Reviews for The Wolf Among Us

100

Telltale has done it again !!!

lagendofdoom | July 12, 2014 | See all lagendofdoom's reviews »

After their success with the "Walking Dead" it seems they found a way to make their games to be more fascinating. "The Wolf Among Us" is like "The Walking Dead" with its style and comic like graphics as well as with the illusion of choice. I feel like these games are more of a "TV series" than a game but in reality it is a game where you control the main character and you make the "choices" given to you ( Which by the way are the best parts of the game ), and then you'll see how your choices impact on the overall story and the consequences that it will bring. "The Wolf Among Us" brings us 5 episodes which every episode is between an hour or two of "gameplay". You play as "the big bad wolf" bigby, the sheriff of the "fabletown", and you must solve the murder case that happens early on in which you uncover clues and ask other characters of their involvement in the murder case. To be honest I haven't found anything "bad" in this game, the sound was amazingly done, the atmosphere is "cool", the graphics are similar to the comic's like which is great, the gameplay which is actually the dialogs ( and you pick what to say ) and "finding clues" are simple but yet addictive and interesting. Overall I would recommend "The Wolf Among Us" to those who loved the "Game of the year of 2012" game "The Walking Dead" and to those who like an amazing story with harsh consequences

86

Awesome noir experience

884okeoJ | July 2, 2014 | See all 884okeoJ's reviews »

The Wolf Among Us had a lot to live up to after the fantastic Walking Dead season 1. Fortunately, The Wolf Among Us is almost if not as good it's zombie-based predecessor. The setting is much more original than that of the Walking Dead, as TWAU is based in a New York City where "fables", real life versions of fairy-tale creatures live. The story that takes place in this setting is incredible, mixing mystery, suspense, and fantasy into one of the most gripping gaming experiences of the year thus far.

The graphics are improved from the Walking Dead, with better textures, animations, and models. The gameplay is about the same, with mild puzzles as well as some quick-time events to mix things up. My main problem with The Wolf Among Us is the lesser emotional impact it has to the Walking Dead. I felt a lot less connected with the TWAU characters than I did with The Walking Dead, making it less impactful when a minor/main character kicked the bucket. In summary, The Walking Dead is a marginally better game, but the Wolf Among Us is a must-play for any fan of Telltale's works.

93

Thoughts up to Episode 4.

FALSEPOSiTiVE | July 2, 2014 | See all FALSEPOSiTiVE's reviews »

A Wolf Among Us has 4 episodes at the time of this review. I started playing this today and have finished episode 4 in slightly over 7 hours. I've managed to miss 4 achievements, had one game-breaking glitch, battled the controls and drowned in immersion of the story.

Episode... If you're one of those impatient souls that purchased this title on release, you have my deepest of sympathies as I can clearly understand your anticipation in between every episode. I'm now having to sit here in agony to finish the story until the final episode (5th) arrives fully downloaded and neatly put away in my library. I'd NEVER recommend this or any other title like to anyone as a single episode, and instead would suggest you to wait it out and buy it later. I don't understand the reasoning making this episodic. It's the first and most tragic offense of a few committed by TellTale in this particular game. Some may not have as big of a problem with this as I do, but to fragment such short episodes into this span of time is complete silliness.

I suppose another play-through is in order to grab the few remaining achievements absent from my trophy wall, or a very sly excuse to indulge my sudden love-affair with the story and offer other options in my dialogue challenges.

These timed dialogue (multiple choice) challenges are the bulk of the game play in A Wolf Among Us aside from the few irritating bullseye, button punches used in some battle scenes.I wasn't a fan of this in The Walking Dead, and I'm no fan of this technique in this game either.It feel clunky. As if the developers couldn't be bothered to either spend the extra effort or time trying and testing out a better solution. I have a feeling it was a quick solution that everyone agreed was "good enough" for all intents and purposes and simply made it easier when developing for mult-platforms. Regardless of the reason(s), I'm not a fan and find it bothersome.

During episode 4, I experienced a game-breaking glitch where all of my dialogue options read, "THIS CHOICE LEFT BLANK". They weren't actually blank. They were unbelievably worded this way. A quick game exit and return proved to be an adequate repair and allowed me to resume ever onward. Sadly, when playing a story-rich title like this it breaks immersion and can take a little time to regain rhythm.

The story and keen design are what sets A Wolf Among Us apart from the usual "mundane" titles being flung at us consumers on a weekly basis. TellTale has nailed it with this style of game and improved upon The Walking Dead. You're immersed in literature, cinema, and gaming all at once, and it is positively fantastic! My few qualms with A Wolf Among Us is nothing in comparison to everything done right with this game. I feel real emotional responses with this game and have formed a bond with the lead characters. The story is drenched in suspense and intrigue throughout the entire 4 episodes not missing one opportunity to dazzle and amaze the player. I believe that's the most difficult objective relating to game developers but is easily pulled off here without a hitch.

So to boil this down to a short conclusion, it is in my very humble opinion, that everyone with half a brain grab this and treat yourself to a great time. Even by Episode 4 you'll receive more playtime than with most other competing AAA titles and receive a more fulfilling story even with the cliffhanger ending. The cons keep it from being a (so far) perfectly put together game, but present in no way an excuse not to allow yourself the bliss in the A Wolf Among Us experience.

