Reviews for Darwinia DNS

75

Bit steep but good time killer

Scorpy | Jan. 31, 2013 | See all Scorpy's reviews »

Most people will be turned off by Darwinia's retro 3d graphics, however I for one enjoyed them. It emulates perfectly the awkward early 3D from the 90s, which hits a big nostalgia area for me. Darwinia's gameplay is simple, but it's easy to become engrossed and addicted. It's a mix of tons of genres, almost too many to count, but it's a very unique experience that should be played at least once.

Give this game a try!

91

Tron 3.0

Guardian412 | Jan. 30, 2013 | See all Guardian412's reviews »

Darwinia is one of the most unique strategy games I've ever played. It reminds me for the digital world of Tron, and yet while its similar, its also very different. You, the player have one major goal, to save the digital lifeforms of the digital world of Darwinia from an evil virus spreading on the great lands of the digital space. While you have to find and eliminate the source of the threat, you also have to care, nurse and protect these tiny little creatures, the Darwinians to evolve and spread on their tiny world. The graphics is very minimal, also reminds me for Tron and the games of the 80s, but its quite enough for this game. The gameplay is complex, yet easy to learn and play and the story itself, as Darwinia has a basic story as well, is also enough for this game. The campaign is relatively long, about 10-11 hours to complete and while it is a face paced game, sometimes it requires you to stop and meditate to plan what to do do next. If you love unique strategy games and you also want to play something new, something different, Darwinia is definitely for you.

77

Awesome Premise, OK execution

das_regal | Oct. 6, 2012 | See all das_regal's reviews »

The coolest thing about Darwinia is the idea that it represents: digital evolution and preservation.

The basic premise of the game is that you're protecting these semi-sentient computer program from digital extinction. It's a rather thought provoking concept that makes you ponder just what life is.

Sadly, once you stop waxing philosophical and play the actual the game, it's a bit underwhelming. Yes, Darwinia is a serviceable real time strategy game, but it's incredibly basic. Everything from the graphics to the objectives you complete are bare bones, and work only by virtue of their simplicity and tie-in to the larger idea.

This game is more than worth a couple of dollars, but only if the foundation interests you.

92

Fun and different RTS

sweetcuppincake | Sept. 28, 2012 | See all sweetcuppincake's reviews »

I'm a big fan of everything Introversion does. Darwinia included. You are tasked with helping an AI survive its simulated world by leading them in battle. You give directions, set waypoints, etc., but the Darwinians have minds of their own, so things don't always go as planned. Your little friends are weak, but there is strength in numbers. The story and game design work well to make you want to do your best to help them succeed. Overall a very well-done game.

78

Originality with a few quirks

Cooberstooge | Aug. 2, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

An RTS with a twist is about the best way to describe Darwinia. You're fighting to save these neat-looking little characters from extinction by an evil virus, all in a cool digitized virtual reality setting.

The game runs nice and smooth on basically any setup, thanks to deceptively non-demanding graphics. The soundtrack is top notch, with scores that really set the mood.

Action is nice and fast, although I did find the AI to at times be a little dumb. An example would be friendly Darwinians stopping dead, facing each other, and doing absolutely nothing for a good couple minutes. Said example continues to plague my games, but is not a deal-breaker.

All in all, I'd recommend Darwinia for a change of pace and a unique setting in the world of RTS gaming.

60

Fun game to waste a few hours on

StewartX | Aug. 2, 2012 | See all StewartX's reviews »

If you can get this game for under $3 I say it is totally worth it. I know it doesn't look like much it it is strangely addictive and fun. I also found this to be more fun than Multiwinia. As for the game style... I don't really know what to call it. Darwinia doesn't fall into any one game genre, as it mixes between strategy, action, puzzle, hacker, and God games alike. This makes it a very unique experience and as I mentioned before, if you can get it for a few dollars then give it a go.

The story is rather basic, you play the roll of a hacker that by chance comes across Darwinia and are enlisted by scientist to stop a virus from wiping out decades of research. It is actually quite hilarious to find out the main enemy of the game is email spam.

