Reviews for Batman: Arkham Asylum

97

One of the best superhero games ever made

ultrapwnd | Nov. 18, 2012 | See all ultrapwnd's reviews »

In batman Arkham Asylum you play as the caped crusader, as Joker has once again escaped from Arkham Asylum. When you arrive there, Joker takes control over the prison, as the story progresses it stays interesting and the missions are very fun. The game mechanics are very well done, you really feel like batman when you play this game, the use of detective mode and batman's gadgets feel very cool. The presentation is very nice and detailed when everything is turned on, and the music is engaging. A very solid title that fans of action games or batman should enjoy.

96

One of the best super-hero games ever

V2lentin | Oct. 22, 2012 | See all V2lentin's reviews »

Batman AA is probably THE best super-hero games ever, with more than decent graphics, an easy to master control scheme, which makes fighting a pleasure. Even so, the stealth even more enjoyable, because that is the true way to feel you are Batman, the terror hiding in the shadows. The villains are pretty well done, visually and vocally, especially the Joker. This is one of the games that you shouldn't miss no matter what kind of gamer you are. You HAVE to play it!

91

One of the best video game adaptations ever made

dark2025 | Sept. 26, 2012 | See all dark2025's reviews »

Arkham Asylum is a fantastic game, perhaps the video game equivalent of film The Dark Knight. The action is probably the best part of the game, and the great story just makes it better. The fluid fighting is simply superb - all the combos connect so smoothly with each other and it makes the game so much more atmospheric. That's not the only attention to detail that make this game - for example, guards will chat with each other and Batman's cape will become gradually more torn.

If you haven't played this game before, this is a must if you have at least a slight interest in Batman and/or action games.

90

The game that broke the jinx of bad superhero games!

schroff | Sept. 13, 2012 | See all schroff's reviews »

Seriously - superhero games before this one were terrible! I had low expectations when it came out and was completely blown away! Kevin Conroy as Batman & Mark Hammil as the Clown Prince of Crime once again, if you watched the Animated you'll know why that's exciting :D Ground breaking combat, movie-worthy story with never a dull moment, great Batman gadgets and the graphics top it off! Buy both this one and City .. you'll be busy for a long while!

95

Must-have game

Xibalba | Aug. 30, 2012 | See all Xibalba's reviews »

One of the best superhero and action game ever made. Animations are awesome, good looking graphic and nice voice acting, if you like batman you must have this game. Also you can use the famous batman's gadgets. Really good game.

95

Awesome basher! Really feels like a Batman game.

xboxer | Aug. 28, 2012 | See all xboxer's reviews »

Batman AA is awesome. It's a must buy for any Batman or basher fan.

The action and gameplay is tight. The atmosphere captures the Batman universe very well.

The inclusion of stealth really adds to the game otherwise it will end up being another mindless basher. There are enough variety of enemies to make this interesting enough.

It's hard to put down once you start.

82

Dark knight!

maciej2601 | Aug. 12, 2012 | See all maciej2601's reviews »

TPP action game whose main character is a famous Dark Knight of Gotham City. This is a very dark tale, in which the scrolls Joker and bunch of other classic Batman's adversaries.

95

Rocksteady's defining masterpiece

Mattiebo | Aug. 3, 2012 | See all Mattiebo's reviews »

When I first played a demo of this game, I wasn't completely sold by it. On my second play of the demo, I understood it a bit more and enjoyed it as a result. Then I bought the game, and it is an incredible experience.

Rocksteady did the impossible and made a brilliant Batman game. The game is dark and gritty, but Mark Hamill's Joker will keep you smiling throughout your quest to take him down.

The amount of detail in everything brings Arkham Asylum to life, with things like scarcely-visible newspapers providing fan service by referencing people and events from the Batman universe.

The gameplay is also really fun, making you feel powerful as if you really are controlling the Dark Knight. There are plenty of unlockable items, weapons and character files which give you an extra incentive to explore.

Even when you've completed the main storyline, you can participate in the many Riddler challenges which range from collectable trophy items to tough riddles and everything in between.

Batman: Arkham Asylum is an amazing game and you owe yourself to play it if you haven't already.

