Reviews for Tomb Raider: Legend DNS

85

The game that might have saved the series.

GuardianOfSouls | April 27, 2013 | See all GuardianOfSouls's reviews »

Though many people will probably point to the recent reboot as the saviour of the series, for me this was it.

After a sub-par Tomb Raider 4, 5, and 6, it looked like this franchise was out of gas and about to end. But this game really redeemed it in my eyes and in the eyes of many. Classic Tomb Raider game-play with fun new quick-time action moments and decent enough graphics at the time. The story is good but leaves you wanting more as it leads you into its sequel: Tomb Raider Underworld.

The only unfortunate thing now is you need to disable the Nvidia next-gen graphics options as they no longer work properly on most modern computers. (Some levels will work, others will crash)

Xbox 360 controller or equivalent recommended.

88

Legendary episode of a Legendary series

Guardian412 | Feb. 3, 2013 | See all Guardian412's reviews »

Tomb Raider: Legend is the seventh in the Tomb Raider series, and the first one which is finally brought back the flawless controls with some upgrade, and well known tomb and maze exploration which was the trademark of the series, but slowly vanished by time. The storyline is decent, but don't expect great twists and turns, - however the storyline never was the strength of the series. And while the game itself is one of the best in the series, and it has the best and most beautiful menu themes of all, Tomb Raider: Legend suffers the problems of the games of the 21st century; it's too mainstream, too linear and too easy. Legend is a classic, a true legend in the series, and with a reason, and while the game is great, as I played Tomb Raider: Legend after Tomb Raider: Anniversary, - which is the remake of the first episode, but was relased after this title -, I have to say that Legend feels too short and way too easy comparing to Anniversary.

55

Not a good story but OK gameplay

JMJqueseyo | Jan. 29, 2013 | See all JMJqueseyo's reviews »

This game has unlock-ables like clothing and you collect statues in the levels to get them which adds some re-playability. I got like 25 hours out of this game to be honest this is not a good Tomb Raider game, the game-play is the same as usual. There is no inventory system and it feels a lot more like a shooter rather then surviving to unveil secrets. I would only recommend it if you like puzzles and shooting or you wanna play the entire Tomb Raider series.

78

Good game

Cavalieroscuro | Jan. 8, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

This is the first title by Crystal Dynamic, and is good. Yes, basically is "old-style" enough, but take off several annoying things of previous Tomb Raider games. Now Lara can moves well, not only "one block at time". Story isn't great, but it is still decent.

85

Great game

Lekes | Dec. 29, 2012 | See all Lekes's reviews »

Tomb Raider Legend is a game of beautiful graphics, music, and atmosphere, but far too short on content. After the ‘Looking Glass’ sequence I was surprised and more than a little disappointed to find that this was the Finale. I was expecting further adventures in Avalon to which the story seems to imply, but became abruptly cut-out. Either the developers of the game lost interest in their project or they were working on a tight budget. It’s a fast paced game that takes about 10 hours (give or take) to finish. There were a couple of areas on the gameplay I found to be frustrating; mainly due to the character’s grappling hook aim or weak level design. In any case, if you have an afternoon to kill some time, Tomb Raider is worth taking a look at.

82

Legend is great

Angeluzian | Dec. 22, 2012 | See all Angeluzian's reviews »

It's a good successor to the first game in the series, and it has a good spirit of lara craft and the series. I loved this game, it's quite cool with it's own ideas and works well. the gameplay is fairly smooth, and the story is decent. Worth trying if you havn't already or like games like this in general.

90

A great game

israel_hlc | Dec. 11, 2012 | See all israel_hlc's reviews »

Tomb Raider Legends is the game responsible to revitalize one of the most famous game franchises. With almost next-gen graphics (from the year it was launched, of course) and an excellent gameplay, this game brings the franchise back to the group of top rated games, where it used to be years ago. Of course it is not perfect, but it is a really very good game, with a good replay value (with lots of collectibles, for those who like to achieve everything the game has to offer) and certainly offer a good time to the players who give it a try. Finally, I recommend it to anyone who liked the first franchise games and was disappointed with the last ones.

