Reviews for Typing of the Dead: Overkill

85

Enjoyable and funny!

TPCGorillaMunch | July 19, 2014 | See all TPCGorillaMunch's reviews »

This game isn't the best tool for learning how to type quickly but it isn't bad either. If you want to improve your typing skills and kill zombies at the same time this could be the game for you.

The game can be played cooperatively and also includes mini-games and almost endless replayability due to the ability to beat your high scores. The game also includes The House of the Dead Overkill which is basically the same game except you click to shoot, rather than type words.

The game is funny with hilarious characters and overall an enjoyable game that I would recommend trying, particularly if you want to improve your typing ability.

92

Ridiculously hilarious typing exercise.

MafuMafu | June 23, 2014 | See all MafuMafu's reviews »

Do you expect this game to be a serious FPS and/or FPT? (First Person Typing. Yes, I genre that I've just made up because I want) Well, think again. This game is ridiculous. That amount of swearing in this game is also ridiculous. It feels like an 80's movie. You can either type or aim in Typing of the Dead or House of the Dead, respectively. Your choice. With the challenges and the hardcore mode, you can replay the game as much as you want or until you master your typing powers. Buy it now or zombies will eat your brain.

78

Unique, fun and useful

darkyhbk | June 19, 2014 | See all darkyhbk's reviews »

Which other game has you shooting zombies by writing stuff on screen? None. That's the concept behind Typing of the Dead: a rail shooter, where all you have to do is write words which appear over zombies in order to kill them. And these lead to very funny moments, since sometimes they are perfectly placed in the context of the game. You also collect medpacks and other items, but you have to be fast to press a button when you see them on-screen. The story and action is typical to Grindhouse movies, while the dialogue is very similar to a Robert Rodriguez movie. You'll even find some really nice references to pop culture if you listen carefully. Go get it. It's extremely fun and it will get you typing much faster.

88

Sick of shooting zombies? Why not type then?

13th | May 15, 2014 | See all 13th's reviews »

Anyone who is a fan of killing zombies (which let's face it, is everyone nearly) should at least try this game once. It is fun, frantic, fast and funny. Where else are you going to find a game which will have you type random word after random word to kill zombies other than the original typing of the dead, You best hope you know your keyboard like the back of your hand as this game will test you, but it will keep you coming back for more every single time

83

Very unique.

InsaneHien | April 19, 2014 | See all InsaneHien's reviews »

The Typing of the Dead: Overkill is a simple zombie game. You basically type words to kill the zombies and that's that. This is basically House of the Dead, only in keyboard style. Resembles a typing lesson in game format. It's a good game for those fast typers and those who want to test their typing speed and skill. For $6.79, you can't go wrong with that.

82

Learn to type faster and kill some zombies at the same time!

xarabas02 | April 18, 2014 | See all xarabas02's reviews »

Back when this game was released for SEGA Dreamcast in 2001, even then i saw it as one of the most wackiest and original idea for a game.

It feels like your typical on-rails zombie shooter, except you're armed with a keyboard compared to the wide selection of weapons in other games. Most of the levels are time based where you have to kill a specific number of zombies in given time and occasionally a boss fight will pop up after every few levels where you have to type out the answers (compared to typing out the random words when fighting against the usual zombie enemies).

Graphics are greatly improved compared to the original Dreamcast release and as bonus you get the initial version of HOTD for PS3. But even with all that one of the best things about the game is how funny and enjoyable it is, especially in multiplayer.

Highly recommended!

85

A Great Rivial of a Great Dreamcast Game.

StupidMarioBros | March 8, 2014 | See all StupidMarioBros's reviews »

If most of you didn't know, this game is actually somewhat a sequel, or remake, of Typing of the Dead on Sega Dreamcast, and this game brilliantly takes that concept to a whole new level, and put it on a PC, where a TYPING GAME should be.

It takes the concept of your generic FPS Zombie killer into a typing lesson, without making it a bore. You basically type to kill the zombies, and bigger zombies take more words and bigger words.

There are a share of problems, but I could mostly overlook them, except and sort of power up or levelling system, to show progression, but that is a small request.