94

Best Batman game

panz3r88 | Aug. 2, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Batman Arkham Asylum is probably one of the best action game ever made. In this action game Batman must defeat many of his enemies in the prison of Arkham Asylum. The gameplay is a mix between stealth section and fights against the enemies. The combat system is very intuitive and allow to perform very long and spectacular combos based on counterattacks. Batman can freely explore Arkham Asylum using many gadgets that add a good variety to the gameplay and allow to find all the collectibles and solves the riddles of the Riddler. Even if I'm not a Batman fan I found the story amazing.

94

Best superhero game

EneSanyi | July 25, 2012 | See all EneSanyi's reviews »

Batman is my favourite hero of DC universe, and I bought this game because of the good critics. The graphics is awesome, the brawling is simple but still very good, the sneaking is exiting with Batman's gadgets. But if Arkham Asylum doesn't have a good story, this game would be mid-range. BUT It has got a great story with a lot of Batman's foes, and these make this game epic. It totally worth buying, so go to the nearest videogame shop and buy this masterpiece.

93

An excellent blend of stealth and action!

gecko92 | July 24, 2012 | See all gecko92's reviews »

This is one of the few superhero games that don't suck, it's not just good, it's fantastic. Hiding from enemies, taking them out one by one using various bat-gadgets is a lot of fun. You can also defeat criminals in fast-paced brawls and solve challenging but rewarding riddles. Everything is controlled perfectly thanks to the fluid and responsive control system, although a 360 gamepad is strongly recommended. The graphics are excellent for a 2009 game and immersive. You don't need to be a Batman fan to enjoy the story: everything is well-explained and there is a sort of encyclopaedia that contains info about all the characters you meet. This is a must-buy for any Batman fan. For everyone else, Batman: Arkham Asylum is still an awesome stealth action game.

93

I'm Batmaaan

Cynaris | July 22, 2012 | See all Cynaris's reviews »

Arkham Asylum is incredible, let's just start with that. It's a fantastic homage to the Batman Comics, done with style and grace. Nothing feels out of place, everything feels authentic. It's a dark game, but with great underlying humour. The story is also good, the comics can rest easy, no disgrace was done to them.

The free-flowing combat system is incredibly smooth, chaining combos never felt more satisfying, the fluidity of it is just jawdropping. There are plenty of riddles and collectibles to extend playtime beyond the story, so there is much to do. Visually the game looks great, character models in particular are very well done. The music serves it's purpose as it should.

A great buy if you are thinking about it.

82

Fantastic batman game

Dinoienugget | July 7, 2012 | See all Dinoienugget's reviews »

The story is gripping, graphics are amazing, the puzzles are fun, fighting system is entertaining, gadgets are useful and characters are awesome. The only down side about this game is that the challenges are extremely difficult, which i suppose is good if you manage to beat them, you will get a sense of achievement but, for us not-so-good folks, its almost impossible - but don't let this deter you from buying it, you will love the story and having the opportunity to play as the legendary batman.

80

Great But Underwhelming

ROKET | June 30, 2012 | See all ROKET's reviews »

I tried to like this game. I installed it again and again trying to get into it and finish but it just didnt happen. There was just something about the controls and generally unchallenging difficulty that threw me off. I couldnt feel any attachment or drive to proceed and resolve the overall problem.

That isnt to say the game was bad, however, because that was just my opinion on the game but when it came to story delivery and the actual combat gameplay - the game was very solid. The only hole in the gameplay was the use of Batmans gadgets and how most of the gameplay only centered around punching the hell out of a bunch of goons from one room to the next. There could have been more stealth, more use of gadgets and more general freedom to play the game as you like but it just wasnt there.

A good game to play if you get it cheap - otherwise I didnt have a great experience with it.

89

A brilliant Batman game

simonsix | June 20, 2012 | See all simonsix's reviews »

Great game, worth buying. The graphics are great, as are the controls and general atmosphere of the world. An compelling, original story. Good controls, and fun fighting techniques, unique characters, and it looked great all the while. It's everything a super hero game needed to be.it's a brilliant Batman game and I expect better from the sequel.

