Reviews for Tomb Raider: Anniversary DNS

98

An exellent return to form for Lara Croft!

artigkar12 | May 20, 2013 | See all artigkar12's reviews »

Legend was honestly pretty alright, but it still wasn't quite there yet I felt. Fortunately this game came out afterwards and managed to return a bit of that old awesomeness from the original tomb raider 1+2 while updating the graphics and (most importantly) the annoying controls from the original game. Yes, this is a remake of the original Tomb Raider (for PC, Playstation and Saturn). This means that if you played that one, a lot will seem kinda familiar at least in tone.

But with that said, there are some things which I did not like with this version. Specifically that they made that last area right before the boss way harder in this version than in the original game. Thought that was a really unneeded change there.

If you haven't played a tomb raider game before, its basically a platformer with puzzles (hit that lever and wonder what it did, oh cutscene shows something opened, lets go see what that was, oh my god a death trap puzzle with fire breathing thingys and poles and water and... you are maybe getting the point now) and occasional shooting action usually with dual pistols. The action is decent (way better than the stuff in the original games), but honestly the platforming and puzzles is the main draw of this game.

80

Good remake

Jorgel | March 25, 2013 | See all Jorgel's reviews »

It's the first Tomb Raider that I really played. First of all, it's a great remake: the grapphics are very good(for it's time), and there are some improvments in the game as a whole. The history is quite interesting, even though a little cliche. Despite the fact it's a good game in general, there are some issues, especially in gameplay and the controls that can be very frustrating, making some situations more difficult than they should be. I really liked this game, but because of some problems I stopped playing it. I hope to return to it and finish it some day

95

Great game

youknowwho77 | Feb. 26, 2013 | See all youknowwho77's reviews »

The first time when I played that game, I was a bit sceptic about it. But then as I continiued playing, I then became a fan of the Tomb Raider franchise. This game is the perfect adventure for someone who is searching for a game with ancient artifacts, cool battles, mind blowing puzzles and of course a female character. The gameplay is very nice. The controls are comfortable, and the story that the game offers is satisfying and enjoying. I recommend it to everyone who wants to start with the Tomb Raider franchise, because it is the best one to start with.

92

The best action adventure

asdefi | Feb. 2, 2013 | See all asdefi's reviews »

A bold claim, but there are no better games like this that combine great and difficult jumping and platforming/navigating sections, with some truly devious puzzles (though you won't need a FAQ to figure them out) and the shooting sections work perfectly. Lengthy and has some truly breathtaking level design and environments. Felt like really going into an adventure, but that's the goal I suppose.

I liked it more than the other Crystal Dynamics TR games, because of its difficulty, length and level design. It felt unrestrained, uncompromised by the design tenets of modern or even at the time, not sugar coated and designed by committee.

70

Lara Croft

xydanus | Jan. 26, 2013 | See all xydanus's reviews »

Tomb Raider Anniversary is good adventure game. Maybe modern look has done bad things to Tomb Raider series, but Anniversary is probably best Tomb Raider game in the 2000's. Still I think it lack's that adventure feeling that I used to have when I played first Tomb Raider games. Anniversary is that kind of game that you return to play when you have nothing else to do.

If you think of buying Tomb Raider Anniversary, get gamepad. Keyboard/mouse combo is no fun to play with.

90

Old fashioned, hard, but excellent remake

Guardian412 | Jan. 25, 2013 | See all Guardian412's reviews »

Tomb Raider: Anniversary is a hard game, which is following the game design of the 90s. This game does not have HUD displays and flashing neon hints over and over again, so as mainstream games has these days. You must think a lot to overwhelm even the easiest challenges and levels. Long, polished and challenging, very faithful to the original Tomb Raider. Tomb Raider: Anniversary is an excellent remake.

85

A good Tomb Raider

Cavalieroscuro | Jan. 8, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

This is, for sure, one of the best Tomb Raider games (since Crystal Dynamic take his hands on this series). It is, basically, a remake of the first Tomb Raider, with several location taken directly from that title, adding a brand new story that continues on Tomb Raider Underworld. If you never played this series, you can start here.