Although this game doesn't help me teach anything, I can already type 60 words per minute, (brag brag) It was still pretty fun to enjoy and have fun with.

I highly recommend this game not only as a typing tool, but as a shoot em up. It is a unique game, and you should pick it up, even if you do or do not have the original Typing of the Dead.

95

Super Tutor

Dacard | March 4, 2014 | See all Dacard's reviews »

Your standard run of the mill typing tutor this isn't, the sequel to the Dreamcast (1990) and pc (2000) original, is also a remake of the 2009 wii title, the house of the dead overkill, being based on the far newer title, brings far sharper graphics and an awesome grindhouse cinema feel, that is often played for laughs will over the top character intros and clichés shooting at you a mile a minute, but not in a bad way. The silly dialog and crazy gore made me smile all the way through.

The gameplay itself couldn't be simpler, you use a keyboard, you type words that appear on screen zombies (sorry don't use the z word, they are mutants!) die, its brilliant. The game is also a complete version of the original Wii game, played with a mouse instead of the hand cannon. Its fun, but the real meat is in the typing half.

As it goes this is not as unforgiving as the original, that had you start off with words such as 'it' 'the' and 'if' at the start of the first level, and had you writing short sentences before the level was out. No Overkill has a selection of difficulties and choosing easy keeps words to a minimum, making beating the game a bit less frustrating, although you have infinite continues so you can never truly lose, losing reams of lives one after another gets pretty damned annoying after a while.

All in all great fun, best typing tutor you can get if you hate the bog standard variety.

90

Wonderful game for keyboard warriors and old school gamers

spycid | Feb. 13, 2014 | See all spycid's reviews »

Typing of the dead overkill is just a remake of House of The Dead but in keyboard mode. If you consider yourself to be a fast typer then you should definitely try this. It will help you in reacting quickly while increasing your typing speed too.

The games is way over-the-top, gory and fun in it's own way. If you are still not satisfied then know this, the game comes with House of The Dead Overkill edition too.

So this is the best deal you can get at this price. Get it for the love of childhood memories and sleepless nights.

85

Over the Top, Gory, and Profane, and Lots of Fun

fuller556 | Jan. 25, 2014 | See all fuller556's reviews »

I came into this game really having little experience with these "rail-shooter" types of games. The only shooters I had really played are FPSes like Doom and Painkiller, which of course let you choose your own path through a level.

I was intrigued by the concept from the first time I read about it: A shooter that allows you to literally type your foes into submission. I wasn't totally sure what to expect and was somewhat skeptical when I first started playing, but the end result is actually a lot of fun. The designers did a great job of adapting such shooter mechanics to the keyboard, giving each enemy you encounter a series of "kill words" that you must type correctly to defeat your opponent. The color of the border around the word or phrase to be typed determines that enemy's level of threat. A green border suggests that the enemy poses little threat, whereas a red border means imminent danger.

For the most part, the mechanics work very well. As you type a word correctly, the letters fade out, and you can both hear and see gunshots striking the targeted opponent. If you need to switch to another target, a quick tap of Backspace cancels the word you were typing completely, allowing to start typing the word of the new target. Gratefully, you can make a mistake in typing without starting a word or phrase over again unless you turn on Hardcore mode after beating the game once. You can also make a mistake without losing your combo point bonus. The designers were respectful of players who may be somewhat frantic in their typing first starting out so as not to cause frustration for making mistakes, and there are three difficulty levels to make it fun for everyone. Even the boss fights have for the most part been well adapted to this format, with series of words and phrases used to not only injure the boss, but also to do things like destroy projectiles, interrupt attacks, and dodge out of the way of an oncoming charge. The game also gives you fun stats after each level, such as your overall accuracy, number of perfect words, and longest combo. You're also given a letter ranking based on your overall performance; can you earn an "A" on every course? That's what I'm working on now.

Of course, some adjustments had to be made from the normal shooting format. Weapon power-ups are not available, for example. You don't earn cash for stronger weapons, and there are no grenades or cash pick-ups present. This doesn't have much of an impact, however, as you'll be having too much fun typing out the crazy kill words and expressions the game throws at you. One fault I did have is with picking up items such as Med-Kits and collectibles. There's only a very brief tutorial in the first level to outline the use of the Tab key to nab such items, and it appears to be completely omitted from the instruction manual. A few deaths I suffered during my initial playthrough could have been eliminated had this been made more clear.

