Reviews for Left 4 Dead


A good party-game, with an even better sequel

gamma_rad | Nov. 10, 2015 | See all gamma_rad's reviews »

First of all, while this game do have Single-player this is a primarily a Multiplayer focused so I will review it based only on that. Left 4 Dead is one of the greatest Co-op shooter games out there. set in a post zombie-apocalypse world Where you and your friends play a group of 4 survivors who must fight together against the Zombie horde in order to reach the extraction site and be rescued. L4D features good graphics, good AI and a great behind the scenes AI "Director" which will change the gameplay according to your choices, making each playthrough slightly different. However, L4D2 has improved on that and adds additional features such as Workshop for mods and maps. Therefore it is the clear choice between the two. Still a good party game, especially if you've already played 2 and want something similar.


An excellent co-op game but one to avoid if playing alone

Legolas_Katarn | Oct. 9, 2015 | See all Legolas_Katarn's reviews »

Very fun fast paced co-op survival game. Fight your way through different stages of each level until you reach the last point where you have to defend yourself from waves of attacking infected until your rescue arrives. The game has a limited amount of weapons including shotguns, rifles, and pistols, and sniper rifles. Most come in a weaker form and later on in the level more powerful versions of the guns can be found with higher rate of fire or higher ammo capacity. You can also find and make use of pain pills, medkits, pipe bombs that emit a sound that attract the infected, and molotov cocktails which can set fire to a wide area blocking paths for the infected. Multiplayer is fun to play with four people playing as the survivors and four players taking the roll of the special infected. Trying to work with your team to separate and kill the survivors makes for great matches, and being able to travel around the map as an infected is interesting in itself. The allied AI is completely useless when it comes to identifying threats, helping, or using items this makes playing alone both boring and extremely difficult unless playing on the easiest settings. If you can find some friends to play the game with this is definitely a game worth checking out.


Zombie Shooter Full of Fun

LrmNick | Sept. 7, 2015 | See all LrmNick's reviews »

Everyone knows left4dead is one of the most famous zombie fps in the market, but this time i suggest you to buy the sequel of it: left4dead2, because all the maps,guns, the characters and special zombies of it are included in l4d2,you can buy this to know how l4d was before the release of the new game.


Co-op game

Sceyef | Aug. 11, 2015 | See all Sceyef's reviews »

Wasn't fun to play singleplay. Felt sad and lonely. With a friend, it's a different story. Worth it if you know someone else who plays. I'm not a fan of the graphics; the enemies didn't look scary to me, instead, they came off as weird. The animations weren't that great either.


Classic Zombie-Slaying Co-Op fun!

iamthelaw | July 23, 2015 | See all iamthelaw's reviews »

This game is one of the classics! Graphics obviously aren't up to today's standards, but still good, especially for the time this game was released. It's a very simple, easy to play game, that I feel anyone could pick up and play with out a problem. It still has several features for the more dedicated gamers as well. Facing the hoards of zombies coming at you can be very challenging, especially on higher difficulty settings! I believe this game is one of the best zombie games available, certainly worth giving it a try!


Great coop game

The1337N00Bx | July 21, 2015 | See all The1337N00Bx's reviews »

This is one of my favorite coop games. Plenty of different kinds of zombies to fight against with different abilities. The game has a lot of replay value and I found myself replaying levels multiple times and it never got old. If you're looking for a game to mess around with your friends and shoot stuff in, this is for you.


