Reviews for How to Survive

70

Good survival

FrozenFireCZ | Sept. 6, 2014 | See all FrozenFireCZ's reviews »

Smaller surprise. Initially, I naively thought that this is a simple survival, but after a few minutes of playing I realised that this is another zombie game. Because I was slightly disappointed (since there is no moon, lest another zombie game), but in the end game its gameplay and entertainment, was able to draw. He surprised me too view from the top, which makes the game a little different. It's obviously just about shooting zombies, but also by hunting animals, gathering flowers, crafting items and meeting many interesting challenges. It's not světaborného, but not anything that would offend. Graphically average, playable lighter than average and certainly entertaining wallop!

65

Not bad

Sulfie | July 4, 2014 | See all Sulfie's reviews »

I was quite looking forward to this game, as I always am with zombie survival style games, but as per usual it just isn't quite right.

When playing solo it can feel quite a drag. The game is very light hearted and I quite like the crafting, but due to the small scale and relative ease of the game you can quite quickly become bored unless you have a friend to mess around with.

70

Decent, but better with a friend

cappincrunch | May 18, 2014 | See all cappincrunch's reviews »

If you're going to pick this up, grab it with a friend because coop is always better.

This might appear like any ordinary top-down dungeon crawler, but the combat is silky smooth and the finishing moves are very satisfying.

Weapon crafting is easy enough to pick up on and ranged combat is the most satisfying.

Story-telling is entertaining when done by Novac, but other than that, it can get fairly dull. Worth the time nonetheless.

85

Eat. Sleep. Drink. Kill Zombies.

beltmatt_usa | Jan. 2, 2014 | See all beltmatt_usa's reviews »

This game has a little crafting in it, a little bit of RPG elements, and the story is entertaining. There isn't anything that stands out in this game to make it a "must buy", but you will get your money's worth. To me it is funny, and I like the top down views in this such as in torchlight/diablo those type of games. Game play is simple, but I recommend using a controller.

65

How to Zombie Diablo

Neonberry | Dec. 22, 2013 | See all Neonberry's reviews »

How to Survive is an action RPG about - what else - killing zombies and building your own weapons to do so. It is not a dark, desperate struggle for survival - more a lighthearted zombie hack-and-slash. To be honest this game seemed much more fun before I actually played it. Sometimes it gets annoying how much of a console port it is, but if you don't mind the lackluster controls it is a decent game. You find all the standard zombie stuff - the standard zombie, the runners, the fat ones that blow up and so on. In the the game end it is just one more in the horde of zombie games, nothing really special about it - and there are plenty more better zombie games out there even close to this price range.

50

Hardly a "Survival" at all..

strykerryo | Dec. 21, 2013 | See all strykerryo's reviews »

I picked this game up full price, from it's description it sounded like the type of zombie survival game I always wanted to play. Sadly, it is literally only such in name and description. All the elements are sort of there, the "open" map, ammo, limited inventory, food and water stats, but their implementation is all wrong.

Few of them really matter, you get tons of ammo as drops, and managing water and food is pretty irrelevant, you quickly stack some items for that so that it's more of a petty maintenance than an aspect of survival.

The so-called open map is really just swathes of map with small pathways cut into them, with just a few open spaces that are usually there just for the sake of variety it seams. The only "Open" element is that of course it isn't a linear game and you can run back and forth between areas and quick travel between maps, but it's far enough from just backtracking.

The combat isn't too bad, it works for this type of game, if it wasn't for the overabundance of ammo and the overpowered weapons from the very start. Combat soon feels more like something you just do on the way and not much more enjoyable than running from place to place.

The crafting is another annoyance if you need a particular item, you have a limited inventory, that's okay, you shouldn't be able to carry everything with you.. but then there is no storage area. It's already not fun to run around this island aimlessly, I don't want to have to run around looking for that one damn ingredient, usually for a quest (what else is there to do in this game?) Just a limited item storage for SOME things, I can decide what to get rid of later, but a few times I've already dropped something I needed to find again, much to my annoyance.

