Reviews for Left 4 Dead 2

95

Essential

Rcoder97 | July 2, 2014 | See all Rcoder97's reviews »

Don't even hesitate. Get this game. This is Left 4 Dead 2, a zombie survival/co-op/single-player story/competitive game. You can choose from quite a few modes right off the bat. You have your campaign which is chock-full of excellent stories. There is survival which requires your best planning to survive as long as possible. There is versus which allows you to play as the special infected. Scavenge which is to collect things. Going back to special infected, there are 8 of them. The smoker which can shoot it's tongue at you and take you away from the group. The jockey which can hop on your head and beat you into wherever it wants to go. The hunter which leaps on you and tears you to shreds. The charger which... charges and beats you to a pulp. The witch which you want to avoid at all costs. The tank which is basically the boss and can ruin your. The boomer which blows up and attracts zombies if it gets its bile on you. And the spitter which spits acid. Lastly there is steam workshop integration which allows you to mod Left 4 Dead 2 at the click of a button giving endless fun. You need this game if you want to play with friends.

90

Priceless co-op experience

MarianoAlipi | July 2, 2014 | See all MarianoAlipi's reviews »

This game is more enjoyable if you have a friend to play it with. The co-op experience found in Left 4 Dead 2 is one of the best I've ever seen. If you like FPS (first-person shooters) and zombies, I highly recommend Left 4 Dead 2. You don't have to love either, though; but it's a very nice game, with good gameplay, dialogues, IA, sound and graphics.

89

Fantastic Co-op Zombie Fun!

884okeoJ | July 2, 2014 | See all 884okeoJ's reviews »

Left 4 Dead 2 is a game best suited to playing with your friends, and by that I mean "if you don't play with friends you'll get yelled at nonstop". One of Left 4 Dead 2's only flaws is the incredibly toxic community, which makes it imperative to play with friends.

The visuals of Left 4 Dead 2 are quite good, as well as the sound design and voice acting. The gameplay is quite enjoyable as well, with numerous guns to choose from and many different zombie types. The best mode overall is versus mode, where you can play as either a zombie or a survivor. This unique spin on the zombie genre gives it the edge over other games, like Killing Floor. If have some friends to play with, you should definitely give Left 4 Dead 2 a try.

100

Endless fun with zombies.

Furrek | July 1, 2014 | See all Furrek's reviews »

This is good Left 4 Dead, but now with number 2. It have few improvements that first Left 4 Dead game didn't have. First, and I think the most important thing - steam workshop. There are plenty of maps, characters and other stuff for Left 4 Dead 2. Players are making all the time maps so the fun is unlimited. Second - melee weapons. Now you can cut the heads off zombies with katana, or hit them with frying pan. Third - it have content from first Left 4 Dead game. I still think that owning both Left 4 Dead and Left 4 Dead 2 is not bad idea, but if you don't like to spend money twice for "almost" same thing - almost, because Left 4 Dead 2 have only maps and characters from the first game, then go with that one. There are many people's playing this game online, so if you don't have a friends to play with, I'm sure you will find some.

90

Intense Co-op Action

bwrussell | June 18, 2014 | See all bwrussell's reviews »

Grab some friends and settle in for one of the all-time great co-op games. While this game can be played alone or with random strangers on the internet, you're only going to get the full experience playing with 3 friends. On top of that some sort of voice communication is crucial, whether it's in-game voice chat or playing in the same room. You fight through waves of zombies, interspersed with tougher "special" infected, trying to reach a series of safe houses and eventually escape. Along the way you'll have to complete occasional specific objectives, most commonly fetch quests and wave defense/horde mode. You'll skimp on ammo and hunt for medi-kits. You'll try to not wake the Witch. You'll wake the Witch. You'll fail, formulate new strategies, and tweak those again. It's all of this that makes your final escape so exhilarating and fulfilling.

On top of the great co-op campaign levels you also get co-operative and versus multiplayer modes. Of course you have your basic horde mode but really intriguing are the versus modes where teams switch back and forth between playing the survivors and the infected. When playing as an infected you spawn as a different "special" infected, with it's special abilities and attacks, each life and try to stop the survivors from progressing through a stage or collecting gas cans to power a generator. Surviving with your friends is awesome, sending them to the moon as a Charger is hilarious. Extending the life of this title even more is the extensive Steam Workshop support. From simple visual changes and user maps to complete overhauls and re-skins, you should be able to find plenty of content to extend your playtime.