90

Great remake

Lekes | Jan. 3, 2013 | See all Lekes's reviews »

I've played this game for a few hours and it's pretty good. However, this game has quite a few minor problems, most notably the camera. It tends to get stuck behind me when I try to look behind my character when about to jump off a ledge. It would be nice to see behind me, but most of the time there's a conveniently placed ledge there. Also, if you want to do well early on, you better pay close attention to the tutorials that flash by the screen as some commands such as dodging are critical later. Although maybe it's just that this is my first Tomb Raider game. Overall, this is a great game. The graphics are still quite nice and the gameplay is fun and challenging. I just wished some of the bugs were fixed. And there isn't much story here so don't buy this game just for that.

80

A great action adventure game

Scorpy | Dec. 21, 2012 | See all Scorpy's reviews »

Tomb Raider: Anniversary is perhaps the best Tomb Raider game yet. It combines the fantastic gameplay elements of the earlier iterations with the graphics of the mid 2000s. It's great fun and never truly frustrating, only challenging.

Definitely pick this up if you're a fan of the Uncharted series or other action adventure titles.

72

Attractive Lady with dual pistols? I gotta see that…

DeaD | Dec. 12, 2012 | See all DeaD's reviews »

The date is 1996. The first Tomb Raider, and with it, a legend was born. The game got a reception between 79-100%. Pretty good huh? 6 sequels and here we are. It uses the same engine as the previous one, Legend did. When Legend came to life, the redesigned world, the beautiful environments, well those were simple impressive, and amazing. So graphics are not a problem. The game is adventurous, the physics are good, the story is pretty much the same, but who cares? It is really fun to play with. My only note here would be the gameplay. The controls on PC with keyboard/mouse are sometimes a bit hard. (swinging on the rope, making Lara jump perpendicular, that takes skill and patience…much…) At some point the game makes you jump, kill monsters, using all the moves you learned at the same time. And that is a strong disadvantage. There are some smaller bugs, which are bugging the player after a while. So how does the game feel like? It is fun, it is entertaining, but sometimes you may need to relax after playing it. Even so it is worth the price.

82

Epic Game but really hard to beat :P

kalil | Dec. 11, 2012 | See all kalil's reviews »

Awesome remake of the first Tomb Raider. Great combination of action and logic puzzles. You might be disappointed a little in the second half of the game because of harder and puzzle rooms that can took you a lot of time, but if you liked other Tomb Raider games (I mean those 3D adventure games), you'll definitely like it.

95

This is how a remake should be made

israel_hlc | Dec. 11, 2012 | See all israel_hlc's reviews »

Tomb Raider Anniversary is a remarkable game because it not only brings a classic 10 year old game to modern computers with improved graphics, but it in fact surpasses the original game is some aspects.

The great plot and atmosphere from the original game are very well implemented over the new game engine (from Tomb Raider Legends); the graphics are very good compared to other games launched in the same year.

The gameplay is the greatest triumph of this remake. While in the original game it was sometimes painful to reach some places, or even turn Lara to the other side, in this game the movement is very good and fluid.

As in most of the third person games, there are rare camera glitches, but seeing Lara jumping [almost] freely from one place to another will surely make the players consider them minor bugs, especially because they don’t really affect gameplay at all.

Finally, this game is a must not only for all Tomb Raider fans, but for anyone who enjoys action adventure games –even if you didn’t like the original game.

90

Excellent

vjk | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all vjk's reviews »

This is my first tomb raider game. I have played the prince of persia and uncharted series quite a bit.

So far (I haven't finished it) I'm quite impressed with this one. What impresses me the most is the movement. It is very precise, more precise than either prince of persia or uncharted. The least precise movement goes to the rebooted Prince of Persia, then Uncharted, then the "classic" prince of persia" then this game.

The grappling hook helps since the momentum and angle are real, so it doesn't feel like you're hitting check points, if feels like you're really swinging.

Story is skippable and age of the environment show. It doesn't have the mystical greatness of prince of persia or the sheer awesomeness of uncharted.