The overall feel of playing this game was BOREDOM. I was falling asleep at my comp, I soon couldn't take it. It's not too relevant but the final straw was all the damn "Krovac's Rules" cutscenes. Think he's a neat quirky charcater? Wait till you have to endure overwrought, way too long, unskippable video tutorials with the same crappy music, for something that should be explained in 2-3 lines of text.

All these other reviews make it clear to me that they haven't really played a survival game. Don't want to be mean, but it's kind of important to remember what a survival game is so we can actually get a good one. This just isn't it. I'm not even sure they played the game, like the regurgitated the game descriptions and other reviews. It's very deceptive, because it's far from the experience this game actually provides; a top down action game with bad map design and useless aspects that are little more than busy work, that drains the fun out of the concepts of crafting, exploring, or survival.

91

Fun zombie survival game

commanderhavoc | Nov. 13, 2013 | See all commanderhavoc's reviews »

This game takes the fun melee combat of Dead Island and mixes it in with some true Macgyver-style crafting and scavanging while surviving as the only survivor of a shipwreck on an island crawling with not just the undead, but also other survivors and wild life. You will have to take good care of your hunger, thirst and energy as unlike Dead Island and similar games, you actually have to make sure you stay well fed and hydrated while also sleeping for a few hours every now and then, otherwise you will end up with little to no energy while fighting the zombies and that means less damage is dealt. Also, there are slightly more horrific zombies that only come out at night, but these are thankfully very sensitive to light so if you have a torch or flashlight, you will be able to keep them as far away from you as possible. Of course, you are able to craft your very own weapons and armor from the stuff you can find around the islands and these makeshift items will provide a much needed edge in your struggle to survive and maybe even escape these crazy islands. The game is also best played with the Xbox-360 gamepad for Windows as it uses a control system not unlike games like Renegade Ops and such, as in that you move with the left stick and aim with the right stick.

90

Very enjoyable game!

firehandpl | Nov. 9, 2013 | See all firehandpl's reviews »

When I heard about this game first time, I was really happy. I am in love with horror games, especially with those about zombies :). How to Survive have fully satisfy me. This game is very fun to play, it's graphic is good, it's also well optimised. On my 5 years old pc it worked on medium settings with 60 fps all the time. Storyline of this game is quite good, but it didn't have any twists or anything I wasn't expecting. It wasn't also that long, it took me 9 hours to pass whole game with Kenji, my favourite character. Even though I passed the game, I still want to play some more, because the are different skill trees for all characters, so you can complete game a few times and you won't be bored. 11$ for that much of fun and joy is nothing.

70

Survival Game fun

Payaso109 | Nov. 6, 2013 | See all Payaso109's reviews »

It's very addictive, the skill system, creating objects and basic survival cool. The trouble is that the missions are repetitive, the story does not engage and the technical section is discrete. positive: The game focuses on feeling like a survivor animals hunting and cooking, creating weapons, seeking refuge ... negative: The objectives and development are limted history is rare and technically obsolete. The Zombie Survival Guide, have focused their stories to give us the key to survive in case of a hypothetical zombie apocalypse.

80

Good Game

arseniquez | Nov. 3, 2013 | See all arseniquez's reviews »

When I see this game announce to pre-order.I think "Survival Zombie game again?".I'm very bored about Zombie game I guess it too much and many zombie title games in the market.And all of them is not difference gameplay.

After I see video about gameplay in this game.I change my mind and purchase it.It's the good gameplay system survival game.

The big point to make me purchase this game is gameplay system that you can mix item to craft the weapon and armor such as gun , boomerang ,axe , armpad , armor . if you change some part that make your gun make more damage. Skill tree in this game is good.you can choose your skill to make you play easier such as less hungry,less thirsty , make more motolov,ignite ETC.The quest and sidequest in this game are good.They're not too easy or too hard and has many thing to do.

