Reviews for Half-Life 2

97

One of the best games ever made

Gagi114 | Aug. 22, 2014 | See all Gagi114's reviews »

Half Life 2 is a FPS which I believe shaped the genre. It is an amazing, well-made game and I would definitely recommend it to you. You are Gordon Freeman, a rebel fighting the system. He's got a deep background which makes story of HL2 so amazing. If you overlook the kinda old rusty graphics, I am sure you will enjoy this game.

85

Very good, but not the best ever

Lorddyran | Aug. 22, 2014 | See all Lorddyran's reviews »

When Half Life came out, it was amazing and mind-blowing and did all sorts of new things. When Half Life 2 came out, it didn't do much new, but it did everything that its predecessors had, only it did it better and more polished.

Now, there have been plenty of games that have come out since that are even better, but that doesn't necessarily diminish this game. A gamer who played it when it came out will get the warm fuzzies, and a gamer who hadn't will enjoy it but think it was overhyped.

Of course, if Half Life 3 ever really does come out, then this will 100% need a revisit.

97

Wake up Mr.Freeman, wake up and smell the ashes.

desperado28 | Aug. 21, 2014 | See all desperado28's reviews »

You are looking at the game that defined FPS genre in many ways and after 10 years, this game hasn't aged a bit. Reason for that? Simple. An unmatched lvl design (possible the best one i seen in any video game), memorable and fun gameplay that you will remember forever. Only bad side of this gem is it length, i'm talking about at least 7-8 hours to finish. All in all, this game is classic that every gamer that had ever touched a fps shooter should play. Period.

91

The best game of the last 15 years

luisk25 | Aug. 21, 2014 | See all luisk25's reviews »

Once you set foot in Citadel 21, there is no coming back. The enviroments are stunning and the story has a unique narrative that I have never seen in any other videogame. One of the best parts its how it demands you to think and be fast like the old FPS games. Definitely a must have!

96

10 Years On, Still Fantastic

DBOT187 | Aug. 21, 2014 | See all DBOT187's reviews »

Half life 2 may be an old game, but it still holds up and even beats some of todays shooters. The gravity gun is freaking awesome and its fun to fling barrels at enemies. A great and enthralling story that leaves you wanting more (which is where the episodes come in) While graphically it isnt as shiny as todays shooters, the gameplay sets it apart.

100

It is a Legend

NoelKreiss13 | Aug. 20, 2014 | See all NoelKreiss13's reviews »

Many games are good, but this one made a difference, its graphics were out of time, the story and mechanics are excellent, but also this was a chance to test source, valve's graphic motor, and all what it could do, explosions, weapons, cars and boats, a lot of entities in a same place, so to sum up, Half Life is a game that won't be forgotten

100

10 years later, this is still a masterpiece

mugaro | June 16, 2014 | See all mugaro's reviews »

At the time this game came out in 2004, the graphics, the face modeling, the gameplay were revolutionary and seen as far ahead of its time. While the graphics and what not have aged 10 years later, they did receive an update around 2010 to add achievements and put in the new engine.

But enough about graphics. This is a must own. A timeless classic for any FPS fan. It's worth playing on multiple playthroughs to see what you might have missed and catch a lot of the perception on the word "time" as its talked about in the game.

FPS games have been copying half life 2 for a decade now, and we're all still waiting for Half life 3 / Half life 2: Episode 3 now. Get in on the action, pick up the Half life anthology/collection, play through all of the single player campaigns if you haven't yet. This is not a game you want to miss.

95

Best FPS - it just is

Gosen | June 10, 2014 | See all Gosen's reviews »

This is a FPS game, which has everything we love games for. Atmosphere, graphics, physics, puzzles, horror moments, shooting moments, great level design as well great gameplay itself. This game is perfect, there's everything, perfectly balanced fps. Maybe the plot is not clear enough, but gameplay alone provides so much that story is not even such important. Classic.

100

Definition of Video Game

punisher0051 | June 6, 2014 | See all punisher0051's reviews »

Honestly speaking it will not be full long review because if you never heard of this game called very often best game ever made you had to live under a rock. In this case all i will tell you is go and buy it, even after 10 + years its still better then modern shooters that are releasing nowadays. It was ground breaking back then and nothing can beat it up to this day.

Absolutely must buy 10/10

94

Showed the Way Forward

AkiMatti | March 31, 2014 | See all AkiMatti's reviews »

HL2 came around at a time when fps games where stagnating a bit. It showed us how to keep it fresh by adding physics, great lip-syncing for its time and a breathtaking world made alive by the new Source engine.

