Reviews for Half Life 2: Episode 2

96

And so it ends, for now

Fourclops | Sept. 1, 2014 | See all Fourclops's reviews »

Finishing the Half Life 2 story, this episode did a really great job to catch the whole topic and deliver it very well at the end, with a very obvious cliffhanger for the next Half Life game (let's hope it comes out soon) Gameplay wise, they polished most of the controls without actually changing much. Why fix what isn't broken??? I still wonder why make the episodes separate games instead of expansions to the first HL2, or release it all thogether, but they sure have their reasons

91

Fantastic game!

MaccN2 | Aug. 13, 2014 | See all MaccN2's reviews »

his game hit me so hard. I have been a fan of the Half Life series since it first hit the scene and was pretty excited when Valve decided to take the series in an episodic route. Half Life 2 was just so captivating and the environment so believable. The gameplay was top notch and the story compelling. very good!

90

Epic sequel

Romy68 | Aug. 12, 2014 | See all Romy68's reviews »

Definitely better than Episode 1, it provides an amazing gaming experience, rarely to be found in any FPS out there. Sound, story, even graphics for the mid 2000s', everything fits perfectly one with each other. Simply a masterpiece, a must have if for some reason you didn't buy by now.

95

Half Life 2 with actual new stuff added

mugaro | June 16, 2014 | See all mugaro's reviews »

A lot of people said episode 1 didn't offer much new, and they were correct. Episode 2 offers quite a bit new stuff to the Half Life universe.

The story is actually really interesting and surprisingly heart breaking for a Half Life game. If you played through half life 1, you'd be surprised at how much depth in the story, writing, voice acting and what not went into this game when Half Life 1's story was pretty bare bones.

We're still waiting for Episode 3, we all want to know what happens. As of writing this, it's 2014 and we've been toiling on the cliff hanger of Episode 2 for 7 years.

Pick up this game and the entire Half Life collection, get in on the know. Join the rest of us that have been clamoring for a sequel to this masterpiece series since 2007.

100

A game that is sure to move you

xborcx | April 16, 2014 | See all xborcx's reviews »

This game...wow.

This game hit me so hard. I have been a fan of the Half Life series since it first hit the scene and was pretty excited when Valve decided to take the series in an episodic route. Half Life 2 was just so captivating and the environment so believable. The gameplay was top notch and the story compelling.

When Episode 1 hit I wanted more and man I think we all get more than we could handle with Episode 2. The story in this game packed such a bunch and then the end comes and it is still one of the most heartbreaking things I have seen in gaming. Typing this out and reflecting on this game is giving me chills.

Absolutely get this game, and absolutely join us all in the insanity that is waiting for the next installment.

89

The Pinnacle of the Series - So Far

AkiMatti | March 31, 2014 | See all AkiMatti's reviews »

The old Source engine has been taken to new lengths again as Gordon goes through totally different environments compared to the last episode. Cityscapes have changed to rural countryside and forests.

The gameplay is paced very well and the player feels like making progress all the time. Some new enemies are also introduced and some old ones are also reacquainted.

Vehicles are in a more prominent role and they work well enough, though for my tastes there could've been less of them.

The plot goes forward a lot, but I won't tell anymore of that in case you haven't played this gem yet. The ending leaves us at a cliffhanger like no other. Episode 3, pls?

93

Episode Two: Gordon's story continues

NikorasuSan | Feb. 22, 2014 | See all NikorasuSan's reviews »

Half-Life 2: Episode Two is the last (so far) entry in the Half-Life franchise. It continues what some call "the Half-Life 2 story arc", following directly after Episode One. Here, Gordon and Alyx must race against the Combine in order to reach White Forest, one of the largest Resistance bases in Sector 17.

Now, as far as gameplay goes, it remains faithful to what we've come to expect in a Half-Life game. The Gravity Gun is still there, the puzzles are still there, and the action, is also there. However, this game offers new things: new enemies, like the Hunters, which, given their speed and strength, offer a great challenge, even for an expert Half-Life challenge. There's also a new weapon, although not one that the player directly controls: the Magnusson Device, which offers a good way of taking down Striders, although Hunters will make sure it's not as easy as one would like.

As far as environments go, this game makes the Source engine shine, at least for the era it was released in. From the destroyed City 17 in the distance, going through the Victory Mines, up to White Forest and the surrounding environments... They all look magnificent. Not only that, the destruction sequences in this game (caused by the Portal Storms) are quite impressive.

This game is a bit longer than Episode One, but not as long as Half-Life 2. Still, it's got a lot of tense moments and a great cliffhanger which, sadly, has not been resolved up to this day. I still recommend it, but be warned, once you finish it, you'll join us in the wait for Half-Life 3.

95

The Best Half-Life Has to Offer

lachking | Dec. 18, 2013 | See all lachking's reviews »

Episode 2 takes place directly after the events of Episode 1 and is quite possibly the highlight of the entire Half-Life series to date. After the underwhelming Episode 1, Episode 2 has many plot twists which are really grabbing and may even make you cry a little (I won't mention what actually happens so that I don't spoil plot points for people who haven't played this). Episode 2 takes you to a variety of locations on the outskirts of City 17 such as mines, forests, antlion nests, country towns as well as the White Forest silo base. There is also a good mix of combat and puzzle solving with strong level design. The new hunter enemy is also interesting and will provide for some tense battles with its initial encounter being quite a shock to behold. The graphics and presentation are still essentially the same as Episode 1 and look great, and the game's audio and voice acting provides a good mix between the humorous and serious.

Episode 2 has so much going for it and flawlessly showcases the capabilities of Half-Life. Where is Episode 3/ Half Life 3 Gabe??