Reviews for Counter Strike: Global Offensive

100

Absolutely brilliant game

Amehmo | Sept. 15, 2014 | See all Amehmo's reviews »

To be totally honest this is the first counter strike game i ever played, i went into this game absolutely sucking as my only past encounters with fps games were the likes of call of duty. The difference between a game like this and a game like COD is the simplicity involved within this game. You can play competitively and still have a great time. As a result of this many people do not find the need to rage at team mates and the product of this is an amazing, welcoming community for this game. If you are looking for a game that you can climb ranks to prove your worth against others and still enjoy yourself at the same time, then i encourage you to buy this game. Of course counter strike is NOT battlefield or COD, but then its not meant to be, it is a game in a league of its own.

88

Best of the series

vikas8395 | Sept. 5, 2014 | See all vikas8395's reviews »

What is there to say? This is the old, addictive multiplayer game remade in high quality visuals.

New modes such as arms race and demolition are a fun addition to the game. New weapons such as the PP-Bizon, MAG-7 and incendiary grenades are fun to use - and offers

much more deeper thought of strategy.

Even now, CS(CS:GO) remains fun and addictive as a game where players can simply "jump in for a quick funtime" with bots or friends in a LAN or over the Internet. This is far more better than playing COD clones.

95

How epic is CS:GO Really?

sonicasdfasdf | Aug. 23, 2014 | See all sonicasdfasdf's reviews »

CS:GO is a very good fps, compared to CS 1.6. Although CS:GO is the latest counter strike series, the game is worse than CS:S. Reason being is due to the game-play and additions. All retro fans will agree with me. Another reason why CS:GO is not the best FPS is due to the updates (Usually a good FPS would update a lot to keep out 'so called hackers' (aimbotters) but CS:GO barley updates.

Rating 7/10 - Decent game! If you think CS:GO is a good top range FPS game then your right-wrong. I hope you enjoy this game, but in my experience I haven't

90

Fun and still fun!

ash_arani | Aug. 16, 2014 | See all ash_arani's reviews »

I love the Counter Strike franchise and I have grown up playing it around 12 years ago.

Global Offensive keeps the same style with improved graphics. I initially thought that it would take away from the game. But I was wrong. The game is still amazing (and addictive).

And it is super competitive. Great fun. Highly recommended!

98

The game of all games

Oranj | Aug. 6, 2014 | See all Oranj's reviews »

This is the purest fps youll ever play, no power ups, no special investments needed to keep up with others, only your skill makes the difference. I have played Counter Strike for ten years, or more. I liked Counter Strike 1.6, I love Counter Strike Global Offensive. Its a simple game, with a wide collection of weapons and awesome skins. Unlike CS 1.6, CS GO comes with many modes, from casual to competitive so you cant get bored, ever. I recommend this game to anyone, its a great game.

100

Best shooter I've ever seen

Gabytza108 | Aug. 1, 2014 | See all Gabytza108's reviews »

Don't played CoDs or Battlefields , from this you learn to aim , to play and everything CS GO is like CS classic but with better graphics Skins are the first reason everyone plays that game There are many minigames that you can play , go and see if you like them : Arms Race , Demolition , Deathmatch and Competitive

85

A well-built FPS game

LShun | July 19, 2014 | See all LShun's reviews »

Counter Strike Global Offensive, is a new game for the Counter Strike series that features improvements over the old Counter Strike. The graphics feel a lot nicer compared to previous games, but still loses to Counter Strike: Source in some situations.

The weapons and skins available throughout the updates is great. However, graphics feel a little dark, so raising the brightness might help in situations where sniper's are almost invisible in the dark.

The fast game-play and the new radar makes things even more interesting and challenging. The guns and textures are realistic.

The community is also very friendly. Overall, this is a very good game and worth it for 14.99. I would like to see more improvements in the future and happy with this game.

90

Fun and Competitive

DragosLoL | July 16, 2014 | See all DragosLoL's reviews »

First of all, this isn't your "average FPS" such as CoD or Battlefield. CS:GO really brings competitve FPS to its glory. For someone just picking up the FPS genre and is competitive, then you might like this game. It's helpful to know each weapon and map strategies to dominate the game but if you're just playing for fun, casual modes are perfect. Also Valve is quite generous when it comes to in-game items. Sometimes you might get lucky and get a rare drop after a game or you can unlock a chest to get a cool gun, custom knife, or sticker for your loadout. Everything is fairly priced and for a great shooter, this game is pretty cheap. It might feel awkward but if you give this game a try, you won't regret buying it.