After I finished this game with Kenji I meet the bad point in this game that I don't like is some weapon can make a big damage to zombie.If you can crafted it, the game is easier than usual ( that I hope the developer will adjust this again when the full game is come)

78

How to Survive

ultroxmga | Oct. 28, 2013 | See all ultroxmga's reviews »

How to Survive is, at it's core, a true Zombie survival game. In the story mode of how to survive you play as one of 3 (or 2 of 3 if you are playing Co-op mode) survivors as you wake up with amnesia on an unknown island. Now the story isn't anything special, its just a segway so you have a reason to do the things you do. where the game shines is it's mechanics. As you progress through the island, you find different survivors and books titled "Kovac's Rules" kovac, an expert survivor, left these book chapters scattered along the island for you or other survivors to find so they have a better chance at survival. In these books they show you how to survive and craft. In the game, you can find different parts or ingredients scattered along the island, in sheds, on the ground, and on dead bodies. these parts may not seem like much on their own, but you can craft them to make weapons, armor, and supplies. Now i was a little disappointed at the lack of ingredients, now there is enough so it isn't dull, but i expected more combinations and such. You also have to eat, drink, and sleep in the game to avoid stat loses and possible death. For drinking you need to find freshwater or wells, eating you need to find plants, food, or hunt, and to sleep you need to clear camps so you can sleep without the danger. Overall the game shines in it's mechanics, but falls short in some areas like story. But it is a welcome change from the regular left-4-dead esque zombie game. This game is well worth the 10.49 and even 15 dollar price tag, the story, along with the online coop challenge mode will sure to give you plenty of fun.

90

Best Zombie Game Ever

psuphichet | Oct. 28, 2013 | See all psuphichet's reviews »

It has everything im looking for, but it takes time to get a handle on keyboard&mouse controllers.

If u get bored of typical zombie rpg-shooting game, i suggest to own this. this game has a huge variety of weapon, armor, and potion-creations. The character's skills for me, do not make much effect and many choices as item-creations. There are a tons of quests. Some of them requires your creative problem-solving skill and common senses.

The real-survival system is perfect. I enjoy making food'n drink that give different effect to character's body. For example, u might get diarrhea if you eat too much fruits. Day and Night gives you different feeling to player's perspective. u feel safe at day time, but feel more excited and panic when the night time comes.

Cheers

75

Underrated budget title, but deeper than a lot of AAA releases

gwynplaine | Oct. 27, 2013 | See all gwynplaine's reviews »

How to Survive is a good mix of established genres. The genres that shine through most are lite action RPG and twin stick shooters. The combat is simple but very satisfying. Most action RPGs are just click fests where you specialize one or two keys and spam one key or two keys irrespective of the situation (think Torchlight 2), but this game addresses by having a simple combo system and the need to switch it up between melee and ranged weapons. If you've played the Diablo 3, it's the same sort of principle - very simple combos but very satisfying.

The game is really short but looks like it will be continued to be supported through DLC.

The local co-op in this game is really fun too. The game is on the easy side, unfortunately, but if you find someone who is absolutely bad at games it makes it more challenging because they'll scare off the animals you need to hunt and put themselves in all sorts of precarious positions with the different types of zombies. Resources seem to be scarcer too in co-op so that'll be another challenge. Your characters slow down if you don't have enough food or water to share, or if you can't get any sleep. If your co-op partner is good, well you can always sit back and enjoy some relaxing zombie smashing action together

94

Very very good

rjb789 | Oct. 27, 2013 | See all rjb789's reviews »

I would see this as a sort of top down experience of the walking dead TV series. First I will start with the graphics, they are, to put it simply, gorgeous. Every environment and character you will see along your journey of slaughter is brilliantly well designed and makes you feel as though you are in a real zombie situation. The game play is also stellar and all the weapons you use feel powerful and responsive. The crafting system really adds to the immersion and you have to scavenge to find the necessary ingredients and equipment to survive. There is also a great deal of player choice which makes you feel like you ARE the character. This is a great game and I highly recommend it.

