Reviews for Scribblenauts Unmasked: A DC Comics Adventure

85

Interesting combination

MarianoAlipi | June 30, 2014 | See all MarianoAlipi's reviews »

It's very entertaining, and every DC Comics' fan will love it. Think of any superhero or villain and BAM! it's right in front of you. It'll help you spend some enjoyable time, but it tends to get a bit boring – at least for me; consider I'm not a big fan of DC Comics. If you really enjoy DC Comics' content, you should give this game a try.

80

Amazing

ob9410 | June 16, 2014 | See all ob9410's reviews »

This game is amazing. You wanna fly you can fly, You are essentially god in this game, There are puzzles that can be challenging for everyone. For example how does one get rid of tar? You can have a superman suit and shoot lasers or you can make green lantern constructs with a green lantern costume. I had tons of fun making characters with the "Hero Creator" making characters like "Darkest Night Batman" with a mix of Batman and Green Lantern (See what I did there?). And best of all was learning about characters in just small sentences. For example I was thinking who the hell is Plastic Man and in a few seconds I knew. Buy it, it's worth it.

90

Awesome

Tiago0 | April 14, 2014 | See all Tiago0's reviews »

This is an encyclopedia for super heroes and villains, if you love Scribblenauts and DC, than this is the game for you.

80

Imagination is a Dangerous Thing to Waste

CrimsonWizard | Feb. 3, 2014 | See all CrimsonWizard's reviews »

Scribblenauts Unmasked is the latest in the "Create Anything" series where you solve puzzles or problems with your magical notebook, only this time with the spin that you can tap into the DC universes wide array of superheroes and villains. Thanks to the adjectives you can apply, the game is a great way of setting up "What if?" super hero fights. Giant Superman versus an evil crazed miniature Green Lantern. Sure! A good Darkseid up against Brainiac? Completely possible.

The plays out like it's immediate predecessor Scribblenauts Unlimited where you have several levels based on iconic DC universe locations where you have several problems presented to you upon entering. This time however, Starites (needed to complete each world) are only handed out for story missions while helping out people or solving puzzles awards you with reputation points. These are pretty handy since you need them to unlock new stages as well as buy costumes for Maxwell to give you natural powers (handy when you some quick power without having to type it in first).

That said, I have some issues with this game. Compared to Unlimited, Unmasked is a bit shorter, offering only a dozen locations while Unlimited had several other stages to play around in after the main game was over. While the randomly re-spawning puzzles is a nice touch when you re-enter a stage, it does leave me yearning for a few more locations to play around in. Perhaps a Mars stage for the Martian Manhunter or Titans Tower for the Teen Titans, or some more of the villains worlds for Darkseid or Sinestro. Considering how much it feels like Unlimited, I would call Unmasked almost like a quick DC expansion to that game.

Overall, would I recommend it? Yes, but perhaps when it's a bit cheaper. I feel while this game is nice and would be great for a fan of the DC Universe, or is a big fan of Scribblenauts in general, I honestly think Unlimited is the better game, and is much better at showing off what was great about the old Scribblenauts games on the Nintendo DS. That said, if you've never tried the series before and you want to use your imagination with some super heroes running around, Unmasked is a good choice.

80

Scribblenauts Unmasked

ramasaki | Jan. 14, 2014 | See all ramasaki's reviews »

Scribblenauts unmasked is a great game with tons of fun, I enjoyed this game a lot, you can spawn your favorites heroes and villains, also you're able to spawn anything and put adjectives to it (you can make the object/npc stronger, bigger, taller, change his color, etc, the possibilities are unlimited). Create whatever you want, it's your world. The combat is basic but good, you can customize Maxwell to get any power that you want, want to fly? be stronger? green lantern's powers? you can get them.

The graphics were improved and now looks more colorful and makes every scenery interesting

The duration of the game is short, it took me 10h to complete the game and get every achievement, but there will be always side missions and you can always mess around creating epic battles or just creating awesome things

If you enjoyed scribblenauts unlimited you’ll enjoy this one too

70

An interesting combo

tommy255 | Jan. 5, 2014 | See all tommy255's reviews »

It's not much different from scribblenauts unlimited, but with DC Comic characters now added. And I ain't complaining. Personally I couldn't really get into it because I played SOOO much of its predecessor that this game is boring for me. But I also like DC Comics so that bumps the score up.

90

You control everything

Freako | Jan. 4, 2014 | See all Freako's reviews »

ScribbleNauts is an crazy game where you literally control everything.