Lot of LOVE for this game !!

sai_mj | July 11, 2015 | See all sai_mj's reviews »

The first game in l4d series centering on zombie apocalypse...the gameplay is cooler than it sounds !! The game starts with 4 characters surviving their way from zombies and crossing different levels. The center of attraction for this game is mainly co-op which is excellent. The best part if co-op is you get to kill zombies with 4 players along with your friends, and if anyone hurts you can heal them up by giving them a hand !! Graphics are awesome and well balanced with stunning sounds. Basically you fight your way through sub levels and later go to the main level which is very tough. You can master it if your'e habituated. The zombies are crazy!! Each one having different ability..for example, consider hunter who climbs on you and tear you apart with his long and sharp nails !! The witch, oh man , she is the real deal. At first i thought of her as small child crying out for i approached her with my flash light and bam !! She suddenly scared me with her long nails and i'm all out for a single strike from her. So i learnt not to use flash light while passing through her from that time lol. I hightly recommend this game for having fun with your friends and trust me you won't leave it until you finish it :))


Awesome Multi play

nskk5 | June 15, 2015 | See all nskk5's reviews »

this is best action and thriller game i have ever played at first i was like a lot scred while around witch but as i have became adaptable to game i began to wonder alone with out my friends and i even completed some levels as single player and with friends i became absolutely funny and had damn good time



Mamaguevos | June 11, 2015 | See all Mamaguevos's reviews »

This being the first sequel is one of the best games of survivors and zombies, with fantastic graphics and good gameplay in the game, of course, compared with the "Left 4 Dead 2" makes a little change since its gameplay is a little different is recommended 100% in my opinion should buy it and if they have the opportunity to purchase the "Left 4 Dead Bundle" containing its two sequels.


Good Team Multiplay

htanmsa | May 17, 2015 | See all htanmsa's reviews »

This is the first version of left 4 dead and its good especially if you want to play together as team with friends.In this game you can voice chat or text chat within game.You can kill many zombies or face off against opposite teams.In this there are different types of zombies like bomber,tanker which has special powers.Its interesting to kill them as without any other team member it almost impossible to escape from them.This games helps us in creating sense of bond and we can enjoy a lot.You can even heal friends or give them health.To reach your goal you have good sense of teamwork otherwise you fail.Overall if you want to play multi with ur friends then this is the best game out there


With friends? Go for it!

Armannn | March 20, 2015 | See all Armannn's reviews »

Overall: Left 4 Dead is a FPS survival horror game developed by Valve Corporation and Turtle Rock Studios. The game was released in 2008 and got its "Game of the Year" edition in 2009. Gameplay: People say that the first experience with something (in this case a game) is very important... And it really is. Left 4 Dead's gameplay is based on a few game modes: Campaign (single and multiplayer), Survival and Versus (only multiplayer), all of them being very unique. The very well known zombie apocalypse scenario is, in this game, at its best. Along with 3 bots/other players, your goal is to make it to the saferoom where you'll get some amno, a medkit to heal yourself and some weapons. However, on your way to the saferoom, you'll be fighting hordes and hordes of CI (common infected) and SI (special infected). Killing them all is not a "must", but it's hardly gonna happen that you'll make it to the saferoom if the SI are alive and are following you. Maps: Maps are not really much detailed, but still look better than in some other games like Team Fortress 2. However, every map (called usually campaign, if it's talk about the Campaign game mode) consists of parts (usually called "chapters") and at the end of each chapter is a saferoom which the zombies CAN NOT enter once it's closed. Keep in mind that L4D's very well known AI Director was literally a test in this game, so spawning the zombies in some places wouldn't be logical if it was in real life. At this point, L4D2 looks much better than this game. However, there are more zombies (CI) that you're gonna see in this game than in L4D2. It's worth to mention that there are only a few SI (compared to its successor. Those are: The Tank (literally the main boss), The Witch, The Boomer (attracts a horde with his horde), The Hunter and The Smoker. Fun: The game can get pretty boring if you don't really have friends to play with. Playing Campaign in the offline mode is not really cool once you finish them all, but keep in mind that this is the part where modding (which the game does support, luckily) comes in play. There are many mods that can change your game's look and this is definitely an advantage. To sum everything, L4D is a pretty fun game whose AI Director (even tho it's not really fixed as it should) made kind of a revolution in the video game industries. If you have friends to play this game with, you should give it a try and keep in mind that you CAN NEVER tell something's bad before you try it on your own. Left 4 Dead is a game that deserves a chance.