77

How it's fun to survive!

Blueiceseven | Oct. 26, 2013 | See all Blueiceseven's reviews »

I love ! I finally found a game that is similar to the concept of my ideal game! Sure, it has flaws : already personally , I prefer FPS I find more immersive than GST. Then, several minor problems are related to the fact that it is slightly too typical "arcade" for my taste. Oh, this also something I often critical when this is the case , we feel that the game originally designed for consoles ! It is very playable but some adjustments have been made ​​for keyboards like the system to choose the "gadgets" . My balance is quite positive : typed survival arcade game , mixing a dasn GST ideas came from Left For Dead and Dead Island different zombies inspired by the series of LFD and its atmosphere, with a day / night cycle and creatures night vision and sometimes throwing hordes mass on you! (well, of course , not the same size as LFD , at least solo ) , and the crafting system of weapons to stay in zombie games , I mentioned that the DEAD Island but further , although there have no means improved his arms once crafte ( though so ... but shhh ! ^ ^) . I think the short game , although after ten hours I am not yet at the end , and perhaps a little too easy BUT , there is a "but" ! ^ ^ For what is life , the game features three characters with some different skills, there is a co-op mode , challenges to achieve and collectibles . And what is the difficulty , there is a game mode " hardcore " , the Iron Man fashion (and here it's about me ^ ^ ) . Finally , here , I love it, good fun game , cheap (even with 30% discount if you do not wait too long ) so I want to say: What else ?

75

How to Survive - review

balbo79 | Oct. 25, 2013 | See all balbo79's reviews »

As one of three survivors escaped an accident off the coast of Colombia , we have to move on four islands in search of a means of escape. The most incredible aspect is probably the highest number of possible combinations we can create a weapon , ammunition, though will not be a big problem, because bolts and other small pieces of metal will be just fine. Obtain food is our second priority , too bad that most of the time proves a real problem : you have to hunt and cook for not having problems . The last rule of survival is to sleep, but also to rest must not only find the shelters but also clean them from the creatures that inhabit them , and for no reason will pop out from every angle, as in the worst horror movie. Conquered the fort it will become our in effect and , in addition to being able to sleep , we will find valuable items and guides to create new weapons to add in your backpack. How To Survive in appearance may seem a superficial game with a modest graphics , but the title Eko Sofware proved to be quite interesting despite its flaws .

75

"An interesting perspective on a drained out topic"

biffeh | Oct. 25, 2013 | See all biffeh's reviews »

"Oh god not another zombie game"- I said to myself. But i was clearly mistaken. Although pretty obvious from it's indie developer orgins, How to Survive provides the player with simple, but yet complex crafting system, addicting battles, a variety of zombies to fight and collectibles to get. Also COOP and different difficulty levels and characters provide some value of replayablity. This game may not be the prettiest, and have a couple of annoying features( as in a locked in camera, which alters your FOV making you fall off a bridge and etc A still kinda broken Coop system, sometimes unclosable "tip screens"). Overall, it is an interesting perspective on a drained out topic, that provides the player they haven't really seen before. With some kinks here and there "How to survive" provides many hours of entertainment.

TL;DR BUY IT

If you're not convinced to pay the full price, get it at a sale it is really worth your money.

81

Good game, great for co op!

Bradaz85 | Oct. 25, 2013 | See all Bradaz85's reviews »

This game is quite a bit of fun whether you play it solo or in co op, its pretty addictive. You have the normal questing and side quests to do as well as take care of your players basic needs such as hunger thirst and sleep. Its executed well with decent visuals and good game mechanics that work. The controls feel good but its best played with a gamepad.

