Reviews for THIEF (NA)

71

Was very hyped then it disappeared

Gokushivum | Nov. 17, 2014 | See all Gokushivum's reviews »

When the game was being devolved I heard alot about this game but now no one even knows what the game is. The game is essentially a stealth game where you can shoot different type of arrows at enemies and take as much stuff as you can without dying.

Pros: Pretty nice graphics Somewhat original ideas in the game Nice stealth system

Cons: Can sometimes the gameplay can be repetitive Melee probably will get you killed The save locations can probably ruin your game

If you liked Dishonored you will definitely like this.

70

It's Okay

Kveni | Nov. 11, 2014 | See all Kveni's reviews »

If you have played the previous Thief games, you know what I mean when I saw that they seriously changed everything we loved about Thief. The old games were absolutely great, and I was able to play them for hours without feeling bored, just because they were so involved, and you needed to know your enemies every movement, whereas this game feels more like a game where you could technically have the choice to completely annihilate your enemies. There's no serious stealth, just because you're able to take out people with silent weapons so quickly that there IS no stealth to this game. I'm not saying that this is a bad game, but I AM saying that they seriously swayed in a different direction than the original Thief games. It's a good game if you're brand new to the series, but as a fan of the original games, This felt too generic, too linear, and not Thief-y enough. If you're new to the series, you'll probably have a much better experience out of this game than I did.

68

its stealth and nothing venture , nothing gain.

ratsaga | Oct. 21, 2014 | See all ratsaga's reviews »

So its pretty cool there's sneak around and all, but the combat syste!m and skill tree sucks. Its not quite an open world. Its like dishonor. Overall, I tried to play but it didn't get far til I got bored. Great graphics and sound. But storyline.....what story???

65

Meh...

chataolauj | Oct. 13, 2014 | See all chataolauj's reviews »

I never played the original series of Thief before, but I thought this game was okay.

When I first started playing the game, I was like "Okay, this game is good so far", but then as I dwelled deeper into the game, I was starting to think that the gameplay was similar to Dishonored. When I usually play games, I like for each game to have it's own unique format to the game from other games, which it did in some sense, but I couldn't really shake off the "It's too similar to dishonored for me". Idk, just my opinion. As for storyline, it was okay. I'm not going to get into details with the storyline as I'm not a big fan of giving away parts of the story because it might totally change you're mind on the game as whole. Better for you to find out yourself.

70

Decent, but not perfect...

Shaide | Sept. 19, 2014 | See all Shaide's reviews »

First, I am going to get this out of the way! The game does share some similarities to Dishonored, it's a stealth based game in a medieval/fantasy/Steampunkish setting. The world is suffering a plague, and you have a mechanical eye. That's where the similarities end. Thief is a darker, more gothic game, and focuses on a thief(As opposed to an assassin) as he hops around rooftops and pilfers all kinds of valuables!

You have the ability to use Focus, which highlights interactive items, such as grates, pipes pictures. It's up to you though to figure out how you are going to interact with those objects. There is no particular "Right or wrong" way to finish a mission, and there are multiple ways you take.

While your "Focus" ability is handy, you have other equipment to aid you in your burgling! You also have your blackjack for knocking guards out, as well as a bow and arrow with various gimmicky arrows that would make Green Arrow green with envy(No pun intended). After a brief tutorial mission you gain "The Claw", which is fittingly stolen at the end of the tutorial.

While I do quite enjoy this game, the load screens are extremely annoying. Sure, they may load quickly(depending on your PC), but the ammount of them is unacceptable,, especially when many of those levels are so small! Yes, they are detailed, but they are very small!

On top of the load times, the city maps can be downright confusing! For instance, to get to the area where the bank heist DLC takes place, requires you to make your way through a hidden path behind some boxes. This to me is very off putting! If you want hidden paths? Fine! However don't stick DLC missions or main missions down there! Leave those hidden paths to lead to side missions!

So, the game's not perfect, it has a couple flaws, but despite those flaws, it is incredibly enjoyable! Would I recommend it to others? Sure! Especially if they are fans of the stealth genre! It's fun, and remains fun and enjoyable even when dealing with those two flaws.

I want to rate the game a near perfect score, but since there are those 2 things, that I believe are flaws, I can't in good faith give it that, but can stress that I enjoyed the game despite those 2 things

80

The original game perked up and dumbed down

yngdr | Sept. 2, 2014 | See all yngdr's reviews »

quality stealth mechanics great open-world graphics and a perk system are included in this game. to most fans of the original the perks feel like cheats and the mechanics have been dumbed down to open the game to a broader user group. grab on sale and turn off the perks and have fun exploring and shadowing people.

