Reviews for NBA 2K14

80

Even a small step towards the ultimate simulation

Albys66 | Feb. 8, 2014 | See all Albys66's reviews »

I buy NBA2K for 6 years, and every time I say it will be the last. Because I know it is a powerful drug, and I get angry for all the little things that in the vanilla game have not been implemented. Then, as always, I fall into temptation, I buy it, and then I'm going to improve it (my Albys Realistic Roster and Gameplay is famous ) wasting a lot of time. Also this year , the step taken by 2Ksport in gameplay is minimal: a better ease of stopping the opponent ( too easy, now ), better fastbreak , some settings in more defensive . All in all, nothing earth-shattering . Best are the innovations in the movements, with a game in the post that has become very interesting and realistic. Also some excellent reproductions of the most famous players, and in general, such as playing sports are always at significant levels of simulation. But there are so many things that could be done better: 1 ) The roster lacks regular players under NBA contract 2 ) The Association mode is always the same , without the slightest innovation. 3 ) My player mode always has a few bugs. 4) Many players overall and tendencies are ridiculous. 5 ) the graphics are outdated. Luckily, the game is highly modifiable thanks to amateur patch , and if you know where to look you can create a terrific game for visual impact as well as to the realism.

85

The king is back

bourdoulas | Dec. 26, 2013 | See all bourdoulas's reviews »

The game may seem the same as the previous installment but the gameplay has been tweaked to be more realistic. The soundtrack is great but the new LeBron mode i think is bit of a let down. For some strange reason 2k chose to change the control scheme once again.

A great addition to the game are the Euroleague team like Olympiakos, Barcelona, Panathinaikos, Real etc.

Overall is a great game and should on every sports' fan library.

73

Same, but nothing wrong with that

thezayel | Dec. 23, 2013 | See all thezayel's reviews »

Although it'd be easy to brand every year's sports games as the exact same, there has undoubtedly been a few additions and fine-tuning done to this game. While I'm not a particular fan of LeBron James, his game mode is surprisingly fun and it's difficult not to get swept up in the overall feeling of the game as you manage your merry band of globetrotters in career mode.

More of the same, but packaged well.

83

Even more realistic animations..

XGpredator | Nov. 23, 2013 | See all XGpredator's reviews »

NBA 2k14 is clearly not the richest in news of the series, but it remains an interesting title with its new animations that contribute to the more fluid and realistic gameplay. The arrival of Euroleague teams is also significant, but it is a pity not to use them during the fast parts. However, the whole is advisable to fans as curious pending next-gen versions still hoped for a more generous coat.

90

One of the best ever.

Alveio | Oct. 25, 2013 | See all Alveio's reviews »

I played a lot of NBA 2K12, I loved that game, it was really amazing. I skipped 2k13 to play 2K14 and I was really impressed by everything. A better career when you play with "My Player", like you're living a real life. Same graphics (for me) as in 2K13, but an improved gameplay, funnier to play, easier to play with friends who don't know much about basketball (or basketball video games). LeBron career mode isn't that great, but it's a great thing added in a huge game ! Maybe the best NBA 2K ever.

80

Not next gen graphics, but it is well polished!

kuo | Oct. 25, 2013 | See all kuo's reviews »

2k13 was a beast! while 2k14 didn't try to drastically change the working recipe, it did however improved on the gameplay. The biggest change you will find is the emphasis on the defense side of things, blocking shots and loose bay occur much more and realistically when player dribble into crowded zone.

But the new controls are rather annoying if you are used to using LT to shoot. Dribble stick also is the new shooting button when you hold it. Sadly it is not in next gen graphics for the PC version, that is probably my biggest gripe.

Overall it is still a great basketball game like it's predecessors. Maybe it will put EA live out of commission again this year!

100

The "LeBron James" of sports games.

el_pelado95 | Oct. 23, 2013 | See all el_pelado95's reviews »

Long live the king Nba 2K14. The best at the moment.

Graphically looks the same as 2K13, but it have some pretty cool new effects. The gameplay has been modified and now looks more realistic. The soundtrack of the game is outstanding (it haves "Get Lucky") and LeBron in the cover makes the game better.

The new and old modes (now better) are exellent too. And now you can play with some Euroleague teams (like Barcelona or Olympiakos). Only for that feature i bought this game.

A masterpiece.

92

Best NBA 2k

SirEagle | Oct. 10, 2013 | See all SirEagle's reviews »

NBA 2k14 is the best basketball game i have ever played. The graphics are stunning, very detailed and beautiful. Gameplay is very addicting i spend half of the day the first time i turned in this game. LeBron James mode is exelent and career mode is more than you ever wanted in game of basketball. Game Controls are very simple and user-friendly, even those who haven't ever played any game with a controller will quickly get use to it and play like a real NBA star.

96

Reinventing perfection

kalil | Oct. 6, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

Very pleasantly surprised with the new installment of the series 2k . With an initial sensation of this year , if they care to detail. Although improvements have been made in a separate graph ( which in any case , as already ocurrión in 2k13 , it is sensational ) , if they have fixed the issue of appearances on the players. In addition to the factor of mean players also seem much better prepared , with emphasis on the issue of the Rookies .

GAMEPLAY : No doubt the biggest asset this year. Big changes , which at first, to which we are to play more installments of the series , we adapt causes serious difficulties , but certainly worth it, because it raises more game options . A much more fluid pace , more physical presence on the contacts, a defense that requires much more in attack, and vice versa.

GRAPHICS : No remarkable progress , with the base of 2k13 . If attention to detail is . At last we see Danny Green with their heaters , or short-sleeved shirts , or all players with branded shoes . In addition to the novelty of the Pelicans and changes in the Suns.

SOUND: I do not notice a big change in the pavilions in relation to the previous release . The Soundtrack of the game if I feel very well prepared .

INNOVATION : Year after year , I think I set the bar high for his next delivery , and year after year , come and invent something new with what they manage to surprise and convince. This year we have given a twist to the gameplay , changing many controls , in order to improve the game options . Although in graphics may seem that this is a 2k13 update , when to play, we have a completely different version .

This is the king of sports video games . The best series that has given this generation of consoles , and a role model for any other developer of sports video games .

85

Cleaned up and improved

virulent0o | Oct. 5, 2013 | See all virulent0o's reviews »

The first noticeable thing in 2k14 is the sleek menu. It's less less clustered and only shows the options when you flick the Right stick. Quick menus get added to the main screen as you start a mode. A small, but sweet improvement over 2k13.

The addition of collision physics makes a rather big impact (excuse the pun) on gameplay. You can really feel the difference when dribbling or posting up a player. The ball is no longer "glued" to a player.

A minor irk that's still present is the inability to skip dialogues during myPlayer mode.

The above mentioned improvements with the goodness of the previous NBA2k series, 2k14 is a solid experience for any basketball fan out there. Or in the case of any one being a LBJ fan, there's a LBJ career mode added too.

87

The way to go!

mahon | Oct. 4, 2013 | See all mahon's reviews »

Even if I haven't yet played enough of NBA 2K13, there's the brand new NBA 2k14. Even better and even shinier, especially if you have a powerful machine which allows you to maximize the graphical effects and admire the game. It is fast, furious and full of action! You can not only play matches, but also lead your player throughout his career in a RPG-like way. And the game also has excellent multiplayer mode, which allows you to compete with humans instead of computer's AI. It's worth mentioning that it's unavoidable that the NBA 2k13 players switch to NBA 2k14 soon, as most servers for the previous game are likely to be shut down soon. So if you want to play on online servers, NBA 2k14 is the way to go.