76

The new Tomb Raider

Zinzun | Sept. 12, 2012 | See all Zinzun's reviews »

This is the first Crystal Dynamic Tomb Raider,and it is very good.It matches both old and new mechanics,so the game is very enjoyable.It will take about 20 hours to be fully completed.Graphic is good enough as the sound is.It's not a masterpiece,but it's one of the better "new" Tom Raider.

77

Good first chapter of Crystal Dynamics trilogy

panz3r88 | Aug. 2, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Tomb Raider Legend is the first game developed by Crystal Dynamics. The game is more action oriented with respect other Tomb Raider titles: there are less puzzles and levels are quite linear. The combat system is really good and during the game you must face many enemies. The game is quite short but the story is interesting. There are also well made boss fights. Even if you are not a fan of Lara Croft you will enjoy this good action game

86

A good tomb raider game

CJV | July 23, 2012 | See all CJV's reviews »

The Tomb Raider franchise hasn't always had a constant of quality in it's games, with some spin offs and some not very successful tries to innovate in the series (Angel of Darkness). But I think with legend they got it right. It manages to capture the feel of the first games very well. Some great locals to explore, some good puzzles and some animals to kill. I find that the gameplay in this one is an much needed upgrade to the old controls schemes that didn't make moving the character very enjoyable. This time around the gameplay is more action focused, and the whole game is more action focused instead of more puzzle focused like in the old games of the franchise. I found this game very enjoyable and it put the tomb raider franchise in a good direction.

78

Worthy successor to the original

simonsix | June 18, 2012 | See all simonsix's reviews »

The first worthy successor to the original game in the series. The story is engaging and in the same spirit as the original. The pacing is excellent with some breathtaking scenery and a heroic soundtrack. Too bad shooting is the only way to resolve conflicts

96

A good job of Crystal

kalil | May 22, 2012 | See all kalil's reviews »

I played this game, I've almost finished, it is very good, Lara looks very beautiful, Crystal did a good job to be the first Tomb Raider game.

Gameplay: It's fun and interesting, but you can explore a lot to say, the rest all excellent, all the levels and gameplay, but it's like some things a little easier, but excellent.

Technology: Lara's movements are better and are more athletic, we have the hook to hang on to sites that contain metal areas, we can analyze artifacts, and we have the zip and alister comments. Among other things. Since Lara now not as alone as before. And if you have noticed, in the "Menu" of the game, Lara is the image of the place with the background level, for example, Bolivia, and that Lara with the background landscape of Bolivia.

Graphics: I have not really enjoyed the graphics because my computer does not have good graphics cards, but I've seen videos of Tomb Raider Legend's previous and I compared and for the year that was released the graphics were quite advanced.

Sound: These refer to the music or sounds in general? The music is beautiful, mostly the "Main Theme" and the entire soundtrack, are perfect. And the sounds of guns and walking Lara Croft is perfect, I loved everything.

Innovation: Crystal did a good job, I can only say that.

75

Very Good.

scottnat | April 16, 2012 | See all scottnat's reviews »

If i were to choose between Tomb Raider:Legend and Tomb Raider:Anniversary, i'd say go with the latter. However, that's not to say this isn't good. Anniversary is simply a little more polished - camera, graphics - and slightly longer. But Legend was a return to form for the series versus some of the fairly dire previous instalments riding coat tails of originals success.

80

Nice new beggining

Torquille | Dec. 8, 2011 | See all Torquille's reviews »

Tomb Raider Legends is a first Tomb Raider game made by Crystal Dynamics.

Eidos removed license from Core Design after the Angel of Darkness, and it meant a big change of playing experience. The game is simply fun, not too hard, not too soft, and much more action oriented than its predecessors; for me, it was a very pleasant change, as after twenty hours of the same puzzles the old games were becoming more tiresome then funny.