86

Better than the original??

abelfs | Dec. 8, 2012 | See all abelfs's reviews »

Awesome remake, I remember when I play the first Tomb Raider when I had the PSone and what made me feel. It was a strange feeling when I tried this one: a mixture of nostalgic and new gameplay where you don't have hatefull delays on jumping a point to another. Perhaps the best Tomb Raider in this generation.

90

Good game

Bolo | Nov. 15, 2012 | See all Bolo's reviews »

Tomb Raider Anniversary I feel was a long time coming. It brings together the time tested gameplay with next-gen graphics and sound. If you are a fan of Tomb Raider at all you owe it to yourself to pick this up and experience the original all over again. If you are new to the series this is definitely a must play as it shows off where it all got started.

Lara brings several new moves to the table along with the old acrobatics being smoothed out and easier to control than before. Combat has been upgraded to allow easier targeting of the enemies you do face. Cinematics have been vastly improved over the original and lend a better story element to the overall picture.

All in all I find this product to be a great example of updating a classic franchise and should be looked at by fans of the action/adventure drama. The only glaring flaws with the gameplay are those that may have existed in the orignal release. None of these detract from the overall experience.

I whole heartedly recommend this to anyone looking for something a little more thought provoking from this genre or anyone with an interest in the Tomb Raider franchise on the whole.

90

Excellent Remake

Sharptap | Sept. 24, 2012 | See all Sharptap's reviews »

This game is a excellent remake of the first Tomb Raider. I have played all the games of the TR serie and the first one was my favorite. This game improved my favorite game, New Graphics , Great voice acting , Good controls , Smooth gameplay , Good soundtrack all make this game very enjoyable start to finish. It's a really good game to newcomers and old players alike.

82

Good Remake

Zinzun | Sept. 4, 2012 | See all Zinzun's reviews »

This game is a remake of the first Tomb Raider,with Legend graphic and improvement. If you've never played this saga,start from here,because the original games are not-well aged.It will requires you about 12 hours to complete it,and for four euro it's really worth it.Great game!

95

Great remake

Rubin1993 | Aug. 21, 2012 | See all Rubin1993's reviews »

I really enjoyed first Tomb Raider on my old Playstation. The game was the best adventure game I ever played. Exploring the Tomb Raider world was really enjoyable. I was very excited about Tomb Raider remake. Tomb Raider: Anniversaly was awesome as the original one. New graphic is very nice for eyes. Also gameplay was enhanced. Game of my childhood was completely remaked and I really enjoyed it!

70

Decent game, needs a bit better game mechanics.

Creatix | Aug. 18, 2012 | See all Creatix's reviews »

Tomb Raider Anniversary is one of those games where after playing for several hours, you get stuck on some puzzle, you try everything you can, and then it clicks, you figure it out.This is the basic principle of puzzles in TR:A, i wish i could say more positive things to the other parts of gameplay, but i can't, Lara feels like a moose on platforming sections and can become awkward due to the camera not helping, controls are troubling too, when Lara completely misses the general direction of the jump you ordered. Combat is even worse, all it really is a button mashing sequence, where you have to mash the shoot button to kill even a single wolf.

As the name implies, this is a reboot of the first game, with TR: Legends control scheme mixed in.

If you liked the past TR games, you should give this one a try, if not don't bother.

97

Amazing

Songit | July 21, 2012 | See all Songit's reviews »

Nos trae este juego una nueva manera de tomb raider, algo que pasa originalmente para sega esta chica se ha vuelto espectacular en todos los sentidos.

93

A great action -adventure game

panz3r88 | July 19, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

The second Tomb Raider game made by Cristal Dynamics is a remake of the title released in mid 90s. The levels are similar to the original, so if you have played it you will recognize many elements. The main difference between the classic and this tile is in the gameplay. In all Tomb Raider games the main elements are the puzzles ,the exploration and the figths against the enemies. The last of these three elements was usually the weak point of all Tomb Raider games. In Annyversary we have a perfect mix between all these elements, so we have a good variety between puzzles and figth against the enemyes. Boss fights are very fun because we don't have only to shoot and dodge enemy attacks, but we must pay attention to find a strategy to beat them. An other element that was not present in the classic but is one of the best addition of last Tomb Raider games is the grapple hook, that allow to add veriety to puzzles and explorations during the game. All these elements allow to create one of the best action/adventure game released in the last years

100

Enjoys the game

silverwolf | May 28, 2012 | See all silverwolf's reviews »

There's nothing munch to say but a good jumping platformer game Grade A PS: like all game it well be hard to control but you get the hang of it

85

Great game

scottnat | April 13, 2012 | See all scottnat's reviews »

Had a lot of fun with Tomb Raider:Anniversary. There are moments of awkward camera angles and few random bugs, but these to me never interfered too much to really detract.

