Reviews for Contrast

70

Enjoyable platformer

MarkDeejay | April 24, 2014 | See all MarkDeejay's reviews »

Contrast is a stylish platformer that doesn't entirely manage to convince. Let's start with the graphics. They\re quite stylish, '30-'40's style, but they're also a bit dark sometimes. As a result fine details aren't sometimes clear enough. Nothing gamebreaking but a bit disappointing. And while the game makes you think the world is open there's usually only one correct path to follow. You can run around a bit and try to collect orbs or collectibles, but it's nothing fancy. Where Contrast shines, however, is the fact that it allows the main character to use shadows in order to solve puzzles. It's unique and usually works quite well, but there were a few times where the game got glitchy, getting the character stuck in the environment or switching to your 3D form while still using these shadows. There's also a story which is actually fine, just not very well realized. There's a connection with the little, physical girl but whenever there's a shadow conversation it's hard to connect with these characters, because they're just that; shadows. The music is actually well done, with some nice jazzy tunes in it. The voice acting is also done extremely well for a game of this caliber. The game ended after about 3 hours, which gave me mixed feelings. I kinda wished it was longer, but, you know, bigger and better. But because it's not I was actually glad it was over. It felt a little bit too gimmicky. Which is a shame, because you can clearly see the game was created with passion.

73

Unique noir platformer

w0rdvirus | Jan. 31, 2014 | See all w0rdvirus's reviews »

Contrast is a unique platformer shifting between 3D platforming & 2D platforming via shadows. It really is an interesting idea, and it is implemented very well. It has a great noir theme and an amazing art style. It is not perfect there are some minor glitches, but nothing that I would say is game breaking. Also, it is a quite short game. Despite this it looks really cool and is a very enjoyable game. I would recommend this to fans of platformers, especially if you are looking for something a little different. It might not be for everyone, but I think it would please most.

79

Step into a world of light and shadow

Numbi | Nov. 29, 2013 | See all Numbi's reviews »

Contrast might not be the longest game that I have ever played but it does have a very unique concept and some very pretty graphics. The game combines 3D and 2D elements for the puzzles and platforming along with creative use of light and shadows. The soundtrack is pretty good and my only complaint is that I wish there was more of the game as it was all over within three hours.

65

Unique But Short

Elstumpo | Nov. 26, 2013 | See all Elstumpo's reviews »

Contrast is a highly ambitious game which just falls short of being amazing. The gameplay is unique and interesting given that the game allows you traverse between the real realm and the shadow realm which greatly changes how the player would interact within the world compared to a game which is just in the third dimension or just in the second dimension. While the puzzles are integrated nicely within the world you are placed in, the game is rather short taking me just under four hours to complete the entire game.

The aesthetics and charm of this game brings back the feeling of a platformer back from the Playstation One era, however the game often has issues explaining the story and world to the player which is mainly due to the game being so short. However if the player is keen on collectable hunting, collecting as many as possible can give some very interesting and subtle insight onto details the story does not wish to make obvious.

The voice acting feels stiff sometimes and often repeats itself, more often than not having the child explain to you where to go despite you already knowing where you have to go. However the voice actors in themselves are believable and well done, each reflecting the character nicely.

Despite being a short game, 15USD is not a steep asking price for what this game offers if you are looking into a unique platformer. That being said, I would recommend waiting until a sale since 15USD can buy games with a lot more gameplay.

75

Contrasting game..

XGpredator | Nov. 22, 2013 | See all XGpredator's reviews »

Contrast is more it describes itself . Although several strengths do various problems, the overall feeling is very positive. It is also for this we regret that lifetime is so short. Nevertheless, although we sometimes feel the impression that the universe is a little underused, we will delight in these subtle references to cinema of the 20s, the exquisite artistic touch and especially a concept well understood and controlled with puzzles cleverly thoughts.

75

Satisfied, for now.

qhmz | Nov. 18, 2013 | See all qhmz's reviews »

I really love how it take you back to when you used to imagination-play with every things in your younger day, puzzle from textile, avoid raindrop on the car glass and shadow play. Beautiful songs , smooth story telling, especially the story you'll get from hidden objects. It'll tell you the story from another point of view. Though, I still found some bug that make my character stuck and need to restart from check point. And sometime it's hard to read those message from hidden object. I'm satisfied with the game so far. I expect more DLCs to add more 'depth' into the game.

