Reviews for Just Cause Capsule

70

It gets points for trying?

Kaieh1234 | April 24, 2013 | See all Kaieh1234's reviews »

Just Cause is a game I have restarted about 5 times, on PC and XBOX in an effort to try and finish, its a game that I almost feel sorry for, because I want to like it, but it makes this very difficult for me to do so.

Rico and his parachute that fires out of his back every time hes more than 5 feet off the air, really got to me, very quickly, although it can be useful when actually falling from massive heights, as intended.

The aiming accuracy is absolutely horrendous, although the fact you can hijack vehicles by clinging onto them and following them with a parachute and dive onto them, was highly amusing to me for the first few times.

I think it's worth a try if you want to have a little bit of silly fun, it's pretty cheap and you most likely wont regret it if you're into your open world games such as GTA.

78

Great in it's Genre.

DonVercetti | Feb. 2, 2013 | See all DonVercetti's reviews »

In the first game of the Just Cause franchise, you play Rico Rodriguez, an undercover CIA agent who enjoys overthrowing governments. His next destination: San Esperito. This South American island is busy storing WMD, and that's something the CIA does not enjoy, nor does Rico! I remember when this game came out back in '06. I've spend a lot of hours in this title, more than I have put in the follow up title Just Cause 2, and that says something!

72

Fun, but repetitive

Lekes | Jan. 19, 2013 | See all Lekes's reviews »

The land is enormous, the graphics are now a bit dated, but absolutely not bad. The best part about this game is the way stunts work. Allowing me to drive off a cliff in a burning car, narrowly escape the explosion by jumping to and commandeer a nearby military helicopter all the while the chasing police cars fly by, both plays and looks great. It really makes you feel like a super secret agent. Unfortunately it's not all good, the main story is somewhat dull, and the side missions get repetitive real quick.

71

Just Cause - review

carlyle | Jan. 7, 2013 | See all carlyle's reviews »

The spectacle found in Just Cause is really high levels: those that are typical possibility of a free roaming title as the means to steal the title of Eidos implements the novelty of actions worthy of the best action movies with our Rodriguez that goes on the roof of a car and jump on another medium, or clings on the wing of a plane and dives in the air as if nothing had happened. From this point of view, Just Cause truly represents a breakthrough in terms of freedom of action seen that we can use any possible solution to complete a mission. Though not too original quests (secondary ones are not necessary, but enable us to have at our disposal new tools and weapons) to be completed are quite varied, solved in different ways and the required achievements of the strongholds of the government with the guerrillas or drug traffickers have certainly appeal rather high. Unfortunately, the gameplay is not able to reach all the quotes present in GTA: too little convincing the driving of vehicles with answers "inconsistent" between half and one and during the shootings the interaction takes place in an excessively rough and intelligence artificial proves very little intelligent.

70

Good game

Lippe1989 | Dec. 26, 2012 | See all Lippe1989's reviews »

Just Cause is not a brilliant game. Even Just Cause 2 is not a brilliant game 2. But I think that in the second case they worked more to give us a better experience with better gameplay and graphics. The open world is also bigger. But it does not make the first one a bad game. It is a game from the beginnig of this generation. So, it is not very well polished and fails in some parts. But it gives you a experience interesting to be a man, a kind of crazy hero that solves a lot of things. Sometime will solve things that the story asks for, sometimes will solve things based on your own interests. That is the big point. Like Grand Theft Auto and other games you will have an open world to go and will be able to do a lot of things even shoot someone or stole a car. As I said the game is not very polished and the gameplay is different if we compare with what we play. But it is a good experience. I recommend.

65

Good game

antonioli84 | Dec. 23, 2012 | See all antonioli84's reviews »

This is a good game but it lacked to be more polished. The graphics are okay because of the year that was made, but the gameplay is the main problem. The mechanics is a little bit strange regarding the movement and the accuracy is not the better we have seen. But I only talked about the negative points. Although I wrote about bad things it does not make the game bad. The game itself is funny with a lot of amazing side and main quests. You will decide if you do good or bad things during the game. It is a open world game with a lot of place to go and different missions to do for your purpose or for anybody. You also can drive a car or ride a motorcycle as a Grand Theft Auto game and do your crazy things. It is good game that I recommend if you buy paying a good price.