The graphics are lovely, and being a remake of the original Tomb Raider - and imo by far best Tomb Raider - it was terrific to revisit those lovely little peaceful aesthetic moments that got me so much first time round. Small things like the satisfying little 'splosh' and cozy lighting in the pools of water leading to underground caverns - the execution of which alas seemed to be less and less intimate or charming in the sequels.

Highly recommend it.

85

Classic remade

Torquille | Dec. 9, 2011 | See all Torquille's reviews »

When old Tomb Raider came out, many players spent countless hours in its levels, solving puzzles and battling ancient monsters on the way. When Legend came out seven instalments later, it changed this formula greatly to more action-oriented game, however now we have here as a courtesy of Crystal Dynamics remake of the first game with all its original enthrallment, great for both old and new fans. New fans will find here beginnings of the new Crystal Dynamics storyline presented in Legends, and old fans will be able to play first Lara's adventure in new graphics, without losing its strong points, and remember what Lara used to be back than.

The game itself is not really exact remake, although it looks like it on the first sight, most of the time it takes some basic level layout from the original game, some original videos, and creates the new game around it. You can find some parts of the levels exactly as it were in the original game while others are completely new to make use of the new Lara's moves and weaponry, which are the generally the same like in the Legends. The story of the original game remained without changes though and is still the same fun like before, putting into context some of the events from Legends and Underworld as well. It is also very clear how much had Lara changed in a way of gameplay between old Tomb Raiders and new titles; levels are much larger, puzzles harder and more complicated, often needed to do within specific time limit and even action sequences and boss fights are more riddles of themselves than actual fights.

All in all, Anniversary are really old type of Lara raised from her tomb and with some plastic operation, which is good news for some and bad for others. Do not expect much changes to the Tomb Raider formula though, even with the moves from Legends the game feels old at some points, and as I played Underworld sooner than Anniversary I really missed some of the finer techniques Lara uses there. Some of the time puzzles can be also quite annoying due to the not quite compatible old type of the puzzles and new types of control which anniversary uses - as all old-timers remember, old Tomb Raider's used very specific count for all kinds of jumps, steps and other moves, and you could always knew that for example three steps before the jump means long jump, and it will be exactly this long. New controls are more lively for a fight scenes, but for some puzzles lacks precision and in some cases I needed several attempts on otherwise easy puzzle just because I was not able to do all the jumping and running both fast and precise enough to make it in time. Even with these problems, Anniversary is a fine adventure when you feel for more hardcore experience then Legends and Underworld.

80

Great anniversary

RaTcHeT302 | Nov. 17, 2011 | See all RaTcHeT302's reviews »

Crystal Dynamics manged to include new gameplay elements without ruining the original elements from the first Tomb Raider, there are many evocative themes and good graphics but sometimes the camera acts wierd and there are many annoying bugs. Exploration is the tough point of this game, replaying the levels will it be a real pleasure. In-game there are even hidden secrets wich make the game a bit longer.

85

Lara is awesome as always!

Babelfish343 | Oct. 24, 2011 | See all Babelfish343's reviews »

Coming from the original Tomb Raider games on Playstation I can safely say that Anniversary captures the amazing scenes of crumbling ruins and great scenery. While at heart a platformer, Tomb Raider Anniversary you also have guns at your disposal, though shooting isn't as accurate as you might always want. The only slight issues occur with the camera sometimes not rotating correctly and showing you a blocked view of Lara, which is annoying when trying to precariously make your way across a narrow ledge. Sound effects are decent, and graphics are great with Lara's character model and animations looking nice! If you are a fan of the Tomb Raider series, you owe it to yourself to get yourself this game too!