85

More than 10 years have passed, still is fun as hell

Elder91 | July 14, 2014 | See all Elder91's reviews »

15 dollars, that´s the price to pay to enjoy (or falling in love again) with Counter-Strike, one of the best competitive FPS you´re gonna find on the market.

In terms of gameplay, the game is just like the oldest CS games but more balanced, and with some redesing in classic maps like Dust, Inferno, etc. The game still uses the source engine (it´s old, i know), but with updated graphics and solid 60 FPS to enjoy every second of it Also, along with the classic modes, the game has two additional modes to keep the variety on the game

What are you waiting for? get this game, you won´t regret it

97

The next step in CS

Nigee | July 13, 2014 | See all Nigee's reviews »

I started playing cs when i was about 10, back before steam. Since then i have played it on and off, both for fun and competitively. Over the years many fun mods and map types have come out, such as gun game and surfing. What CSGO does is take take some of these modes, and turns them into standard modes. However unlike privately hosted servers, where player size can turn strategic game play into spray and pray, games are often limited to 5v5, meaning that your individual contributions weigh more. Competitive mode is the true feature of CSGO, where you play in 5v5 objective based maps, and even at lower ranks, you will find a lot of organization going on. You quickly learn to work as a team, or lose. Competitive play will feature occasional community map packs, where you can play ranked on custom maps, which adds some spice to the game; and typically stay up for a season to allow you enough time to get some play in. Another feature is that, like previous cs games, you can get custom gun skins. But instead of having to install custom mods that only you can see, playing maps or purchasing capsule keys will give you chances to earn new skins. Skins have different rarities, but collect 10 and you can "trade up" for a random skin from the next tier. If you are into FPS, or even into a more competitive play style ( i came from league) then it is worth checking out.

88

Best shooter I've played

CARLEST | July 2, 2014 | See all CARLEST's reviews »

This is it! The best shooter in the world! No need to spend money on CoDs or Battlefields if you can get this masterpiece!

In CS:GO you play classic CS but with better graphics. It has many cool game modes and other stuff.

Deathmatch: Run and shoot. This game mode is basically about getting kills and dying as few times as possible. You will spawn at random space with your chosen weapons or random ones. Kill most and be the best to win.

Arms Race: Get kill with every weapon. This game mode let's you to use different guns. You will need to get kill with every gun, fastest player wins.

Demolition: Bomb mission or hostage rescue. In bomb mission you will play as a terrorist or a counter terrorist. While playing as a terrorist, you will need to plant a bomb or kill every counter terrorist. To win as a counter terrorist you need to defuse a bomb or kill every terrorist. Simple? Try to do that on the battlefield.

Competitive: This is the hardest gameplay type and is only recommended for advanced players. You have to win minimum 16 rounds to win the game. This gamemode may take up to 90 minutes and is really hard.

Skins: This is the main reason why I like this game. You have different weapon skins so you can be different from others. There are even Stattrak skins that count your kills. You can get them as drops, buy from market or unbox them.

Get this game as fast as you can!

95

Awesome FPS

xanthophylle | June 20, 2014 | See all xanthophylle's reviews »

Counter Strike Global Offensive is simply one of the best FPS ever created. Competitive games require a lot of strategy and teamwork, and most people understand this. The community is good, most people play correctly. Also, CS:GO is really better when played with friends! It's possible to buy skins for your guns, but it doesn't affect the gun, so it doesn't turn into a pay-to-win. In short, this game is awesome.

94

A must have!

Deltax63 | June 19, 2014 | See all Deltax63's reviews »

CSGO is a strategy FPS like it's predecessors but CSGO has a modern twist and new guns, and drops for your steam inventory. This game never gets old, I've played hundreds of hours like many others. I don't think it is "fun" like other games but actually intense, adrenelized! Competitive matchmaking works like a charm now and climbing up the ranks is quite the experience. The game used to be buggy but it is very stable now and the community is booming. Jump into the craze you won't regret a single cent!