This is coming from someone with very high expectations coming in and hasn't been let down at all.

89

Brilliant Noir adventure, Telltalle style

darkyhbk | June 19, 2014 | See all darkyhbk's reviews »

The Wolf Among us follows the successful receipe of The Walking Dead, and offers a very suspenseful plot, great characters and the permanent promise of more to come. Without spoiling too much of the plot, it follows the crime investigations of Sheriff Bigby Wolf, and features a great number of classic fairy tale characters placed into a wholly different context. The tale is very mature, with a lot of gory content, but that's part of what makes it great. Just like in The Walking Dead Season 2, there's unfortunately not much to do apart from wandering around, searching for clues and taking hard decisions, but this enables the story not to stray, which is ultimately a good thing. All in all, I would definitely recommend this game, even if you don't like comic books, its source of inspiration. I don't, yet I was sucked in right from the start.

95

Simply Brilliant!

H4ZD4M4N | April 28, 2014 | See all H4ZD4M4N's reviews »

As a huge fan of both the 'Fables' comic series and 'The Walking Dead' series of games by Telltale Games, I was massively excited to get my hands on this game. I can confirm that I was not disappointed.

Following the now classic Telltale formula, you will play as a character who has to make many choices throughout each episode of the game and ultimately feel like your decisions are impacting the story in a big way.

This is a very stylish game and it recreates the Fables universe beautifully in that regard. The characters are all faithful to the originals too, but don't worry if you are not a reader of the comics, they are all introduced properly and fully here.

The episodes that have been released so far (1-3) have been fantastic and I have very high hopes for the next 2 and for a second season to be announced!

Highly recommended.

90

Just the usual quality from Telltale

Jackassman | April 23, 2014 | See all Jackassman's reviews »

Telltale found a great way (form) to tell perfectly written stories (starting with The Walking Dead), and it is the same here. Maybe you don't have the same hard choices like in TWD, but the music, the graphical art, the atmosphere and the dialogues are all great. It also made me start reading the comics too.

93

Just excellent

MarkDeejay | April 16, 2014 | See all MarkDeejay's reviews »

The Wolf Among Us took me by surprise. Just when I thought Telltale Games couldn't possibly surpass last year's The Walking Dead here comes The Wolf Among Us which is not only beautifully made (like a comic book in motion), but also well told and orchestrated, intriguing and exciting. This first episode has already won me over. I wonder how they're actually going to 1-up it. It seems almost impossible. Bravo Telltale Games, keep 'em coming!

75

Murder Most Howl

damodarko | April 9, 2014 | See all damodarko's reviews »

This game sunk its teeth in from the very beginning, the art and music are just astonishing. The range of dialogue is both witty and humorous. The characters and their traits that mirror fiction really come to life in this story.

You play as the big bad wolf, a detective in a "grimm" less than fairy tale world. There is no glamour and glitz to this tale. We join our antihero, at shocking time for our fictional cast, a Fable has been murdered. With your spotted past and less than pleasant demeanor, it makes it a struggle to uncover what's really at the bottom of things.

The writing and direction of this game is superb and each variable leaves a considerable impact to the outcome. Telltale have really delivered a neat package with this series. I am hooked and I await each passing episode. Episode one, gives you a large introduction to the story and world, however epsiode two is very short. Both are packed full of content and with the only complaint being I want more... I think this tale will be told for some time yet.

90

Good, if you are willing to wait.

Hucxi | March 21, 2014 | See all Hucxi's reviews »

This game is really well written, well executed, and done in a wonderfully artistic style. The only problem I have with it is the release schedule. The episodes come out every few months, which is a long time to wait for an hour or two of play each episode.

90

Excellent storytelling, true to the series

Skeride | Feb. 22, 2014 | See all Skeride's reviews »

This is a very stylish 3D choose your own adventure with surprisingly not-annoying quicktime event combat sequences.

Everything's very well done. The interface is minimalistic, and keeps you in the setting. The Fables universe is faithfully recreated. The music is forgettable, but appropriate and pleasant.

I own most Telltale adventure games, but this is the first one I didn't have to take regular breaks from playing due to lack of interest. Highly recommended, and a good value at full price.

(As of this review, only the first two episodes are out.)

95

An example of storytelling

munkyhead86 | Feb. 11, 2014 | See all munkyhead86's reviews »

The guys from Telltale did it again! I have witnessed this company grow and evolve, ever since the time they've revived the Monkey Island franchise. In my opinion, their entire Walking Dead season was a huge lesson to all game developers in means of telling a story properly. I have played it alone, with my wife and even with my friends, discovering new story paths every time I've played it.

This is why this game, The Wolf Among Us, was an instant purchase for me. Ever since it was posted, I bought it - and let me tell you, I'm not disappointed!

The awesome storytelling is back, in a distinct look. I haven't read the comics it is based on, but this game really 'sells' it. As you might have imagined, the storyline is my main point of attraction - I only play games that are mentally challenging - the 'watching a movie' or 'reading a book' experience. TWAU totally delivers, as it sets aim of telling a story and two episodes in - it does it in a unprecedented way.

