Reviews for Lucius

70

Bizarre

andreacdc98 | Feb. 9, 2015 | See all andreacdc98's reviews »

Lucius is a game where you control this kid, which then you know is the son of Lucifer, who makes you do horrible things to your "family". The game has a really heavy theme, which is not good for everybody, because there is a lot of cruel and bizarre things that you have to do to the people who live in your house. The quality of the game is very cheap, but anyway it has a good gameplay overall. The developers could have put more details into it so it would be better. Anyway, I do not recommend this to anyone, because the story behind it is very heavy and can be harmful to some people. It also may offend other people who are religious. The game itself is pretty good and unique, but could have been better.

80

Very heavy history, but i enjoyed it

garocco | Feb. 8, 2015 | See all garocco's reviews »

In this game you control a boy named Lucius, who at 6 years of age discovers he is the son of Lucifer. Your goal is to kill all the people who lives in your home, to his fathe collect their souls and takes them to hell. The story is heavy, and as I said is a horror game. There's even a place for satanic rituals. The game environment is going on inside a mansion, which is very beautiful, and very well detailed. Walk around the house is very difficult without the help of the map, because it has many doors, and many places. The soundtrack of the game, is well suited to the mood of the game. I ended up enjoying it, although I do not really enjoyed this style of music. The gameplay is good, and any player can easily learn quickly how to play. The only problem I found on the controls was the power of telekinesis that sometimes hangs what makes the player feel extremely angry. If you know how to kill each of its targets, the game would last about 30 minutes. But you have to find items, explore the house, talk to everyone and this makes the game take longer. The game does not explain where you should go and what to look for, what makes you get time walking around the house. The game is very good, and I sincerely enjoyed and therefore recommend to all the game, but I will repeat: the game's atmosphere is very heavy.

60

Ewww...in more ways

DeaD | Feb. 5, 2015 | See all DeaD's reviews »

Ok, this is going to be a tough one. Even though it's called 'horror' and 'stealth', Lucius is simple a strange / mad / kinda sick adventure game. Something new that's sure, but there's not much to be afraid of because you play as the devil himself. You don't have to walk around carefully, since you are a six year old boy. One minus. Maybe two.

The graphics are nothing you haven't seen about 12 years ago. This title is definitely not open-world, the setting is a manor, ok more floors and rooms, but yeah... The game has bugs here and there, and it doesn't have shiny physics either.

Aaand the story. You kill everyone just because you were born on '66. 6. 6. and you start your career as a butcher at the age of 6. Oh don't let me forget, on the day you were born a ritual was held, so you're Lucifer's little boy. Yeah. And well sometimes somebody does something that this small guy doesn't like, his father needs the souls, aaand done. Some say it's entertaining, in my opinion it's more than unpolished. The gameplay too...Leave it.

I'd recommend this game only for those, who like this theme, and want to play as a reaaally baaad kid. You should try it maybe on sale. Sorry guys, I tried to look at this game with the eye of one, who is into this genre and atmosphere I just simply couldn't. I think the potential was there hidden in a bush or a wardrobe. Even so it's a no from my side.

65

If this game would be a little bit more polished...

Furrek | Jan. 22, 2015 | See all Furrek's reviews »

What I really like in Lucius is atmosphere. It's dark, it's perfect. Did you ever watched The Omen? If you did you can guess what kind of game it is. Quite sadly that there many imperfect thing that can destroy all this fun a little. There many bugs, graphics doesn't look so great and look like a game older than was made in in 2012 like Lucius. What's more annoying you will probably find yourself many times blocked at, for example, at doors. It's not a bad horror game but it really could be a little more polished. If you want to experience something dark and you doesn't mind bugs and errors, Lucius is a good choice.

81

Demented

ThreshNautBlitz | July 7, 2014 | See all ThreshNautBlitz's reviews »

Conjure plans and plot to kill everyone! While the story suffers a little bit, the gameplay makes up for it. Picking off family members one by one through a series of "unfortunate events". With one accident after another, this game is devilishly fun with a very dark humor. Not for the faint of heart!

65

Poorly executed

MarkDeejay | April 16, 2014 | See all MarkDeejay's reviews »

A great idea, executed in a not-so-great way. That is Lucius, a horror-focused action adventure. So, the idea is great; a free roam game where you get to kill people like in those famous horror movies we've all seen. You'll be using items and powers to kill off these people. It's not all that straightforward though. You have to solve little puzzles to complete objectives. And every time you complete one of these objectives you're one step closer to killing a certain someone. But it's all executed in a mediocre way; the inventory is cumbersome to use, but manageable. The 'stealth' missions are terrible; there's no way to see where a certain character is so you'll bump into someone frequently. And sometimes the hints you get just aren't clear enough, which results in you doing the wrong thing. And when it's Game Over you have to start the mission all over again (including sidequests).

It's an interesting idea though. And I would love to see a(n improved) sequel someday.

75

Something different and fun

gforcesa | Dec. 28, 2013 | See all gforcesa's reviews »

This game is surprisingly fun.Well if you like killing people sort of fun.But who doesn't ( i mean in games).You play as this boy, Lucius who is visited by the devil who makes him kill everybody in the house.Speaking of the house,it's pretty big and you could get confused or lost at some times.In the beginning you are given a task, to kill a person in the house.The ways you kill every person is unique and kinda awesome because you have supernatural powers like telekinesis and mind control.The developers could have done more with the game like different powers and more ways to kill your targets and well the mechanics of the game.

75

Fun, but definitely made on a low budget

BlockAgent | Dec. 8, 2013 | See all BlockAgent's reviews »

Lucius is a fun game and unlike other games I have played. Without wanting to give anything away, you proceed the game by claiming souls for the devil as a child who is possessed. The ways in which you do this are both gruesome and creative. But sometimes the games low budget shows through. I noticed several graphical and programming glitches while playing. None of them affected the playability of the game however. Sometimes the game doesn't give you enough instruction or help on what to do or where to go. A little more instruction or a hint feature would have been nice. The graphics are ok, nothing special, but nothing bad. Overall a decent budget game.

75

While somewhat flawed, totally worth it.

blackrose | Nov. 4, 2013 | See all blackrose's reviews »

Like what the previous commenter said, this theme is sort of like Rosemary's Baby. It's also got a little bit of the omen thrown in for good measure. The best part is, there aren't many games where you intentionally play as the villain, while in this one, you do. You have numerous choices on how to play, you can be subtle, or you can eventually say "forget subtlety" and go on a murderous rampage. The ways to kill are staggering, and, trust me when I say this, not for the faint of heart. A great game that earns a 7.5 out of 10 or, here, 75/100.

72

Decent horror-themed game

mahon | Oct. 25, 2013 | See all mahon's reviews »

Lucius is an interesting game. With very unusual theme, which every Rosemary's Baby or Children of the Corn fan would love, it seemed extremely promising. I got it and must say I liked it. It's a good game with decent graphics, good concept and not bad gameplay. If you don't know the overall idea, it's about a killer child who is seeking different ways to kill adults. Unfortunately it's not a perfect horror game. My disappointment is caused by the fact that it could easily be so much better. The story could keep you interested for longer, and the gameplay could be less repetitive. With this in mind, I think it's a good thing the game is not longer. It leaves you at the point where you're still having fun with it, and just before it gets boring or tedious. So for the several hours of decent horror-themed gaming, this is a pretty good choice.