Have you had enough of those games which are too serious and have such a strict objective? This game is great for you, all you need is your brain and some vocabulary. ScribbleNauts is seriously out of the world literally. You can do whatever you want to do. If they need to fix a car, normal people get a wrench. But in scribblenauts you can get things like a robotic repairman and give him a costume maybe a clown costume.

ScribbeNauts unmasked just makes everything so much more interesting. Your dead serious super heroes are gonna be so cute and fierce it mixes so well it's funny. You can play around with your super heroes and fool around with them all you want.

Batman wants to fly. Makes him jetpacks.

78

Scribblenauts + DC comics - Match made in heaven!

Shanti | Nov. 4, 2013 | See all Shanti's reviews »

Not quite, there is no evolution in terms of gameplay for PC gamers. While the inclusion of super heroes/villains makes it seem very interesting their is a lot missing from the full DC universe. I would not go so far as to say this is a cash-in, it is still quite an enjoyable game but I expected more from this. One great thing is the biographies you can read on all the DC characters and of course steam workshop. For a Scribblenauts fan this is surely a must-buy.

70

Interesting at the beggining

SirEagle | Sept. 27, 2013 | See all SirEagle's reviews »

Scribblenauts Unmasked is kinda interesting game at the beginning, but lately it gets boring. Comparing to the first game, this part is not that good. The gameplay is the same as in the first part, not much differences. Story is interesting, but monotonic. I would recommend this game just if you don't have anything else to play.

90

Scribblenauts DC

Stebsis | Sept. 26, 2013 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

Scribblenauts Unmasked delivers everything that was great about previous games and adds to the bunch. Now the themeis DC Comics. All the creative gameplay is there, you can write practically anything in your magical notebook(no dirty words :D) and it appears. You can also add adjectives and thanks to robust creation tool you can customize everything the way you want. With DC super heroes you get access to licensed classic characters like Batman and Superman, but on top of those classics and for more hardcore DC fanatics you can summon every single DC character ever, and there're many versions of them. Then with the creation tool you can take parts of the superheroes and make your own super heroes or villains or some kind of unholy abomination if you so want. There might not be anything drastically new for people who've played Scribblenauts since the beginning, but it's still fun for all ages.

100

Scribbletastic

wolferatus | Sept. 25, 2013 | See all wolferatus's reviews »

this game is amazing, if you never played scribblenauts, give it a try, you will enjoy it. you have to use your creativity and a bit of brain to master this game. DC has a lot of characters like batman, catwomen and much more, also you can use the batcomputer to read all information about dc heroes and bad boys.

75

Scribblenauts DC Universe Lacking

CaptainWaddleDe | Sept. 24, 2013 | See all CaptainWaddleDe's reviews »

While wonderful in idealism and commercial inclusion of many well known heros and villians; I feel that much is lacking in this game. I have played it since it's release several hours ago, only to find that many of the heros and villians I knew from my time in the 90s and 2000s are not there. Heros such as Static Shock, Burnout, and yes; even the rhyming demon... Etrigann. This game while leaving something to be desired is not without it's strong suits however. Most challenges are to be honest; taxing to try and attempt. Some make little to no sense as well. Throw that in with the most random of situations and this game makes for a fun interlude; though maybe not for it's current price tag. All in all, it gets a 3 out of 5 stars. It lacks a fair amount, but brings you back wanting more. I can't wait to see what people do with the steam workshop.

100

Has ALWAYS been amazing!

Kevduit | Sept. 24, 2013 | See all Kevduit's reviews »

The Scribblenauts games have always impressed me with their amazing creative gameplay. This game always anyone, even adults, to completely express their mind, and create anything they think would be cool. You can build anything you want to complete the missions, and now with this new game, Scribblenauts Unmasked, you can complete missions using super heroes! The puzzles and gameplay are quite impressive, and the levels aren't ever the same, so it always feels as though you are doing a completely new story! This is a fantastic game, and will always be a very impressive puzzle solving game of epic creativity!

90

Scribblenauts awesomeness crossed world

lok0812 | Sept. 24, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

If you enjoy creating things to solve puzzles then Scribblenauts is your game. Your ability to create countless number of objects give you a new way to approach each of the puzzles within the game. With the new introduction of the dynamic puzzles, each time you play you will be tasked to solve things differently which will adds even more variety to your gameplay. This time the game crosses into the DC universe and majority of the hero you knew will be in the game as well. In addition, the creator no longer limits to items or npc creation, you can now create your own hero and play using him. This is definitely one of the best Scribblenauts for the series and it is a must get for any puzzle solver with a creative mind.