Reviews for Assassin’s Creed IV Black Flag

85

What the franchise needed.

jamart | Feb. 18, 2014 | See all jamart's reviews »

After the dross that was AC3, this was a fantastic change of pace.

An interesting main character, amazing ship combat, numerous side missions and the like. Truly hours of fun.

I have probably put 30+ hours into this game, and the vast majority of that has been messing about in the free roam, and I've only reached a little over half way through the story.

There are very few games where, less than halfway on route to the next mission, I'd find myself spending the next two hours engrossed in side-action instead.

Incredible game, and just what was needed for the franchise.

89

A Refreshing Change

Morgan_Little | Feb. 6, 2014 | See all Morgan_Little's reviews »

Following the formulaic effort that was Assassin's Creed 3, the injection of piracy and expansion of the ship-based mechanics has been a welcome change.

The ship gameplay is robust, engaging and challenging - and clicks perfectly with the existing on-foot gameplay of the Assassins Creed series. Being able to attack a ship, then seamlessly leap from ship to ship and engage in melee combat is thrilling and refreshing.

Black Flag continues to play out the conflict between the Assassin and Templar organisations. While I found this a bit tiresome, it's very easy to avoid it for long periods of time (piracy missions and storylines, and free sailing). It's also great to have the player character, Kenway, laugh in the face of both factions.

A particularly striking moment for me was right after completing the first "proper" assassination. The target, a Spanish Templar, is engaged in conversation in a "digital" environment - similar to the way Ezio, Altair and Conor would hear the last words of their victims. Where his predecessors would mutter words of condolence and peace, Kenway mocks. The Spaniard closes their discussion with "May the Hell you find be of your own making" - a deliberate nod to Ezio's "Rest in peace."

Black Flag is worth playing for the piracy gameplay alone. The Assassin/Templar gameplay is reduced and easily completed. And the characters are a refreshingly self-aware set for the series.

70

Fun, but not well optimised.

TETfromLondon | Feb. 3, 2014 | See all TETfromLondon's reviews »

Before I begin it is worth noticing that this review is for the PC version (more specifically, for those with AMD GPUs, since I don't know how it performs for Nvidia cards), and the game would have scored much better with a better PC version. However, I can't score it very highly, because it doesn't run at all well on my system, even though it should. I have it on the lowest settings with all unnecessary things like V-sync and anti-aliasing turned off, and I get around 25 fps. My system isn't that powerful, but Far Cry 3, a game published by the same company, gets 30+fps with much better settings, despite looking as good and arguably better. Tomb Raider (one of the best ports of the last few years) runs at all times at 40+ fps on ULTRA! Yes, ULTRA! It is easily better looking on ultra than AC4 is on low. Therefore, there's no excuse for this game running at a framerate that is borderline unplayable.

Moving past that, the game is probably the best Assassin's Creed since 2 (if 3 had run like this, I would have given it a 50, so my score for this game shows how good the quality is compared to 3). The world is amazing, the gameplay has been changed for once (although the stupid tailing missions and over-simplified, unchallenging combat are still there) and the protagonist is now more likeable than a loaf of bread. Also Desmond (my personal least favourite character in gaming history) is gone. However, I can't bring myself to play it for more than short periods because I get such a headache from the PC port.

Therefore, if you like Assassin's Creed games, you'll like this. If you don't like them, you'll probably like it too, as tons of new gameplay features have been added. However, get the console version unless you have a very powerful PC, because otherwise you'll be sitting watching a Powerpoint presentation of awesome moments. Without this issue, I'd have scored it an easy 90.

80

A new breath to the series

Sganotak | Jan. 16, 2014 | See all Sganotak's reviews »

This game is a prequel to ACIII, you play as ex-privateer Edward Kenway who is also Connor's grandfather. Like all previous games, AC IV is set in an open world filled with things to do and secrets to uncover. While an Assassin's Creed game in name, Black Flag is mostly focused on living the pirate life.

The much praised naval combat of ACIII returns and it's now a core part of the game. You will spend a lot of time sailing and exploring the West Indies for treasure and as a pirate you can raid other ships and forts . The game offers a lot of content and it will take you a substantial amount of time to reach 100% completion. Most ACIII mechanics that were overly complex have been reworked and fit the game perfectly

The story of the game is good for Assassin's Creed standards and Edward is a likeable protagonist. You will also interact with notorious pirates from that time period like Black Beard, Calico Jack and Charles Vane. It is also important to mention that you don't need to play the previous games to fully understand this one, as it's pretty much a reboot of the series

This is probably one of the finest looking games on the market. Everything looks beautiful and you will surely spend a lot of time just admiring the beautiful scenery, especially if you have a high end system. The voice acting is also great and the music will give you a Pirates of The Caribbean vibe

Also the much annoying and tedious Animus sections from previous games that broke the pace of the game are greatly reduced and are mostly optional.