Everything else is there to support the plot - the graphics are obviously not FPS-ish, but they totally do what they intend to. The audio design, voice acting and everything else does just that - tell a great and immersive story.

I can recommend this game without any hesitation, you'll enjoy it!

90

Loved The Walking Dead? Try this!

sidd230 | Feb. 5, 2014 | See all sidd230's reviews »

This does a good job of explaining the Fables universe to people who aren't a fan of the comics. It plays a lot like The Walking Dead, it looks fantastic, and has a really good story. The Walking Dead was my favorite game of 2012, and I think I like The Wolf Among Us just as much, if not more. That said, there is only two episodes out so far, and so I have no idea what it will be like for the next three. And, almost worse, I have to wait for all four of those to come out! But yeah, as a big Walking Dead fan, I wholeheartedly recommend The Wolf Among Us.

85

A dark, thoughtful opening

bradysam | Jan. 19, 2014 | See all bradysam's reviews »

If you have played The Walking Dead at all you know roughly what to expect. The game mostly plays out like an interactive story where you chose the responses and what actions the character goes for. Almost everything that you do will have consequences, both immediate and long standing. Like The Walking Dead as well it's a game that really conveys the weight of each choice. The characters are all very interesting and well thought out, even though I was initially skeptical of fairy tale characters in a gritty city setting, I was very quickly won over. If you have any interest in story based games or was won over by the walking dead then it's definitely worth picking up this game. I can't wait for the rest of the chapters to be released.

95

Very Impressed

logicbomb | Jan. 10, 2014 | See all logicbomb's reviews »

I bought this game because of some good reviews I've seen. I had never heard of the comic's that the game is based off of but I have played and loved Telltales TWD and many others. TWD (The Walking Dead) was one of my favorite games of the decade and I went into this game expecting it to be a good game but not a great game. Not only was it better then TWD, but now I am reading the comics because the world is so amazing and different. I cannot recommend this game more.

96

Emotionally rich and rewarding

MrSpatula | Dec. 1, 2013 | See all MrSpatula's reviews »

Telltale's latest episodic epic, based on Bill Willingham's 'Fables' comics, takes what worked well in the gameplay of last year's 'The Walking Dead' and combines it with a gritty fantastical noir.

The plot is engaging and the twists and turns the story takes will surprise even a dedicated Fables fan, even though this is a prequel. We are given a lot more control over Bigby's moral compass than Lee's, and you will become very attached to the character as you shape his identity and personality.

With a great cliffhanger, I can't wait to see where Telltale takes this series next.

90

Great beginning

mcofdiablo | Dec. 1, 2013 | See all mcofdiablo's reviews »

Telltale games is famous for developing adventure games. They did them for a pretty long time, but were never considered a major studio. But everything changed after they released The Walking Dead game. It was a huge success. To tell the truth, for me personally it was their first game I have played, and I really liked. Thus I expected the new game from TT Games very eagerly.

Now we have the first episode of The Wolf among us. It is noir game based on comic series. You play as a sheriff Big B Wolf. Graphically the game looks like Walking Dead - they used the same engine and cell-shading style. But it looks incredible. From the very first frame - the title screen - I fell in love with this game.

Well, the game is a very harsh word. I would classify it as interactive movie - as you just go to locations, explore and interact with objects, and talk to characters. The characters are very interesting. There is no bad or good character - they are all in between - grey. That's what makes this game true to life, all characters have their own credible motives.

There are a few important decisions you have to make in the first episode, and we will see what consequences expect us further. But for now, the game is incredible thanks to Telltale Games talent to tell exciting stylish stories. Highly recommended.

95

Surprisingly Good.

exit850 | Nov. 12, 2013 | See all exit850's reviews »

I've never played Telltale game before. So picking up this game was an adventure. I read from many reviews that the walking dead is great game, but also some peaple disliked it and called it Not A Game. After finishing Act 1 of The wolf among us. It made me want to play the walking dead, the game made by same developer. I am really hooked up to the storyline of Fable, the original graphic novel. Can't wait for remaining Acts. The only downside is waiting for remaining Acts. You pay the full price, but only able to play the first Act of the game. More will come in bi-monthly I heard. So if you do not like to wait, you can pick up the walking dead season 1, which is finished.

92

Telltales premature success

IamLincoln | Nov. 8, 2013 | See all IamLincoln's reviews »

Just as in the first episode of The Walking Dead, "The Wolf Among Us" captures and ensnares you in its unique storytelling. The choices you make in the game, heavily impacts you in a way that leaves you wondering whether you made the right decision. Its an emotional connection you experience in games. Based on my impression of the first episode, and the Walking Dead, I am certain that The Wolf Among Us will be a fantastic story to follow.

95

Who's Afriad of the Big Bad Wolf?

