Reviews for Borderlands 2: Game of the Year Edition

50

Controls Better, Looks Worse, Even Less Interesting.

sycomantis1991 | May 15, 2015 | See all sycomantis1991's reviews »

In this game, you wake up in a blinding and ugly valley of ice with Claptrap screaming in your ear. It's almost as if the game is trying to warn you not to venture forth. Unfortunately, I did just that. My stepbrother owns this game, so I figure I'd give it a chance, I've heard it's "even better" than the first game, but I thought that was brutally overrated, but still, worth a shot with so many potential "brothers in arms" within the fanbase. The art went from weird and ugly at times to horrible in this entry. I'm not an artist at all, but I can still recognize quality art, and moreso I can recognize when something doesn't work, and at least to me, this doesn't. The coloring and linework is inconsistent, and the snow levels, which at leastthe first few hours exclusively take place in are just blinding light blue landscapes with triangles as little ice mountains. It's bad and completely unimmersive. The "comedy" is even worse to boot. I chuckled once or twice during the first game, but I literally got mad at how bad some of these jokes are. I will say that the gameplay is improved. it's still nothing special, but it's competent enough now to provide some joy and make you feel relatively in control of your weapons. Overall, I don't think I'll ever get the appeal of this series. Even taking my standards for art and humor out of the equation, it's still an uninterestin and substandard shooter at best.

93

Guns Galore

GenoLay1 | April 30, 2015 | See all GenoLay1's reviews »

Borderlands 2 is just... wow. The graphics are amazing and the amount of guns will turn even the most anti weapons fanatic over to the fmj side. God really let the light shine on the loot lovers with this one. Because if you like collecting, you'll never put this game down. Its quite frankly one of the best games i've ever played. This pc version is the true way to play, don't forget to grab your friends!!! happy killing!

85

Give this one a try.

Verlyn | March 24, 2015 | See all Verlyn's reviews »

I have to be honest here: it really took some time for this game to start growing on me. I knew I had to try it because I love RPGs and FPS, plus I knew this one had a good story and the graphics appealed to me. But being used to other kind of graphics made this a bit hard to like. After reading several comments on this game, I realized that the same thing happened to a lot of people and here is what I have to say to you: Have faith on this game, it is a great game. The graphics might be a bit weird, but you'll get used to that, plus the story is very good and most important of all, it is a very fun game to play. Whether you want to kill mobs, try and collect the best gear or finish the campaign, you will have fun doing any of this; and that is exactly what I want out of a game. Plus, when you buy this GOTY edition, you get all classes and a huge amount of DLC content. Great game, give it a try.

96

Funnier than the original

KingTed | March 14, 2015 | See all KingTed's reviews »

Borderlands 2 does everything Borderlands did but better. There are a lot more weapons and Pandora is still a gigantic place to explore with tons of sidequests to complete. The concept is simple : it’s an FPS Game mixed with Diablo. Most of the time you will loot every single place on the world map and have fun doing that. The story is even funnier than in the previous game and this time all the DLCs are included! The new characters, Krieg and Gaige, are excellent and very fun to play. There is nothing really new in this game but it's just so much fun to play. Borderlands 2 is the proof that this franchise is one of the best new IP of the past generation.

88

It's Borderlands 2, But With More Bang For Your Buck

emptyhaven | Feb. 2, 2015 | See all emptyhaven's reviews »

This is Borderlands 2, which was a great game in itself—but it's the Game of the Year Edition, which means you get extra content for just a bit more. The value is certainly well and there. It's not everything (some DLC packs aren't in this edition), but there's still enough content to make this worth a couple more hours of gameplay. If you're willing to spend a bit more, definitely get this version. If you feel like it's still too much, then wait for a sale. Then it'll have even more value, since you got it for just as much, or less, than the cost of Borderlands 2, but with more content!