Best zombie multiplayer game!

andreacdc98 | Feb. 11, 2015 | See all andreacdc98's reviews »

Left 4 Dead is a Valve game, which takes place in the zombie apocalypse, so you need to survive by killing loads of them. This game has an ok story, but it has the best multiplayer experience that you can get, playing as a team, with your friends if possible, and complete the objective. The game is old by now, so the graphics aren't so good, but it still is great for the game, giving you a lot of fun by playing it. In the multiplayer you need to finish the levels, but to do that, your team needs to help each other, since it's pretty challenging, making the experience amazing. Anyway, I recommend this to all the zombie survival games fans out there, since this is a classic that everyone should play!


Still Good To An Extent

emptyhaven | Dec. 23, 2014 | See all emptyhaven's reviews »

This game is pretty good. It was even better though when it first came out. It has some pretty tense moments, and coop makes it even better since the AI companions are pretty stupid most of the time, but they do make good decoys allowing you to escape a good amount of damage and danger. What killed this game though was by how much more amazing the sequel was. Not only was gameplay better, but it included more special zombie types and tenser moments throughout the larger and more numerous maps. Playing Versus was an intense blast as well (as long as you have 7 other people to play with) as your team begins coordinating zombie attacks with the various different kinds of zombies you are. I was once in a match where the opposing zombie team wiped us survivors out in less than 5 minutes in a well-timed and awesome display of expertly used special zombie attacks (using the acid to scatter us, dragging a person away with the Smoker, separating another one with the Charger's charge attack, and mobbing the last with zombies through the Boomer's bile). This game may be dated in some ways, but it is still an enjoyable game. If you want a challenge, play this game on the highest difficulty or something.



drakso | Dec. 22, 2014 | See all drakso's reviews »

Well, when you hear survive you usually imagine managing resources food cover and all sort of things like that. Well Left4Dead is nothing like that. You and your team mates must save your selves by SHOOTING EVERYTHING IN YOUR WAY. The game feels very epic and it is very good at what it does - Shooting zombies. The graphics and sound assets are very good and the story is a casual zombie outbreak story, but that is not the strong point of this game. The strong point is the co-op element. The most fun you are going to have playing this games is with 3 more friends shooting and constantly shouting at each other about who to get the med pack and who startled the witch. I recommend this game to everyone because it is really fun when you play with friends no matter what kinda games are you into.


Best coop game I have experienced

Dansyuqri | Nov. 9, 2014 | See all Dansyuqri's reviews »

Been playing this for a couple of years until L4D2 came out. It is awesome! During its time, this game was the talk of the day and I feel its cooperative and competitive gameplay is what attracted most people. It combined strategy and cooperative gameplay with gore - something not usually done. Valve did a great job here. Versus mode was what got me going on L4D, but the down side of it is that there are always rage quitters. A must buy! Just play for the fun of the story line and get more out of L4D2's versus mode


Zombie survival at its best

NucularS | Oct. 26, 2014 | See all NucularS's reviews »

Left 4 Dead is an insanely satisfying four-player zombie survival game of top-notch quality we have come to expect from Valve. Killing zombies has never been more cinematographic, and the mad dash toward the escape helicopter has never been more desperate. In many ways, the original even surpasses the sequel – the wailing cries of the witch is not something one soon forgets.


Fantastic game, even years later

RiVenoX | Oct. 12, 2014 | See all RiVenoX's reviews »

This game still holds up today, It offers just enough variety, even when playing through the same levels over and over. It's not rote memorization, though you do build a strategy to deal with whatever pops up. It's infinitely better with friends, especially if you're able to get a 4 player game going. The Vs. mode was an interesting take, and has given me endless joys and headaches due to perfectly executed runs, and complete foul-ups.