85

Good survival game

saojoao | Oct. 25, 2013 | See all saojoao's reviews »

How to Survive may be one of the most awaited games of this month. It is a survival game, with elements of crafting, which makes it a good alternative to Don't Starve or Terraria. What makes it stand out is the visual side of the game, which is presented in third-person 3d view, and the fact you are actually offered a survival guide which leads you through the game and teaches you about the available options. The other survival games often don't offer such help, so you need to learn it all the hard way by yourself. In How to Survive you can play with a choice of characters and on different islands, which gives you very much replayability for this game. I haven't tried many of the choices yet, so I cannot tell about them all, but the ones I've seen are really good and interesting.

81

a sweet game

soad667 | Oct. 24, 2013 | See all soad667's reviews »

I was a little sceptical about it. Reason? Every video and screenshot, even on its Steam page, had either no hud visible, or hud with gamepad buttons on screen. Thought it might be some lazy port because of that.

But hopefully it wasn't. Game has sweet visuals, especially if you are a bit older and in love with those isometric games from back then. Controls work great with keyboard and mouse. Many things to do except killing things: explore 4 islands in total, harvest/scavenge almost anything you can find, combine numerous materials to craft things. Only problem: limited inventory, so you need to think twice what you carry or drop them in your safe places as they don't seem to disappear.

Coop is available for some challenges and from what the developers say, coop is coming for the story too.

In general, a really sweet game you have to play if it interests you slightly from the pics.

75

A solid title

Cavalieroscuro | Oct. 24, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

How to Survive is basically a survival action game, with an isometric view. If you played Project Zomboid, there are some common elements among the two titles. You can craft weapons, playing with a friend or solo. The graphic is also nice, and the soundtrack is accurate, the atmosphere is great.

There are four main locations, for about 15 hours of fun. The price is competitive, so give it a try, it might be worth it.

90

First impression

cor_sleep | Oct. 24, 2013 | See all cor_sleep's reviews »

Above all the graphics of this game was so impressive, I didn't expect this much from a indie company. It was not perfect but it's good enough to enjoy the zombie apocalypse. and the sound quality was great too, so I could actually feel I'm in the Island myself. and the voice acting was good too. Even for the major game titles there are some weird voice acting sometimes. How to survive is not like an indie game.

for the in-game aspect, Kovac's rule is so helpful to play the game. these days there are too many games which is not kind to their players. Kovac's rule help newbies to adapt fast while it's lying all around the places. Plus, it gives us curiosity about Kovac which helps us to get into the game's story deeply.

The Random Zombie waves never allow me to relax. and it's creepy so much whenever I open the bunker's door. Because I have to take care of that countless zombies after I open it. This is a fine zombie survival game brings us a fine gaming experience with zombies.

the details And the last part I was so touched was the details of the game. There was a NPC(none playable character) I met while I play the game and he told me to move somewhere while he refill the gas for the boat. and I expected he would just stand still while I fight the zombie horde. but he actually interacted with the zombies and he was afraid of them so I had to kill the zombies for him. Putting this much of details into a game always touch the gamer's heart. Details makes the game breathe, and alive. it's a very important element for any games to be enjoyed.

I might not know everything about How to Survive yet, but the first impression was so great. Buy it guys while they sell it 30% off.

81

Original Survival+Hack Slash

edchaos | Oct. 24, 2013 | See all edchaos's reviews »

I enjoyed the game. The game is like a mix of Diablo and Don´t Starve. It is well finish and I did not detect any bugs. The variety of skills is small and many of them have little use. The inventory is small for the variety of items there are, but its not limited by weight only slots. There is a good variety of zombies that will increase as far you go in the game.

A tip: Learn explosive arrows and use them instead of the molotov-bombs to clear the barricaded doors and passages. It will save you a lot of inventory space.

The game is a good choice to kill time, especially with friends. I highly recommend it if you enjoy Diablo+Survival style.