I honestly didn't have very much to complain about with this game. My biggest complaint is with the final battle. I won't spoil it, but for me, the rules of that battle are completely inane, and I suffered an extremely high number of deaths before winning, in part because I couldn't find a way to inflict much damage or stop oncoming attacks as I did with every other boss. Let's just say that this battle is much more free-form than the rest of the game. Additionally, while I found very little in the way of bugs in the game, I do occasionally have sound effects and voices drop out completely, especially when repelling the attacks of mutants who grapple with your character to try and bite you.

My only other gripe with the game is with the constant profanity. Yes, I realize this is a game primarily designed to shock and possibly offend, and the characters cursing was not surprising. The LEVEL of profanity, however, is something new to me; Washington and Varla Guns especially cannot say the "F" word enough throughout this game, and I found such overuse of profanity a little too gratuitous, and it also detracts from the overall narrative. In some places, it works, such as during the ending when Washington's personality starts to rub off on Agent G. Other times, I kept thinking that the writers could have given them SOMETHING else to say.

In other areas, however, the presentation hits the mark. There's some excellent and clever alliteration by the narrator in the cutscenes, which are basically presented like horror movie trailers, and this gives an interesting new take on the traditional cutscene format. The graphics are well detailed, and some of the bosses especially are truly grotesque and imaginative in their design.

As a bonus treat, the original The House of the Dead: Overkill is included with this game as well, utilizing either the mouse or a controller to aim your weapons at the mutant hordes. You have full grenade support here and a full complement of weapon upgrades to purchase as the game progresses. Your weapon selection is critical in some stages and can either give you a boost fighting a boss or render you completely ineffective. I found the mouse controls to be very responsive and this version of the game to be fun, though the typist in me almost prefers that version. This is simply a matter of taste, however, and being able to play both games in one release is a great decision by the designers and lets everyone play however they want. One side note: The final boss was MUCH easier in this mode, and I beat it the first time without dying in this mode.

So the final verdict is that this game is a lot of fun. If you aren't turned off by the constant profanity and enjoy horror games and shoot-em-ups, you are probably going to have a blast. I would love to see more DLC dictionaries released to incorporate such themes as superheroes, music lyrics, or movies. The DLC is another smart decision, letting you pick and choose themes that appeal to you for inclusion in the typing aspects of the game; you don't feel like you're purchasing content that should have been included to start with. Overall, I can find very little wrong with this game, and I highly recommend it as a smart revision on the rail shooter format.

80

Average typing tutor, amazing game

bradysam | Jan. 19, 2014 | See all bradysam's reviews »

This game probably won't help you to type that much as there is not much in terms of typing drills that it goes through. The difficulty definitely moves up throughout the game, but if you're not used to typing then it probably won't help you that much. It operates more on a practice makes perfect approach. That being said, if you're looking for a fun mutant shooting game then you don't have to look any further! The gameplay is solid and taking down hoards of the undead with typing is fun and engaging. It even includes the original HotD: Overkill for you to play through with your mouse, as well as carnival games for both and unlockable models and art. The story and the characters are ridiculously over the top in typical B-Movie fashion and really help bring the whole thing to life. You'll easily have a blast playing through the game from one stage to the next and there is a HUGE amount of content to go through if you want to 100% everything. Even if you don't it's incredibly fun to play though and take down mutant after mutant. Highly recommended.

88

You won't see games like this very often.

Marioysikax | Dec. 28, 2013 | See all Marioysikax's reviews »

Everyone remembers or at least heard of typing teaching programs and famous Mario Teaches Typing -game. TOTD just throws that "teach" thing out of the window and instead puts in Z-class movie plot with zombies. Even playing it with yourself you often laugh for fast movement, to the plot and for most awesome words english language has to offer from tricks to references and swears.

Game has minor problems on most noticeable is lack of variety but it's still pretty fun game especially with friend and it's definitely something you won't see very often. All I can think of is really old original TOTD and Mario Teaches Typing so you should definitely get this game.