71

Decent game. Incredibly overrated.

heerox328 | Dec. 7, 2014 | See all heerox328's reviews »

What makes Borderlands 2 compelling is the cooperative play, the procedurally generated weapons, and the never-ending progression. Other than that, the unique setting and ridiculous humor are what make this game stand out. Personally, I didn't find the setting or the characters appealing. The art-style and visuals are unique, but not my style. The shooter components are mediocre and do not stand the test of time against Halo, CoD, Battlefield, and other masters of the genre. Again, coop and infinite amounts of weapon customization are what make this game stand out. I'd only pick this game up if you can get hit heavily discounted. If you don't have a group of gamers to play with, I'd pass on this one.

95

Best Co op Experience I had in Years

akassassinn1 | Nov. 8, 2014 | See all akassassinn1's reviews »

If you're anything like me, who likes a good CO OP experience and looting as they say a "bazillion gazillion" rare weapons and saving them, enjoys epic gun battles and class based teamwork, likes a great story and extremely hilarious dialogues, and watching an annoying Robot "CL4P TR4P" give you orders and then do the opposite, then you definitely want to grab this package because once you finish the main story you're gonna want more borderlands back scratching which you'll be getting out of the awesome DLCs ! and engage in a truly unforgettable experience .

100

Another adventure on Pandora...

artixerix | July 9, 2014 | See all artixerix's reviews »

Borderlands 2 is a great sequel to first Borderlands. For me it was an instant purchase when I saw it, but I waited to get GOTY. And it was worth the wait. GOTY contains all DLCs released up to date except additional skins and Headhunters packs. The base game itself is pretty huge. The world is filled with side-quests and places to loot. And DLCs add even more stuff to loot. And more guns. Yay. So quick, buy it, grab your sword-shooting shotgun and go on an adventure!

95

Great game, lower price = Awesome deal

zveer1 | June 19, 2014 | See all zveer1's reviews »

While Bordelands 2 is a great game, has a lot of content, it's funny, fun to play, what would make it even better? Simple, more of that :). By adding 2 new playable characters and 5 other DLC into the GOTY edition, the value of the game has gone up. Were you sad when you completed quests for certain people in the game? Cough* Tiny cough* Tina. Then be happy now, even more fun and even crazier stuff to do. You should not miss this experience.

85

A must have in every gamer library.

MafuMafu | May 12, 2014 | See all MafuMafu's reviews »

How can you let an offer like this one go away? If you consider yourself a true gamer, you NEED to have this game. Even if you play it by yourself or with a friend, is guaranteed that you're going to have tons of fun. I mean, it even have 4 DLC Campaigns and 2 new characters to play. Graphically, is beautiful. The amazing places that Pandora still have to offer are absolutely gorgeously detailed. Plus, if you have a Nvidia graphics card, you can enjoy the Physx feature of the game. Great story, interesting gameplay and hours and hours of playtime. BUT, I must admit that the fact that you STILL need to buy like 20 other DLC's to have the complete game, it's a bummer. I remember when I bought the GOTY of the first Borderlands, the game was actually complete and had ALL the DLC's. If you want to have the complete game, you're gonna need to buy A LOT from Steam. Still, don't let that to convince you otherwise. I firmly think that anyone should have this game.

94

Get this package ASAP

preddyxd | Jan. 6, 2014 | See all preddyxd's reviews »

An extremely good package with 4 DLC, of which two which I find to be extremely helpful with strong loot for your playthrough. It comes with two characters which are gaige the mechromancer and krieg the psycho. Both are very fun classes, in my opinion. It even comes at a 50% discount and the first +11levels DLC. Totally worth it and will help you kill a lot of time and worth every single buck

97

ONE GOTY ZERO SOCİAL LİFE

tugan | Jan. 4, 2014 | See all tugan's reviews »

Borderlands 2 GOTY is everything you need to say goodbye your social life. It's packed with enourmous content that playing all the content with one character takes about 80 hours. Now multiply this with six characters, gorgeous settings, hilarious and top notch dialogue, bazillion weapons and an almost perfect co-op. Play this game.

100

Amazing game!

charmchuu | Oct. 24, 2013 | See all charmchuu's reviews »

Hello! I really recommend you to buy this game! It's alot of fun and you'll never get bored of it! I don't know really what else to write except that you really should buy it! I've had alot of fun with my friends in this game, because there's so much to do! The mission never ends and if they do you just level a new character, and I really recommend you to buy the Game of the Year edition because you're getting all the DLCs with the extra missions in, so if you get bored with the regular missions all you have to do is to play the DLC missions and you'll have alot of fun with them!