If you have a few friends to play this with then it's absolutely worth the price, on-sale or not. If you're a lone wolf then you'll probably want to pass (playing alone isn't really that great) or make some friends.

95

A necessary game for anyone who plays games with friends

mugaro | June 15, 2014 | See all mugaro's reviews »

Its a really fun game and it has all of the l4d1 campaigns on it. The L4D1 campaigns are a lot better to play with melee weapons, bile bombs, extra infected, etc.

The big drawback is the multiplayer community is kind of ruined at this point. It's extremely hard to get into competitive multiplayer if you're new, and most people will punish you for being new and kick you out for the slightest mistake.

It's best to play this game with friends vs AI, because people vs people is ruined and solo vs AI is no fun.

88

Yet another amazing Co-op game by Valve

alanmaz567 | June 6, 2014 | See all alanmaz567's reviews »

Valve made allot of fun and enjoyable co-op game like the portal series or the original Left 4 Dead. This one is an amazing approvement from the original. It's fun to play with friends like allot of other games made by Valve. Even for those who don't like hack'n slash zombie game, i'm sure you will make an exception for this one.

95

one of the best co-op games

mirta000 | May 21, 2014 | See all mirta000's reviews »

Now what does this one have that Left 4 Dead 1 does not? And why you should buy it?

It has better ambient sounds and more details in the environment (such as more grass, more trees, etcetera). The graphics are better. There's more people playing the multiplayer. And that's about it. Unlike the first one the environments are no longer dark and I don't really like the new characters that much, but that's my personal opinion.

Now for someone that's new to Left 4 Dead:

both Left 4 Dead 1 and Left 4 Dead 2 provide an excellent 4 friends co-op experience and 4 versus 4 experience in the versus mode. Both games have a large mod community, therefore you and your friends should never run out of new maps to try and survive the zombie apocalypse in. Both games should be played with friends. They are simply not fun as a single player experience.

My personal opinion - both Left 4 Dead 1 and Left 4 Dead 2 are great games and one should own both :)

100

Co-op Killing Zombie Fun

13th | May 15, 2014 | See all 13th's reviews »

Probably one of, if not the best co-op game out there The premise is simple: get from point a to point b on each map whilst avoiding or killing as many as zombies as you can. Usually killing more than avoiding. You even get the original Left 4 Dead maps and team in this game as well. This is an example of the original being outshone by it's sequel and boy does it show. This is an experience that is best suited to being played with friends as you will find it a bit of a lonely experience if you choose to go it alone. But even then this is probably the best zombie killing game out there money can buy

85

Great mindless action

Kalmado07 | May 15, 2014 | See all Kalmado07's reviews »

Only played single player so far, but if you're looking for some mindless action this is a great game! Graphics seem good and controls are easy enough. Definitely grab this if on special!

100

Its a very good game

patacon | May 11, 2014 | See all patacon's reviews »

This is the best game in the style of killing zombies, it focuses on the characters are actors and are shooting a movie, is so realistic that if you die in the credits it appears that the film was made in memory of the player, have a mode co as good as its gameplay, a game mode that makes it more realistic (and difficult) yet, has Steam Workshop so never let playing this game, great detail is that the requirements are quite low so anyone who wants to play can do it, this game also has the source engine, perfect for a game like this engine, as I said earlier the best game of killing zombies, totally worth it, what can I say? 10/10

100

My favorite game

custompcmax | April 16, 2014 | See all custompcmax's reviews »

I have been playing this game for well over 2 years and I still find it to be the best co-op zombie shooter game in town.

The mechanics have been fine tuned to near perfection. And the online campaign is the best - I find the randomness of the levels and the players I encounter make for seemingly endless gameplay (despite the fact that the level designs aren't random).

Of course, anyone looking for zombie survival gameplay like Day Z, this isn't for you - that said - you may love it!

