Reviews for Thief: Deadly Shadows Capsule

89

Yep still a Thief game

GordonFreechmen | Feb. 2, 2013 | See all GordonFreechmen's reviews »

Unlike some stealth series Thief never turned into an action game. This game is at heart a stealth game, it plays like one. It isn't your Splinter Cell Conviction were instead of stealth you have an action movie. It is a stealth game. It may not do stealth as well as Thief II did, and it isn't as iconic either that is probably why. The game is still amazing even if it doesn't do stealth as well as the second, and the updated graphics are nice. I wish it was as easy for me to pick up games from the 90's and play them, but it isn't. I have gotten used to modern graphics, and while Thief Deadly Shadows may not be the best looking game, it does look visually a lot better than its predecessors. So if you are looking for an actual stealth game, with decent (not great but decent) graphics. Look no further.

87

Brilliant

Lekes | Jan. 13, 2013 | See all Lekes's reviews »

Thief is an interesting game that offers brave new concepts of stealth. It offers it in a sleek and original way that no other game I've played can compare to. The graphics do their job well, they're average but understandable for the age of the game but the real great thing is how many items there are to steal per level and also how many routes you can take through every level which is amazing! The diverse tools of your trade include many different arrows for your bow as well as a blackjack, for knocking people out, and a knife for those life-or-death encounters. The bow works amazingly with it's different arrows whether they water arrows for torches or sound arrows for guards to be fooled by. Overall, a brilliant game that can, however, drag on after a while but still worth the experience of a true stealth game at its best!

87

Thief: Deadly Shadows - review

carlyle | Jan. 8, 2013 | See all carlyle's reviews »

Thief: Deadly Shadows is the third episode of the saga that began in '98 that chronicles the adventures of Garrett, a thief video game par excellence. The setting is one of the most evocative of the game: a dark medieval town where houses, palaces, monasteries, caves and libraries are the scenarios of action that takes place in the almost palpable darkness, broken only by the faint light of torches, gas lights and flames. Another characteristic feature of the game is the silence, broken by the steps and whispers of the guards patrolling the vicoli.Garrett juggles in a medieval town to explore every corner, where the old political equilibrium-based social orders of Hammers and Pagans is increasingly precarious and the population is terrified from having a terrible profezia.Oltre to complete quests for their own personal gain, Garrett will have to discover the truth of this prophecy trying to stop it. The strengths are the third-person view, which ensures comfortable and close shots, new gadgets and new sequences of burglary and the charisma of the protagonist and engaging atmosphere for a compelling story, backed up by an excellent engine. Sound Effects exceptional thanks to directional effects, ambient noises, voices and whispers of the guards, crackling flame, footsteps on gravel and pavement absolutely realistic and almost hypnotic music. The attention to sounds becomes crucial to the game mechanics, to understand which direction comes a guard and how far it is.

78

A good game but...

Zinzun | Sept. 4, 2012 | See all Zinzun's reviews »

it is inferior to his sequels.Yeah, the graphic is much better,you can swap now between first and third persons,but the story is no so great anche the save system can be really frustrated.The game is still good,by the way, a true stealth like today are never more,but it has some aspects I didn't like.

78

Thief in shadows!

maciej2601 | Aug. 22, 2012 | See all maciej2601's reviews »

Thief: Deadly Shadows is the third installment of the acclaimed first-person game. The game was produced by the studio Ion Storm. The player takes on the role of a medieval thief named Garrett, who is trying to stop the arrival foretold centuries before the era of darkness. The game combines elements of action games, role-playing and adventure. Worth getting.

83

Great story and gameplay

panz3r88 | Aug. 11, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

The last title of the Thief series is inferior with respect its predecessors, but it's still one of the best stealth games. The most important innovation in Deadly Shadows is that you can swap between first and third person view. The first person view is the one typical of the Thief series and if you want to enjoy the game it's better to use it, because it's more immersive and the game is harder. If you play the game in third person view the visual behind the character allow you to understand better what happens around you and it's easy to sneak behind the enemy. An other good element of Deadly Shadows is the interesting story with a cool character, Garrett

90

Great stealth action!