85

Learn fast typing with playing this game

acare84 | Dec. 18, 2013 | See all acare84's reviews »

This is really two games in one. You get a PC port of the Director's Cut of The House of the Dead: Overkill and Typing of the Dead: Overkill. The first is a rail shooter, and the second is the same game except that you type instead of clicking to shoot.

This is, however, a more barebones conversion than you might expect. Unlike the original Typing of the Dead, only the last boss has a "gimmick" for what you have to type. No answering questions in this one. In the cutscenes, the characters still carry and use guns (not keyboards). Dictionary DLC is available if you want a greater variety of things to type.

The multiplayer for Typing of the Dead: Overkill is a nice feature, but has some odd sync issues and can be frustrating for both players if one is a more proficient typist than the other.

If you like typing, bad movies, and swearing, this is easily worth.

90

Exactly what you would expect.

Ground_0 | Dec. 11, 2013 | See all Ground_0's reviews »

This game is over the top, unrealistic and a ton of fun. Including the original Overkill is great and it's like getting 2 great games for the price of one. The typing is pretty easy on normal mode, but crank it up to hardcore and you're in for a very hard challenge.

The online portion has a lot to work on. Connecting to a game requires you to spam the connect button until a stranger is doing it at the exact same time. If you have a friend who plays it is much easier.

Buy this game if you're expecting an updated version of Typing of the Dead, don't think twice.

99

The best "typing-based, zombie-armageddon, comedy-joy" EVER !

Miskatonic99 | Dec. 9, 2013 | See all Miskatonic99's reviews »

This is just great. If you like typing on a regular basis but just get plain FED UP of normal text appearing onscreen as a result, why not switch things up from the white page to a smorgasbord of physical destruction.

I originally played House of the dead: Overkill on the wii and liked the game but the gimpy loading times and sub-par, jaggy visuals somewhat detracted from what should have been a far more appealing package. I'm also of sub-standard intelligence, so the games heavy reliance on swearing to move the plot forward was much appreciated.

It's not unlike it was written by some great grindhouse screenwriters who were lobotomized especially for the occasion. Great. The only thing it is missing is Charles Bronson and that IS a glaring omission.

Anyway, this version is so much finer, visually (I believe it was also on ps3 etc so these users will probably notice less difference). It also adds the ability to murder zombies whilst typing out phrases like "Rent is due", "Meat envelope" and "Victorian toilet". This, in itself, is far better than just firing some crappy handgun. One thing I'm sad about, however, is that in the old TOTD games the ingame characters would actually be wearing some ridiculous harness setup that held a keyboard in front of them. In this version, the main characters still have the guns from the original game. Opportunity for more stupidity = missed (although, based on the cutscenes, I can understand how such things might get in the way)

Very good fun, very satisfying, very inappropriate. Another important point is that, personally, I'm quicker at typing and can maintain a more consistent output of "shots" than I am with a conventional handgun. I appreciate reloading in the game is much faster than it should be but still, I'm faster at typing so this has enabled me to enjoy the game much more.

NOTE: For those of you who hate typing and prefer to scrawl information on the walls of your home in your own feculence, there is also a "traditional" mode where you can play the original game with either a joypad or mouse - no typing required - so it's effectively HOTD: Overkill AND TOTD: Overkill in one package.

Haven't tried online multiplayer yet but it's now been added into the game.

I picked this up at sale price and it's an insane bargain. Just great fun. I appreciate the marketplace for such games isn't exactly crowded. It's basically "Mavis beacon" or "Zombie genocide" and I, for one, far prefer the latter. Mavis Beacon is somewhat patronizing. There's nothing patronizing about typing "Bedroom Olympics" whilst a zombies useless head gets ripped apart onscreen. In terms of it's genre, this game is the best. BAR NONE !

It only gets 1 point off out of 100 because you don't have to put spaces or punctuation into words. It doesn't penalize you if you do/don't, which is weird and for those used to typing is a touch confusing. Oh, yeah, and it doesn't have Charles Bronson in it.