100

The best co-op game in town

SinisterDragon | March 15, 2014 | See all SinisterDragon's reviews »

Me and a few friends bought this game to play together a little while after it came out and we all still play it together to this day. It is the most fun I've had from a co-op game. The gameplay is frantic and scary but has also given us all huge laughs and memories. Nothing feels more satisfying than shooting down a friend and using him to distract the zombies while you keep running for safety. I would recommend this game 100% due to its endless replay value and massive support and updates from both Valve themselves and the amazing community.

85

Better than the first game

Gmen | Feb. 24, 2014 | See all Gmen's reviews »

As the subtitle above suggests, L4D2 is better than the original in just about every way. You have several game modes to keep things interesting, and a lovely selection of new well-designed maps. Graphically, L4D2 is better looking, and this is shown off especially well in day missions, where you can see just how pretty it really is. You have a bigger selection of weaponry to choose from, including some new firearms, some heavy weaponry, and melee weapons too. There are some new pickups like adrenaline shots and boomer bile to help aid you in getting through those much-dreaded undead hordes, which even boast some new special infected as well, a little more easily.

The characters have a bit more depth to them than the ones in the original, and the story is more interesting – more believable in a way. There are scenes in missions such as a wedding where all the guests have been turned into zombies, and there is definitely more interactivity in levels. This world which is filled with undead, has never felt so alive.

Throw in the fact that all DLC is free, and even the original Left 4 Dead missions are available here, and you have quite a winner. Overall, Left 4 Dead is a bit like Half-Life, and Left 4 Dead 2 is more like Half-Life 2. L4D was good for its time, but it has just been completely outdone by its sequel. If you want a decent undead slaying game, then this is the one you should buy.

75

Great for Co-Op

jmods5710 | Feb. 12, 2014 | See all jmods5710's reviews »

If you love playing games in co-op with other people then this is the game for you. If you like zombies, and borderlands, then this is the game for you. If you want something to satisfy your Dead Island tastebuds, then I recommend you get Left 4 Dead 2. This is a zombie game made by valve a few years ago. Graphics are okay, especially for the source engine, an engine made a long time ago in the early 2000s. Playing with other people is the focus of the game, and where you'll probably have most fun, but it can be enjoyed alone too. I found the single player rather boring, so if you like single player games, then don't get this unless it is really cheap or free. Otherwise, enjoy this great multiplayer game with your friends!

87

You have to try it! Even if you are lonely wolf

Yokolobuna | Jan. 26, 2014 | See all Yokolobuna's reviews »

I hate coop games... Random people don't cooperate, they rush forward and I cant enjoy every piece of game because I have to follow them asap. BUT I love L4D2! This game with brilliant gameplay surprised me. You cant go alone and search every room (like I like to do) and that is ok, tense atmosphere push you to keep moving with your teammates and you just have to cooperate otherwise you end up eaten by some ugly freak. Level design is phenomenal and replayability unlimited. Yes, sometimes you may be matched with team of braindead zombies, who think that the most funny thing is to slash you with axe but that is not problem of the game but players. You have to try it even if you are lonely wolf and other players make you angry. Its definitely worth it and you gonna enjoy every minute. I get it for free but Its absolutely worth your money. Try it! You wont regret. 9/10

61

No Difference From First One

chataolauj | Jan. 24, 2014 | See all chataolauj's reviews »

This game isn't really different from the first one. The only difference is that there are more maps, new characters, and more weapons. You just do the same thing on each map though. Kill zombies and run away with no intentional goal.

I guess modding things here and there can make the game more fun, but it'll only last you awhile before you get bored of it again. The AI comrades in this one are pretty damn stupid as well. That's all I got to say.

82

Co-Op at it's finest

Sganotak | Jan. 16, 2014 | See all Sganotak's reviews »

Like most other Valve games, L4D2 is mainly focused on multiplayer.

The game features new protagonists and the old ones in a total of 13 different campaigns with each one having multiple levels. You can play them single player with AI controlled teammates or join a Co-Op game, which is the meat of the game

What really impressed me is that the AI Director who populated each level with normal and special infected will give you a different challenge it's time based on your team's strength,weaknesses and overall style of play. Most Special Infected require a lot of teamwork to be defeated and that's where the game really shines

The Source Engine despite being dated works really well, the gore and dismemberment of the zombies is really satisfying

There are lots of official and unofficial modifiers that you can apply to your campaigns like permadeath, headshot-only kills and many more. This greatly extends the game's replayability

There is also a competitive mode where you can play as either the survivors or the special infected but unfortunately the community is pretty cruel to new and inexperienced players.