35

An Ambitious Failure

aronater | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all aronater's reviews »

Just Cause sticks you on a tropical island and pretty much let's you do whatever you like. Sounds great in theory, but a few hours in everything begins to feel the same, and you begin to notice what the game is missing more than what it actually has to offer. In addition, the dated graphics and the many bugs really make it hard to get lost on this island. Kind of difficult to immerse yourself in the game, when every time you drive a pickup the grass sticks out through the back of the truck. It's not completely bad, for instance the physics aren't bad, and doing stunts while driving can be a lot of fun. However when all is said and done, you're much better off skipping this game, and playing the incredible sequel, Just Cause 2

96

Stupidly good fun

Cooberstooge | Sept. 6, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

San Esperito is a place I spent so many hours in, I lost count of them. Just Cause was such a breath of fresh air in the sandbox gaming category when it came out, and the start of a truly epic new dynasty in gaming.

You could fly, swim, drive, walk, or travel by boat to literally anywhere on the islands, and battles were often intense and fast-paced, yet could range for miles in-game if you wanted them to. The main story is so cliched it's hilarious, the voice acting is akin to the stereotypically bad action movies of the '70s and '80s, and slow-mo tends to kick in at the strangest moments in the action. All this made for some seriously funny moments, and kept me completely away from any other open-world games for a good couple of years.

Graphically, the game was massively impressive when it came out, although it did have a few glitches like the rare blinking clouds and occasional texture lines on the ground. Most of the problems were never patched out, but they're so minute they aren't worth paying attention to. Just Cause still looks pretty good today, and runs, if anything, a little too well on current hardware.

Gameplay is awesomely fun, and cars handle mostly like you'd expect, where being involved in a police chase uphill while you're driving an old farm truck being a predictably short affair. Jumping a car off a cliff and into the side of a hostile helicopter is always great fun, too. There's so much to do here, with people to help, villages to liberate, and armed forces to attack - San Esperito will keep you busy for quite some time.

69

Crazy action game

panz3r88 | Aug. 2, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Just Cause is a very huge action free roaming game where you must explore the island to seminate the chaos in the various town and village you visit. The game is quite fun at the beginning and you will enjoy the main story, but after some time you will find the game quite repetitive. Even if the map is very large there are not many secondary missions and this is not good for a free roaming game

60

A large but rather empty sandbox.

GAMERamble | July 19, 2012 | See all GAMERamble's reviews »

The tropical island of San Esperito would have been a paradise if it were not for the small matter of all round evil dictator, Salvador Mendoza running the show. Since el presidente is rumoured to have weapons of mass destruction in his possession a shadowy group called the "Agency" has stepped in. By sending in their best operative, Rico Rodriquesz to destabilize the region, their ultimate goal is to overthrow the dictator and destroy the wmds. With more than 250,000 acres of territory to work with this is not an easy mission.

Well, if this was based on real life it would not have been easy but for super agent Rico it is all in a days work. Besides being the spitting image of Antonio Banderas in Desperado, Rico is also quite the bullet sponge and can even soak up a direct missile hit or two before he succumbs. Rico also has a magical parachute, which can be activated and re-activated at almost any time with a complete disregard for physics. Later in the game Rico even unlocks a grappling gun, which allows him to latch on to nearby vehicles so that he can parasail along or even hijack the vehicle in question. With something like eighty-nine vehicles on the island including cars, tanks, helicopters and even jets, you can image the fun that there is to be had.

With a bit more testing, polishing and variety Just Cause could have been a great game. It is a different experience compared to the Grand Theft Auto series but runs out of new tricks way too soon. I definitely had fun playing it but I cannot turn a blind eye to its faults. While it kept me playing for more than 30hours it can easily be completed in fewer than ten if you do not care about all the side missions. The game had so much potential but never made use of it all.