PS: RE: Charlie Bronson... If you've not seen "death wish 3" then you must. It's basically the best film ever (it's on youtube, too)

76

Great classic re-release

lok0812 | Dec. 9, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

If you remembered House of the Dead games back in the days then you will find Typing of the Dead very similar. Instead of shooting with light gun you type to damage the zombies that are coming towards you. Similar to HOTD, you are on rail during the entire time as you progress through the game and screen will pop up with words or numbers for you to type to damage and kill the zombies. In addition, this game supports two players co-op so two players can type together and advance the game together via online. Overall, a nice game for typing exercise as well as a fun spin off away from HOTD.

90

God I miss the Dreamcast

blznblzn2 | Dec. 3, 2013 | See all blznblzn2's reviews »

I know I'll probably mention the Dreamcast more than this game itself, but it's essential I think.

WII was a gimmick as it was just a controller and well we know now it was a concept that overall didnt work but as a console lasted for years. and to a lesser extent Dreamcast had gimmicks, but it had a functional controller for the mainstream games But TOTD for Dreamcast was one of those, brilliant, just an idea waiting to be made, and it was. This game hearkens back to those days when I thought there was much more out there and 12 years later life goes on, to say the least.

I guess this is a review for nostalgia and lets push things forward, it was a gameplay concept that worked. An on rails shooter where you typed to kill your enemies. Sounded ridiculous back in the Dreamcast days, still sounds ridiculous , but its a niche and I hope people out there remember that there is still hope for original concepts. even though technically this isnt an original concept just a sequel to an original one.

Great fantastic nostalgic gameplay and the story aint half bad either.

82

Typing Has Never Been So Fun

13th | Nov. 23, 2013 | See all 13th's reviews »

This is one of those games that people are either going to love or hate. I'm leaning more towards the love side of the scale for this. Just when you thought there wasn't enough zombie related games out there, 'Typing of the Dead makes it's return. First appearing on the Sega Dreamcast all those years ago, it makes it way onto the PC and brings along 'House of the Dead Overkill' for the ride, so you are getting two zombie games for the price of one. One which teaches you to type, the other to use your mouse and shoot things.

The words you will type are completely randomised each playthrough, so whilst the sets and the zombie encounters will be the same, the words won't so that adds some life to the game.

I do suggest you watch others play this 1st before deciding whether to buy this or not. As only then can you decide if this is a game you would like to play or not

90

This is what you want if this is what you want

mars_elliot | Nov. 12, 2013 | See all mars_elliot's reviews »

Don't go into this game with unrealistic expectations. Watch a video or two to see if its your style. Personally, I bought this game to help me with my typing skills and speed ... but with a little added flair. It is exactly what I expected and exactly what I wanted. I have been familiar with the "Of the Dead" games since they first came out and this is more of the same, save for the type to shoot aspect. The story is ridiculous, the graphics are pretty much the same as they've always been, and I'm very satisfied with that. I've even improved my typing skills! There are various difficulty modes which will change up the difficulty of the words and the speed you need to type.

All in all, if you know what you're buying you'll have a great time and it will fulfill your "needs". For what its worth, there is a coop mode that I believe uses a controller but I haven't tried it yet and another mode that has yet to be released.

If you find yourself disappointed with this game, it is a failure on your part. It shows itself as what it is. You either want it ... or you don't.

89

Grindhouse Teaches You Typing

TheCrownless | Nov. 6, 2013 | See all TheCrownless's reviews »

The Typing of the Dead is not an unfamiliar series, having played the original back when it was first released and even so far as to play it's Arcade iterations while visiting various places in Asia. After the second game in the series failed to get localized it seemed to be the end of the series coming over to the West, when Lo and Behold, The Typing of the Dead: Overkill is quietly released on Steam!

The game itself is based off of The House of the Dead Overkill, Originally released on the Wii, then released on the PS3 in HD. The version that this game is based on seems to be the PS3 version, and this can be seen as the resolution of the game is locked to 720p regardless of the setting you choose to display. This is just a minor nitpick however as there are various screen filters in play which help to alleviate this. It's an incredibly over the top excperience, very much in line with the Robert Rodriguez school of B-Movies. There's gratuitous swearing, incredibly bad oneliners and a deep basey narrator which introduces each of the 'Episodes' that you play. So from an Aesthetic stand point, if you love lame B-Movies, this is definitely the game for you.