To sum it up, L4D2 is one of the best Co-Op games on the market

60

Way too ordinary.

kubqo | Jan. 12, 2014 | See all kubqo's reviews »

Ordinary co-op zombie FPS (from todays point of view), with occasional flash of game design brilliance, especially with zombie types formed, to separate the group of survivors. Game is pulling the carpet from under itself by absolutely boring level design, but mainly by using Source engine, which is terrible for shooters outside of CS. Idea behind asynchronical multiplayer sounds great in theory, but its very poorly executed and controlling zombies is way too clunky to be enjoyable. Fortunately, game supports steam workshop, where lots of community content brings what main game lacks.

65

mindless zombie killing

madxskillzxgame | Jan. 7, 2014 | See all madxskillzxgame's reviews »

the game gameplay aspect is great but besides that there is nothing there is no story and you dont get any fell for characters but the gameplay is great and even better with mods which are very easy to install the game is a lot better with friends to coop zombie kiling is way better than playing by yourself

85

Fun Cooperation FPS zombie game

KyoLz | Jan. 6, 2014 | See all KyoLz's reviews »

Up to 4 players game that coop together to fight zombie and survive different map and escape from the place. It fun to play together cause it based on teamworks and communications. It a game that need to be stick together to fight their way out. Once someone is left behind, he/she will be dead.

There different type of weapons and zombies to fight with. Different type of mods we can play and challenge ourselves.

There are normal and special zombies in this game. Each special zombies have their own ability to hunt down the survivors. Their mission is to kill the survivors before they reach the safe house.

98

Very fun co-op shooter with friends.

InsaneHien | Jan. 5, 2014 | See all InsaneHien's reviews »

Valve did a great job with Left 4 Dead 2. You play as 1 of the 4 survivors and their job is fight against the Infected as you and your buddies find an escape in each campaign. L4D2 has 13 campaigns, with 6 of them coming from the first game.

This game has a big focus on co-op play, so it's highly recommended to play with 3 other friends or other players. If you're bored of playing Campaign, there's also Survival, Versus, Realism, Realism Versus, Scavenge, and the Mutations. With the addition of the Steam Workshop, this makes the replay value pretty high. For a 2009 game, L4D2 is still one of the most played games on Steam today.

100

Mods make the game replayable

OgreMan88 | Jan. 3, 2014 | See all OgreMan88's reviews »

When Left 4 Dead 2 added steam workshop mods, in my opinion, it made it repayable almost to the point of Team Fortress 2 levels. The fact that I can set up custom sounds for certain infected such as Herbert the Pervert for the smoker, or Leeroy Jenkins for the Charger, or add music to infected such as the Tank with the Power Rangers Theme Song Playing, keeps me playing seemingly forever.

95

One of the Best Co-op Zombie Shooters Ever

mulletov | Dec. 28, 2013 | See all mulletov's reviews »

I spent about 2 years playing L4D2 regularly. My favorite aspect is that it is co-op. If you hate competitive FPS games like Call of Duty or Battlefield, you should definitely check this out. It requires a lot of teamwork to finish campaigns with all 4 survivors making it to the finale. The best part of this game is the mod support. The game comes stock with 4 or 5 campaigns and Valve has even ported all campaigns from the original L4D into this. You basically get both games for the price of 1. Be sure to check out the custom campaigns Ravenholm, Left 4 Mario, Warcelona, 2 Evil Eyes, and Death Aboard.

85

Fun , Fun, Fun.

Quillan | Dec. 27, 2013 | See all Quillan's reviews »

Very funny FPS shooter, expecially played with 2-3 friends at once in co-op mode. Smashing zombies wasn't ever so fun!

In single mode the gaming experience can be more dull and repetitive, but also you can find many "thrilling" points where you will literally jump on your seat!

In co-op is a must-have title that can give you many hours of gruesome fun.