81

OG shooter > CoD

jepherz | June 18, 2014 | See all jepherz's reviews »

For those of us old enough to remember Counter Strike this game may be more fun to play. I really like this old style of play compared to Call of Duty where everyone just keeps respawning all over the place and you have to zoom to aim before shooting.

I think this game has gotten a bit more popular since they've released skins into the game. It is also newbie friendly with a wide range of skill levels in the game. Match making is also really good 9/10 times, you get to play with people around your level which makes things more enjoyable.

Some things I don't like though is that the community largely does not like new maps, people like to play old maps that people have been playing forever from previous Counter Strike games. And that hackers are a huge problem if you ever get to a high enough skill level to see them.

Headphones and mics are almost a requirement for this game, its a tactical game unlick CoD, you have to be able to listen to where enemies are coming from accurately, regular speakers don't work as well for this. The mic is for communicating with your team, just about everyone that plays this game uses a mic. So if you enjoy tactical shooters, you can't go wrong with this game.

96

Not as good as the original but you can tell it's a CS game

alanmaz567 | June 9, 2014 | See all alanmaz567's reviews »

The gameplay is pretty much the same as the original but with better graphics! The game gets usual updates and the Requirements are pretty low as in this game could run on probably and PC that has pixel shader 3.0. I would say the gameplay plays almost as good as the original. You can tell that this is a Counter Strike game but the amount of professional players that are in-game, if you enjoy playing FPS but suck at them and would like to learn how to play better CS is a great way to start learning, or maybe if you are a competitive FPS player then this game would definetly find someone at your skill. This game is great for both people who have started playing FPS games and for people who have been playing FPS game for years. i enjoyed it, give it a try.

95

One of best FPS eSport games

Cofo | May 29, 2014 | See all Cofo's reviews »

One of best games on world and the best CS so far.

It is also one of the most competitive games you can find. In the rise of eSport games CSGO is ready to be one of major eSport games, tick behind Moba//Arts games (Dota, LoL),already has several tournaments with prizes that goes over 200 000 $.

Gameplay is amazing, smooth, and matchmaking is well made and in my opinion matchmaking is fair, when I say fair I think that you will always be put into a game with people of your skill level. Guns are very unique and very well balanced, this game requires skill in order to be good player and you need to learn how each weapon reacts when you are shooting, you need to play often and practice shooting,play deathmatch mode and try to kill players only by aiming on head, this is one of best if not best way to practice shooting. Updates are very regular, and game provides you a lot of amazing features that you will notice as soon as you start playing.

CSGO also now support ingame items, cosmetic skins for your guns (like Dota and TF2, more like Dota because none of skins affects gameplay , they are purely cosmetic things).

There is tons of maps, some are new and some are classics like dust2,nuke,inferno..etc. You will also have chance to support game by buying special tickets every now and then that will grant you access to newly released competitive maps.

Apart from matchmaking and competitive scene there is also casual scene and like in all CS series you can browse for servers and join on server you chose to play some casual game and then leave whenever you wanna or just pick another server.

This game has something for everyone,it is really a must have game.

93

Counter Strike: GO : Watch out, we got ourselves a champion.

mrminecrafter1 | May 25, 2014 | See all mrminecrafter1's reviews »

The newest iteration of the Counter Strike is simply amazing. Everything has been improved and the series has taken a step forward with Global Offensive. The fun is still there and the graphics has drastically improved. Gunplay is still fun to play with. With Steam trading cards and buy-able in-game items, it only makes the experience better. The atmosphere of the game is simply created by the game and the players themselves. Every moment you keep your eyes peeled for the next enemy, fingers ready on the trigger. If you want an easy entry into the PC FPS games, this title is a must. Another great shooter title in the gaming industry.

82

It is not the good old CS but it does deliver a great experience

Jegerkake | May 21, 2014 | See all Jegerkake's reviews »

I was very negative about playing CS:GO for quite a while because it simply was not the simplistic counter strike (1.6 and earlier) we all fell in love with in our earlier days. The graphics are greatly improved and the details on the maps has also been vastly improved, for me this was a huge disappointment because I really enjoyed the simple style CS have had earlier.

