Reviews for Assassin’s Creed IV Black Flag (NA)

85

Good But...

chataolauj | Jan. 23, 2014 | See all chataolauj's reviews »

This is a much improved game from Assassin's Creed III, but I don't like it that much for a few reasons. From Assassin's Creed I to Assassin's Creed 3, all the Assassin's had a way of becoming an Assassin. Altair was born into the creed, so he was automatic. Ezio became an assassin after his father died and continued his legacy. Conor went through training to become an assassin to kill a guy that basically killed most of his entire village. Edward (main assassin in this one) killed a spy working for the Templars that was wearing a assassin suit (spoiler) and called himself an assassin. I thought that was pretty stupid. The visuals are nice though.

89

Assassin Creed series revived

Demadizz | Jan. 13, 2014 | See all Demadizz's reviews »

Total masterpiece! They actually went back to their roots and released an amazing sequel. The way Edward acts and associates with the different orders is total gold. Everything the old games brought they improved on with this one and created a HUGE world to explore. I actually want to explore and do every side quest; unlike in AC3 where it was bland and boring. Edward is a killing machine, dual wielding swords and wrecking guards like the good old days. New hero new game, spot on masterpiece.

As someone who hated AC3's version of ship battles I was surprised how much i enjoyed Black Flag's. They expanded on the ship battles: boarding, more guns, and rain mortars to destroy more and more to make your ship stronger. Nothing dragged on or felt out of place. The missions were enjoyable, and I like how they implemented a rating system for feedback on if you hated the mission or if they were well done. Also the addition to salvage underwater wrecks and the environment down there was just beautiful.

The only downside I could see is the story isn't as gripping as Ezio's story. It was good, but Ezio's story was just fantastic and untouchable on scales beyond all comparison. Edward is a pirate, he plunders and steals booty that is all he cares about. He mocks the creed and laughs doing it. Although it doesn't hit the level of legend Ezio could hit, Blackbeard and the other pirates are enjoyable to listen to and work with; unlike Connor's story/acquaintances.

Overall I give this a solid 8.8/10.

Also buy Freedom's Cry DLC, Adewale has a great story, and was a character I loved in the main story.

85

Great for a freebie with my new video card!

yobosaeyo | Dec. 24, 2013 | See all yobosaeyo's reviews »

I really had not planned on buying the new game. After playing all of the previous games I was pretty much done with Assassin's Creed. This is mostly due to the horrible attempt at multiplayer and the fact that once you clear the map there is really nothing to do. I was pleasantly surprised with this game though. Not the same old junk with the whole Desmond thing. Very nice game after all. I have yet to play multiplayer, but that's what BF4 is for.

91

Take AC3 and make it better

cjlathe | Dec. 18, 2013 | See all cjlathe's reviews »

The idea of this game is to scrap everything about Desmond and all of the convoluted alien back story and make a game about Assassins. You play as Edward, a bad ass pirate, who sails the high seas of the carabean and loot ships. you are given the options to either sink the boat or board it and gain more stuffs. The ships battles are a lot easier than the previous game and the weapon selection it much easier. The story is still linked with the previous games and is well written and has great voice acting. I would recommend this game for anyone who has enjoyed the previous games.

96

Spectacular game of pirates!

kalil | Dec. 16, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

It is a very good game with many hours ahead far right , much collectable, very beautiful with huge mapped very entertaining naval battles whose boat can improve = to the character but eventually maybe and depends on each one so battle naval will do repetitive, and a main character with sparkle = the supporting characters around him. The only thing this game is sin in the story is a good story and has its moments but cojonudos enough to be called Assassin 's Creed ...... besides having some bugs as always but not annoy you much time to play at least to me , even with some parts like the ass , the issue of IA which is like us already accustomed a poo cow ostias Great perfect , but very very easy and this for me did not make me laugh . In short, a piece of game that certainly will enjoy the ones you like this type of games and if you clear up as you enjoyed fan probably say more but with a little disappointment in terms of history .

93

This isn't Assassins Creed

dethray99 | Dec. 8, 2013 | See all dethray99's reviews »

This is a Pirate action adventure game. It should be spun off into it's own series. Dont take me the wrong way here you still have all the moves from the previous titles with more added, but what Ubisoft has done here is take one new element from the previous title and made a whole game around it (sailing ships). The end result is a game that stands on it's own merits.

The sailing is at the center of the action and they have nailed that in spades. The fighting is a little clunky on the PC using mouse and keyboard but a good controller fix those woes. The story is pretty much what you would expect but I would have liked one that focused on being nothing but a pirate dropping the assassins creed storyline all together.

You will enjoy this game. It is very good. But Assassins Creed isn't the reason why.