84

Bloodier, more entertaining and more complete

kalil | Dec. 20, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

The sequel of Left 4 Dead gets better the first half despite the little innovation , and the problem is that with only a year apart can not do much really . It is a title that may like or not those who have already played the first installment and may appeal to those who are not familiar with the series and play Left 4 Dead for the first time with this second part.

History of Left 4 Dead 2 is not the strong suit , as this is divided into five seasons (eight with downloadable content ) whose storyline between the two is very slight. It begins with an introduction that I quite liked , although it is somewhat "liar" with what the game actually offers . This ends with a few survivors on a terrace fail to reach a rescue helicopter , which they see how it away from them . Here's how it begins Left 4 Dead 2 , armed with a crowbar and pistols, killing every zombie that crosses us as we pass through the halls of a hotel infested .

This game is basically go from point A to B killing any zombie that is crossed, there is not much around. Arguably is somewhat repetitive , because all you have to do is kill , no puzzles to solve or anything, something I did not like that much . Each campaign is divided into five or four levels , and is always the final where we escaped , either on our own or someone rescues us . The finishes are based on stand and survive, they are the most complicated parts of each campaign. Here not much changes the game, most of the final look similar , but the end of the campaign that was more to my liking is the second season : defend against enemies everything we can on stage , listening to pure rock , full of lights and fireworks bursting boxes ... the end of the season I liked most of the game, and yes I enjoyed it .

There are different types of zombies : normal and special , which is six zombies with a unique ability to complicate things. Throughout history we will find somewhere with a zombie boss named Tank, but unfortunately is always the same and this game does not vary much . Each campaign has its special or unique zombie , which can be tougher or stronger, but nothing more. In this installment , enemies react more realistically to bullets , but not entirely , because with an AK -47 we can from a zombie in half and smash it with only three bullets.

Something that I did not really like was the fact that the first time we play we will have the opportunity to play until the latter part of last season if we wanted . That is, we have everything unlocked , which I did not like it much, because I expected that campaigns go unlocked as you progress in the story.

Do not expect to see many cinematics , because throughout history we will see very few , which are basically the ones that open and close a campaign. They are very short and they are very poor . In Left 4 Dead 2 we can choose whether to play or just an online campaign , and no matter what we choose, always be the group of four survivors who are Coach , Rochelle , Nick and Ellis. Do not care much we use, virtually all are equal , no one has something special , the only difference is the appearance. The AI ​​of both the enemies like humans, is right and proper . But there are times when a special enemy attacks us , our colleagues will do nothing and lose a considerable amount of life to react (this only happened to me twice).

The controls are correct and are comfortable . I 'm a console gamer and I could adapt quickly and easily to the keyboard. The difficulty of this game is high, it is not easy , always talking up the normal difficulty , things get very complicated. Left 4 Dead 2 is an addictive and fun game, although the duration of the story could be a problem , complete the story we will take from 6-8 hours, but you can always turn to the multiplayer modes .

Graphically the game is good, although you may notice the change of introducing graphic and gameplay, although this difference is somewhat slight . The modeling of both survivors and enemies , is good, though arguably some zombies modeling is superior to others. The scenarios also liked , there are some fairly cornered , some not so, but overall we go through the scenarios are well done .

I liked the sound effect , sounds of the weapons are fine, as are the effects of audio from enemies and the soundtrack. Although the game is not scary nor scary when you have to go near a Witch somewhere dark listening as she cries , can give us a little thing, but nothing to worry about .

This sequel does not show many new things to say, although it is good to have three new multiplayer modes , three new types of special zombies and to debut the melee weapons , this game is very similar to the above , the same graphics engine and same style of campaigning. Despite this, the game continues to be very entertaining and fun.

  • Very entertaining
  • Very good to play with friends
  • Improvements from first game
  • Good graphics, both as characters modeled scenarios
  • Good sound paragraph

  • Very slight argument between campaign and campaign Hilo

  • Something repetitive
  • Slight innovation

Left 4 Dead 2 is not a game of innovation , that 's clear , but the fun and entertainment offered by the first delivery shown in the same way in this sequel but improved form . As I said at the beginning of the analysis, this game may not like both those who have already played the first game, but will not disappoint those who touch the series for the first time through this part .