95

Fantastic Game, perfect stealth and action!

TurtleStroker | June 13, 2012 | See all TurtleStroker's reviews »

For anybody that's a fan of Batman, this is a must buy. There has never been a game give you this much freedom in how to want to play. Even if you aren't a fan of Batman or DC comics, this is a must buy. If you like stealth games but Assassin's Creed didn't get your attention, this game could be perfect. It plays similarly to Assassin's Creed, but also completely differently. The range of gadgets Batman has at his disposal provide much more deep game play than many other stealth games on the market. While the movement can be clunky and the combat can be tedious, the depth of the game completely overshadows that. This game is a must buy for anybody.

75

A very fun game

Gh0st233 | June 7, 2012 | See all Gh0st233's reviews »

Let me start by saying that I haven't watched any of the Batman movies, I did, but just a few minutes. However, this game can be very fun, even when the only thing you know about Batman is how he looks, like it is in my case.

The gameplay and the combat is very fluid, simple and fun. It needs almost no getting used to, and has some nice very nice animations.

The graphics and the visual part of the game is quite satisfying. The story was easy to follow, even with my knowledge of Batman, and the sounds are very well done. The length of the game is about 10-13 hours.

I'd recommend getting this game on a sale.

93

Best Batman Game of Its Time

Endyo | June 4, 2012 | See all Endyo's reviews »

Coming from a long line of Batman games going back to the old 2D sidescrollers, I have to say, stepping in to Arkham Asylum was a truly fantastic experience.

Personally, I was never big in to the Batman comics from which this is based. I was more of a movie person and possibly some of the cartoon from the 90s... and of course the Adam West original reruns. So a lot of this perspective was new to me. I enjoy that it is much darker than other Batman perspectives and particularly gritty. The environments feel like they're really authentic to the dark gothic qualities inherent to the Batman universe. It realy just feels like they pulled a comic book apart and made it a place to run around.

The gameplay is engaging and really pulls you into the action. Making use of the various tools Batman is known for feels fairly fluid and his combat skills shine despite being a simple button press. Chaining together multiple smack-downs in glorious bone crunching slow motion triggers can be rewarding on its own. Navigating the twisted hallways and open areas of Arkham Asylum is both challenging and exciting. Every secret you uncover can unlock a new toy to use or a bit of Batman lore.

The only complaints I have about this game are that it seems you can spend most of the game in the "Batman Vision" that allows you to see special things like clues and important objects. It sort of detracts from a very visually appealing game. In addition to that, despite the combat being entertaining to say the least, it feels like it could use a little bit more of a dynamic calling than pressing the "attack" button a thousand times only to be broken by a random toss of a Batarang.

Overall, however, this is a top knotch game and more fun than it seems to be from observation. If you're on the fence about it, I suggest you give it a try as it is often on sale and not particularly pricey for a well made game.

90

First time playing Batman's game

Frypo | May 24, 2012 | See all Frypo's reviews »

As you read from the title, this is first game what i have played from Batman series and i must admit this game is really impressive. First thing what I noticed was graphic design. Maybe graphics isn't most important part of the game but still it makes it look a lot better and it gave the right mood for dark and depressing asylum. First moments of the game, it introduces main plot of Batman capturing Joker. But Batman is suspicious, that joker surrendered this easily without a fight. After few minutes of boring walking things get out of control. Joker escapes and Batman seems have fallen perfectly in to his plan and Batman gets ambushed by few Joker henchmens. This was the first fight scene where i could test out fighting techniques and i was amazed how simple and at the same time challenging fight mechanic was. Fighting game without perfect fighting mechanic is like a bike without wheels, but it was nailed perfectly. One more thing that was introduced was "Detective Mode". Possibility to see trough walls humans, scan for evidence or hints. For "newbie" like me it was god's gift but in middle of the story seemed like game developers encourage to just use it all the time making mostly everything pretty predictable.Still it didn't trouble me to get in the story. It feels like you are part of the story. Most games don't manage you to care about the story but with Batman: Arkham Asylum it's otherwise. I'm really looking forward to play sequel Batman: Arkham City because this game is really amazing !