Frieki7 | Nov. 6, 2013 | See all Frieki7's reviews »

Telltale Games, known most recently for their excellent walking dead series, has released the first of five episodic based on the Fables comic series created by Bill Willingham. You see, all the fairy tale creatures you read growing up are very real in this world. Except instead of magical castles in a far off land, the fairy tale creatures are forced to move to "Fabletown," a rundown suburb of New York City. This forces the creatures to hide from society and do what they have to in order to pay next month's rent. This series puts you in the roll of Bigby Wolf (see what they did there), who is tasked with the job of protecting the creatures of “Fabletown” from the outside world and from each other.

What follows is an interactive narrative in which you engage in brawls, investigate crime scenes, and interact with various fairy tale characters. Most of the time, you'll be making decisions that influence your story into somewhat divergent paths. These paths could involve something as subtle as not paying your bar tab to extreme scenarios where characters live or die. It’s these decisions that are the most compelling part of “The Wolf Among Us” and will almost certainly have you questioning whether you made the “right” decision. I say “right,” because Telltale Games succeeds in making most choices not have a clear “good” or “bad” answer. This game provides many “watercooler moments” in which you’ll talk to your friends about the decisions you made and the consequences you received for those decisions. Half the fun of the game is debating others as to why you chose certain decisions.

When you’re not making harrowing decisions, you’ll be engaging in brawls and crime investigations. Brawls are largely handled by Quicktime events (QTEs), which is sometimes seen as a turnoff to certain gamers. However, Telltale attempts to make their QTEs a little more engaging by allowing you to choose how the fight will progress (e.g., will you throw the fighter into a sink, a bed, or a cabinet). With respect to crime investigations, this game is not CSI. Most of the crime scenes are simply exploring the scenes in order to find clues for a murder. Another has you questioning a suspect who denies any crime took place.

It should be pretty obvious if this game is for you. If you enjoy narrative driven games, games that focus on characters and choices, and don’t hold a vendetta against wolves for eating your family, then you owe yourself the chance to experience this game. It’s too soon to tell if this game will live up to the high expectations of “The Walking Dead,” but I take this excellent first chapter as a telltale sign that they are on the right track.

85

Wolf Among Us - A worthy investment?

perplexitycomp | Nov. 6, 2013 | See all perplexitycomp's reviews »

Wolf Among Us is the latest release from telltale games, known for their episodic adventure titles. In a similar vain to The Walking Dead, this title focuses on creating a strong narrative. Game play is minimalist but the experience is made stronger for it. With interesting characters and an engaging plot, it is easy to become engrossed in the world of the game. As with The Walking Dead series, player choice plays a big role in the way the story unfolds. I felt as though I was making decisions that may have more impact in later episodes, but only time will tell. I believe, judging by the first episode that this game is definitely a worthy investment. The story has me honestly wanting more, and the world of Fables seems interesting enough to be a worthy time-sink.

90

TellTale keeps getting better

DdominatonX | Oct. 28, 2013 | See all DdominatonX's reviews »

I've played the first episode three times already just so I can find out how the story would change, Telltale has really improved since the Walking Dead and continue's to mock me with there awesome endings. Definitely a game to try out if you're looking for suspense and action.

88

A story that pulls you in.

Aralt | Oct. 26, 2013 | See all Aralt's reviews »

The Wold among Us is the latest game from telltale games, makers of the game of the year, the walking dead. The game follows the same art style and while its not going to win any best graphics awards, its still does enough to pull you in and see the details. The game is set in Fabletown and has characters from fairy tales in a current day setting (like Once Open a time, only darker) and they do remember who they are. You play as Bigby Wolf, who is the Big bad wolf turned sheriff, as such you are going to do detective work and beat people up. but the real fun comes in the story telling and the chooses you make. Just like with the Walking dead, something you do may result in someone dying or a bad guy getting away. The game puts you in the setting quick and my only problem with the first episode is how quick things got out of hand. Other than that I look forward to playing the rest of the episodes.

98

A great drama interaction.

SirHeroTheBrave | Oct. 25, 2013 | See all SirHeroTheBrave's reviews »

This was amazing so far. If you know the fable comics, or even the show "Grimm" this is simular. It is based off the comic books by vertigo DC. Right there it tells you it will be great. It is tense and mind boggling. The story seems to have many plot twists. And bigby is the stereotypical "bad ass". It has mystery, darkness, and even some comedy, maybe a little bit of horror. You get to see many of the fables you may have forgotten as a child. I say get this.

90

2 out of 2 for Telltale Games!

Swesse | Oct. 24, 2013 | See all Swesse's reviews »

Last year, Telltale Games proved in their episodic adventure "The Walking Dead" that they were something out of the ordinary when it comes to storytelling and immersion. With "The Wolf Among Us", they have yet again proven that they indeed are unprecedented when it comes to pulling us into the world, taking us on an emotional rollencoaster wrapped up in an original and interesting story.

In The Wolf Among Us, we start out in a gritty and decadent New York neighbourhood that the inhabitants call Fabletown. The reason for this name is that it acts as a ghetto for fables, protected from the outside world's interest by spells from the witches. Indeed this is the very same fables that we all have read during our childhood - from The Wind in the Willows to Snow White and Humpty Dumpty.

