Reviews for Dishonored™ Game of the Year Edition

93

Maybe not a must have - but a MUST PLAY!

dockzor | Nov. 2, 2014 | See all dockzor's reviews »

Dishonored is a fantastic, original game with a great art style and soundtrack. I enjoyed all the missions, although The Golden Cat was my favorite. Even though the graphics are not superb, the game looks so unique that you will not care. It is fun to use the powers, sneak around, and even have shootouts with the guards, and since the main part of the game is supposed to be stealth, it has some of the best stealth gameplay on the market. The Dunwall City Trials DLC that comes with the Game of the Year edition is worth it if you can get it for $2.50, but it is nothing like The Knife of Dunwall or the Witches of Brigmore, two DLC single-player campaigns that are shorter but are just as high quality as the main game. If you enjoy Skyrim's Dark Brotherhood, Thief, or games like those, then this is the game for you. If you are going to buy Dishonored, make sure to get the Game of the Year edition.

96

Definetely a must buy!

Corden | Nov. 1, 2014 | See all Corden's reviews »

Amazing game, truly amazing. The fantastic artstyle made the atmosphere of the game really amazing. Just the way the city looked and the architecture was really interesting. The story was ok. What I thought was the best though, is the gameplay. The stealth is really well done, there's so much alternate pathways, different gameplay opportunities and secrets. Not to mention the optional quests which were good too. The karma system was a bit annoying though. It made the players who just want to kill stuff really frustrated and bored, not to mention killing stuff gives you a bad ending. But overall, Arkane did a great job on this game. Good atmosphere, good artstyle, good gameplay and good story. Really deserves it's big ratings.

92

A true value for money

dilosan | Aug. 28, 2014 | See all dilosan's reviews »

The main is pretty awesome. The story is very good in the game you will be given a choice weather you can kill everyone or finish the game without killing a single person. The voice acting and graphics are well done. I killing cut scenes are fascinating. Killing with magic such as we can posses enemies and command rats to kill out enemies.

In the GOTY version you will receive sever DLC's. The Knife of Dunwall, this is one great DLC where we play on a different story and a different person. We have some new magic and weapons also to use. The Brigmore Witches,The story of The Knife of Dunwall continues on this DLC. The story is really interesting, in this we have also have some new magic. The Knife of Dunwall, this DLC provides us with a loads of fun, we have challenges,such as assassin a person before that we got to find 4 clues about the person to know who is our assassin and many other more challenges which are really fun. Void Walker’s Arsenal,This DLC provides with some extra content in game.

With all these DLC and the main game the GOTY is edition is definitely worth the money.

92

GET THIS GAME!

lvlurat | Aug. 17, 2014 | See all lvlurat's reviews »

Really Great game,It's one of the rare games with great story.If you can,definitely buy the GOTY edition with all DLC'S.Graphics are great,but they can be better.It's a Bethesda game after all :) Bethesda sure knows how to make great games.Normally I hate stealth at games,but this game is really enjoyable after all.The Green Man Gaming price is also great,get this game while you can :)

95

Great deal!

Zazutuu | April 15, 2014 | See all Zazutuu's reviews »

For that price you get the game and all the DLC. It is really worth it.

You have 2 story DLC's and a Challenge DLC where you post your scores on the leaderboards. The story of the 2 story DLC's is centered around Daud. It all happens before the events of the main story of Dishonored.

I recommend to anyone to buy this.

85

Well worth the money

lipfter | Feb. 7, 2014 | See all lipfter's reviews »

Dishonored is an amazing stealth/action game. Its a great game to start your adventures if you are unexperienced or experienced alike. Even the first touch of the game and its mechanics will bring most of the players to the point where it will be hard to quit and they will want to continue playing ignoring the fact that their eyes are starting to hurt. The story is involving and interesting from the first few steps you take in the plague-ravaged city of Dunwall. As you progress through your adventure as a royal bodyguard of the Empress you feel that the story becomes more deep and intense as it goes on and not only that the storyline makes you feel as if you were reliving Corvos life, you have the choices which will decide how the future game progresses and what will change in it. From a visual point of view, Dishonored truly showed originality and beauty in the fantastic, colorful and stunning enviroment graphics. Not only that the graphics were appealing and beautiful to the eye, but they were inspiring aswell. Bethesda is truly remarkable, making successful moves and gaining streaks of fanastic ratings aswell as creating masterpieces of art in a very nice fashion. You wont regret investing money in this masterpiece and if you love stealth games, this game is a must.