I might go as far as saying this is a totally new game, because there are so many changes. Although, it has done something right, because it really is a ton of fun to play. It does remind me of the competetive CS 1.5 and 1.6 gaming I used to play and the new matchmaking competetive queue is a huge step forward in the right direction.

All in all it is a good game, it is not the earlier versions of counter strike, but it does deliver a good experience in the competetive first person shooter genre. The matchmaking queue system does bump up my rating for this game quite a bit (although it does need to be fixed, I would like to see a region matchmaking instead of the way it is now as you get teamed up with tons of people who can not speak English at all).

96

Very addictive! Very fun! A must have!

toshexy | May 20, 2014 | See all toshexy's reviews »

This is one heck of a competitive shooter. Remember the first time you played CS? Well you gonna relieve those kinds of feelings.

First up, it's much better made, much harder to play too. There are a ton of new tactics and each one is as important.

Second - you got various gun skins but those do not influence the outcome - it's a strictly skill based game.

Matching system is a bit lacking though - you sometimes end up playing with people much higher in rank and skill than you, and there are a lot of people that cheat using auto aim and stuff like that (see through wall is the worst).

But all in all, at least once a day you're gonna have such a great game that makes you go back for more.

There are also some competitive operations that you need to purchase tickets too, but the drops from these most the time cover your expenses.

All in all a must have! Get it as soon as you can!

95

The best CS so far

Jackassman | May 3, 2014 | See all Jackassman's reviews »

Valve did it again... It's like they can't really do a bad move with their games. Everyone thought they need a new engine to make a new Counter Strike game, well, they didn't. The improved Source engine looks amazing, the physics are better than ever, and the weapons... They implemented weapon skins, and weapon "qualities", which makes the game unique, and you can spend hours of collecting/trading/buying these, which is absolute fun. Luckily this CS doesn't have the big red error signs, and the purple/black texture glitches, so yeah... best CS ever! :D

92

A good, competitive update to the CS series

legots | April 23, 2014 | See all legots's reviews »

First things off, All the screenshots (on GMG, half of them on Steam) are from the beta from 2012, so keep in mind the game looks better now than it used to, with updated weapon models, lighting etc.

Excellent multiplayer shooter, a good successor to the old CS games (of which I haven't played a lot really) but if you don't enjoy the classic defuse / hostage modes (which have each been tweaked and changed for the better in my opinion) you can always play the easy to pick up, more casual style Team Deathmatch, Demolition, and Arms Race modes too!

It's great casually and competitively and the new matchmaking system means that you will always be put into a game with people of your skill level (in competitive modes). This is determined by the new ranking system that they also added, which levels up on a number of factors, but mainly how many competitive games you have won vs. how many you lost.

The classic maps have been updated as well as some community maps being available for limited amounts of time in frequent 'Operations' that require the one-time purchase of a pass to have the maps available for you and anyone you wish to invite to your lobbies / games until the end of the 'Operation' (Can be compared somewhat to Call of Duty map packs).

There have also been recent updates including the return of two CT-exclusive silenced weapons from the previous games, and lots and lots of cosmetic weapon skins and stickers (which can be placed on weapons; both from Valve, and more recently the Community Workshop), which can either be found in random drops during gameplay, or by unboxing TF2-style loot crates, where you can also find rarer versions of the reskins (called StatTrak weapons) which count the number of kills you perform with that weapon physically on the model.

tl;dr: A good competitive and casual FPS that is a well-executed update to the old CS games, adding lots of new content and is constantly being updated

On a slightly unrelated note, the weapon skins utilise a fairly in-depth wear and tear simulation process, in-depth enough that almost every gun is unique in its wear and tear, which is very interesting, and gets bonus points from me!

100

Great Game

Ack4orge | April 22, 2014 | See all Ack4orge's reviews »

The score I gave might come as a surprise, but personally, this is one of the best games I have ever played! The competitive game nature of this game is where it really shines. It actually takes skill to do good in this game. In my opinion, getting kills and winning rounds are much more satisfying in this game than others, as you know that it was due to your individual skill and your groups teamwork.