Addictive, Bloody and Funny

KingTed | Oct. 6, 2014 | See all KingTed's reviews »

Left 4 Dead is one of my most memorable multiplayer experiences. With three friends, it is really good to play. To discover new areas, to resist to dozens of undead attackers, to cooperate against the huge Tank... And don't forget the thrill of each last levels of the campaigns where you have to guard some areas until someone come to rescue your team. The game still looks good today. It's easy to play but rather challenging in the hardest difficulty settings. And there are tons of mods available. Must have!


Pills here!

midgetjacks | Oct. 4, 2014 | See all midgetjacks's reviews »

Do you trust your friends? You won't after playing this. But man is it fun. Each of the four campaigns are pretty fun, all ending in a crazy last stand scenario. I can't tell you how many nights were spent howling in surprise or agony or laughter while playing this. Sure Left 4 Dead 2 expands on and improves this, but I still think I like this one just a bit more.


One of the Best Valve games ever created!

phxsusn14 | Aug. 14, 2014 | See all phxsusn14's reviews »

This game is a absolutely the best game ever made! This game shows true excellence on how to tell a story the right way, Vavle succeeded at that! This is easily one of the best coop games ever made!


Generic FPS

rslancer | Aug. 12, 2014 | See all rslancer's reviews »

Its a fun game and rather brainless FPS. Loads of zombies swarm you and half the time you just spray and pray. No revolutionary gameplay here but nonetheless strangely satisfying to down hordes of zombies with friends and my gf (its a simple game so you can just tell your gf to shoot everything that moves)


Days of zombies is beginning.

Suppression555 | Aug. 11, 2014 | See all Suppression555's reviews »

You never know what you will bring a new day. In a "perfect" time, all your everyday life, you are taking, as given can fly to the devil, and you really have to fight for their lives and the lives of their teammates. Good opportunity once again to make sure that any human error or negligence, can really be the end of the World.


The beggining

Seibitsu | July 21, 2014 | See all Seibitsu's reviews »

Have to admit that if you only want this game because of the campaign you can get it for free on L4D2. Still this game is unique, the variety of weapons aren't that much and you don't have melee weapons but it gives what it promises, fun. The online may not be full but it's good to play with friends.


A Memorable Zombie FPS Game.

luxcaeruleus | July 21, 2014 | See all luxcaeruleus's reviews »

A game that's fun to play over and over again. That's what Left 4 Dead is, a game that you will never get tired of playing. There are multiple reasons to love this game. *Story: There's no real story to it. It's about 4 survivors trying to escape the zeds. Maps are linear. It's a story of adventure, where from point A, you need to go to point B. What I liked about it is that they have different posters while the game is loading, it's as if they're in a movie. *Gameplay: Gameplay is good. It's your typical FPS game. You choose a weapon at the starting point and exchange it with weapons you find along the way. You have your Primary weapon, Secondary weapon, your grenades and your med kit. The amount of weapons to choose from isn't that much though and ammo isn't an issue. Your main melee attack is shoving off the zombies that comes close to you. Multiplayer is good too. teamwork is the key to success. You could finish the map with just by yourself, no AI, but it's really hard. There's also an option to play as a special infected against other players. *Graphics: Graphics is disn't. Nothing grand. If you loved Half-Life 2's graphics, then I'm sure you'll like Left 4 Dead's graphics too. *Sound: The sound of the game is great. You occasionally hear zombies growl and special infected's cries. And the background music is good whenever there's an event going on. *Performance: The game has low required specs so most computers could play this with a decent fps. *Zombies: Of course there are zombies. But that's not the highlight. What's different in Left 4 Dead are it's special infected namely, Hunter, Smoker, Boomer, Witch, Tank. Each of this special infected has different skills that could really screw you over if you don't take them seriously. Hunters are the dudes wearing hoods and prowling over the place. They are silent while crawling but release a high pitched screech whenever they pounce. If a hunter gets you, it'll hop above you (think of a UFC take down and you're down one that was taken down) and scratch you til you're in the red. The only way to stop them from clawing you to death is for your teammates to kill him. Smokers are your smoking dudes before they got infected. They cough occasionally because of the smoke they emit. Their special skill is have a long tongue. And I mean long. They can shoot it from afar, usually from building tops, and pull you in. Your teammates need to kill him to save you. Boomers are the fatty ones. They emit a blobbing sound to let you know that one is near. Their specialty is puking infected vomit at you, triggering a horde to target you and you alone. They also explode when killed so you better kill him from afar. Witches are bitches.They're the crying ladies of the game. They sit and cry in the dark, waiting for it's victim. Be cautious when you encounter one. If you look at her directly, you'll anger her, putting her in a frenzy where she'll attack the one that triggered her. She only needs one hit to put you to the ground, She's fast and resilient so it's sometimes better to avoid her rather than kill her. And lastly, the Tank. It's not called tank for nothing. It's the huge, masculine man thing that rampages around the place. Whenever there's a tank event, a background music would play. They have a huge amount of health and can throw you away with just one swing. They could grab rocks from the ground or nearby cars to throw to you. There's absolutely no way of avoiding this monstrosity and the best way to take it down is team work. *PC Advantage: There's an advantage to the PC version from the Console Version which is, Mods. Left 4 Dead supports player created mods. It could be new textures, new maps, new enemies, new weapons, and even whole new campaigns. So after you've finished the main campaign, you could download a new one to freshen things up. All in all, Left 4 Dead is a great game. It surely has marked it's place on the gaming industry. I would highly recommend it to anyone that's thinking of buying the game