93

Parachuting, shooting, motorcycling, including flight

kalil | May 22, 2012 | See all kalil's reviews »

What if a movie of 007 joints of 60 and one of the 80 American polis, the answer is Just Cause, the story of a secret agent with much given to the crazy life. Beautiful landscapes and a huge and varied scenery dodne exist. Variety of vehicles, weapons, characters, and the only fault I have to go in "Rocky" all the time and can not be PLS the "stealth". The gameplay is tremendous added to the number of options you have, and making good use of all available resources can create a living hell. The graphics very good, with the only downside, and this only in my case I could not make it full screen because the resolution of 1024 would not let me go, some versions have the bug. And everything else is good, this game honestly I could not find any big problem.

50

Some great ideas, but lacking in execution.

Creatix | Nov. 17, 2011 | See all Creatix's reviews »

When you buy a game, what do you expect from it?Do you expect it to keep up with the innovation or you just wan't some mindless fun other games in the genre haven't yet grasped.If you picked the latter, you will be pleased to see that this game gives you a lot of freedom and fun to play around with, but it restricts you on some occasions, for example, There isn't really a single player campaign, mostly its just side-quests to take over islands, this would have been fine if there was some variation to them, usually its just:Go here and blow shit up.

On the other hand, ranking system and bases are great and the weapons function wonderfully(Although, the grappling hook leaves a lot to be desired, especially how they make it out as a high-tech military weapon).Map is huge, giving you the ability to ride on the roads for hours and occasional gang/military battle without your intervention gives you some immersion.

Although i still have to complain that there isn't much to do, last thing i did was get a helicopter and fly the highest i could, drop down and do aerobatic tricks out of pure boredom and that the game adds too much blur and lighting effects it was starting to hurt my eyes, and the physics aren't up to much.

It's not horrible, but it could do some more polish and some better design decisions. Buy when <8$

70

The beggining of a great game

RaTcHeT302 | Nov. 16, 2011 | See all RaTcHeT302's reviews »

Just Cause is a game with huge places to visit and with ton of vehicles to use at your pleasure both in the air and groud too, sadly there aren't many places where you can do crazy stuff with your armaments and more. Many areas feel empty and there are also many clipping issues while playing, the audio feels pretty unstable too wich can annoy the player. Gameplay wise there are tons of places to explore and stuff to do where life's at, that's when and where you are going to have fun. It is pretty lengthfull but there isn't really a variety in missions, sometimes certain sidequets are praticaly the same to others. Graphicaly good for it's time but not perfect as they exagerated with reflexions for example and with some way too bright lights, tough it is not a bad title, the soundtrack is very well done and the sounds fx too!

60

Doesn't hold up against time

Endyo | Oct. 2, 2011 | See all Endyo's reviews »

Some games are timeless. This isn't one of them. It's not entirely the graphics or the gameplay or one thing, it's a combination of all of them that drove me away from this game. It's full of concepts we see a lot of in more recent titles and of course Just Cause 2 has all of the qualities they did manage to achieve in this title without all of the negative aspects. The story is completely forgettable and ignorable, but even after 30 or 40 minutes of 'sandboxing' around you just feel like you've exhausted what the game possesses. I have to appreciate What this ultimately lead to, but it's really just not something that I was in to. It just seems like if you're really wanting a full arcade-like sandbox experience you have a lot of choices out there for prices in the same ball park that deliver a much better experience.

80

Biggest Sandbox ever Created

faraany3k | Aug. 24, 2011 | See all faraany3k's reviews »

Just Cause was revolutionary in many ways. Instead of going pseudo-realistic like GTA titles, Just Cause tried to remain true to one formula, FUN. Game sacrifices a lot of realism in the favor of some crazy addictive fun. It feels like a Hollywood stunt ride with all crazy stunts going on. You can jump from cars to cars, skydiving, basejumping all seamlessly integrated into the main game. Although game features a rather weak story and chraterization, but this never really is the concern as game focuses more on action then establishing any storyline. Singleplayer campaign span over hundred missions. You can tackle them anyway you want with a free form gameplay that dosn't restrict you in any way. Game features a tons of vehicles. You can even travel by air and explore this wonderful and huge enviroment all done in beautiful and fluid grahics. Gunplay and movement are not always precise and feels a litle clunky but they are serviceable.