85

not having played the first ones...

on2wheels | July 26, 2014 | See all on2wheels's reviews »

...this is a relaxing stealth-puzzle-exploration game along the same lines as Dishonored. In fact, it will make you think you're playing Dishonored except without the fancy magic abilities, but that's not a reason to skip this. In fact it's all the more reason to get it in my opinion.
The eye candy is quite good, with some of the best looking textures I've seen in any game, sadly most of the maps look the same so get used to seeing those same hi res textures. The AI can also be a letdown since it is quite predictable, but there are times when you need to stop and think how to complete a level without being seen. That of course is the main goal of a thief, which is where this game shines; with you being unseen.

Bottom line, if you liked Dishonored, you probably will like this. If you don't like exploring and using your imagination you'll probably hate it. To say it's the worst remake ever might be a little harsh. If you look at what Square Enix did with Hitman Absolution they tried to make it more appealing to the average gamer, and that is what I think they did with Thief.

83

awesome

sagejj | July 20, 2014 | See all sagejj's reviews »

i love this game. its amazing how it incorporates things from the original and i personally adore the graphics. there are tons of different ways to do each level which makes it even more interesting. me and my brother were playing the game at the same time and it was like 2 different games! you actually have a varied freedom of choice! i definitely recommend this game.

37

Worst remake ever

barrera77 | July 15, 2014 | See all barrera77's reviews »

It seems like I’m not the only person who is disappointed from the remake of Thief. I was rather sad to see that Thief lost most of its essence, because it does not have the same feel as the old games. I remember being amused by the conversations of the guards, and it’s all gone, plus the characters in the streets completely ignore you, giving the game a lifeless atmosphere. This time the story line is not very compelling in fact the story as a whole hardly makes sense. Like the so called Gloom decease that supposed to be terrorizing the city; but I didn’t see any of the effects of it in the game, never got to know what was that about, it seem just like a last minute part of a half way finished story.

Another big fail was trying to implement Assassin’s Creed style game mechanics and ditching the old Thief's movement system. And why Garret can’t jump at all? especially when there are lots of designated climbing points, and even worst I couldn’t jump over small and deadly pressure plates, on instead Garret just expires, raising his hands like if he was on despair or something.

I think the good point I would give to this Thief remake it’s for the amazing peripheral/central vision stealth mechanic for example when the enemies' reaction time depends on how peripheral you are to their vision cone. Man! I have to hand it to the developers for this idea.

81

Thief stole my time!

Pokeheart65 | April 14, 2014 | See all Pokeheart65's reviews »

I'm surprised how good this game is. I wouldn't get get it at 50$, (I didn't. Thats GMG!) But at 30-40 bucks I'd immediately grab this like a crazy kleptomaniac

76

Good but lacking

dawiichan | March 22, 2014 | See all dawiichan's reviews »

The open world kind of ruined the game for me. I preferred the mission styled gameplay of thief gold. However, if you ignore the useless content in Thief, the game is actually quite amazing. The mission levels are great and while it is easier than the original thief games, the missions are still a lot of fun.

60

Surprisingly... disappointing

cappincrunch | March 6, 2014 | See all cappincrunch's reviews »

Usually I judge games based on a price I bought it, but even for the $30, I was not satisfied. $15 would have been preferable.

The game starts very slow and to be honest, it stays slow. The types of arrows call for exciting gameplay, but it really comes down to me asking myself, "Should I ignore them, stab them, or shoot them with an arrow," Which just isn't enough in today's standards. Every level feels the same and the thrill of stealing from homes dies off very quickly.

The game is missing a twist or at least more options that gives this game the price tag it deserves. Wait for this game to hit around the $15-$20 mark.

60

Thief Steals Its Own Focus

CrimsonWizard | March 2, 2014 | See all CrimsonWizard's reviews »

Thief (2014) is the reboot of the innovative Thief series that helped introduce and spread the stealth genre to young fledgling 3D game market of the 90's. It would be difficult for any game to bring that kind of an impact, whether it was good or bad, so when I played Thief my expectations were to have a fun time.

I thought maybe it would be something in the line of Dishonored which in itself was a Thief inspired game. And well, Thief does feel like a Thief game, sometimes. Sometimes it wants to be like Assassin's Creed, or the newly rebooted Tomb Raider, or even Dishonored itself oddly. And that is the major problem.