A fantastic co op zombie action adventure

justice7ca | July 20, 2014 | See all justice7ca's reviews »

I had a lot of fun with this game, both with friends and randoms. One of the best features is the online multiplayer connectivity. Finding players and opponents is seamless and the game modes are a lot of fun. Even years later, this game still has a strong online community behind it and if you enjoy shooting zombies in games, don't miss this one.


Born of a legendary zombie game.

Furrek | June 30, 2014 | See all Furrek's reviews »

I have always loved zombies - in books, movies, games. My favorite, and only acceptable kind were slow zombies. Like, you are faster, you can run from them, but still they are dangerous. Left 4 Dead was my first time with "running" zombies. At first I couldn't get into this game - it was just strange. It's strange for zombies to running instead of walking. I think the moment I have played this game online I was in love. It's one of games where teamwork, with real players, is most important and most fun. When you are trying with others to make out from this hell alive. You can still play this game with computer players, but this is not fun at all. So about Left 4 Dead, it have amazing characters. I like them all. Maps, and campaings in whole, are great to play. There are not many of them, but have awesome replayability. You can play them all the time, on different difficult settings. And the hardest one is really hard, even for whole team of experienced players. Fun fact: this game was my reason for making account on steam. Get Left 4 Dead, play it, love it. There is also Left 4 Dead 2, but people are still playing this game. If i'm not mistaken, second game have everything from the first one, so you might check Left 4 Dead 2 before buying this one.


L4D2 has better gameplay, but 1 has better survivors

mugaro | June 15, 2014 | See all mugaro's reviews »

As far as an actual game goes, this is an amazing game. However, L4D2 is better in almost every way and it includes all of the L4D1 campaigns in it. There's honestly nothing unique here except if you play 1, there are different achievements, fewer weapons/infected and a different multiplayer base. If you haven't played either game, pick up the pack and have a blast.


a great game to play with friends

mirta000 | May 21, 2014 | See all mirta000's reviews »

4 person co-op and 4 versus 4 makes this one of to go games when me and my friends want to play together. "Now why would you choose this over Left 4 Dead 2?" One might ask. Even though graphics are worse and there's less ambient sounds Left 4 Dead 1 has a scarier setting, because unlike the second one pretty much all the missions happen at night. The characters also seem to have more personality in this one. After the game has released there has been some extra free missions added, however if you and your friends run out of game modes to play there are some very creepy fan made maps and campaigns. The community of modders for both Left 4 Dead and Left 4 Dead 2 is huge, therefore none of those two actually ever run out of new maps to play in. The only draw back for this one is that there's less people online than in the second one, so if you're buying make sure to buy it together with some friends so you all could play together :)



chataolauj | Jan. 24, 2014 | See all chataolauj's reviews »