While the story of the abovementioned characters were warm and cheerful, The Wolf Among Us takes place after "the exodus" - where the fables were driven from their lands. We play as Wolf Bigby, formerly known as "The Big Bad Wolf", who tries to redeem the infamy gained by his older ways, while working as the sheriff of Fabletown. Along with Snow White, now divorced after Prince Charming cheated on her, Wolf Bigby is put to the test when murder occurs. And the only way to solve the crime is by you, the player, to make the right choices and find the right information in this QTE ridden point-and-click adventure that is sure to captivate you, leaving you yearning for the next episode to come out!

90

Absolutely Stunning

orkboyz17 | Oct. 23, 2013 | See all orkboyz17's reviews »

The Wolf Among Us is the Telltales follow-up to their critically acclaimed title The Walking Dead. Based on the comic book series Fables this beautiful game takes place in the stylised, film noir influenced setting of Fabletown. If anyone has played a past Telltale game then you will not be surprised that the game mostly comprises of simple puzzles, QTE's and story based choices. Telltale take everything up a notch from The Walking Dead with some stunning aesthetics and a well presented story with decent voice acting and great animations. If you loved The walking Dead then I think this title is worth checking out.

85

Episode 1 Review - A solid start to a great episodic game

DrMircow | Oct. 22, 2013 | See all DrMircow's reviews »

For a game which is story-driven, I can’t spoil anything here. However, I must say that the story is always compelling and excellently paced and the choices you make are meaningful, even for a second playthrough. On a plus side, the game at least remains faithful to the source material.

The gameplay is based around interacting with characters and objects and making choices, so expect some QTEs too. If you played TWD or any Telltale games, it’s a bit like that. Sadly, there aren't really any true "puzzles" in the game, so that might disappoint some hardcore adventure fans.

As far as graphics go, I feel like this is more of a personal taste really. Artistically, they look great and capture that comic book feeling. However, from a technical point of view, they are outdated by today's standards. But then again, Telltale is not known for their graphics and for an adventure game, it shouldn't matter too much because the storyline is what counts the most.

The voice acting is great. All the voice actors have done a great job to create the feeling of the comic books. I could even say that voice acting is even better than any Telltale games done in the past.

Honestly, my only major complain with this game is the lack of freedom the game provides. In other words, the game is pretty linear and forces you to generally go from A to B. Thus, the sense of exploration or roaming to discover more about the lore like in classic adventure games doesn't exist here. But don't worry, interacting with characters is enough to understand the story and its characters from the comic book for those who never read the Fable series, like myself.

Overall, this is a solid start to a great episodic game as far as story goes. I really enjoyed the first episode, but honestly, it could've been even better in some places.. Hopefully this series will be as good as TWD, but only time will tell. Nonetheless, if you enjoyed TWD series, then buy this.

90

Telltale does it again

Dororo | Oct. 22, 2013 | See all Dororo's reviews »

Having played through episode 1, I can't wait for the next episode. Similiar storytelling as in The Walking Dead, with a few new additions gameplay wise make this game really enjoyable to play.

The game is based on the Fables comic, which to be honest I had never heard of prior to playing this game, and takes place in a dark world rich on interesting characters based on old fables and fairy tales. The voice acting makes the absurd characters come alive in a fascinating way, comparable to a Miyasaki film.

The first episode is full of important choices that you get to make, a fair amount of action, and lots of surprises. It can only get better from here on out!

If you liked Telltale's The Walking Dead, I can almost guarantee that you will love this game.

90

Who's afraid of THE big bad wolf?

michalmichal | Oct. 22, 2013 | See all michalmichal's reviews »

If you liked the Walking Dead, you will love the Wolf Among Us. It looks similar, but even better. It plays equally good but even more exciting. It uses the well tried schemas but puts them to the best use I've seen. It is based on the Fables comic books from DC Comics/Vertigo, so I think most comic books fans will easily recognize the way things go and characters are. If you don't know yet, the books are not really targetted at children, they're pretty much adult stuff, and so is the game. I wouldn't recommend it to younger or more sensitive audience, but if you are a veteran adventure gamer and enjoy mature approach to gaming, this will be your game.

87

Can't wait to play the rest of the chapters

manbehindthesun | Oct. 21, 2013 | See all manbehindthesun's reviews »

The art style is the first thing that hits you, it places you inside a living, breathing comic book filled with the quirky characters from your childhood stories. And you're the big bad wolf in charge of their safety. I know it's based on the Fable comic series, but I had no notion of what to expect. All I know is that it sounds a bit silly on paper, but it works better than expected.

Very shallow in the puzzle department, it's basically an interactive story, one that keeps you interested from start to finish. I got to the end of the first chapter in only one sitting, which says a lot about its length but also about the game's ability to keep me interested.

Bring on the rest and make it your best so far, Telltale!

92

Perfect

DanJamesStone12 | Oct. 19, 2013 | See all DanJamesStone12's reviews »

Although only Episode 1 has been released, I am loving this game. The gameplay style is similar to that of The Walking Dead, but of course the story is completely different. Already your decisions are starting to have an impact- and I'm sure that as the story progresses they will make a huge difference.

So far, the story is intense and mysterious, with great references to fairytales and fables, adding an awesome touch. Get it now!