Gameplay is actually incredibly simple; instead of having a gun to shoot zombies with, a set of words appear on the body of the zombie, you type out the words and the zombie dies! Very simple. The humor and pop culture references which appear in the word bank are incredibly humorous and add to the replayability. It also seems like down the line, the player has the ability to add new and custom word banks which will greatly increase the replayability of the game.

Not only does this game have The Typing of the Dead, but it too has the original House of the Dead: Overkill HD included in it! So if your fingers get tired of all the typing, you can go and play a traditional light gun game, utilizing the mouse as the aiming reticule.

In summary, if you have a penchant for bad B-Movie acting, while also wanting to practice your typing against hordes of zombies/mutants and all other manner of nasties, I most definitely recommend this game.

80

Good But has Issues

codeblue666 | Nov. 6, 2013 | See all codeblue666's reviews »

This game which first came out on the wii a couple years ago has been turned into a fun typing game akin to the original typing of the dead. This games 70-80s humor and its spoofing of movies from around this time is great. However i had issue with the main and level select menus in which the screen would be frozen and i would need to alt-tab to move the mouse but after selecting a level it was fine. Also multiplayer has still not been implemented but is coming soon as free DLC. IN the end this is a great game held back only by some small issue and dated graphics but still worth playing.

95

Brings back those fun childhood times but with words!

fruitcup1315 | Nov. 3, 2013 | See all fruitcup1315's reviews »

While this game may not be the best for learning how to type "properly," it's never ending fun and hilarity is worth every penny! This was the highlight of mine and many of my friends' childhood. We'd save up all our change and throw it all into the House of the Dead arcade machines.

It's currently a single-player game, but as they are going to integrate co-op and multiplayer you can expect it to be a worthwhile investment. For those who aren't the best at FPS games, but like the zombie-killing action, this will be a great game for you. Unless, of course, typing is not your strong suit. But! In the midst of all that chaos that is you key-smashing, perhaps you'll improve with your life on the line.

85

Kill 'em all !!!

Lasiu2 | Nov. 2, 2013 | See all Lasiu2's reviews »

Well. We get next zombie game where you have to... Try to guess. Kill all zombies! Its game made by Modern Dream studio. It has something special in itself. You would ask "why?". Well, I think it's because of that this game is half horror, half comedy for me. And it's also "Educational". Maybe kinda... But i didnt pay attention about it. One of the most important things for me was to kill all creatures. Graphic stays on hight level, same with soundtrack. I dont like interface in this game. But it wasnt so uncomfortable. Plot... yeah, lets say it was pretty nice. I enjoyed plaing this game. Do i recommend it? Yes, because it is original. Its different than all zombie-horror games. Buy it, and have fun!

90

Load Up Your Keyboards!

F4T4LV0iD | Nov. 2, 2013 | See all F4T4LV0iD's reviews »

Wow, this game is more fun than it should be! The Typing of the Dead: Overkill takes the zombie rail-shooter classic and gives it an interesting twist... you kill your enemies by typing in randomized strings of text. So if you're a horrible aim with a gun, but a maverick on the keyboard then this may be the game you're looking for to take out your frustrations on the legions of undead.

Even if your typing skills aren't up to par, the different difficulty levels make even beginners at using a computer keyboard able to enjoy this game, and with the promise of 2-Player co-op multiplayer in the near future as free DLC, go get yourself a copy and give a friend a copy so you can type some zombies to death!

80

Great game!

hellinperson | Nov. 2, 2013 | See all hellinperson's reviews »

Typing of the Dead: Overkill is a typing game and it is the sequel to the original Typing of the Dead game. The game is really fun and you can get it cheap too. It also comes the original Overkill game, which you can play using the mouse or a gamepad. The words that you have to type are hilarious! Sadly, there are barely any video options (you can only turn antialiasing on or off).

90

Good old fashioned fun

arksun | Oct. 31, 2013 | See all arksun's reviews »

The original Typing of the Dead was a mod of sorts of the original House of the Dead 2 game, and garnered something of a cult following due to its zany premise coupled with the B movie aesthetic of HotD2.