Lunk | July 23, 2012 | See all Lunk's reviews »

I came to this series late and haven't had a chance to play the games that preceded Deadly Shadows yet, but I really loved DS. As someone who invariably goes with the rogue/assassin/thief class when playing RPGs and loves what stealth action there is in things like the Assassin's Creed series, Deadly Shadows felt like a wonderful, concentrated dose of the kind of gameplay I love when it all too rarely shows up in other games.

I was also really impressed with it from a technical standpoint. There were a few weird quirks that had to be accounted for (why does hitting someone over the head knock them out if they're standing up, but not if they're sitting down?), but aside from that the AI had great attention to detail. In too many other stealth games, the NPCs ignore obvious signs - rob a guy's house and as long as he doesn't see you do it he'll wander around oblivious to the fact that his cupboards have obviously been picked bare. Early on in DS I had a great moment where I got busted because I failed to close a door behind me like 10 minutes earlier and a patrolling guard noticed it ajar, and from then on I was hooked.

The game also does a wonderful job of creating an overall atmosphere, and some of the individual missions are pretty stunning. Highly recommended!

84

Worthy of its predecessors

simonsix | June 18, 2012 | See all simonsix's reviews »

A great game, worthy of its predecessors. Great stealth system (may not be the best in today's standards, but definitely above par). Fun gadgets and great story. you have option to either kill or sneak through. AI is excellent.

87

Awesome game, must play.

xgatto | June 17, 2012 | See all xgatto's reviews »

In case you havent seen some gameplay, the game plays something like, assassins creed, thief class on skyrim, and a lot from splinter cell. You are given with an objective, steal X thing, and the point of the game is that you do it sneaking around. To do this, you have to watch for a lot of variables, like illumination, the noise you make, the route of the guards, etc... And you have many tools to help you too, like an arrow that can turn off torches, or a weapon to incapacitate enemy guards. So, if you like sneaking around, or challenging, fun gaming in general, just get this. Now.

100

One of the best ever made..

NoLove3827 | June 16, 2012 | See all NoLove3827's reviews »

Thief: Deadly Shadows has got to be one of the greatest ever made. It has good graphics, even to this day. The sound effects are great and the best part is the gameplay, there are so many ways to accomplish your goals, and the game is free roam between missions. I highly recommend that you buy this game. It should work on practically all computers now days too.

85

Sneaky...

Dagexon | April 9, 2012 | See all Dagexon's reviews »

I had never played one of the thief games before but I thought I'd try it as I have loved other stealth games like splinter cell. The game is definitely worth it as it offers hours upon hours of game time. I have spent more than twenty hours playing it yet I've only really done two main missions as I spent some time free roaming. The free roaming is amazing however the area to free roam in is rather small. Another downside to the game is that the voice acting isn't really top notch and it's almost like there's only 1 or 2 voice actors. For stealth lovers you can't go wrong with your money however if your looking for a free roamer then I would invest your money in far cry 2 or just cause 2, not this

75

3rd in the series that pretty much defined stealth action games

jojot | Sept. 2, 2011 | See all jojot's reviews »

The thief games are one of the older series out there and a genre defining one, and this is the most recent entry in the series.

In the game you play Garret, a professional thief and former member of the keepers, a secretive organization of historical observers and recorders. Following the layout of the first two games, you start off just sneaking into places and stealing stuff to make an 'Honest" living, but soon you end up getting dragged into some conspiracies stuff and the keepers start claiming more stuff about prophecies that you have to fullfill etc. It starts small and ends quite epically.

The environments are nice and varied, if a little small and claustrophobic, the sound design is great and the gameplay is the same excellent sneaking and stealing you would expect from the thief series. It has the same array of interesting weapons like the moss arrow which makes patches of moss appear where it strikes so you can move quietly across paved surfaces, theres a water arrow that lets you put out torches from afar to create darkness and the good old blackjack with which you can knock out unsuspecting guards. Other arrows like the rope arrow and the noisemaker arrow also help spice up the gameplay a bit.

My only real complaint was that it came from that awkward phase where the original Xbox was suddenly all the rage, and has that horrible overdone bloom that was systemic in that time period for no obvious reason. (Invisible War was another culprit). The game was otherwise great, the Shalebridge Cradle level especially was particularly memorable (you'll know why when you get there).