85

Another Phenomenal Telltale Game

Arcadium | Oct. 19, 2013 | See all Arcadium's reviews »

Telltale has always been a quality developer but they really struck gold when they released The Walking Dead last year and I’m sure I wasn't the only one who wasn't sure whether or not they could follow it up. The Wolf Among Us shows that they've still got some magic leftover and it’s different enough tonally to feel like a totally fresh experience from TWD. Visually I feel like it really takes to the comic book style better than The Walking Dead did and the bright colors really make everything pop more. Unfortunately there are still similar bugs such as slowdowns that plagued TWD but it’s either less so here or I just got lucky. Considering Telltale knew of the issue when developing TWD it’s slightly disappointing to see the same thing happening here but it isn’t major enough to ruin your experience. The Wolf Among Us should definitely be picked up if you’re a fan of the Fables comic or of TellTale adventure games.

100

The Wolf Among Us

Matt43 | Oct. 19, 2013 | See all Matt43's reviews »

It was easy to assume that the developers , inspired by the highly successful The Walking Dead: The Game, and his next project will use a similar gameplay formula. But what The Wolf Among Us. Episode 1 - Faith becomes virtually a carbon copy of " The Walking Dead" , it was , frankly, a surprise. And at first it wants to be called exceptionally unpleasant. Here 's all the same : reduced until the allegedly primitive quest, allowing the player to inspect only the active points and collect items ( all of them in the first episode and remain lying dead weight in the inventory) , the alleged shooter , brought up on nabivshih already on edge QTE, and, of course , numerous dialogues, forcing the player for a limited time and choose a replica of a course of conduct in the conversation. After that, the game just as pointedly said that the speaker appreciated being said, remember , thank you , or vice versa , is not very pleased. And five minutes later he can go to the hereafter - so it is not clear what this is all important. If in front of us was the second season of The Walking Dead, no one would be most likely, and never said a word . There are still important - not mechanics and emotions , tears and a severe moral choices . Last though not affect the development of the plot , but the skin makes you feel how hard the man forced to decide himself to shoot the little boy infected or give the gun to his father. A good script and interactive dialogues were enough to squeeze out of the players real experiences. But how to achieve the same effect in-game comic book Fables, which looks like a paraphrase frankly delusional trash comedy ? For those who do not know: the primary source through the streets of modern New York swagger Snow White , Sleeping Beauty , Pinocchio , gray wolf , Bluebeard , and other characters of fairy tales , myths and legends. The author of these comics , Bill Uillinghem , came up with the legend that the people's heroes ( and not only) fled from his native folklore fairy world (where it is too dangerous) and settled his own commune in the " Big Apple ." Those who can afford a special spell that changes the shape of the human , live in the city , the rest live on less freely Farm , in fact - in the ghetto. Uillinghem added to the heap here cannibalism , bestiality , noir and a little " Men in Black " - Grey Wolf became a detective and a sheriff who not only keeps order in this fabulous nut house , but also free to send on the farm all those shows its true face and thus poses a threat to the security of all literary creatures. The gray wolf (or rather , the sheriff Bigby Wolf ), and became the hero of The Wolf Among Us. But what he may have severe emotional choice? Charged with the crime Bluebeard or Woodman ? Pour a glass of whiskey to one of the three little pigs or make Neath - NIFA on the farm ? In fact, such a choice is it really going to be ( drinking pig is sleeping on his couch ), but , surprisingly , less often during the passage you will laugh . Telltale pulled from the comic flavor of the film noir detective story with all the associated parts ( except, perhaps , jazz ) : there are constantly Smolyan and adoring whiskey protagonist , depression , fatal beauty and intricate crimes. More precisely, one crime , but what all very dashing twirled around looking serial killer who cuts off the head almost all the pretty girls with whom (accidentally or not ) communicates sheriff . Clearly, this is a cheap trick , like the shooting of a dying child, but it works again : this story is constantly interesting to watch . By the same choice in The Wolf Among Us really is furnished more complex and interesting than The Walking Dead. Twice during the first episode , we decide what to do next : at what location to go in the first place and which of the two suspects arrested ( the second will be able to escape ) . This does not just depends if we have time , for example, to save one of the characters - even our choice and affects the substantive content of the next few scenes. In the second episode of these solutions if they do not turn the whole story, then certainly affect the progress and quality of the investigation. In what style to look the offender - is also up to you, you can win back the good or bad cop . Large ( and by default evil ) Gray wolf can beat and torture suspects , intimidating witnesses of atrocities , and can come with counter , as if it did not sound crazy , like human beings. While the game is slightly inferior to inflame the " walking dead ", but there is really confusing plot the offense to which you want to step up the investigation very seriously - despite the pig - alcoholic, bipedal toad and the magic mirror that shows the location of the desired character in response to the firm's " mirror, mirror , tell me ... ". We just need to ignore the rudimentary mechanics and enjoy the adventure. Especially this time the traditional warning developers "This story is developing , depending on your choice" really seems to be true .

98

Like The Walking Dead but different (Episode 1)

RicBac | Oct. 18, 2013 | See all RicBac's reviews »

The first thing you can't help but do is compare it to The Walking Dead. Well They have alot in common. Graphics and gameplay is almost identical and of course the story is tailored by your choices-thing.