There were just so many things that went right with this game I don't know where to begin. The combine was an intriguing enemy that offered many variations of enemies. Many NPCs were met along the way and many weapons which were all useful in different situations. Not to mention Gravity Gun, which was just SO cool as it was the first of its kind in fps games.

As much as could be said about the base game, there is also the side of HL2 that must be mentioned and that is the moddability. A huge array of mods have been released for the game, some as good in quality as AAA games.

But the main game has also very good replayability factor in it, still. If you have not experienced HL2 yet, I suggest you try it, if only to see where many of the tropes in this days video game genre originate from.

96

Possibly the best FPS made

Mooliopunk | Feb. 14, 2014 | See all Mooliopunk's reviews »

To start with, Half Life 2 is a classic game. I am sure many of you will know that it is one of the most decorated games of all time and for a good reason too. The Source engine that it runs on allows for a very fulfilling game play experience, and it has a good range in the level of difficulty within the puzzles on each chapter. To add to that, it doesn't need a super computer to run it, unlike some FPS games on the market and the graphics are good, especially when you put them all up to max. Overall 96/100

100

The sequel to one of the best games in history

NikorasuSan | Feb. 10, 2014 | See all NikorasuSan's reviews »

Half-Life 2 puts the player back in the shoes, or rather Hazard Suit, of Gordon Freeman. This game, pretty much like its predecessor, set a standard in FPS games, if not in gaming in general.

This game is set some time after the events of the original game. The intro alone is breath-taking. For starters, we learn that everything did not go well at the end of the game, as we find an oppressed Earth, under the rule of the Combine. As the game progresses, we learn more and more details about what happened while Gordon was in stasis, but these are only bits and pieces of information. Not only do we learn this from conversations, but from the environments itself; by exploring, one will find small details revealing how the life was under the new role.

Now, as far as gameplay goes, there have been some improvements over the original game. There are new weapons, the most noticeable being the Gravity Gun, which provides a lot of freedom during combats, as you can use any object that's lying on the ground as a weapon, and it's also essential for some puzzles. The variety of weapons, and their different secondary functions, makes all of them viable, even in the late stages of the game.

Another addition to the gameplay are vehicles. There are two sections that involve them; the first one is the Airboat section in Water Hazard; and then there's the Buggy in Highway 17 and Sandtraps.

I could talk about this game the whole day, but it's better to experience it than to be told about it. Believe me when I say, you'll enjoy this game.

87

"An Innovating FPS"

Maxxyboy1000 | Feb. 8, 2014 | See all Maxxyboy1000's reviews »

As a first person shooter, Half life 2 has innovating design and introduces a new standard to the overall gameplay experiences.

Gameplay In Half life 2, you do so much more than just blast random goons. From the get go, you offered the chance to explore the world around you (yes, this includes bumping into the guards causing their aggression). Once you've received your armour and first weapons, you can start having fun with the shooting and physics mechanics.

Story I won't spoil the story for you, but it involves the linear going after the evil character, but with the occasional plot twist and exciting side missions.

Design The graphics in half life 2 are pretty well done. The animations are smooth, the speech and character emotions are well portrayed, and each level feels not only unique but purposeful.

Overall, it's an innovating FPS, and something that sets the benchmark apart from modern & linear first person shooters. 87/100

96

Valve's Signature

chataolauj | Jan. 24, 2014 | See all chataolauj's reviews »

When you think of valve, what comes to mind first? No, I'm not talking about Steam, but that does come to mind too. I'm talking about Half-Life, the game of all games. I mean, this game is just incredible with it's story. It's an absolute classic that you will always play and never get bored of.

I just wish they would hurry it up and make a part 3 to add onto he series, but I'm pretty sure it's not coming anytime soon. They're more focused now on their Steam machines, which is understandable. Do buy this game. I repeat; DO BUY THIS GAME!!!

96

Must-Play for Gravity Gun Alone!

NucularS | Jan. 12, 2014 | See all NucularS's reviews »

Half-Life 2 is a classic, which holds out exceptionally well years after release. Exceptional storytelling and a good balance of action and exploration, make this an enjoyable experience from start to finish. However, the experience is more cinematic than explorative, and protagonist’s inability to communicate takes away from overall immersion. This is where the game shows its age, while the graphics are still top notch, game mechanics belong to the 90s and 00s. In other words, it is a great FPS with a deep story, but not much interactivity or choice. Oh, and Gravity Gun!