91

One GOTY, tons of content

Cavalieroscuro | Oct. 22, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

Borderlands 2 is one of the best multiplayer game you can find today. The original Borderlands suffered several problems, like the locations (they seems all the same), but the game was fun as hell. Borderlands 2 improves all the weak point of its prequel, enhancing it with several new features and characters, like Tiny Tina. This version comes with all the major DLC released, for an infinite gaming experience. You will play this for hours if you find other players joining your adventure. One of the best Gearbox titles.

88

Oodles of Content

phool | Oct. 20, 2013 | See all phool's reviews »

The core game you know and loved, packaged with all the of DLC released to date, what’s not to love?! The GOTY edition is a perfect package to those who not yet got their hands on the main game. Boderlands 2 builds on the original concept with a host of improvements over the original while still retaining all the elements that made the first so good. The sheer volume of content in the game almost borders on the ridiculous. Throw in all the DLC and this is a game you can take to a deserted island and keep yourself occupied for some time to come. The environments of Pandora are diverse and vibrantly rendered in the captivating artistic style of the original and certainly makes Boderlands 2 stand out from the host of brown war shooters flooding the PFS genre of late. All be told, this is the definitive purchase for anyone who is interested in delving into the Boderlands universe but have not yet bought any of the previous games or DLC.

92

An amazing package

candhgame | Oct. 13, 2013 | See all candhgame's reviews »

For about the price of any other new PC release, you get a huge amount of content. It'll definitely keep you busy for at least 70 hours, and that's if you only play through the game once it a single character. Some of the DLC's are mediocre, though combined they make up a great extension to the game, especially the Tiny Tina's Assault on Dragon Keep part. Overall, it's a fantastic game and probably one of the best coop-experiences ever crafted.

84

Great GOTY!

drafek | Oct. 12, 2013 | See all drafek's reviews »

Finally after all this time the GOTY is released! Alot of people have waited for this. Borderlands 2 is a FPS RPG. Borderlands takes 40+ hours to complete especially with the DLC's! Of course this depends if you complete every single mission. The graphics are cartoonish, at first I didn't like it but after playing 10 minutes I really liked it. Borderlands also is alot of fun with friends. I'm a little dissapointed in the price because it was alot cheaper on sales and not all dlc's are included (only cosmics aren't). I would say pick up the main game and the season pass at the sale, because I think it's cheaper. Great game, not the best price! Still worth getting!

82

Good

Bolo | Oct. 12, 2013 | See all Bolo's reviews »

Gather your friends and continue the great adventure of the bounty hunters in Pandora! The game is an excellent coop experience with a very interesting and challenging campaign. Better played with 2 or more friends as it may get a bit boring if you play alone. You have 4 classes to select each one with different powers and weapon specialization. Regarding weapons, they are countless and each one with different atributes. Also in Borderlands 2: Game of the Year Edition you can choose how to proceed in the campaign as the missions make you take desisions and you ll have to choose which objectives to complete and which not and as a result the main story changes depending on what you decide. In general if you like fps - rpg and you ve played and enjoyed the first Borderlands game, Borderlands 2 is a must buy. Dont lose the oportunity to get this game when you can.

95

Best RPG/ Shooter Action game ever.

goforce | Oct. 11, 2013 | See all goforce's reviews »

If you want a RGP/ Shooter Action game with 100Hours+ to play, Borderlands 2 GOTY is the best game for this. 61 lvl with 3 games "normal, new game+ 1 and new game+ 2" (increase in difficulty and better loot) (72 lvl and more content if you buy the newest DLC for only ~4€) Multiple epic boss for 1-4 players (you can also do the boss of campaign after you have finish the quests ...) Multiple Arena with waves of mobs. Epic campaign with a lot a of humor and actions. More than 100 differents legendary weapons ! I have played hundreds of games and it's the best so far for multiplayer with 3 friends or for solo :D At ~49€ do not hesitate to buy this epic games. "only" 95/100 because we need more DLC for this games :D Oh and thanks again to GMG, best site so far for buying games :)