It resembles very much other Crystal Dynamics series, Legacy of Kain, and it is mostly an action game. Although the puzzles, acrobatics and tombs are still there, the classic levels the old Tomb Raider used to have are in a minority, which may not suit the more hardcore Tomb Raider fans - practically only the last two parts will strongly remind you of old Tomb Raiders level design (and yes, fires are still pretty deadly). Most of the time you will be shooting, riding and more or less straightforwardly running and jumping through the levels, with only a few parts where you will need to stop and think about what you need to do now. These parts are still there however, and in these moments the game still feels like a Tomb Raider we know.

And although the game as a whole feels different, it does not necessarily mean it is worse. Its length is only about eight to nine hours, which for this kind of the game seems exactly right, and its ending is practically the beginning of the Underworld, which makes the two games practically one split in two. I would give the game gladly higher score, but I had many troubles with the not very friendly camera, which can be a pain in the ass during the fast sequences of jumps in later levels, and some minor graphic bugs, where I suddenly found myself out of the land just because of the missing textures. Other than that, it is a fine piece.

66

Fun as the first chapter in the series

RaTcHeT302 | Nov. 17, 2011 | See all RaTcHeT302's reviews »

Gameplay is fun and has variety, following a bit the first game's rules. As always there are impressive locations from where the player can play at, too bad that the quality of the enemies and animals (graphicaly looking) isn't up to par with Lara's quality also the length of the game is extremely short, something wich you wouldn't expect from a title of the calibre of Tomb Raider is the real weak poin wich made the game loose many points. The soundtrack still remains amazing (it is better than the sound fx).

80

Brilliant

Mondu | Sept. 16, 2011 | See all Mondu's reviews »

Legend is a truly great Tomb Raider game full of platforming, puzzles and combat. Animations are smooth but this is let down by the jumpy camera which will end up being the cause of many deaths, rather than the perilous traps. The controls can be a little difficult to get used to but after a few hours you will be playing the game with no difficulties at all. It definitely feels a lot more refined and polished than the previous games and isn't a title you should miss if you've played the others or if you are a Tomb Raider fan.

90

Reboot a great Series

faraany3k | Aug. 27, 2011 | See all faraany3k's reviews »

Tomb Raider was initially developed by Core and Eidos Studios. There were number of titles released. Although most of them were great but suffered from many technical problems, that in turn never made Tomb Raider a great series. But in 2005, Crystal Dynamic got hold of this franchise and they developed a stellar title worthy of Tomb Raider's name.

Tomb Raider: Legend is a great game in its own right. With an emotional storyline, great new graphics engine. Visually stunning looking environments and animations that are fluid and responsive this time around. The whole title has great production values and each and every aspect shows hardwork from developers. They faithfully captured all the good aspects of the series. Lara Croft herself is the shinning jewel here. Her graceful moves and stunning platforming skills make every minute of this game memorable. Gun sections and platforming section are both superbly done. There are also some 'on rail' sections. A great fun game that every gamer must play.

83

Great

Harjyot | June 23, 2011 | See all Harjyot's reviews »

Tomb Raider: Legend is a great game in the series that has great audiovisual presentation for its time. The gameplay is improved, and the overall experience has been refined from the previous games. This game is certainly worth checking out for all fans of the series. The missions are quite fun and exciting, and the combat is also solid.

70

Fun game but you might suffer technical issues

MisterSlimm | May 19, 2011 | See all MisterSlimm's reviews »

This is a good, entertaining game marred by shoddy technical issues. Almost every death (even on the hardest difficulty which I played it on) comes from these issues including the camera angle changing the effects of your directional buttons, frame-rate problems causing unresponsive face buttons and an auto-lock-on system which frequently targets off-screen, out-of-range elements. The inconsistent frame rate spoils the visuals but it generally looks pretty good, especially Miss Croft herself (my favourite outfit to play in is the ripped red evening dress), and the special smoke, water, explosion and lighting effects are terrific. Special mention for an unusual and highly welcome time trial mode which challenges you to get through each cleared level within a certain time. I'd like to see that on all suitable games.

This game contains mild swear words and gun violence, melee violence, supernatural violence.