94

What hasn't been said before about this?

juxtaposed_j | Jan. 1, 2014 | See all juxtaposed_j's reviews »

The best FPS, revolutionised a lot of things within the genre, from the gravity gun, gameplay mechanics and deep storyline for a first-person shooter.

If you haven't played or experienced this game, what are you doing? Play it now!

98

An all-time FPS classic

RedFrix | Dec. 2, 2013 | See all RedFrix's reviews »

Everything about this is epic, the plot, the events, the soundtrack, the enemies, the character development... Everything is perfect on this game, I'm not lying, I really did feel like I was into the City 17 world, even more if you use nowaday's technology like Oculus Rift or similar. It has quite a variety of hard puzzles and you'll most likely to get stuck most of the times if you don't search the map really carefully. So... A little time spending on a single map is most likely to happen. Simple utopia and zombie apocalypse world bundled together in a good way and you'll get a good awesome story as Half-Life 2, a really must buy game for everyone who still didn't play this yet.

95

Atmospheric classic

commanderhavoc | Dec. 2, 2013 | See all commanderhavoc's reviews »

Half Life 2 is one of those types of first person shooters that have a great atmosphere. And one place in the game unsettled a lot of players the first time they played the game and that place is Ravenholm. That place is an eerie ghost town where Headcrab zombies roam the streets and there are devious traps set to kill anything or anyone unlucky enough to get caught in them. And of course this is also the game that gave us the outstanding Gravity Gun which brought a whole new level to games when it came to physics puzzles as well as combat, yes you can pick up barrels and such to throw at any unlucky enemy infront of you. Also, you might wanna check out the two expansion packs for the game as they progress the story of the game further.

95

An Absolute Classic

lachking | Dec. 1, 2013 | See all lachking's reviews »

An all time classic. Even after playing through Half-Life 2 countless times, I still get a great deal of fun out of playing it. Almost everything about the game is top notch: the levels, characters, music, sound and graphical style. The game's physics were at the time unheard of and still even today are quite good in how you can use the gravity gun to pick up and throw objects at enemies and to solve puzzles. As you play, you will see the characters develop and you will start to care about them and how they interact. The whole game being a long continuous level is also really cool as you can clearly see how the whole game links together. If I were to nitpick the game, the vehicle sections are a little too long, especially the car levels, but this is just a minor complaint really. If you haven't played this yet where have you been?!?!?

98

One of the best FPS

irfanullahjan | Nov. 30, 2013 | See all irfanullahjan's reviews »

One of the best first person shooters that I have played. It has a long single player campaign and gives you some fun weapons to deal with variety of enemies. Environment is very interactive unlike many other games. Graphics are good enough to provide a decent gameplay experience. Very good story and the presentation is excellent so you feel immersed. I have played this multiple times and still enjoy it.

95

Game of the decade

gforcesa | Nov. 29, 2013 | See all gforcesa's reviews »

Who hasn't played this game yet ? Like seriously before reading this go and play it.One of the greatest games ever created and game of the decade.Valve has never disappointed with any of their games and after HL1,HL2 is the next best thing.For a game that released in 2004 the graphics are great.Valve's Source engine is first introduced in Half Life 2 and Episode 1 and 2 after that.The main protagonist is yet again Gordon Freeman and almost at the beginning of the game you are in trouble again as usual.Probably the best gun in a video game is the physics gun with which you can pick up and throw light and heavy objects.If you still haven't played the Half Life games go and pick them up they are definetely worth the money.

98

WOW!

beltmatt_usa | Nov. 29, 2013 | See all beltmatt_usa's reviews »

This game was way beyond its time...I played it recently and it is still a great game!

I am one of the few people in this world that have not played Half-Life 1, so I have nothing else to really base this game off of.

When I started playing I thought "yea people said this was cool, but that was like 10 years ago so it probably sucks..." I could not have been more wrong.

The controls with keyboard and mouse are as good as any FPS could be (not bad!). I prefer to play with a controller (yea yea I'm a filthy casual) and it is smooth. The graphic are good, for example when you see water in the game it is beautiful! The characters and story in the game are very memorable. After about 10 minutes of game play...when you first get a crow bar and start bashing anything you can find... you will love this game.

If you like FPS or great story games, this is for you! Also I am not normally a FPS fan (because I am a casual gamer) but this is by far the best one I have ever played!