85

Great fun in co-op.

TETfromLondon | Dec. 14, 2013 | See all TETfromLondon's reviews »

Valve pretty much redefined the co-op genre when they released the original Left 4 Dead, and there was a lot of anticipation for this one. They didn't change the formula much from the previous game. It's definitely very fun though. The campaign and maps are good, and the zombies are fun to fight, especially with friends. However, it is still very much playable with random people online if no friends are available. The game also has great mod support and still has a very active player base, so it's not hard to find a game. It is worth noting though that if you're getting this game in order to get scared, that's probably not going to happen. Still, if you're looking a fun co-op game or a fun zombie fighting game, it doesn't get much better than this.

90

incredible value for money

gwynplaine | Dec. 4, 2013 | See all gwynplaine's reviews »

This game has everything - versus, horde, 2 free DLC campaigns, the campaigns from L4D1, workshop additions and continuing updates and more. There is a tremendous horde of content in this game.

It was revolutionary when it came out (well it did come out not shortly after the first one) and did more for the zombie genre than Resident Evil ever did, and has since reinvigorated the zombie craze. The shooting is tight, graphics and design are top notch and there's enough variety killing the different kinds of infected. The personal touches and characterization are great too and you can't expect less from Valve.

68

Zombie, zombie, zombie... KILL KILL KILL

segrand | Dec. 1, 2013 | See all segrand's reviews »

With Left 4 Dead 2 is a funny thing . First thing is is that it also contains a campaign with the first part. Is so stupid to buy two parts , since the second is everything. I hope that the third party does not give two previous parts. Well, but going forward . Graphics for those times quite pleasing to the eye . There will not be here the idea of ​​survival in a dangerous world . We simply can not be eaten . How so do we defend ? Axes , clubs, guns and much more . We have quite a few weapons . We just smash the whole cluster of zombies , go ahead , knock again, and so on . Until we map does not end. Quite funny you have to admit it . But I could not personally do not know how long this bear. We have four main characters. Their models are very cool. We have , of course, four of the previous section. The idea here is what the co-op . Collaboration is important here , because if it snaps at us one of the strongest zombie or drop us life , someone has to us from the ground up. And here we are just companions from that. When the games themselves , the other three takes on the computer . Our comrades blind run for us, and shoot at everything that moves until the ammo runs out or the opponent scored. Speaking of ammo, you do not need to worry about the lack of it. Here's just very hard to lose all the magazines. On the higher difficulty levels is probably possible, but from what we have ax. Generally speaking, the whole game is enjoyable with friends. This is rather typical survival, and over time can get boring. Is it worth investing in this production? Probably. I personally am an average geared to this.

80

Great Cooperative Shooter

lachking | Dec. 1, 2013 | See all lachking's reviews »

This is a strong sequel that adds some good new features without changing the fundamentals of the original Left 4 Dead. There are new items, characters,enemies, weapons, levels and the like as well as new music. The only real problem is that the core experience tends to get quite repetitive as all you're really doing is shooting wave upon wave of enemies to get to the safe house or rescue point. However, the experience is great for the most part and can definitely be a whole lot of fun, especially with friends in co-op.

85

Great co-op shooter

lok0812 | Dec. 1, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

This game is one of those really great shooting games when playing with other people. The game offers co-op play with 3 others in the group and tasked to go from point A to point B. Along the trail there will be massive amount of zombies as well as special ones with special skills that will do whatever it takes to kill you. THe game also offer competitive play where players can take side between the humans or the zombies and play similar to the story/co-op mode. L4D2 has a really high replayability as the game comes with many mods especially new maps for players to play in. Definitely worth getting if you are looking for a co-op zombie shooter.