Sega have decided to give gamers a dose of the same zany action but with a slick coat of new paint.

Boiled down to its most basic elements, this is a typing tutor with a HotD skin. Each zombie has a word underneath it which must be typed out in order to kill it. Obviously things get hectic as you have a wall of advancing zombies with five to six letter words under each that must be typed out with sufficient speed and accuracy.

As mundane as it sounds, the aesthetic of the game (a wholly generic grindhouse picture) more than makes up for the premise, dropping f-bombs like crazy amidst flat dialogue delivery coupled with over the top boss fights. It really needs to be experienced to be appreciated.

And to sweeten the deal, this includes the original House of the Dead Overkill, which means you can use your mouse/pad/light gun to play out the same game.

Highly recommended, especially if you have a sibling or friend to join in the fun.

70

Fun game, learn your keyboard!

shewbakka | Oct. 31, 2013 | See all shewbakka's reviews »

This game will either be something you are into, or aren't.

This is an incredibly straight forward game. This is an on the rails shooter zombie typing game. By spelling out the words on the screen, you get rid of the zombies in front of you trying to eat your brains. Some of the words it has you spelling out are quite humorous (thunder thighs?! lol) and gameplay is smooth enough.

The game itself is pretty short, you start off with a gun but as you get further into the story you will earn money for upgrades. The bosses and levels are fun, memorable, and can be intense. This is a very nice take on a fantasy-horror game and I enjoyed it, although towards the end I found myself getting bored. That could be my own fault though, I knew what I was getting when buying this. Be aware of what you're getting before you make the buy, the animations and CGI are decent, and gameplay is fun enough. Tensions will arise as you get further and further into this game. The game does have a plot, which is decent, and I'm looking forward to playing this co-op once the update launches.

90

Stupid, dumb fun!

Dell90 | Oct. 30, 2013 | See all Dell90's reviews »

Typing of the Dead, the smash hit on the original Dreamcast and later the current generation of consoles, has finally graced us with its presence on the PC. As it should be! Typing of the Dead is a perfect fit for us PC gamers, since we have the needed peripheral already attached to our computers; the keyboard!

Typing of the Dead falls into that category is "So incredibly bad that it's good". Like any B movie, it's full of terrible dialog, awful voice acting and pretty crummy graphics. But that's the point. The game is a satire of House of the Dead, which was a satire of old zombie movies. And when a game sets out to BE bad, there it a lot it can do to not actually end up being a bad game. Typing of the Dead is a blast! It's fun, frantic, exciting and for some reason, typing to shoot zombies gets that adrenaline pumping.

To top it all off, it also comes with House of the Dead Overkill, so if you're not really great at typing, you can switch over to a regular "light-gun" mode of the same game. You really can't lose with this purchase.

Also, I've killed about 139 zombies just typing this review.

90

Ridiculous zombie killing at its finest

commanderhavoc | Oct. 30, 2013 | See all commanderhavoc's reviews »

I have played the original version of this game on the Nintendo Wii and I had an absolute blast with it. And now we get a really good PC port of the game that not only gives us the Typing of the Dead version, but also the PS3 version incase you're not good at typing words quickly enough to kill the mutants and bosses. And of course, if you're even remotely familiar with the original version of the game, then you properly know that it plays out like one of those really cheesy 80's grindhouse movies with a narrator and at times, silly antagonists and dialogue between Agent G and detective Washington. If you're tired of all those zombie killing games and just want something that indulges itself in cheesy humor and such, then this is for you.

90

Itchy Tasty Typing

RageKage14 | Oct. 30, 2013 | See all RageKage14's reviews »

Typing of the Dead, originally a Japanese arcade game and Dreamcast release in the states, is a bizarre twist on the popular SEGA House of the Dead franchise. This latest installment is a typing take on the Wii and PS3 release House of the Dead: Overkill. While the game is not necessarily a typing tutorial, it's sure to increase keyboard awareness while providing a fun zombie killing experience.

Keyboard strokes replace bullets as your means of dispatching your undead foes. As the zombies shamble closer, words appear in front of them. Typing out the full words or sentence before they approach allows the player to kill them. It's the same experience as a lightgun game, with it's on-rails approach. Killing zombies in a row without making any typos increases a combo multiplier. Leaderboards are present to track your typing skills against the world.

