Reviews for Chivalry: Deadliest Warrior

75

Better than the base game

77Bottles | July 16, 2014 | See all 77Bottles's reviews »

Chivalry: Deadliest Warrior is DLC for Chivalry: Medieval Warfare. Deadliest Warrior is very fun and exciting if you like charging at an enemy screaming at the top of your lungs and then getting your head or arm slashed off or doing the same to the enemy, because that's how you play this game. It's actually pretty fun if you are not too busy doing anything else.

100

So cool and freshing !

LoudeRZz | March 21, 2014 | See all LoudeRZz's reviews »

I extremely recommend this DLC, although it's a bit expensive it makes the game like 2 games, it opens a new 'story' and a new challenge (to play as a ninja or something like that) and even if you get tired of playing as a medieval soldier, here you have new soldiers in new situations and its refreshing to the game and you want to play more !! Very cool ! don't debate about this one !

82

Different enough to be an expansion

Azzmayyne | Jan. 17, 2014 | See all Azzmayyne's reviews »

I've logged about 40+ hours in Chivalry: Medieval Warfare (the original) and about 7 hours for Chivalry: Deadliest Warrior. From my assessment so far, Deadliest Warrior adds a lot of new content with the 6 character types which makes it play quite a bit differently from the original. Each character is much more versatile and has the potential to use ranged weapons (pretty significant in terms of damage as well). This makes team games a lot more strategic than before. Also each character type is different from the next so there are a lot of different play styles this game caters to. So far I've found the game to be very enjoyable and a refreshing change from the original. However if you're solely looking for melee combat you may be better suited to sticking with Medieval Warfare.

Also, an important thing to note is that mouse dragging's effectiveness has been reduced in this expansion, as your damage fluctuates based on when in the attack you actually hit your opponent. For example, for a stab to achieve maximum damage you have to make sure you hit the enemy at the end of the motion. As opposed to the original where if the stab made contact at any point it would cause full damage. Looking at you spear wielders.

75

Much better than the base game, IMO.

Koga1211 | Jan. 16, 2014 | See all Koga1211's reviews »

Having owned and played the base game, I have to say that, surprisingly, I find this spinoff of an expansion MUCH more entertaining. It's very enjoyable to load up as a warrior type I love, such as the Samurai, and fight people in a Deadliest Warrior setting. - By the way, wow, they finally made a Deadliest Warrior game that didn't suck!

Anyway, there are a few issues; Pirates just run around shooting you in the back - sometimes even when they're on your team - so that hard fought battle against 1-3 guy's you're having is suddenly ruined as a pistol shot goes into the back of your skull. This also means that pirates are stealing your kills if this happens to the guys you're fighting instead.

Ninjas typically pop up from behind like that as well, although thats a bit more to be expected for obvious reasons. More importantly though they don't one shot you with a pistol. They're something that can be dealt with, even if they get a hit or two in by surprise.

My other concern is that some of the Gameplay modes are a tad unpleasant at times; The 6 way TDMs are an interesting idea and CAN be fun, but often lead to terrible unbalance in teams. One moment there's enough of you on your team (Samurai, for example) and then the next there's only you because the other guys switched to whichever factions were winning. Anyway, it can get messy and unbalanced when there's 6 teams to choose from.

Additionally, the free for all mode is terrible. It's just terrible. Mostly because of pirates and ninjas who spend the entire match ruining your fights from behind. There's nothing fun about it unless you're being one of those Pirates or Ninjas.

TL;DR: Great game, lots of fun, but a few frustrating game modes and class design/balance issues lead to a few frustrating moments (or several rounds of it).

60

Solid game mechanics piggybacking on a licensed property.

Coolicy | Dec. 22, 2013 | See all Coolicy's reviews »

Chivalry Medieval Warfare (CMW) is amazing. You can read my review on it in GMG's page, but this game is not really the same despite their many similarities. CMW veterans will be right at home with Knight, as it's essentially the same thing ported over in one class. The rest, IMO, are more gimmicky than meaningful improvements over the base game.

You get to play as a Ninja, Samurai, Pirate, Vikings, (aforementioned) Knight and even a Spartan. If that sounds awesome, you're being sold on the gimmick or the Deadliest Warrior moniker. You're still using the very similar mechanics (slash stab chop) mixing with Ninja stars, Pirate's pistol or a Spartan's spear. It all sounds good on paper, but they're essentially reskins, with very minor tweaks, on existing weapons in CMW.

CMW has one of the best mode that is absent in this expansion - Team Objective. That mode gives the match a purpose, a reason for teamwork, and not just mindless running and slashing. Without that mode, this expansion just lacks the soul of what made CMW stand out so much.

If you're going to buy only one Chivalry game, definitely get the Medieval Warfare and not this one. The mechanics are solid for both, but Medieval Warfare definitely has the upper edge.

89

Deadliest Warrior TV Show transformed to PC Gaming

RichardDiaz2005 | Nov. 29, 2013 | See all RichardDiaz2005's reviews »

I'm a big fan of the Deadliest Warriors TV show, so I was pretty excited to see this featured as an expansion pack to the very popular First-Person Slasher: Medieval Warfare. This expansion only included some of the deadliest warriors known for their melee fighting styles: Samurais, Spartans, Vikings, Knights, Ninjas, and Pirates. This expansion pack allows gamers to fight their opponents in many game types such as: Free-For-All (every man for himself, regardless of the class), Team Deathmatch (class versus class; i.e. Spartans vs Pirates), and my favorite Multi-Team Deathmatch (team up with the same class versus the other classes). The only downside to this expansion is that it takes awhile to unlock items. Being that this expansion only includes melee fighting styles, It would be great if Torn Banner later creates an expansion pack that features modern warfare fighting styles.