87

A classic worth revisiting

Baha | Sept. 16, 2011 | See all Baha's reviews »

As a person who has not followed Lara Croft in her adventures for many years since her first game, Anniversary was a great opportunity to revisit the world of Tomb Raider. After so many years I'm pleased to say that it's nice to be back. The classic Tomb raider platforming is back with an improved camera, though it's not perfect it is still serviceable. Traps and puzzles are back with more visual flair, not to mention the levels look great in this updated version of the 1996 classic. Whether you're a long time fan or a gamer who hasn't played a Tomb Raider game, Anniversary provides a fun challenge and is certainly worth checking out.

85

Happy Anniversary

faraany3k | Aug. 27, 2011 | See all faraany3k's reviews »

Tomb Raider: Anniversary is a reboot of the classic Tomb Raider Title that started this great franchise. Although the older Tomb Raider Titles were great but were mostly littered with problematic controls and camera problems due to the tech limitations. Crystal Dynamic has created a faithful reboot for the original game. The fans of the series will love this glorious HD remake with a lots of gameplay tweaks. Game doesn't suffer from major camera and control issues. Game level design is reminiscent of the older title.There is an exclusive art section where you can see how franchise has developed over the years, and you can compare side by side how the new graphics engine is with the old one. This time animations are much smoother and fluid. Even the newcomers will find a lot of good old platforming fun. So if you missed or avoided the previous gen Tomb Raider titles because of there problems, Tomb Raider: Anniversary is a great place to start over.

87

Great game

pngohuy | June 29, 2011 | See all pngohuy's reviews »

I purchased this game via Steam store. The first feeling I have when playing it is : really interested and excited. I use a gamepad to play it better. Beautiful graphic, good built character, great sound, puzzles are difficult enough to solve, lots of secret and hidden items to discover. Although it's an old game, I still spend many hours playing it at the weekends. Finally, one more word to say : it's an EXCELLENT game to have it in your game collection.

80

A great game

Harjyot | June 23, 2011 | See all Harjyot's reviews »

Tomb Raider: Anniversary is another great installment in the Tomb Raider series. It has solid visuals and audio, along with a good amount of control options to choose from. It is a great remastering of the classic game, although the camera is still problematic. The game has fun platforming, puzzle solving, and decent combat. I recommend this to any fan of the franchise, as you will have a great time.

70

The game is fun but you might have some technical issues

MisterSlimm | May 19, 2011 | See all MisterSlimm's reviews »

This is a good, entertaining game marred by shoddy technical issues. Almost every death (even on the hardest difficulty which I played it on) comes from these issues including the camera angle changing the effects of your directional buttons, frame-rate problems causing unresponsive face buttons and an auto-lock-on system which frequently targets off-screen, out-of-range elements. The inconsistent frame rate spoils the visuals but it generally looks pretty good, especially Miss Croft herself (my favourite outfit to play in is the ripped red evening dress), and the special smoke, water, explosion and lighting effects are terrific. Special mention for an unusual and highly welcome time trial mode which challenges you to get through each cleared level within a certain time. I'd like to see that on all suitable games.

This game contains mild swear words and gun violence, melee violence, supernatural violence.

90

A gift from Eidos, Core and Crystal Dynamics

MisterSlimm | May 19, 2011 | See all MisterSlimm's reviews »

As someone who never played the original Tomb Raider, I very much welcome this kind of project which sees an older game updated technologically but kept intact thematically and stylistically. What most surprised me is that this is essentially a non-violent game (the player kills one person but it's horribly out-of-character and highly unnecessary for Lara; deliberately so, as it raises the question: can't games be about more than killing dudes?). The joy comes from linear and straight-forward but satisfying traversal and logic puzzles. Every large room you enter is a moment of joy as you start scanning to find your exit and plan your route out. As a bonus, all the bosses are better and more interesting than shoot-'til-you-drop and all require a little strategy and guile to defeat (or, at least, to defeat quickly). Time trials mode from Legend makes a welcome return and, frankly, all games like this should have such a mode. Ultimately, and unusually, this game feels like a gift from the Eidos, Core and Crystal Dynamics and it's a really nice feeling.