As a bonus feature, the original House of the Dead: Overkill Director's Cut version is also included intact. This particular reviewer did not spend much time with that version, as a lightgun game with the mouse did not sound like an ideal experience. Some users might have fun with it, and it's nice to see it included, but it's not the main attraction.

It sounds like an unorthodox game, but as you see zombie brains explode across your screen as you type sentences like "Perfectly Spherical Uncle" and "The Unicorn Died Last Wednesday", the appeal of the game becomes apparent. A delightful and unique game experience.

85

Type these zombies into oblivion!

derekthedj | Oct. 30, 2013 | See all derekthedj's reviews »

With the style of a 1970's grindhouse picture, typing of the dead blasts zombies with bullets, explosives, a funk soundtrack, and lots of cursing. Type each words correctly to kill a zombie, and do your best to take out zombies in the correct order. The tab key picks up buffs and perks that allow for breathing room or extra damage.

In case you were wondering, the original shooter on rails is also included and is controlled with a mouse or gamepad. Steam achievements are available for both games. Also included are a few minigames such as survival mode, civilian rescue and a carnival style target shoot. Finally, there is a hardcore mode for the daring.

I'm a sucker for the few typing games out there and for what it does, it does it well.

80

Finally a new typing of the dead!

GigaPudding | Oct. 30, 2013 | See all GigaPudding's reviews »

Typing of the dead is a great and fun way to learn to type fast and accurate. The first typing of the dead game was pretty much the same as this one and it was absolutely brilliant and worthy of getting the maximum rating, this game however is not as good as its predecessor even though it's still pretty enjoyable. You get to type through several zombie and mutant filled levels which are rather short but the game actually encourages the player to improve their typing skills and so the game has quite good replayability. The not so good thing about the game is that there is no training mode and challenges focused on keys and words you are not good with. Instead of training and challenges three minigames are present to test your typing further and the original rail shooting mode is also present if you ever get tired of typing. The graphics are actually the last thing you'll notice while typing the dead off but it should be noted that the game doesn't quite look as a 2013 game so if you're heavy on graphics then consider yourself warned. On the brightside the game's not very demanding on hardware. The little story the game has is heavily stylized to look like seventies grindhouse movies and the recent Robert Rodriguez movies which might spoil the game a little for some players who don't particularly enjoy the borderline overcheesiness all over the game. Overall it's a very entertaining game and an enjoyable learning tool as well. Even though it's lacking a lot compared to its predecessor there are supposedly some dlcs on the way to hopefully add more challenges and training modes and a multiplayer mode to the game.

70

Fun typing fast but #*$% there is a lot of swearing!

therogue | Oct. 30, 2013 | See all therogue's reviews »

I loved the first Typing of the Dead from 10+ years ago, so when I saw this I bought it immediately. The gameplay is exactly the same: a rail shooter where you type what you see on the screen as quickly as possible in order to shoot the zombies. The graphics are nicely done but in a style meant to evoke the feeling of B-movie horror films, so there are things like grain and vertical lines interposed on the screen. It's weird at first, but once you get into the thick of things you don't even notice. There are multiple chapters to play, each of which has a unique environment. It includes a full version of the original shooter version from the PS3 (using a controller on the PC) and Sega promises to add multiplayer to the game shortly.

Overall I like the game and recommend it if the gameplay interests you, but mind the ESRB/PEGI rating. This is very definitely an adult-oriented game: lots of skin showing, sexual references, and swearing. It's done to be funny, but still I find it a bit "over the top" when every third word out of a character's mouth is some variation of f*.

75

Funny but not for all

Cavalieroscuro | Oct. 30, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

Do you know House of the Dead? The classic on rail shooter from Sega? Well, Typing of the Dead: Overkill is pretty much the SAME game, but instead of using your mouse to shoot and kill zombies, you use your keyboard, typing words and so on. If you type fast, you kill zombies, if not, you will die. The game is simple and funny, there will be also a free cooperative DLC planned, but killing zombies by typing words is not for all.