Reviews for Battlestations Pacific

90

A really good game

PolarBeast | Aug. 25, 2013 | See all PolarBeast's reviews »

The campaign is really good and the combat is really nice. Multiplayer community is small tho.

95

while away the hours

Rob_G | July 24, 2013 | See all Rob_G's reviews »

This is an excellent game, its very easy to lose track of time while playing well worth a download, especially for only £4, Bargain!!!

80

Quite a good game

DanielZo0 | June 12, 2013 | See all DanielZo0's reviews »

It is a very great game, where you must use tatics, and targeting skills. 1 mistake can prove fatal in this game it is a very fun game, and best online. For me and most people Island Capture is the best game mode. You have choices to tons of units from air to sea, and to land which are only bases and such. I would say this is a very very great game.

88

This game is great!

SaburoSakai | May 11, 2013 | See all SaburoSakai's reviews »

I don't know why people have negative opinions on this game. Its a great game when playing single player or online due to the variety of options you're able to play with.

The game is great fun it allows you to control naval and airforce in a relatively large battlefield. The last game i appreciated with this level of play was battlefield 1942 but this gives a whole new scale to naval combat as well as air. Of course the rocket planes are a bit unbalanced and still need reworking , the community is small now a days because its a relatively old game now however its quite enjoyable if you can gather just a few friends to play with,.

70

Despite the downfalls, the game is addictive

chivshiv | March 3, 2013 | See all chivshiv's reviews »

I'll admit I'm one for accuracy. I love realistic games that provide attention to detail. Buying Battlestations pacific (BSP) I expect a multidimensional WWII sim. What you get is a arcade style game that in no way represents reality. However unit weaponry is fairly accurate even though the speed, maneuverability and operation is suspect.

However once you get use to the confusing command scheme, this game is quite addictive. Flying without the option of joystick inputs makes dog fighting near impossible (ie it is easy to turn, but going up or down is damn near impossible with the inputs provided). While the game play is good, there is an imbalance in power between ships and planes. Its easier to sink a battleship with a few destroyers than three or four squadrons of attack planes.

No bug, despite the downfalls, the game is addictive. I bought during a sale and glad I did

80

Excellent Game

Wootus | Dec. 10, 2012 | See all Wootus's reviews »

This is a unique blend of RTS with Airplane/Warship combat simulator. Although it does neither perfectly, together it is a great WWII pacific theater strategy game that gives some sense of what it was like to be commanding the battles back then. The maps are huge and the missions surprisingly varied considering it's mostly just ocean and small islands.

It's a vast improvement over the previous game; Battlestations Midway but if you didn't like that game you won't find anything different here, it's basically the same game but better. Better graphics, better presentation and the addition of a few new units and gameplay elements.

I like this game a lot, and had great fun playing it, but I'm also a pretty big WWII buff so that definitely had a large part to do with my enjoyment. Those who maybe aren't so into that part of history might find the game lacking.

67

Nothing else like it

simonsix | June 18, 2012 | See all simonsix's reviews »

The level of detail into the maps was awesome, however, I liked the simplistic strategic map of Midway, which has become confusing and bulky in this one. There is never a dull moment BUT the mechanics destroy the concept.

80

Battlestations Ready!!!

faraany3k | Sept. 2, 2011 | See all faraany3k's reviews »

Contrary to some of my fellow reviewers i found this game to be amazingly fun. Seamless transition from one genre to another is a treat. In one second we are in a cockpit of a plane, and the very next moment we are in charge of huge battleships. Graphics look amazing and water animations are superbly done.

Game is a mixture of Flight Sim and RTS elements. Flying a plane feels amazing and we can engage in dog fights, drop torpedoes and take out enemy vessels. RTS elements are also great where we control number of naval ships all can also be controlled in third person view. Controlling a ship let us maneuver and attack enemy vessels. Controls in all 3 modes are highly polished and transition is always smooth. There is a single player campaign which is pretty solid and has numerous scenarios with loads of variety. Skirmish mode let us set pre-determined goals to achieve. This mode gives an unlimited replay value. There is also a Multiplayer mode, but it is actually dead now. You can always arrange a private match with a friend.

An overall great fun game. It is currently available on GMG at a ridiculously low price of $12.75. Buy it and have loads of fun.

50

Same

hotmando1 | July 5, 2011 | See all hotmando1's reviews »

A bad sequel to an already bad game. This genre has been so overused, it's really annoying. The graphics aren't even that good! The single player is lacking, just like the first one. Like Midway, multiplayer is still bland. Sometimes you can't even see who your fighting because of the ui! Quality is really low, you can tell from the numerous crashes,graphic bugs, voice acting, and etc. But hey, get it if you really like airplanes..and if it's cheap.

49

Better, also worse

wahidasoldier | April 6, 2011 | See all wahidasoldier's reviews »

A few years later, sure, you'd expect game developers to come up with a sequel for whatever it was selling well. In terms of the graphics it looks absolutely fantastic. It also runs great on my PC.

However, I cannot believe my eyes how short and shortline-lacking the singleplayer campaign is!!!!! Awww put that aside, this game has the worst voice acting in the history of gaming (sounds like the few people performed it all). Lastly, er, buggy.