The gameplay is smooth, polished, and punishing. The guns have a nice feel to them, and each weapon is unique. Each gun also has a huge recoil pattern, but they can be managed once you learn them. This game's gunplay is all about reflexes and pinpoint accuracy. You have to aim for the head. Spraying isn't a matter of aiming and holding the left mouse button. You have to know each gun's recoil pattern and how to control it if you want to at least be hitting the center of mass.

There's a variety of official maps. Each of them are well balanced and designed for competitive play in mind. In addition to the permanent maps, there's also a limited timed community "map pack" that gets released, so that should be able to satisfy needs for new maps. The developers support this game quite well, already adding 3 different permanent official maps to the game since release, including one that was created from scratch. There's likely to be even more support for new maps.

A new feature that was added not too long ago are items. These come in the form of weapon skins, kill counters built into guns, crates that contain skins, and there's even been 3 brand new weapons. The skins are only cosmetic and and don't give any sort of advantage. They just look pretty and I don't mind having them at all. Everybody has access to all weapons, so you don't have to worry about not having a gun someone else doesn't have. So far, the new guns are very well balanced and aren't overpowered or anything of the sort. New skins are regularly being released, and some really are nice looking.

Competitive isn't the only game mode.The only other official game modes that offer a decent amount of fun are the demolitions and arm race game modes. But what really hosts the most unique game types are the community servers. You can play something from prison break, to zombies, surfing, and basically anything else the community can come up with. I haven't checked if they have prop hunt yet, which is basically like hide and go seek, but I wouldn't be surprised if they did. It's one of my favorite custom game modes.

Overall, this game is solid. I've played about 800 hours of this game and probably many more to come. There's really no other FPS game like this, that is so smooth, polished, and competitive. I've enjoyed basically everything about this game, and haven't come across many major flaws in regards to the gameplay. Honestly though, I can see how some people wouldn't like this game. It can be hard to get into because really does take some time to learn the guns, tactics, maps, and more. But if you're looking for a competitive game that takes skill, and you're willing to put in the time and effort into it, I highly recommend Counter Strike: Global Offensive.

92

One word:COMPETITIVE!

Zazutuu | April 15, 2014 | See all Zazutuu's reviews »

One of the most competitive shooters you can find on the market.

You will be in a lot of intense moments in this game.It is also very fun to play.Counter Strike Global Offensive is a great shooter with a very good gameplay,a pretty good graphic and it is worth its price,trust me...

97

Counter Strike become competitive!

coop | April 7, 2014 | See all coop's reviews »

This is the best of Counter Strike series, with a new (and really great) game engine.

It has more game modes, and there is a big community. The servers are officials and hosted by Valve. There is a help menu for the beginners, and it's very helpful.

But the best part is..... it's competitive! You will play for 1 hour with a team, 5vs5, and you have to win 16 rounds. This game mode also give you a rank score.

It's the perfect first person shooter game!

95

Nailed it!

WolfeClawz | April 5, 2014 | See all WolfeClawz's reviews »

The new Counter-Strike game we all wanted. Despite only jumping in to the CS series with Global Offensive, it has taught me everything that is needed to play all the previous titles as well, clearly stating it hasn't steered away from the original essence of the game.

For me, Counter-Strike serves as the true definition of "Easy to learn, hard to master", as whilst many newcomers to the series (such as myself) can learn the basics easily and have fun with it, those that have come from a heavy CS background can take the knowledge from the previous games and apply it to this one.

I can easily recommend this game for players who want to jump in and have fun, as well as those that want to have a go at the competitive scene to test their skills against the pros.

72

Fun with friends

AlejandroJ20 | March 18, 2014 | See all AlejandroJ20's reviews »

It's just like the older Counter Strike's, but with a "new" game engine. Still, the gameplay is pretty good and it's fun to cooperate with your teammates in the match.

The graphics are ok, not too bad, not too good for a game made in 2012, but they could have been better. It's easy to learn the game controls (just move and shoot whatever enemy you see).

At the end of a round, you get the chance to get a item (weapons, stickers, boxes, etc.) and sell them in the Steam market or keep it and use it in your matches.

I recommend it to play with friends, a good FPS, but you might get tired of it after hours (unless you are trying to get items to make your profit of it, that should give you hundreds of hours).