What I didn't like about the game is that it hasn't evolved much gameplay wise from AC II. The free running animations are still the same, the sword fights despite having top notch choreography are still very easy and the stealth sections are not challenging because of the lackluster enemy AI. Also most of the main storyline missions are generic and are just camouflaged side missions

In conclusion, AC IV is what ACIII should have been. Even if you don't enjoy the AC games but are interested in pirates, you owe it to yourself to play this game because it's the best pirate themed game ever made

85

New gameplay

Freako | Dec. 31, 2013 | See all Freako's reviews »

I have been a AC fan for a long time. I know the changes and flaws of AC series. But in AC4:BlackFlag. I have seen a world new change in terms of storyline and combat. Even though some may not like what you see like forest and naval combat.

I would say it's a great add-on to distress yourself from the repetitive assassinations to be done. It keeps your mind off track and makes you want to do side quest. Hunting materials to upgrade your ship. Making the need to hunt rather than just an achievement. Naval combat is great. Feels dynamic and the weather changes just adds a +1 for naval battles. Having to learn how to adapt with the controls with the naval battles but be challenging at first. But Overall, a few hours in and you will be amazed what it can offer.

Assassinations has increased in different ways to kill someone but retains the same feeling you get from playing the AC series.

99

Arrrgghh! Great game mates!

youknowwho77 | Dec. 23, 2013 | See all youknowwho77's reviews »

As the title says, this is the best pirate themed game EVER made. If you like pirates and pirate themed games, tihs is just for you. I like how the developers, made a whole new world, so massive and full of things to do, that you will forget that there was main quest in the first line. One of my favorite things about this game, are the treasure maps you found around the world, which link to a different location. When you go to the place, you have to use the map's drawing, to find where the treasure is hidden. A must buy.

93

More than just another AC game

tofrellera | Dec. 14, 2013 | See all tofrellera's reviews »

This is probably one of the best in the series. Adding pirates and assassins is surprisingly a really good direction for the Assassin's Creed franchise.The best thing about this game is that it goes beyond and builds on what made the series great in the first place. Having a ship that you can use and customize, the widest range of outfits in an AC game, doing side activities like hunting down templars, collecting upgrades, diving, and much more make this game definitely worth all the hours you will spend on it. Furthermore, the new protagonist, Edward Kenway, grandfather to Connor in AC III, is a much lighter, conflicted, and more likable character than his grandson. He stands out from other main assassins in the series by being motivated by money rather than some sense of honor or revenge.

The setting is visually stunning with all the beautiful beaches, the diverse wildlife, and clear blue waters, and that moment when you start sailing freely in the open seas and your crew starts singing is simply amazing. There's just so much to do in this game that you will keep postponing doing the main mission just to all the other activities. The combat is a little slower than AC III, but overall, it's still great along with the new and improved naval combat.

The story is not as great as I thought it would be though, but it's definitely better than AC III and enough to get me interested in collecting all the small details about it. In the present day missions, these are actually really really interesting and sometimes humorous as it makes a lot of references to all the past AC games. In those missions, you play as YOU in a video game company which I honestly found to be a really creative move for Ubisoft. The main issue I have with the game is that it has minor glitches and bugs and that the game gets laggy on max graphics even on strong PC's. There's also less weapons in this game since you only have your swords and hidden blades as main weapons (no main axes, daggers, or clubs), but having four pistols is pretty fun too.

I think Ubisoft really stepped it up with this one. The quality of the AC series is better this time around, and AC IV: Black Flag is definitely worth playing for a long time.

90

No disappointment here

mahon | Dec. 5, 2013 | See all mahon's reviews »

It's fresh, it's new and we're all so excited about it. Well, is it really so fresh? Not so much. It's still the same good old Assassin's Creed but with awesome visuals and some enhancements to gameplay. Due to the importance of sea in the pirates theme we get to travel by sea more than before and sea battles are a fresh and really well done additions to the game. With cannonballs tearing the air around you and battle chaos all around, you get to use your skills in completely new situations and enviroments, which turn out to be perfectly suited for this kind of game. Adaptation of Assassin's Creed to a new period and a completely new setting breathes some fresh air into the series and suits the game better than any of us could expect!

86

Great pirate game, good AC game

yansanten1 | Dec. 5, 2013 | See all yansanten1's reviews »

While boston was nice, and connor was a badass(imo), ezio was a suave italian dude who banged anything that moved, they lacked a certain type of ''my only motive is money''.

And in comes Edward Kenway, ex privateer to the crown and now full fledged pirate. This guy is an extremely badass and charismatic character, who has an amazing supporting cast of rugged pirates, and of course the star of the game, his brig, the Jackdaw.

It is great to just sail around the west indies,exploring little islands and coves, robbing spanish and english ships alike, looking for treasures from hidden maps etc etc.

On to the AC part of the game, you can still use the well known free running, the hidden blades, the 1 vs a whole group of upset soldiers combat style, the 'stealth'', wich is not bad, but after seeing game after game of what is basically the same concept but more fleshed out, i find its time for some better stealth mechanics, either that or no stealth mechanics at all.