81

The best of the trilogy

dr_house95 | Aug. 19, 2011 | See all dr_house95's reviews »

We will be a murderer of many resources in an open city, where we do what we want. The game's story is very good, the sound but the best are the graphics. We play the game in first or third person and the graphics will be just as well, is very respectful of the lighting, shadows (the main resource of the game) and NPC (enemy). We can play it from stealth mode or go in and crush enemies. You choose.

99

Probably my favorite game series of all time

NoLove3827 | Aug. 3, 2011 | See all NoLove3827's reviews »

The asylum level is almost too scary to pass, I've never gotten past the level because it is so effective at scaring you and messing with your head, much scarier than any movie iv ever seen. The gameplay is great, you can freeroam between missions and go to stores to buy items for mission, you can steal from various people in town or you can break into certain homes and steal items from their homes to sell to your fence. Absolutely worth the price, would reccomend to all

85

Sneaking around

tangoak | July 25, 2011 | See all tangoak's reviews »

After playing too much FPS games Thief: Deadly Shadows is pleased change to more slow down playing. I found it very interesting to try not to kill anyone. It is very nice to sneak around guards and grab some loot at the same time. There are some graphical glitches and game suffers somewhat from console port. Atmosphere is really great and environment looks great. Sound scape is also good and it is interesting to eavesdrop people in the shadows. It is really exciting sneak past the guards and hope to slip unnoticed. If you like Splinter Cell series this is also game for you.

89

Not creed

hotmando1 | July 18, 2011 | See all hotmando1's reviews »

This series provides of the best "theif/assassin" gameplay out there. While it is compared to Assassin Creed a lot, they are nothing unlike. Theif requires a LOT of skill and stealth. Visuals are pretty average considering the year it was released in but it is still pretty fun to play on. It is also a bit sad seeing Deadly Shadows the ending to a great series. anyway, gameplay is superb. The plot is even better.... If you like just bluntly killing to completing your missions in total stealth: this is for you.

90

Great game. Definitely one of the best

simonsix | May 24, 2011 | See all simonsix's reviews »

This is absolutely one of my favorite stealth games so far. This game is cool because if you stay in the shadows to listen to the unsuspecting potential victims they for no reason might talk to they're friends about they're treasures or talk about other things that you as Garet our antagonistic protagonist might wanna check out.

80

An atmospheric open-world experience

marcinkonys | May 18, 2011 | See all marcinkonys's reviews »

Thief: The Dark Project - the first iteration of the franchise - is a masterpiece. Despite the fact that I could not finish the game because of a compatibility error, the first half of the game alone was one of the best experiences I have had with any game, ever. With blocky graphics from 1998, it managed to capture an atmosphere like no other game I've played - one would seriously wonder how it's possible to become scared of zombies made up of a few tenths of polygons. Very possible!

"Deadly Shadows" got my attention much earlier than the first two games, but was just as enjoyable to play though, although I must say that after tasting the game play of "Dark Project", I finally understood why people praised the first games over "Deadly Shadows". However, despite the fact that grabbing ledges here is not always successful and may be the prime reason of detection quite often, it's just as atmospheric as its predecessor. The "Shalebridge Cradle" level alone makes me want people to buy this game. As far as I remember, this one part of the game took me no less than two weeks to play though, no thanks to the eerie atmosphere. Enemies were scarce, but I waited for them to pop out of any corner. And then waited some more..

DS has missions, but a good deal of the time you'll be exploring The City, full of people waiting to be burgled and merchants waiting for your loot. This open-world scenario works wonders, and makes the different levels feel much more "in place".

All in all, I greatly recommend DS to anyone who's into slow-paced game play. With big, open levels and a whole city available to explore between them, DS can take a good while to play though, making it well worth the money.

80

Perfect ending

fearon | April 7, 2011 | See all fearon's reviews »

Deadly Shadows is final part of Thief trilogy. Mayby it's not as good as Metal Age or Dark Project, but it still has features, that has made this series so popular. Dark atmosphere, main character and this specific fealing of beeing real thief. Good ending of brilliant series.

90

The return of Garrett

mikim | April 4, 2011 | See all mikim's reviews »

I must admit - I didn't like the previous Thief games, but this one is the one of three that I really enjoyed. When it was released, its graphics were absolutely great and you can still find them as such even today. The gameplay mechanics are great, but it's sometimes difficult to finish a level without a solution. I'd really like Thief 4 to be like Deadly Shadows, but I know it won't. I suppose it will even be worse.