Graphics: 2/10 (Indie game) Gameplay: 6/10 Story: 2/10 Multiplayer: No, however if you are interested in this to be multiplayer then check out Multiwinia.

93

To describe this game, I'd call it an "experience".

trinest | Aug. 18, 2011 | See all trinest's reviews »

When I first looked at this game, the thing which clicked in my mind wasn't the gameplay or the sounds- but the graphics. A very unique style which just powers the game along really. I don't think this game could of worked in any other graphical style. What is this game? A magical real time strategy game which simplifies itself to what gamers expect at the core argument of what makes up an RTS. It truly is a magical experience which at the price it is these days, should be in anyone collection regardless if they enjoy it or not. It is one of those games in the world which you just have to play it to make up your mind.

92

Interesting game...

newn | Aug. 11, 2011 | See all newn's reviews »

A friend of mine bought this game, so I took a look at it. Of course I used Youtube, as most people do, and I didn't like it. But then I went to my friend's house, and he was playing it. He wanted to finish something, so I watched he play for a few minutes. When I went home that day, in the next five minutes I bought the game, and in 10 minutes - I've been playing it. The story is what makes this game to appear good. The graphics aren't impressive at all, rather a downside of this game, sounds aren't too good either - more like average. But the idea of the story is very nice. I am interested in programming myself, so I liked the idea in the first place. This game is very easy to play, and it's even easier to start playing it. It's a great game if you want to relax and like this kind of games.

I recommend buying this game not only because it's interesting, but because it's cheap too. What you can get for that price is simply awesome.

80

Streamlined RTS

tangoak | Aug. 2, 2011 | See all tangoak's reviews »

At first Darwinia feels like a crippled RTS. But after a while it is appears to be a very streamlined RTS. There are barely any unnecessary things and feels like good old Cannon Fodder but looks like Tron. Levels are filled with many nice details. There are only three unit types and those cute little Darwinians. Units are replaceable since it doesn't cost anything to build new ones. As the game goes by you get upgrades to units. Units manage by themselves but it takes from time to time little too much micromanagement because AI is sometimes little stupid. Darwinia is a sympathetic little game which is not very long though.

74

Super cool

hotmando1 | July 20, 2011 | See all hotmando1's reviews »

One of the best RTS games of all time. Darwania is one of the most unique games there for anyone. First of all, it doesn't require any heavy pc rigs to run it. That is already awesome. Sadly, the visuals aren't as much as an eye catcher as you would think it would be. Bugs and glitches are few in the game as well, almost no crahes whatsoever. Plot was pretty good, and kept me going. The soundtrack is also one of THE BEST i've heard so far too! Good game.

85

An old game, but still quite fun to play

Ichiro | May 9, 2011 | See all Ichiro's reviews »

I tried this at my friend's house quite a few years back (and a few other games, of course) and I was astonished. At first, I thought it'd be your cheesy old indie strategy game with really nothing going for it, but after playing it a bit, it's actually quite the thrill.

The graphics aren't really anything to make people go "WOW!" over, but it's the unique type of story and gameplay that makes it interesting.

The theme of the game is that you're helping a programmer develop his city with tons of bugs and glitches inside of it, and you need to eradicate all the viral code and whatnot.

It's structured as a real-time strategy game, and there aren't many steps that need to be learned to play it, either. The tutorial is simple enough that you can understand it.

I originally didn't want to buy this, but after seeing it go for $1 on GMG, I figured that I'd just buy it for collection. It's a really good game.

87

Darwinia - a great game from a UK Indie

hisnameisrob | April 7, 2011 | See all hisnameisrob's reviews »

Darwinia is an interesting RTS game created by Introversion software. When first released you had to use mouse "gestures" to control your units but the game was later updated to allow an alternative control scheme which is more similar to other games.

Darwinia had an interesting plot and well-designed maps and missions.

The games graphics are very attractive and yet do not put strain on modern PCs. The sound is pleasant and enjoyable.

I highly recommend this game.