86

The Best Tomb Raider game

FreeMan85 | May 10, 2011 | See all FreeMan85's reviews »

The game full with action, humor, beautiful graphics, nice score, excellent voice acting and some puzzles. Yes, maybe only setback to the die hard fans: lesser puzzle elements. Of course still got a few, but not to hard, so new TR players won't get stuck instantly. The new interactive cinemtaic action scenes (don't know what else I can call) the best thing a game ever has. In normally come the cinemtic and you watch it. Not it TR Legend! Come the cinematic (rendered) and come the action, to achieve Lara right moves you must use the left, rght, up, down, jump or fire buttons. It's easy, it's fun. Another good thing is Zip and Alister is online with you all the time. Zip is the computer geek, his the cool guy. Alister the historian expert, his kinda intelectual guy. Anyway they are the freat couple. Another good point is Lara get a new dress to every new level or location. After finish a game we even choose her dress and we can unlock new ones.

The only negative is the game crash at another half if next-gen enabled. Of course the game looks fine without it, but sad Crystal never fixed this issue.

If you never play Tomb Raider game pickup this one. You'll love it!

85

Finally!

xtrench | April 14, 2011 | See all xtrench's reviews »

After a long hiatus since the previous Tomb Raider game, Lara is back with a new adventure that is connected to an event in her childhood. The game features animation and controls that are more fluid than previous titles, no longer it feels like you're trying to control a statue while navigation. The overall game feels a bit disconnected with Lara going to different places around the world. But the change of venue adds to the diversity of levels. While the climbing and shooting feels solid the driving of the bike in the later stages does not. Playing on the hardest difficulty will make it feel like driving the bike through the level is more luck than skill. Recommended not just to Tomb Raider fans but to anyone who enjoys good platformers.

82

A good adventure that certainly deserves a look

niniendowarrior | April 14, 2011 | See all niniendowarrior's reviews »

Lara Croft finds herself intertwined in a journey that links her dark past to the threat that looms in her near future. Tomb Raider: Legends takes you to Lara's past and how her immediate travails links back to her long lost mother. It is a sound plot premise and the game delivers strong dialogue banter, though the story is a little uneven in the end, with some plot points never completely resolved satisfactorily. Tapping into artifacts that date to Arthurian Legends don't exactly help in treating this story any more seriously either.

Where Tomb Raider shines however is with the environment where scaling mountains, peering through crevices and leaping through ruins is an absolute joy. The game employs assisted jumping that tracks where she jumps really gives you a great sensation for Lara's physical ability and nimbleness. The shooting controls need some getting used to with all of Lara's acrobatic moves, but they are certainly serviceable.

Tomb Raider: Legends is the first effort by Crystal Dynamics to inject some new life into the struggling franchise. In so doing, they put out a commendable effort, producing a game that still holds up to the test of time and manages to provide a compelling adventure.

95

The best in the series

Sprung | April 10, 2011 | See all Sprung's reviews »

While many people might argue that Legend strays too far from the franchise, in my opinion, that is exactly what was needed to revitalize an otherwise dying breed. Legend takes the boring and mundane parts of the previous Tomb Raiders and makes them fun, while actually having a story line and a defined goal in mind makes this Tomb Raider stand out from the rest. The updated graphics transforms the surroundings from bland rock and wood to interactive, engrossing environments of tombs and supernatural devices. A foe that is always one step ahead of you makes your adventure challenging and keeps you interested until the very end...which, by the way, is pretty good.

85

Adventure awaits, along with her archaeologist

Comros | April 8, 2011 | See all Comros's reviews »

Tomb Raider: Legend is the first serious set in the 3D part of the adventures of Lara Croft, a handsome lady archaeologist with supernatural qualities. This is the seventh in the series, but this time it was prepared by the studio Crystal Dynamics (Legacy of Kain: Blood Omen 2, or Legacy of Kain: Defiance). In this section, as in the first we visited the catacombs forgotten by all, the jungle or even snow-capped mountain peaks of the phases, including a motorcycle. On our way we will all sorts of pitfalls that we have neatly avoided. Summarizing, whoever heard of a little Tomb Raider series is a must have for him, I can assure you - money is not in vain.