85

Something New & Something Amazing!

ctp94wakko | Nov. 18, 2013 | See all ctp94wakko's reviews »

What a breath of fresh air to see an indie game come out that offers a great change of pace. The music direction and art style are sure to take you away and the voice acting is as good as any. While Contrast, a psychological third person puzzle oriented game may not be for everyone this game is sure to please all indie lovers and gamers who enjoy a breath of fresh air every now and then. Indeed, Contrast may seem like it drags on and becomes a long drawn out puzzler to some, but do not let that get in the way if you are looking for something different and something original AND amazing! It's worth a try.

72

Good, but not as good as I expected

Thoosa | Nov. 17, 2013 | See all Thoosa's reviews »

I was keeping a close eye on this platformer, I loved the trailers, so I pre ordered it from steam. Well, not as good as I thought it will be surely sums it up. But I still love the french vibe and the decent graphics and because I am a platformer maniac, playing everything from Giana Sisters to Deadlight I am pretty sure it will take some of my time away. The story is pretty decent so far, but I guess it won t take a long time to finish it, it feels like I am already close to the end after only a few hours spent in. So, if you are interested in the french vibe and in decent puzzles, hop on the train.

80

Beautiful and interesting

fedaykin6 | Nov. 17, 2013 | See all fedaykin6's reviews »

Contrast is a puzzle game where your main objective is to merge with shadows in order to accomplish a variety of tasks. This central mechanic is beautifully realized thanks to the Unreal Engine's lighting system which allows you to seamlessly become part of the game's dynamic shadows, move across or through them, and sometimes even bring needed objects into the shadow world with you.

The game is a mixture of third person adventuring, puzzle solving and 2D platforming. The world is occasionally open to limited exploration, but becomes linear whenever story progression requires it. While the variety of puzzles is not big, they never become too repetitive and are consistently satisfying to solve, despite never being very complex.

Contrast's mixture of noir and art deco style, coupled with excellent music, makes it a beautiful, atmospheric and artistically rich experience. The voice acting deserves some recognition, especially the part of Didi.

The story is fairly straightforward and doesn't attempt to surprise you, but is nevertheless effectively told for the most part. However, the abrupt and anti-climactic ending of the game makes it feel somewhat incomplete, as if the writer had suddenly run out of ink.

There are no major bugs, but some quirky behavior occurs during the platforming, which is par for the course in Unreal Engine 3 games. Trial and error is sometimes required, but thanks to the player controlled character's brisk pace the puzzle-solving doesn't become a chore.

90

Best indie game I have ever seen.

Morn66 | Nov. 16, 2013 | See all Morn66's reviews »

The game can be described as an unforgettable adventure. The puzzles are not very problematic, but they sometimes need a moment or two to solve and most importantly, they are enjoyable. The tutorial is made very well, allowing the player to both get known to the controls and the characters. The plot may look a bit ordinary at the beginnig but there is a plot twist which... well, find for yourself. :) Everything in this game is remarkable. The idea of the game, the enviroment and sights, the main hero (heroines). Everything... except the length. That is a pity that the game can be finished in mere 3,5 hours. The length is the only reason I didn't give that game a 100/100.

90

Beautiful

Extinox | Nov. 16, 2013 | See all Extinox's reviews »

Beautiful. There is no other word. The atmosphere is beautiful, the soundtrack is just amazing, the whole game is just an amazing experience. Shadow mechanism can be clunky but I found it enjoyable and nice. Story as well as the ending are just great. I feel like there's so much that can be told about the universe. Hope there will be a DLC or sequel. It can be short for some people but I feel wanting more and on the other hand - satisfied.

99

Beautiful game

forgot2shave | Nov. 15, 2013 | See all forgot2shave's reviews »

It may be obvious just from the trailers and screenshots but you will be constantly reminded while you play it that this is a great looking game. Beautiful visuals, very good ambience and the shadow play is so incredible. Only Rain on PS3 is anything like it. The story has lots of heart and will keep you captured. The controls are pretty easy to get used to although sometimes falling off a shadow can be annoying. Definitely worth the price (especially on GMG) for the roughly 6ish hour campaign.