90

First time playing Batman's game

Frypo | May 24, 2012 | See all Frypo's reviews »

As you read from the title, this is first game what i have played from Batman series and i must admit this game is really impressive. First thing what I noticed was graphic design. Maybe graphics isn't most important part of the game but still it makes it look a lot better and it gave the right mood for dark and depressing asylum. First moments of the game, it introduces main plot of Batman capturing Joker. But Batman is suspicious, that joker surrendered this easily without a fight. After few minutes of boring walking things get out of control. Joker escapes and Batman seems have fallen perfectly in to his plan and Batman gets ambushed by few Joker henchmens. This was the first fight scene where i could test out fighting techniques and i was amazed how simple and at the same time challenging fight mechanic was. Fighting game without perfect fighting mechanic is like a bike without wheels, but it was nailed perfectly. One more thing that was introduced was "Detective Mode". Possibility to see trough walls humans, scan for evidence or hints. For "newbie" like me it was god's gift but in middle of the story seemed like game developers encourage to just use it all the time making mostly everything pretty predictable.Still it didn't trouble me to get in the story. It feels like you are part of the story. Most games don't manage you to care about the story but with Batman: Arkham Asylum it's otherwise. I'm really looking forward to play sequel Batman: Arkham City because this game is really amazing !

95

Virtually Flawless. Action gaming DONE RIGHT.

albeenox | May 12, 2012 | See all albeenox's reviews »

For me, this really is a prime example of how to do a game right. I should end the review there - just go buy the thing already!! But fine, I can keep going. For a start, visually its a treat. Not only is it graphically great, but the artistic design just shines beautifully. The game just oozes in dark and surreal visual atmosphere, rich in detail. The gameplay is fantastic - the journey is fulfilling and the combat has never been so easy to pick up and yet so utterly satisfying to pull off; from start to finish, you'll be looking forward to each and every encounter. The voice work is stellar, with fantastic performances (especially from Conroy and Hamil), and the story (both in content and presentation) will keep you hooked til the end. Im actually quite disappointed that you've read this far... You really should have bought it already when I told you to at the start of the review. Go on. This is one purchase you WILL not regret.

93

The big surprise

kalil | April 22, 2012 | See all kalil's reviews »

Batman Arkham Asylum is one of the best titles of 2009, is a brilliant game, which adds style and look to the universe of the Dark Knight movie that neither managed and has a luxurious villain, The Joker.

Gameplay: 9.5, despite having to always follow a path and a corridor to reach your goal, you have the option to return to any point where you will also find the riddles of Riddler and other things. Batman has a lot of gadgets and moves at your disposal, with incredible effects during fights.

Technology: 9, the game has very good textures and works fluently.

Graphics: 9.5, has a very realistic feel, detailed and the contrast of light and shadow in the halls of the Asylum give a really dark sense that can at times seem a horror game.

Sound: 9, despite having little music, the sounds are good, like the drops of the pipes or the steps of Batman. We feel that we are alone to danger. Dubbing of the voices are great, especially the Joker and his soldiers with his comments, moreover sound effects of the blows are great, really does sound like Batman fists against his enemies

Innovation: 6, tIt is a very innovative game, showing nothing that had not been cast before, but it has managed to combine these elements.

89

Terrific.

scottnat | April 17, 2012 | See all scottnat's reviews »

Might seem a little redundant in light of the superior sequel, but thinking like that is a bit of a mistake in my opinion (if you have Batman Arkham City, I'd at least buy Asylum when it's on sale if you can't justify full price). This is a terrific, huge, graphically sumptuous game in it's own right. Against any competition other than its sequel it is still one of the best games of last few years. There are very few sandbox type games on PC that get it right, and this series is about the only superhero based one on any platform to do so.

93

Awesomeness

Chack | April 7, 2012 | See all Chack's reviews »

This has to be the best super hero game ever. I'm not a very fan of Batman, but this game made me love him, fan or not, this is a must have. Graphics are awesome, gameplay really cool, story great, all great. If it wasn't by the fact that uses GFWL, it'll be perfect. So if you liked the trailer, you will definitely love the game.