Reviews for Portal 2

96

Creative in more than one way

AkiMatti | April 1, 2014 | See all AkiMatti's reviews »

Going to Portal 2 I was thinking I would basically be getting more of the same as in Portal. Boy, was I wrong. The different materials give a lot of room for creativity and the story is significantly better than in the first Portal. Characters and the world, the whole testing facility is opened up more to the player to delve into. The architecture of some levels is jaw-dropping, leaving impression of a vast complex autonomously in control of itself.

Co-op side is a welcome addition and boggles the mind at least as much as the single player if not more. Terrific fun all around.

100

One of the best Valve's games

LoudeRZz | March 25, 2014 | See all LoudeRZz's reviews »

Before I bought it I also debated and wasn't sure but once I played a bit I started to play non stop untill I finished the Single player and then just played more times in the single and in the co-op mode.. The game is so fun and challenging, You really have to be smart in a lot of missions (or you just see how to pass it :P) but if you play only by yourself it's very challenging and fun (+ you have a great feeling after you pass the level). In my opinion the plot is very nice and not boring, the whole campaign took me more than 10 hours so the story is not so short.. For summary, I really liked the game and I think it's worth the price and it will never bore you (only if you really got stuck but it has solutions), and the game is even more recommended if you've played the 1st portal and you still didn't play the 2nd portal.. Enjoy !

100

a perfect expansion on the origional concept

damienjameswebb | Jan. 30, 2014 | See all damienjameswebb's reviews »

Portal 2 made a great improvements on an already perfect game. The story-line this time over is well fleshed out and very entertaining. The puzzles are challenging and the ability to play with someone in the multiplayer testing chambers makes this game perfect. my only wish is that the story was just a little bit longer. The game runs great on even low powered machines and could even be set to max on my older laptop.

Just as entertaining to play as the first one, and even more fun to play with a friend.

85

Co-op makes this game

GeorgeStorm | Jan. 20, 2014 | See all GeorgeStorm's reviews »

Never really got into the first portal game, so wasn't keen on this either, but I saw it had co-op so picked two copies up when it was on sale for me and my brother. Co-op really makes this game fantastic, forcing you to work together to achieve goals which would otherwise be impossible, lots of humour throughout and some nifty mechanics make this a great experience.

I haven't played the single player at all, but if you enjoyed the first game I can only assume this will be just as good if not better for you. With custom levels available to extend the playability further.

85

Bigger Portal.

kubqo | Jan. 12, 2014 | See all kubqo's reviews »

Portal 2 is evolution from Portal. You still have to solve puzzles (rooms) with your portals-making gun, with some small aditions and more polished game design. It now offers 6-7 hours singleplayer campaign as well as 5-6 hours of co-op campaign, plus workshop support with user made maps. While i think singleplayer is slightly worse than it the first one, coop is where the game truly shines.

94

A must-have!

martinni | Jan. 4, 2014 | See all martinni's reviews »

I'm the kind of guy who was amazed by the 1st Portal. I played it over and over again, both alone and along with friends. Its concept was great and it was a cool game for you to join some guys in front of a computer and everyone would think the levels differently and you'd discuss ways to solve them. That brings me to co-op. It is amazing! The co-op levels are really well made, and you get not only to think the levels together but also to act together. Absolutely magnificent! The single player is much longer than 1st Portal's. That was kind of an issue back then! Well... Not anymore. And you actually get some new mechanics with a nice bunch of fluids. It is fun. Really fun! Wanna play it by yourself: great game! Want a game to play with your friends: pick it! For me, Portal 2 is a must-have!!

90

Single and Multi-player awesomeness

Freako | Jan. 1, 2014 | See all Freako's reviews »

Portal 2 is the new great sequel to the newest concept of puzzle games. Using 2 kind of portals named "Blue" and "Orange" portals.

This game is great it brings the game to a whole new level partly because the concept of puzzle game has been scrambled up with a shooter to make it look so confusing it's awesome.

Puzzle games used to be pushing buttons and activating or interacting with objects. Portal 2 tries it's best to maintain this elements gamers still love but with a twist. Old puzzles usually require pushing objects or standing on them. Portal uses a "Portal Gun" to shoot out portals so you can jump into the blue and coming out of the orange.

The nonsense you get from playing Multiplayer is insanely fun. The things you guys can do may not be as straight forward as you think it would be. Preferable playing it with a friend that is willing to create mischief because as the objective maybe getting an object to stand on a platform. You could sabotage your friend and confusing him which makes it so intriguing to do it.

100

Amazing overload

penguinfizzy | Dec. 31, 2013 | See all penguinfizzy's reviews »

Graphics: 10 - Those robots couldn't look better.

Audio: 10 - The music is just perfect for this game.

Controls: 10 - Left click and right click to shoot portals. Could it be any easier?

Story: 10 - GLaDOS loves test subjects.

Lifespan: 10 - Even when you finish this game, you can still play the multiplayer, which is a lot of fun.

Overall: 100 - This game is perfect. If you have never ever played this, you don't know what a good game is.

92

Two games in one!

PowerGreen | Dec. 31, 2013 | See all PowerGreen's reviews »

The premise is simple. You create gates (portals) - what goes in one hole, comes out of the other. Puzzle your way through some great tricks and traps and be entertained by some comedy genius along the way. You will be roffling and lolling as well as pulling your hair out.