95

An ode to the genre

Vonmaterhorn | Dec. 30, 2013 | See all Vonmaterhorn's reviews »

Amazingly enticing, this game will have get you stuck on it from the very beginning. From the alternate pathways to complete a misson, to the different ways (and gore amount) that it can be done, Dishonored is an ode to a player-stylized ending, where one can shape the game to his own likes, rather than be fed a rather dull plot story. The guys from Bethesda sure know what they're doing, and so will you, when you get to play this masterpiece!

98

A must have !

TekilaShot | Nov. 28, 2013 | See all TekilaShot's reviews »

The design is great, the atmosphere and the sound effects are top notch ! It's a stealth game but you aren't punish if you go rampage and kill everyone around. I spent many hours trying to be undetected, it's harder that it looks when you don't have all the ability at the beginning. It's really hard to find a flaw in that game at least for me. It runs great on my laptop, the DLC has a lot of replayability maybe my only reproach is no multi player ? But really who need it when the single player is so good? Buy it you won't be disappointed !

95

worth every penny

kesmiskus | Nov. 7, 2013 | See all kesmiskus's reviews »

great GOTY,great replayability,amazing level design,always resulting in you choosing different paths. knife of dunwall and brigmore witches is the story of what happened to daud during and after the story in dishonored. this game can easily suck you in and you can be seen spending over 50hours+ playing it,provided your a stealth fan. all in all,a GOTY worth buying.

90

Great value

Stebsis | Oct. 13, 2013 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

Dishonored on its own is a great stealth and action game. You play as Corvo Attano, bodyguard of the Empress. He's falsely accused of murder of the empress and kidnapping of her daughter Emily, and is taken to a prison where you escape and start to track down Emily and the people who killed the Empress. Story doesn't have any real surprises, but the lore and setting are interesting enough to carry the plot.

You always have a sword in your right hand, and you have variety of weapons to equip on left, like crossbow that has all kinds of darts for stealthy, non-lethal, low chaos and high chaos plays. Pretty soon you get your hands on supernatural powers given by the Outsider, a mysterious fella who appears before Corvo throughout the game. You find these runes scattered all over the levels that you use to unlock the powers, like blink that lets you silently teleport some distance, for example to get to higher ground, hide quickly or go behind an enemy and stun/kill them. You can also summon plague rats that eat your enemies till only bones are left, dark vision that lets you see enemies through walls and all the collectibles(which I don't like at all, I want to explore the levels myself) and stuff like jump higher. There are variety of abilities for you to play the way you want, stealthly, killing people, stunning them, or going in loud. It's just a shame that because levels are very stealth based you don't have that many options to play non-lethal way, basically blink and high jump are the only ones that I used. You have an ability to turn your enemies to ash after you kill them, so you don't need to hide the bodies, but I don't like it, it makes things way too easy just like dark vision. I had hoped much more creative stuff that necessarily doesn't make the game easier, just more interesting and varied.

Then there are the three DLC's that of course come in this GotY edition. Dunwall City Trials lets you take on different challenge maps, you may need to kill enemies as quickly as possible and in certain way. This is fun if you enjoyed more of the combat and taking on enemies rather than exploring and doing the story.

Knife of Dunwall and Brigmore Witches put you in the shoes of Daud who actually was the one who killed the Empress. He tries to atone for his sins and rescue Emily in the shadows, the end of Brigmore Witches and his storyline is interesting as it intervenes with Corvos story from main game, and overall they were really enjoyable. Daud plays a bit differently from Corvo. For example when Daud uses blink, time around him stops and that lets you have more time in deciding where to blink. He also has couple different powers like pull, and his crossbow is on his wrist.

Level design in all of these is excellent and varied, there are a ton of different routes to take depending what kind of abilitites you have, like possession that lets you take control of guards or fishes, or your target so you can basically commit suicide with him. The levels clearly favor stealth with all kinds of high places to go to like rooftops, lamps, bookshelves etc.

Overall this is a great package, the main game and all DLC's have lots of replayability and they also take a nice while to go through, so there's definitely a lot of value for the money here.