This game contains wildlife self-defense gun violence, at-odds-with-the-game's-tone gun violence and extreme knife violence.

70

Tomb Raider The Remake - yay, Tomb Raider The Eigth - nay.

Jahman | April 18, 2011 | See all Jahman's reviews »

Tomb Raider Anniversary is two things – a remake and a yet another installment of the Tomb Raider franchise.

From the first perspective it fulfills its role perfectly. It manages to incorporate vastly superior graphics, more detailed environments, character models and animations while at the same time preserving the original’s gameplay, story and level design. Moreover it seamlessly blends the new additions, like grappling hook or pole swinging, thus improving the already decent set of acrobatic moves. I must say that, other than pure nostalgia, there is hardly a reason to play the 1996 version if you can get Anniversary instead.

On the other hand, for me the Anniversary was a much less engaging experience than the Legend or Underworld. While I understand the need to stick to the original content I found the levels to be rather monotonous and the combat lacking. The worst part however were the bugs in the acrobatic parts of the game coupled with awkward camera. It’s really annoying when you have to redo a large part of platforming only because Lara suddenly decided she just wanted to jump in some other direction (as in – straight into a bottomless pit) or that the ledge was unworthy to be grabbed by her (again, as opposed to the deadly fall) or it simply wasn’t there (and the evil camera successfully concealed that fact). I’m not saying this didn’t happen in Legend, but for some reason it seemed much more pronounced (and annoying) in Anniversary, possibly due to the level design.

Because of those reasons I would recommend Anniversary mostly to those who have played the first part of the series and would like to relive it again without the fear of horribly aged graphics running their fond memories. As for the younger crowd just looking to pick one of the newer installments I would rather recommend Legend or Underworld.

89

Tomb Raider Anniversary is the perfection of Legends

niniendowarrior | April 14, 2011 | See all niniendowarrior's reviews »

Tomb Raider: Anniversary revisits the first Tomb Raider game many years back with this entry of the series. Taking in the lessons of the previous effort, you will notice immediately just how everything is familiar and yet different. The environments are huge and the interacting with it is still as fun as it was in Legends. From a visual and audio standpoint, the game gets slight upgrades, creating much more engrossing experiences. The core shooting mechanic is back but with the new adrenaline dodge twist which is a good addition that becomes incredibly critical to survival. There's a lot to do in the game and when you're done, the mansion itself serves as an added bonus, giving the game that much more life after completion.

Tomb Raider: Anniversary is Crystal Dynamics second entry into the series, taking a lot from Legends and fine tuning things to create an even more robust system. In so doing, they've not only created a well-crafted product, but one that represents the pinnacle of their works in the franchise.

80

The great nostalgia.

xtrench | April 10, 2011 | See all xtrench's reviews »

Tomb Raider: Anniversary is a remake of a 1996 classic, which follows the adventures of Lara Croft, a British archaeologist on job to find an ancient artifact. This remake features improved graphics, overhauled controls and animations. The levels are redesigned yet recognizable to old fans of the original. In addition the game features unlockable developers commentary which gives insights into the making of the game.

The game mechanics consist of shooting enemies, platforming and simple puzzles solving using items found scattered around the levels. This game is a must have for a devoted fan of the Tomb Raider series but shouldn't be excluded by gamers who aren't familiar with Lara's mythology because the story doesn't require previous knowledge of the series and the gameplay is satisfying for the fans of jumping, swimming and climbing because they are well executed and animated.

89

Tomb Raider Anniversary is an amazing game

wahidasoldier | April 9, 2011 | See all wahidasoldier's reviews »

Tomb Raider Anniversary is number eight in this series and may be it is the best one of them untill now. Eidos is the produce company for this game and it really makes hard working to make this game a great one. This game has a high quallity graphic but some times there are some troubles and it has agreat effictive almosphere in sounds and enviroments. The fighting combats is really wounderful and the characters seemed real. The story of this game is good and the secrets take from you alot of time and you collect artfacts to unlock more extra things like Lara clothes and more things. You must look for all items in the area to solve all problems you may face. The game consists of four main levels and every level consisits of some missions. Your enimy is more powerful and the control and motion is really suitable for this game.