how everything works out.Although the AI may sometimes cheat a little it's still fairly easy to defeat so do not worry about pumping up the difficulty level over Prince.

It also features a fairly large modding community, you can easily install new mods with the included mod manager by downloading mods from the Steam workshop or either from other websites such as Civ Fanatics.

Overall, a must have and a steal when discounted, it's also a great time waster.

89

Really good fun

Dinosawrr | Sept. 8, 2013 | See all Dinosawrr's reviews »

This is a great strategy game! It's even better when you play with your friends!

85

Civilization..... a time vacuum of fun.

Genericllama | Sept. 7, 2013 | See all Genericllama's reviews »

I love Civ 5, it stole too many hours from my recent life. When the announcement of brave new world had hit and it was in pre-order sale, i had to get it.

i'm glad to see a full pack for sale because often when you play online, someone may be missing a few small dlcs or that one expansion you have. This causes a problem (for me) in which i may not be able to play the game that i was "expecting" to play. The fact that people can purchase everything all in one shot might help push towards solving that problem and in all fairness, the dlcs are great.

Gods and Kinds and Brave new world really give civ completed game style with no plot holes in the gameplay while the smaller dlcs add a few new civs and wonders which can really change the outcome of how you play.

Cant say I've played much of the new scenarios, but that's only because I'm too busy spending my time playing all the other aspects of this game.

If you like turn based strategy games, or want to try something out of your personal game "scope", Pick up this title.

80

Good

Bolo | Sept. 7, 2013 | See all Bolo's reviews »

Civilization V Pack is one of those games which you will probably gonna play for years. New hexagram style is so much better and opens up tons of possibilities. And i recommend getting the gold edition because when you start playing the game you will notice you want more content. Perfect price for a brilliant game.