90

One Of The Better Assassins Creed Games

Roydo | Dec. 3, 2013 | See all Roydo's reviews »

IMO, this game was fantastic! it was super enjoyable. the characters are not boring especially edward kenway, the story was decent in the animus but out of the animus they made the story much more interesting. there is so much to do in this game comapred to other games with ship battles, whaling, contracts, ship boarding, self upgrades, 4 separate main side missions, hunting, ship upgrades, and awesomely hard ship boss battles. this game will keep you hooked on it till you have all the upgrades and tools to finish the game 100% it almost made me want to 100%. plus its gorgeous! the attention to detailed is to be admired with beautiful seas, battles, and environment. plus the map is enormous! from forests to seas underwater to busy towns there is always something to do! the characters and progression hit you hard and imo made me feel for some of the characters by the end. They stay true to character which i love and overall my favorite assassins creed game since brotherhood. this game definitely gets 2nd on my list behind brotherhood.

Con: with all assassins creed games of course there are glitches some annoying and some hilarious! plus the story seems rushed if you dont do things on the side, when i did it the story was fine. Multiplayer is still fun but imo still sucks with the usual spam of abilities by high levels and uneven level matching, and imo not much effort to change the multiplayer for the better.

75

Spare me the Credits!!

vizhon | Dec. 3, 2013 | See all vizhon's reviews »

I would consider this the best Assassin's Creed game yet. It is a load of fun and has replaced the depressing atmosphere of Desmond's story with with your completely tongue in cheek job as a play tester. What's more the Multiplayer experience is genuinely fun, especially Wolfpack mode where up to 4 players run around trying to do 25 sequences of assassin duties before the timer runs out.

With the only real detraction from any of the play being annoying glitchiness with the game engine that can get you hung up on interactables you had no intention of using, like diving into hiding spots or climbing a ladder, or sitting down on a bench in the middle of chasing someone, I would give it a solid score of 95, but there was a fly in soup that ruined the rest of the experience.

Ubisoft will make you sit through what could very well be one of the longest end credit scrolls I have ever seen in my life. When I got sick of watching it the first time and quit out to try to skip it and continue, I found that doing so will make it start over from the beginning. This was infuriating enough, that are going to make me sit through the longest, and one of the slowest moving credit scrolls in history has merited this review a -20 adjustment for the end credits being forced on me and has ruined my appetite to see the rest of the game.

100

Amazing - GOTY for sure.

Jake877x | Dec. 2, 2013 | See all Jake877x's reviews »

If your wondering about assassins creed 4 due to ac3 being very meh. I cant vouch enough for the game. Definitely worthy of a game of the year award. You wont be disappointed. Best damn pirates of the Caribbean game never made. This game is tugging on my heart strings and you feel very attached to the characters unlike connor. I cant put the game down. So worth it i bought the season pass out of respect to ubisoft. Amazing game. Keep up the good work.

87

The Best Assassin's Creed Yet!

Bytrine | Nov. 26, 2013 | See all Bytrine's reviews »

This segment of the enthralling series will take you on a thrill ride. Ubisoft really took in the community's feedback and inserted all into this game. The character you play is likable, unpredictable, and humorous. While you play as a pirate, the main story as Desmond is also well done and molds into the story of Edward Kenway years previously. The game graphically is stunning and everything feels rich and vibrant and there are many things to do aside from main quests. I encourage buying this title!

100

Close to the best Assassins Creed

Destroyer4887 | Nov. 22, 2013 | See all Destroyer4887's reviews »

This comes close to my favorite Assassin's Creed game which happens to be Assassin's Creed II. The traveling by ship has been greatly improved. The upgrading of the ship is so much easier and the naval battles give you such a rush you forget about the missions. Upgrading Edward is much more involving as you don't just buy the upgrade. You are made to hunt the materials needed to make such upgrades. The whale hunting is great too and very fun. I spent more than 4 hours trying to kill a whale until I gave up. I still haven't finished the campaign but the game is very addicting. It makes you beg for more and the story helps in that by leaving each mission on a hanger that makes you want to proceed to find out the next part. When you do not play as Edward, you are in a fist person view working at Abstergo gaming. You run into Rebecca and Sean as well as hack computers to give you information on what Abstergo is really doing. The fist bit you find will give you an incite on what happened to Desmond at the end of Assassin's Creed III which leaves me at ease as I have been following this series since the beginning. This is a must get for all the AC fans and if you have not followed from the beginning it is still i great game to play.

85

Good Game

Mikagee | Nov. 20, 2013 | See all Mikagee's reviews »

Black Flag is truly a worth game for the assassin creed series. Ubisoft surely fixed all the bugs and enhanced the engine greatly from AC III. There is plenty of things to do and the naval combat combined with boarding will surely fascinate everyone. The sounds in this game are superb as you can hear all the agony and confusion around you. The sounds of muskets and swords slashing each other will not be forgotten. The details of ships, people and landmarks are well done. This game also has great detail in ruins, treasures and the under ocean detail such as fish and ship ruins. This game is a must buy for all Assassin Creed fans as this is a huge improvement from Assassins Creed 3