85

What the FPS competetive scene needs

meltinghero | Feb. 27, 2014 | See all meltinghero's reviews »

"Extremely Competitive" is what first comes to mind after hundreds of hours playing this game. Every kill will be extremely satisfying and tou will find yourself throwing your arms in the air celebrating after you just won a 1 vs 2. Many tense moments comes with this game.

The only real downside of this game is that, you will need to spend a lot of hours practicing and shooting. Not that is really matters as you will surely enjoy every hour of it.

Another great thing about this CS:GO is that, at the end of every match, you will receive random drops, gun skins or even crates which you would need a key to open. You could sell them for a bit of money or even spend full time trading. Many has profited hundreds, even thousands of dollars from this game.

If you enjoy FPS games, this is a must. Counter Strike: Global Offensive is my personal favorite of the Counter Strike Series and you would be mad not to pick this gem up.

95

Competitive FPS

KyoLz | Jan. 6, 2014 | See all KyoLz's reviews »

I played counter strike 1.6 since 10 years ago. It was a fun and very competitive FPS game i had played. Need skills and teamworks during in the matches. Communication is the key in this games. I bought counter strike global offensive since it released. The mechanics are different from CS 1.6 like to recoil for each weapon and new weapons like decoy, Molotov, etc. The community isn't bad. Met lots of Pros player in the Competitive match.

90

Another CS game that you'll like.

InsaneHien | Jan. 5, 2014 | See all InsaneHien's reviews »

The Counter-Strike games have been known to be competitive. They are a series of tactical first person shooters in which the games pits terrorists against counter-terrorists. The goal is to complete the mission objective or kill the opposing side.

Counter-Strike: Global Offensive is a major redesign of the series. It has new weapons, redesigned maps, new models, new sounds, new game modes, and new graphics. As like the other CS games, you earn money for winning and killing and that money can be spent on weapons and other equipment.

This is one of the top 10 most played games on Steam right now, so there's plenty of players and servers to play in. A definite buy for anyone that's into Counter-Strike.

85

A great Counter Strike. That's a first!

martinni | Jan. 3, 2014 | See all martinni's reviews »

Despite not being a big fan of the series, i've got them all and i've been playing them for quite a while, mostly with friends. I was expecting this one to be just another Counter Strike... But i found a much better experience than i was expecting; actually, i'm pretty sure i haven't played the Classic Mode (which is pretty much the whole game in the previous CS titles) for more than 10% of my total game time. If you're familiar with the series, see the classic mode as the past titles improved; and you may be happy with that if you're a fan of the good old CS days. If you want something fresh, there's always another mode waiting!

92

Competitive FPS

Highlander9782 | Dec. 27, 2013 | See all Highlander9782's reviews »

This is one of the best military shooters out there. It's realistic because you don't regain health after getting shot and requires teamwork in these medium sized maps or else you going to die in the first minute of the round. You get lots of weapons to choose from, and they vary depending on which team you choose, Counter Terrorist and Terrorist. Another great thing is that the end of matches, there are random prizes that are given out to random people, not based on kills, such as guns or weapon boxes that you can use yourself or sell on the steam marketplace for money. Two main game modes I like to play are hostage rescue and planting bombs. Definite buy to play with your buddies, you'll have a great time.

93

A competitive FPS (finally)

BlueSharkTheOne | Dec. 26, 2013 | See all BlueSharkTheOne's reviews »

Of course Counter Strike games have always been competitive but today most of the FPS are just casual and are not meant to be played in a competitive way. With Counter strike : Global offensive you can do both. If you just want to play it only once in a month, well you can. But if you want to improve your game and start playing ranked matchs, you can too and it is highly recommended as it is the spirit of the game. Plus, there are a lot of fun servers hosted by players that you can join with communauty maps and funny mods (one of them adds zombies players into the game session - funny).

88

Try it and forget what people tell you.

danymora131 | Dec. 23, 2013 | See all danymora131's reviews »

If you bought this game during one of the multiple steam sales, you probably got yourself a great deal and a great game as well. The game might be difficult for you because there is a little bit of a learning curve. But unlike other multiplayer shooter games, you actually feel rewarded when you manage to kill someone before they kill you. It might be hard to learn gun recoil, crouching, and shooting in the spots. The gameplay is different, not difficult once you get the hang of it. Matchmaking is pretty decent because I got matched with players that were good, but not pros. I recommend that if you see on sale, you buy it.