65

Pretty Cool but a bit basic

Gester24 | Nov. 26, 2013 | See all Gester24's reviews »

Had the chance to play the game when it first came out thanks to GMG offering a discount on it. I played it for a couple of hours using each faction and testing the capabilities. Aside from the awe stunning armour and weaponry that stood out, the game did not prove a big fascination. Yes, the maps are big and the characters are sweet but it was the same basics of medieval warfare. Being 15 dollars i do not thing it was worth that price. maybe 5-10 dollars, but yet again the maps were flourishing and the characters were well built. Overall it is a good game if you seek gore and a quick death but not one that i can latch on for a while.

85

New classes and more

saojoao | Nov. 20, 2013 | See all saojoao's reviews »

If Chivalry: Medieval Warfare was a good MMO melee game, the Deadliest Warrior expansion makes it even better and more brutal! For me it was most important that it adds new classes that are fully playable: Samurai, Spartan, Viking, Knight, Ninja and Pirate. Every one of them has its own play style and character. They will suit every player's style and preferences, refreshing your interest in the game and making it new for you. As if it was not enough, you get a choice of new enviroments to play in and a new game mode. The interface also got some additional polish, but it's all minor stuff for me, as I mostly care for the new classes to play.

70

Pirates, Samurai, Spartans, Vikings, Ninjas, and Knights oh my.

PrecisionUnknow | Nov. 19, 2013 | See all PrecisionUnknow's reviews »

Its quite fun, as you can fight as a pirate, ninja, samurai, knight, viking, or spartan in a fight of who is the most deadliest warrior (pun intended). The only issue is the balancing for teams on this game are unbearably horrible with one side with nearly all the players in the game. Besides that, the game is enjoyable, but to me is still nowhere as good as the original game. This DLC expansion is nice to have, but doesn't feel worth the price with just new maps added, along with some new sides.

Still for a hack and slash that can be played online and a massive what-if fantasy battle between some of the worlds most awesome warriors, at least in this area. It is indeed worth a shot.

88

One of a kind

Millor | Nov. 18, 2013 | See all Millor's reviews »

Nowhere else can you get the kind of action you get in chivalry, there is almost no competition, and the competition that's there just cannot hope to bring the level of action chivalry has to offer.

If you are a fan of the base game, then you should probably have no problem getting into this. If you've always wanted more weapons to use, and more classes to play as, this definitely has it. With a samurai, spartan, viking, knight, ninja and pirate, you can play just about any major archetype you can think of in a historical setting.

The expansion brings these 6 new classes and weapons for them to use, some special abilities between the classes (ninja's can roll to dodge/duck under strikes, vikings can throw any of their weapons at their enemy at any time, they can even throw their shield! stuff like that). Some minor cosmetic options, like you might have a couple of helmets to choose from as you rank up, or you might unlock a pelt to wear as a viking, or shin guards to wear as a spartan or something like that. You can also customize your colors/emblem like you can in medieval warfare. The colors only take affect when it's free for all, or when you're on a team that is locked to only one class however. There are also 6 new maps representing each class, and some new game modes.

The game modes include hold the banner which has two or more teams fighting over a banner which you must hold for a collective amount of time, which can be pretty fun, it leads to some neat team work when your team all surrounds the banner carrier to protect them for attackers. The only problem with that mode currently is that the banner carrier receives no points for holding the banner, this may be a bug or something they didn't think of, I don't know. Another game mode is plant the banner, where a banner spawns in the middle of the map, and two teams fight over it and try and push into the other teams spawn to plant the banner. The other game modes aren't really whole new game modes basically, they're just variations of team deathmatch with stuff like anywhere from 2-6 different teams in one game, and teams either being able to select any warrior, or some teams consisting of only one warrior. So you may have games like Spartans vs everyone else, pirates vs knights, vikings vs team red vs team blue, or 6 teams for each class fighting each other and stuff like that.

Some of the current problems with the expansion is balance, some weapons just seem awfully quick for how big their reach is, and stuff like that. It is a problem for sure, I just don't think it's as big as a problem as some people make it out to be, I've got a near 2.0 KDR and I can do great with just about any class, they all have their strengths and weakness you have to learn, you have to play some of them differently than the other ones. Another big problem the game has is that either there is no auto balance, or server owners don't turn it on, because often times in multi team games, there will be a team with only a couple guys, or no one on it.

The biggest let down however is that there are currently no objective maps like chivalry had where you had to kill the peasants, take down the castle door, and kill the king, or light the bonfire, destroy the trebuchets, and destroy the ballistae. The plant/hold the banner, the team death match variations, FFA, and duel are the only game modes so far.

Despite the problems, they are rather minor, for $15 this was a great buy in my opinion, a lot more chivalry action which is always good and what I think the strongest part of this expansion is is the different warriors. As some one who likes to change things up a lot and use different weapons and play different classes all the time, I enoy the 6 new classes, whenever I get bored of one, I can play another and the play style is different, and I love it. The variations between them are more interesting than the classes in medieval warfare and keep me interested in playing much longer.

81

Expansion to a best first person slasher

lok0812 | Nov. 14, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

This DLC is an expansion to one of the best medieval theme first person slasher game, Chivalry. In the original you have 4 different classes each with their own arsenal of weapons that can be unlock and use in the playing field to slaughter the other team with. In this expansion, even more classes are added to the game as well as their specific loadout of weapons and accessories that can be unlocked. In addition, a new mode is introduced pitting several teams onto each other, similar to a FFA style but with team mechanic. Definitely a great addition to the game and must grab to expand the battlefield.