The first episode has an epic story that has you coming back for more. A good pace in gameplay, with action, conversations and some point-and-click.

The story's foundation is like the tv-series "once upon a time" but on crack. With characters from fables in the real world. It's done in a really cool way.

If the rest of the episodes are as good as the first, then this will truly be an epic game!

96

A real kick in the pants!

theferalwarrior | Oct. 18, 2013 | See all theferalwarrior's reviews »

Stop reading this review and buy the game!

Still here? Ok... Let me ask you a few questions. Did you like The Walking Dead Game by Telltale? Do you like good stories? Have you been looking for memorable characters? Want some eyecandy?

If you answered yes to these questions, then this game is for you. The first episode of Wolf Among Us left me breathless. The graphics are gorgeous. The voice acting, in usual Telltale fashion, is fantastic. The story is well written and will keep you hook till the end of the episode. The action is frantic and the atmosphere second to none. You can't go wrong with this game.

95

The next step in telltales story telling franchise.

DocDresden | Oct. 17, 2013 | See all DocDresden's reviews »

Disclaimer: I'm not familiar with the comic series.

The game is a highly successful follow-up to the smash hit of last year, The Walking Dead. They've upgraded numerous bits of the interface, and allowed a new system that affects how story events play out. Choosing between two areas to go to may not seem like much, but at the same time it changes the story at the other when you go to one. Characters may not be there, others may be easier to interact with based upon the amount of time passed before seeing them. The setting is fantastic, bringing you up to speed on the world relatively quickly with a compendium, titled the book of fables, for extra reading to familiarize oneself with the characters and locations.

In future chapters, I'd hope to see better utilization of Bigby's detective skills, as the few investigative portions seem to hold your hand while looking through it, the simplicity of the system does lead itself away from finding clues and more towards looking at circles to run through your options with.

All in all, the game is a very positive experience and I'm glad to see that this new system of taking IP's and translating them into an interactive medium is paying off in spades, creating memorable stories in the process.

82

Telltale did it again

el_pelado95 | Oct. 15, 2013 | See all el_pelado95's reviews »

This company knows how to make nice games. Just like The Walking Dead, the best part of this game is his Argument. A dark and noir story with awesome characters (exellent voices and animations), cool music and outstanding graphics (the "comic" style looks pretty good).

The "choice system" is better here. Now your choices affects a bit more the main history.

Just like TWD, if you like the work of Telltale, you have to buy it.

100

Now this is magnificent !

fussioman | Oct. 15, 2013 | See all fussioman's reviews »

I thought that nothing will get me into the story and characters more like The Walking Dead but the Tell Tale Games crew did this to me again with a new title ! The gaphics looks stunning and the story is so addictive, so many things are happening ! I completed the first chapter and man ! You must play it if you liked The Walking Dead, you just must ! I had no problems with the game, runs very good. Tell Tale Games is my favourite studio - brings so high quality games ! So be sure to buy this title ! Worth every cent and leaves you wanting to play more and more.

85

Another good title from Telltale

Cavalieroscuro | Oct. 15, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

The first episode of The Wolf Among Us is very good. I will not spoil the story, of course (because this game is ALL about story), but this is based on the famous Vertigo comic Fables, so if you know it, you know what atmosphere you can find here. The gameplay is pretty much the same of "The Walking Dead", now you can do several choices in different times and this will affcet the story. The graphic is wonderful: it seem's something like a cartoon,mixed with a comic book. If you loved Telltale titles, take this one too.

90

Interesting mystery

AcidRulez | Oct. 15, 2013 | See all AcidRulez's reviews »

I was not sure what to expect from this game, but after my first playthrough of the first episode I am hooked.

The Wolf Among Us is a who-dun-it thriller in a fantasy world. It mixes different genres and the outcome is exiting and interesting. Your care about the protagonist from the first chapter and it is up to you to decide what kind of character he should be, due to Telltales way of making these games.

I am looking forward to the next chapter.

90

TTG gets another apparent winner.

jvires | Oct. 15, 2013 | See all jvires's reviews »

Loved The Walking Dead, so decided to give this one a shot. Before seeing the video on Steam, I hadn't ever heard of this IP. Having faith in the dev since they provided the most emotionally driven game of last year, I figured that I would get in on the ground floor on this one. Boy, am I glad that I did.

I will start out with the positives, and there are quite a few. The voice acting is superb, and the developers ability to create characters that is easy to sympathize with is unmatched in the industry currently. The art style had a definite film noir feel to it and this seems to fit the story perfectly since it starts out as a murder investigation(I don't feel that this deserves a spoiler warning since it is talked about in every trailer that I have watched). TTG also included some background info on different characters/locations that you can unlock, but it doesn't seem difficult to unlock since I had gotten all but one opened in one playthrough.