The single-player is great, but the co-op is great as well! If you ever wanted a game where you actually HAVE to co-operate, then this is it.

One of those must-play games.

92

Portals everywhere

kalil | Dec. 20, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

When I see and think about the amazing title called PORTAL 2 me gives many things to think about , but more than anything , as antesesor PORTAL. By having a beginning in a locked room and meet our nice friend WEATHLEY from 1 minute and have some humor, infile know that this is something that will be worth the hours totally worth it. Although it has the best gameplay with some flaws that make us lose unfairly. It has a beautiful movement that whenever we make a movement will blur everything for a second. Throughout our super- adventure, we will discover some secrets of our classic and fun GLA0S WEATHLEY new partner and that will leave us quite sorpendidos . We may also discover the ancient local APERTURE SCIENCE with some dark secrets we can tell from our own. The title is set in the good old Aperture Science laboratories all absolutely destroyed and we will be crossing the old parts of the previous game making tutorial. And then many places that will have to discover on your own . The game is almost completely devoid of soundtrack , except a little sounds that put to acclimate the scene and the great ending song that VALVE gave us this wonderful delivery. The infile not force us to replay the wonder that gives us Portal 2 , but if we have a 3 available horitas finish the game without any problem . What I will review is the most fun game in my opinion, the cooperative mode, we can play with our friends and you'll have an endless experience with the Steam Workshop , which will ensure we guaranteed fun.

98

A worthy sequel

drakso | Dec. 18, 2013 | See all drakso's reviews »

I view Portal 2 as the mastered portal game. The whole experience. For those who don't know or have been living under a rock for a while, Portal games are puzzle games made with only one mechanic in mind - Making portals. With the portals you solve puzzles and advance in the story of the game. Portal 2 is really the worthy sequel that everyone hoped for. The graphics and sound are amazing. The story is longer, and the game is overall more difficult. The part that makes this game shine is the co-op. This is one of the best co-op experiences you could find. There is a continued story with the co-op play and also a bonus story and set of pages. There are also a lot of user created maps to play on and a tool to create your own.

90

Better than the original.

TETfromLondon | Dec. 14, 2013 | See all TETfromLondon's reviews »

The original Portal did much to innovate, and received deserved critical acclaim. Therefore, there was much hype surrounding the sequel. It did not disappoint. As well as the mind-bending puzzles, the game is much longer, and has more focus on the funny dialogue that gave the original game a sense of personality. The addition of Wheatley (voiced by Stephen Merchant) is one that vastly improves the comedy of the game, and GlaDOS is just as sassy. The game has a wonderful art-style and colour palette, and also changes between futuristic areas and old, decaying ones.

Another fantastic thing is the addition of co-op. The co-op campaign is completely different from the single-player campaign, and has just as much replay value. Be warned though, communication is key, so you really need to have a headset to be able to play it properly. Overall though, even if you are only planning on playing one of the campaigns, it is well worth the price of admission.

93

Outdone the original

lok0812 | Dec. 1, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

Portal 2 continues the awesome experience from its original. The game improved in many aspect in terms of game play and game modes. The single player campaign continues from the first game and you are still the test subject and are tasked with testing chambers. New puzzle included many environment utilities like light rail, gravity beam, gels, etcs. One of the best thing of this game is its co-op mode. This mode have a separate storyline that tells the story after the single player mode. In addition, there are numerous maps available in the workshop for players to download and play making the gameplay experience limitless. Overall, if you enjoy a great puzzle game then definitely get this game and start thinking with Portal.

90

Better in Almost Every Way Possible

lachking | Dec. 1, 2013 | See all lachking's reviews »

After the great game that was Portal, Portal 2 takes the original and makes it better in almost every possible way. The single player game is much longer now, there are more challenging puzzles, there are more tools to use and there are different types of environments. In addition to Glados, Portal 2 introduces some new characters, the most significant being Wheatley and to say the least he is annoyingly funny. Since its release, Valve have also provided a level editor as a free download so that you can make your own levels and upload them on the Steam Workshop to share with others. You can also use the Steam Workshop to download the levels other people have made, and believe me, there are some superb levels out there. Portal 2 is also great for multiplayer as you and a friend can play the co-op campaign and this provides some great challenges as you need to work together to solve the puzzles and reach the exit. If you haven't picked up Portal 2 yet, get it. Get your friends to pick it up too so then you can play the co-op campaign as well!

100

Bigger and Better

Elstumpo | Nov. 29, 2013 | See all Elstumpo's reviews »

Fans of the original Portal should buy this game with no questions asked, Valve has done an amazing job on expanding the universe portal exists within and done well filling it with unique, deep and interesting characters.

Both the singleplayer and multiplayer puzzles are bigger and more intricate with a whole plethora of tools to use beyond the standard weighted cubes and buttons, such as the propulsion and repulsion gel.

The voice acting is nothing short of amazing, Valve going as far as to hire Stephen Merchant to do the voice of Wheatley who, if you are aware of who Stephen Merchant is, is nothing short of hilarious. All of the major characters introduced within the sequel are integral to the story and have plenty of depth to them which unravels as you play the game.

This game is completely worth the asking price of 20USD but as it is a couple of years old is frequently on sale. Would highly recommend to new and old gamers alike.