It's only fun if you play with other players because playing by yourself on this game just really sucks. The AI of your comrades are horrible. They use every single medical thing on you to heal you if you're just like half life left. Half life goes a long way in this game, but your comrades are too stupid to know that. There are only four maps, so this game is boring after you beat all maps because there isn't anything new that makes you want to keep playing. It's know; blahhh.



Brotality | Jan. 11, 2014 | See all Brotality's reviews »

It was a really fun game, for the first few play throughs. I'm not much for the online aspect of the game, however, a lot of people do seem to like it. One thing I can say is it's far too easy to rush through the campaign in this game, doesn't have much of a challenge at some points.


Pretty good romp

Gmen | Dec. 26, 2013 | See all Gmen's reviews »

Right at the start of the multiplayer zombie-shooting craze that began years ago, there existed a game, and its name was Left 4 Dead. You form part of a four man (or three man and one woman, to be exact) team. You can play in singleplayer mode and the rest of the group will be AI-controlled, but multiplayer is the main draw here. Your task in the regular mode of play is to make it from one end of the map to the other, and progress through several parts of an episode before finally making it to the extraction zone and hopefully fleeing alive. In your path there are hundreds of zombies, and among the regular ones there are special zombies and even boss zombies to make life even more difficult for the group. The gameplay is rather repetitive. You start off in a map with a basic sidearm, make it to a weapons cache, lock and load and upgrade to a shotgun, uzi, or an assault rifle, get some pipebombs and molotov cocktails and then do battle with the undead hordes. Rinse and repeat for several missions before reaching the end. Then do it again in another episode. The episodes are thankfully quite different in theme, taking place in cities, rural areas, in an airport, and in a hospital – all common places you’d find yourself in a zombie apocalypse, all inspired by famous horror movies. Only bother with it if you're into multiplayer, and keep in mind that Left 4 Dead 2 has been released since this game came out, which is much more current.


A slaughter of zombies

kalil | Dec. 20, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

A highly anticipated game sold very many people have it installed on their PC, and I think it is a good buy , mandatory for survival horror lovers who wished to kill zombies. It is very difficult to get bored playing this game is very entertaining and gives something scary parts , but more afraid of nerves gives you killed the zombies . There are different types of zombies making it more compelling , I think it's one of the best zombie games within the top 10 have to be sure . What is good and what is bad: The Good: - We have a remarkable variety of weapons of all kinds . 'We can be with 3 companions, and a choice of 4 who want to use . - There is plenty of zombies, making it , after Dead Rising, the game with more zombies. The bad: - The companions are a bit stupid when it comes to help , but a little inattentive when cured. - To finish a mission, or yes must be the 4 comrades , meaning that if you let one die and not saved , you'll have to go back and bring it all back safe.



Elstumpo | Nov. 29, 2013 | See all Elstumpo's reviews »

Unless you're nostalgic about this game (in which case you won't be needing to read reviews) you should be looking into Left 4 Dead 2. Left 4 Dead 2 not only contains all the content from this game but also expands upon it nicely, including all the new weapons and special infected within the levels within this game. Unless you seriously dislike the new additions within Left 4 Dead 2, such as the roughly two extra weapons for each tier and the extra three special infected (which are playable in versus), skip over to Left 4 Dead 2. You will also find less players within this older version. If you're still considering buying this game, it holds up well enough on its own, although get it on sale as the 20USD you'll be spending on this game won't compare at all to the 20USD you'll be spending on it's completely superior sequel. With that being said however, Left 4 Dead still isn't a bad game.