Now, on to the bad. The controls can be a little 'clunky' since there were times that I pressed the LT when RT was called for and I still got the good action. Also, since episode 1 is the only one released so far, I can't vouch on a trouble-free transfer of save data over to later episodes(I'm not going to take anything away just because of previous history of TWD since I don't feel that fair). Also, there was a point where you have to choose which lead to follow, but at least with the option I choose, I was able to discover what the other lead was. I personally feel that it would have been nice if I wasn't to know what the other side of that choice was so I would feel the weight of my choice.

Overall, I feel that this is out to a great start. Be warned, there is a large unforeseen cliffhanger at the end of episode one so be careful of what sites you visit as it could conceivably be spoiled. I feel that anyone who enjoyed The Walking Dead due to the aspect of relationships will find themselves at home with this series.

90

Faboulous!

Jaevlar | Oct. 14, 2013 | See all Jaevlar's reviews »

Telltale does it again!

Been waiting for this ever since I first got wind of it, and it delivers the same great story telling as The Walking Dead. I haven't read the comics but I think i got into the setting of the game quite early.

It feels like Telltle has stepped up a notch since The Walking Dead, nicer looking "cartoonish" artstyle, voice acting is superb, the setting and the lore was drawing me in instantly.

The game feels fresh, to take on old folktales and fables and executing it in such a way that it doesn't feel childish or silly but rather the opposite, a mature and gritty setting where every choice ultimately feels like it matters since they will carry on into the next episode.

Eagerly awaiting episode 2, a must buy!

85

Pretty good start

klemen1702 | Oct. 12, 2013 | See all klemen1702's reviews »

So the game is a pretty good start its about 1.5 -2 hours long and I have to say its worth it you pay 20$ for a 10 hour movie or a graphic novel. The story sucks you in and you soon find your self immersed in the story only thing is that I suggest you buy play the whole story. I recommend it

80

Good

Jamo | Oct. 12, 2013 | See all Jamo's reviews »

The game itself does not diverge significantly from what worked well in The Walking Dead . Again we will have to deal with an adventure game in which the main emphasis will be on exploring rather large slice of New York ( and perhaps also the farm ) , collect items and evidence and interviews with a dizzying array of colorful characters . Somewhat upsize will fight. They will continue to be based on the sequences of Quick Time events, but due to the nature of taking part in them as well as their super-human strength could be tempted to expand them . Sam Bigby happy to give vent to their true nature and will change depending on your needs, a werewolf or even completely into a wolf . But we must remember that the important part of the world community of The Wolf Among Us is an anonymity and use of all the advantages it may bring more negative consequences , despite winning a skirmish than a permit , we received several blows to the wolf's mouth . On the other hand, even a little thing like a black eye will affect the perception of us by NPCs , so also in the duel game will force difficult decisions

82

Good

Bolo | Oct. 12, 2013 | See all Bolo's reviews »

Episodic adventure based on the story of the popular comic book series Fables, developed by Telltale Games. Characters from fairy tales have escaped before a sinister Adversary to our world. The gameplay is based on exploring the various locations, interact with the environment and characters encountered and solving logical puzzles.

93

Pure heaven,

AlbusDlx | Oct. 12, 2013 | See all AlbusDlx's reviews »

I really enjoyed this game. Like TWD the episodes could have been longer. But if you look past that this game is among the better story driven games to date. (imo) The cell shading works great and the new engine really shows off, Some textures are pathetically low res. But it did not bother me one bit, Compared to The walking dead this has a way better quicktime events, the controls cant even be compared. Zombies will be zombies. This game has The big bad wolf, Snow White, Beauty and the BEast, Woodsman and more to come. What other game will bring all these characters into to one action/horror game? 9/10 and if the following episodes are as good, the score will only rise. If you loved the walking dead, then perhaps you are a whiny fanboy who will give this game shit, if you likes twd you will like this as well. If you liked the style and bored by the dated zombie theme, then perhaps you will love this! Don´t get me wrong, I loved tws as well, but this is groundbreaking.

85

Telltale did it again

lok0812 | Oct. 11, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

After the excellent Walking Dead from Telltale, they did it again with another episodic story game, The Wolf Among Us. The player play as the werewolf sheriff to investigate crimes. Similar to The Walking Dead, your choices in this game matter even more because of the introduction of the timing system of having you to go to 2 places and you can only choose one at the given time. Overall, another great story game by Telltale with great dialogues and lots of plot twists. Definitely give this game a try if you enjoyed The Walking Dead.

85

Based in comics, The Wolf Among Us

SkyorZX | Oct. 11, 2013 | See all SkyorZX's reviews »

The wolf among us is a game that put you in the skin of Bigby Wolf, wolf in human form, exiled to the city of New York with another comic characters . This game based in comics has a nice story that will catch you, The wolf among us collect comic characters in a violent and mature story, that show you a bad life in a gothic city that you would not want to have. I think the difficult of the game is so hard that for me is a nice incentive to pass all the game with a smile in my face.

95

From the creators of The Walkind Dead!

segrand | Oct. 10, 2013 | See all segrand's reviews »

From the creators of The Walking Dead. This can be seen besides the graphics, which so easily gets old like many contemporary production. A game that is worth playing due to an interesting story, great graphics gameplay that attracts attention from the very beginning, and interesting characters. Maybe the game divided into episodes, it will definitely be worth it to invest in them. Recommended!