80

Solid game

DannyAtTheZoo | Dec. 3, 2013 | See all DannyAtTheZoo's reviews »

I have been a long-time fan of the Assassin's Creed series. Black Flag does not disappoint. What I look for in a game is how long I can play it until it gets old. I'm over 20 hours in, haven't beaten it, and am still having a blast. The only downside is tailing and eavesdropping missions, and even those include the new style of stealth Ubisoft has incorporated into the game. I love the stealth system in Dishonored and Farcry 3, and Assassin's Creed IV comes close to the same level of quality. Now for the rest of the game. You will find yourself swinging from ropes and boarding ships with explosions around you, dual swords in hand, slicing up British to your heart's content. The combat has been made noticeably smoother and the same with the naval combat. There is so very little wrong with this game

90

The wind of change

Vanesh | Nov. 28, 2013 | See all Vanesh's reviews »

First, the story.I love the character. Not an assassin, not a templar, a pirate. But this particular pirate is father to a templar, and grandfather of an assassin, so he plays a strong role in the unseen war fought by those two parties. Out of the animus, it's closer to the real world, a sort of parallel universe where templar money is everythwere.

Then, the gameplay. Overall, I like the pirate setting. What I find lacking, though, is what was seen in every other AC, cities. Cities as they were then. I really liked old Roma, Florencia, Constantine, Boston etc, and their culture. Here we see Kingston and Havana, but they lack in realism, historical details, when compared to the efforts put in the others.

So yes, I would have loved to see, when you set foot out of your ship, a World in its own. As it is a pirate game, the focus is on the naval battles, I understand that, but it pains me, that's all.

Still, can't bring myself to note below 90. 'tis an excellent game.

80

A solid return to form

Mirrors | Nov. 27, 2013 | See all Mirrors's reviews »

A fantastic return to form for the series after a rushed Revelations and a disappointing 3rd numbered game with plenty to do and a lead character with personality and wit. Not without its technical faults by any means the game struggles to run at max settings on even the most powerful PC's but can look beautiful and smooth if you're willing to compromise on settings here and there. The annual cadence of sequels is also becoming fatiguing but while the quality stays this high I will stay on board.

85

My personal favorite since AC2!

anxion | Nov. 24, 2013 | See all anxion's reviews »

I have been enjoying the AC series since from the beginning! I must admit I think the series has been going off the track after AC2. We had two sequels to AC2, that didn't really add anything new to the series, which is a shame, because the jump from the first AC game to the 2nd one was tremendous! They tried to do something new with AC3 by placing it in the American revolution and giving us a whole new protagonist! But sadly, too many bugs and a protagonist without charm made the game hard enjoy to its fullest. I went into AC4 with low expectations, but boy was I surprised how it turned out! You still got the old elements (like assassinating templars, helping out important historical characters.) but now they also offer a huge open world to sail around with on your ship! They've improved on the really fun naval combat from AC3, so you can now board and plunder enemy ships. Just living out the pirate life! You can spend an entire day just sailing around, plundering, discovering new islands, hunting for new treasure! Ubisoft got back into the game with this title!

84

Naval battles revised..

XGpredator | Nov. 23, 2013 | See all XGpredator's reviews »

Despite some good ideas, Assassin's Creed 4: Black Flag is certainly not the best game in the series. First his screenplay disappoints, as its gameplay begins to age seriously. The system of free run, especially, it does not at all suite to environments that has skimpy pirate ships, while the AI ​​guards are less easy to swallow. Still, given the atmosphere is just great, the universe is exciting to explore and vast, the freedom offered to the player is a total immersion that is intoxicating and the multiplayer is richer than ever. In short, it is a game full of nuances, which still deserves a look, especially if you're a fan of the series or the world of piracy.

95

Assassin's Creed with the number four

segrand | Nov. 19, 2013 | See all segrand's reviews »

Assassin 's Creed marked number four commonly referred to as Black Flag , the next adventure of the series. This time the authors offer us a journey into the world of pirates (which is a subject was terribly boosted by the Pirates of the Caribbean ) . In the world of alcohol , beautiful women , ships, sea battles , pirates and their terrible enemies and murderers . Assassins who hoods eliminate his enemies . It is no different this time . Series is known because of this , and this time , continued . We have our own boat and sail out to sea along with his crew , visiting many interesting places , presented in a very nice way. In addition, we supply the two swords , guns, and we set off on the adventure of life. Singing , underwater adventure , marine unknown corners of the world and a typical pirate humor . All of this can be found in the newest part , and even a little more . Tzeba admit that it is a very sensible production that draws from what is best proven features and upgrades . Additionally, we have a multiplayer mode , in which you can change the appearance of the character and a little deal with the other assassins led by players from all over the world. This is a very solid production, which can in good conscience recommend it. Really might be interested in charismatic figure , which is unquestionably Edward Kenway and meet his pirate history.