85

Left 4 Dead 2 - review

Neapolis47 | Nov. 30, 2013 | See all Neapolis47's reviews »

Left 4 Dead 2 continues in the vein of its predecessor putting ourselves in the shoes of one of four survivors fleeing the desperate search for salvation , which in this chapter is identified with the military base in New Orleans, in a very difficult journey . The story is divided into 5 different campaigns, each with different characteristics and environments , in which 4 players will have to cooperate in order to have a little hope to survive. Cooperation is the basis of success: Left 4 Dead 2 , as also his predecessor , is a title that goes absolutely played in multiplayer, not so much for its difficulty , but as for being damn fun and rewarding. Anyone who wants to buy a title like to play single player is warned : it will be bleak. The multi-player mode present in Left 4 Dead 2 are five , therefore increases the fun , in this second chapter the dead moments or safe spaces will be relatively reduced to a minimum , while precision , coldness and speed of execution are to be , for the most part of the time , a feature critical to the success of the current mission.

95

My Favorite Co-Op Game of All Time

Highlander9782 | Nov. 30, 2013 | See all Highlander9782's reviews »

There are tons of game modes to keep you entertained for hours. Campaign is great with a nice variety of maps in different settings with swamps, snow and thunderstorms. My favorite game mode is team versus with survivors vs zombies. Each zombie has distinct abilities and strategies to attack, my favorite being the Smoker who attacks from a distance with his tongue. The modding community for this game is also unbelievable, with custom maps and models for characters. Definite must buy, great to play with friends.

90

Amazing Co op experience

TPCGorillaMunch | Nov. 29, 2013 | See all TPCGorillaMunch's reviews »

I have never played Left 4 Dead 1 but Left 4 Dead 2 is a very well done game with all of the campaigns from Left 4 Dead 1 included, so if you are looking to buy one of the games this is definitely the one. Left 4 Dead 2 follows four survivors that must fight through hordes of infected and special infected. What makes this such a great cooperative game is that you really do have to work together to have success. If someone gets pinned by a special infected they can only be saved by a teammate,

There are a variety of guns and melee weapons, although they aren't anything special and mostly feel the same. The music, voice acting, and atmosphere is very well done. I would definitely recommend playing this game with friends rather than randoms as it will be a much, much more enjoyable experience.

The game has huge replay value due to the large variety of game modes, including versus in which you can even play as the special infected.

93

Almost 5 years later, still one of the kings of CO-OP

videopower77 | Nov. 29, 2013 | See all videopower77's reviews »

One of the most replayable games ever. Although the quick release of L4D2 after the success of L4D shocked many gamers, the sequel has proved it's worth ten-fold over the years. There is now a TON of content. A ridiculous amount of campaigns (all the originals have been ported over!), game modes, mods, etc.

Although this game can be fun solo, it really is a co-op experience. So get some buddies and fight the zombie apocalypse. Solo play is missing out on a LOT of fun. Also, the AI partners are amazingly inconsistent.

It's not too late to jump in on this game.

90

Don't run, shoot!

beltmatt_usa | Nov. 29, 2013 | See all beltmatt_usa's reviews »

This is the first valve game I ever played. I come back to this game often because it reminds me why I enjoy playing games. The story is fairly simplistic and unoriginal/overdone, but it was pulled off very well.

The acting in it is fun, not overdone like most zombie games. Also there is a lot of steam workshop features you an install and it helps keep the game fresh.

I'm not the biggest fan of playing online co-cooperatively but if you are able to coordinate a game with people you know it can be pretty enjoyable.

It is great when this game is on sale, but it is worth full price!

85

Intense Rage Inducing Fun

Elstumpo | Nov. 29, 2013 | See all Elstumpo's reviews »

Left 4 Dead 2 has proven itself to be an intense sequel to an intense game, while perhaps coming out a bit too soon after the first game, expands on the original game nicely.

Firstly due to the constant (and free) updates and patches the game has received over the years, all the maps from Left 4 Dead 1 has been ported over to the sequel, giving little to no reasons for any new player to purchase the first game. While containing all the old maps, they have been made to work with all the new weapons and special infected that the sequel has introduced, meaning that older players will see new life within the old content.

The voice acting is amazing, save for some small technical details, which does not get tiring even after hundreds of hours of gameplay. The aesthetics are simply amazing, giving an uneasy feeling whether you're exploring a run-down plantation in the evening or rushing through a swamp during a midnight sprint.

However it's worth noting, you will have a lot more fun with friends than you will strangers. It's worth getting atleast one friend to play campaign with you to save the stress of dealing with immature children and people with anger issues.This applies to both versus and campaign, especially on the harder difficulties.