One of the outstanding features where game shines is its huge sandbox map. There are hundreds of miles of land for you to roam freely.Infact its the biggest in any game that came before. All without any sort of loading, as there is a revolutionary new tech called Procedueral Loading. Altjough game is fun and has a lot of replayabilty this game is now replaced by its great sequel Just Cause 2. So if you are planning on playing Just Cause try playing its sequel first. But if you have already played Just Cause 2 you can alaways try its prequel. Its a fun game on its own, and you will get hours and hours of addictive fun.

71

Just ... another sandbox

dr_house95 | Aug. 19, 2011 | See all dr_house95's reviews »

Graphics, very good, the scenery, vegetation, water, countrymen, everything is very well done. Sound very good too. Gameplay, very good, we can handle from bikes to combat jets, swimming in a pool to the Caribbean Sea and jump from one terrace to a mountain, making a skydiving course. This gives a lot of fun but the quantities of weapons to use, but the worst point is its repeatability. All missions are alike, no exciting situations. If you would like going to the Caribbean, but do not have much money, buy Just Cause.

60

A LOT of possibilities

Doodier | Aug. 4, 2011 | See all Doodier's reviews »

If you like GTA you will like this game just as much or maybye even more in some aspects! It's great time killer too. Just load your last save and have fun! Go race driving, sailing or fly a jet and then jump out with a parachute! This game allows you to do almost anything. However I didn't like few things - it is really hard to get killed by enemies because you are somehow much more bulletproof then they are but autocrashs are almost every time fatal..

67

ahh..the start

hotmando1 | July 18, 2011 | See all hotmando1's reviews »

Wow..this is the start..of a great game and series with a solid plot. You can do a lot here too! From grappling to plain old shooting. Its a sandbox, but it is VERY HUGE. YOU'LL need planes and trucks to get anywhere. Lots of guns too! Parachute..you'll find lots of love there too....really..this game is so massive..it feels like a mmo but it isn't. Bad thing is that there is no co-op. Visuals are a little outdated too. Get this for some good old fun.

50

The world's best Magnum, p.i. title sequence simulator

MisterSlimm | May 19, 2011 | See all MisterSlimm's reviews »

Featuring truly impressive game tech and a beautiful environment that feels like a very large golf course, Just Cause falls down because it's gameplay just isn't much fun. The highly saturated graphics aren't matched by highly saturated gameplay with Rico being boringly bullet-proof, and featuring insta-death vehicles, spam rockets and spam helicopters which make almost the entire game a slog. There is one good mission in the entire game (where you had to kill crops) but it ends in a truly joyless multi-part final mission leaving you with a really bad impression. Just remember that it's the world's best Magnum, p.i. title sequence simulator and that everything else is just a bonus.

This game contains mild swear words, adult dialogue and extended extreme gun violence and sensuality.

77

Openness, no limits - Welcome to San Esperito

Comros | April 8, 2011 | See all Comros's reviews »

Just Cause is the first major Swedish game studio Avalanche. It tells of the adventures of super CIA agent - Rico Rodriguez, who is sent to the island of San Esperito located in South America, to overthrow the corrupt, self-styled government. The game is a typical SandBox, we can find a huge area to explore independently, not only on the legs, because in the game are available for both cars and helicopters, and boats. And speaking of super-agents, the game features many types of weapons, from the usual guns, to machine guns and sniper rifles. But the most fancy way of both moving and on the way to fight a parachute and "link", which are mandatory for Rico. The game is good, we have everything you need, but feel certain unsatisfied. However, well worth the investment.