Playing through Thief is like playing through a mess of modern gaming cliches thrown on top of the bones of the original Thief games. For instance, many times in the game you're stuck going down linear corridors or narrow level design, or stuck on some scripted climbing or escape sequence. Cinematic cut-scenes and orchestral stings pepper the game. It's a real shame too since when the game decides it wants to be Thief, it actually is fun, especially during the first half of the game. Sneaking through large houses, knocking out guards while plundering the place is a lot of fun. Well, until you've stolen about your 50th pen, and then things start getting a little repetitive.

Repetition in fact is another big issue with this game. You'll find yourself eventually wishing for some way to speed Garrett up as he goes through the same scripted opening animations over and over again, while trying to hide from the guards in The City. The same could be said about the combat.

While sneaking around and your distraction techniques work fairly well in this game, getting into direct combat is basically a punishment. If you're playing with a controller, you're limited to one button for dodging and one button for attacks with your blackjack. Pray you only end up in a fight with one enemy or you're pretty much screwed, but even when it is a fair fight, direct combat is a chore. Granted direct combat in the original Thief wasn't the best, but it didn't feel like a slow, plodding slap fest. So if you want to have fun, sneak around and use the trick arrows. Smacking a watchman between the eyes with an arrow, or knocking them out from behind are far better options.

Speaking of sneaking, this is clearly the game's strong suit thankfully with each chapter usually giving you at least two paths to progress through a stage, even when it gets more linear. Some paths are littered with more treasure while other paths give you better vantage points. The game is also fairly balanced with this design with shadows everywhere to hide in. Even if you don't bother buying upgrades or supplies with your gold, the game is navigable even on Master Thief difficulty if you take advantage of the level itself.

Unfortunately for Master Thief Garrett, his story has about the same jumbled structure of modern ideas thrust upon it as the gameplay. In the reboot, Garrett is established as the veteran thief on a run with a young, headstrong thief. No wait, now the game is about a weird life energy that runs through The City like Final Fantasy VII. Ah, but now we have a struggle between the overzealous Watch and the chaotic revolutionaries. Thief bounces around all these plot threads, but doesn't focus enough on one to let it fully develop.

Unfortunately, this applies to the characters as well. Your fellow thief Erin is basically a walk plot device dressed in emo designs and behaviour, and Garrett is a bit more plain in this Thief game, with his witty remarks amounting to stating the obvious half the time. Hell, even the guards feel undeveloped with most of their conversations you hear while traveling around amounting to "By the Baron, I love kicking these people when they're down!"

Sure, The City is full of unsavoury figures, but I'd like to imagine at least some of these people are human, even if they're forced to be hard during this peculiar plague afflicting The City. The most damning part though is the ending, which to try and not spoil anything fails to explain and tie together everything that's happened or the impact of your actions.

It would be easy for me to say to ignore the story and the modern game cliches to enjoy the solid thieving levels early on, but the game continues to thrust both problems in your face, making the experience a mess. It truly is a shame too because the game is such a well built mess. The team that ported to PC did a great job, making the game run smoothly, and work well with a keyboard or controller. There are some odd audio bugs where you overhear conversations through other rooms sometimes, but otherwise the game does fine work making it appear like you're treading through a big dreary city.

If you wish to take a break from the main game, you may be happy to know there's also a challenge mode as well. Challenge mode is best described as a thieving version of Resident Evil's arcade-like Mercenaries mode. Basically, you choose one of three levels and scoring systems and then run around, stealing as much loot as you can while avoiding guards and keeping your theft combo up to get the highest score possible. It's pretty fun actually, distilling some of the best parts of the game into a competition of sorts.

At the end of the day, is Thief worth buying? I have to say no, at least not at full price. Long time Thief fans will be annoyed at the modern cliches and linear second half that litter the stealth foundation. Meanwhile, more modern stealth fans will probably be annoyed by the boring combat, and the slow, methodical stealth style the game uses. There's no flying around like Batman or blinking around the field like in Dishonored. It's a disappointment, especially since the developing studio was responsible for reviving Deus Ex with Human Revolution which was an excellent game with stealth elements. Thief aspires to be like so many other big budget games, and juggles so many big story ideas that it doesn't payoff by the end of the experience. I had some fun early on and with challenge mode, but grew soured by the end. In short, pass over Thief, there's other games with potential on the pipeline.