93

n00b here...

beltmatt_usa | Dec. 22, 2013 | See all beltmatt_usa's reviews »

This game is a lot of fun. It is very fast paced, the community isn't full of pricks like a lot of online games are. As a n00b, this is a lot of fun! I wish I was better....but many of the players have 5 years experience.

Just like is the other CS games, you earn $$ for kills and wins, you spend your $$ for upgrades. The upgrades will last through the round so it really is pretty level when you start.

As I said before, the online community isn't bad. They have been very helpful so far. I think the hardcore players probably have groups they play with and stay out of the public games. I don't have the Bravo pass, but if I keep playing I will have to pick it up.

If you like the original CS game, you would probably like this one!

94

I can't stop playing

gforcesa | Dec. 21, 2013 | See all gforcesa's reviews »

I really enjoy this Counter Strike game.It's fun and it's updated often which is great.If you are tired of playing the old maps you can always jump into a game of community made maps and servers and enjoy those.Valve also added skins to all the weapons in the game so you can kill people while your weapon looks bad ass.You can also sell those skins and make a little profit in your Steam Wallet.The maps are greatly re-done and visually stunning.I suggest you buy this game because it's not that expensive and It's awesome.

86

its so much fun

viedoo | Dec. 21, 2013 | See all viedoo's reviews »

I used to be playing FPS like Call Of Duty, battlefield,Medal Of Honor and even been addicted to PayDay. But Counter-Strike is a FPS on a whole different level. Its hard, Challenging and far from what most are probably used too but its so much fun. A must have for everybody that loves FPS! Dont let the price fool you. This game if far beyond awesome than most FPS which u pay around 60 euros for or more. You play matches with people in your own skill rank and u rank up when you get better. You dont have to worry to get in the game and be shooted by people that are 50 ranks higher than you. the game runs smooth, looks really good and you can play deathmatch against bots and other people, or competitively & Alone. Its highly addictive and for the price it is right now definitely worth trying. Incase you buy it (Which u should!) Have fun

95

An anti-terrorist war against terrorists!

kalil | Dec. 20, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

Since the first edition of the game " counter -strike " , you could say (or at least I 'm telling you, that could aver been one more in the series tom clancy 's ... but the game was developed at the end by valve, and brought to Spain and many countries for store or online with "Steam " , a program to buy valve games .

The game began to be a mod of "Half- life" (base of almost all FPS games valve game), in its version 1.6 , then it was better to become what it is today , an independent game with great graphics and very good gameplay.

The gameplay is simple, as simple as choosing how you want, (either deatmach .. for example), the map you want to play , and after charging is finished , choose the team you want, terrorist or terrorism .

In ancient games of that series, terrorists and anti-terrorists had different weapons , ie , terrorists can have a counterterrorism AK47 ... but no ... and vice versa ... can have a counter-terrorism and terrorists bullup . in this last game of the series, it has been removed .

The game does not have a " story mode " , as if they had in the " Counter -strike condition zero" or " Counter -strike condition zero deletes zones" ... but the game is based on mutual fighting between terrorists and anti-terrorist controlled by console or controlled by real people in " multiplayer " .

They have added several additional details to the game , such as the reports you get sometimes , actual reports of fighting against Universal SWAT terrorism.

On the other hand , and moving away from the gameplay, the graphics and sounds are quite improved over the last saga.Los games graphics have been remastered and sound better, not as in " Counter.strike source" that the graphics a bit more heran necientes and sound also .

In short , a game with so much potential, independent ... from his first appearance to be a "MOD" of a game, lots of fun and great gifts of history by our most loyal assistant, SWAT , which will always be to protect us.

85

It's Counter-Strike

crankafoo | Dec. 20, 2013 | See all crankafoo's reviews »

Not much has changed, but that's not a bad thing. Counter-Strike: Global Offensive is a fun shooter with an emphasis on team play. Buy your weapons and take out the other team or plant the bomb. It's solid fun and looks great. Must-have if you are new to Counter-Strike or want an update from Counter-Strike: Source.

84

Great improvement over the previous titles.

CrysisX | Dec. 20, 2013 | See all CrysisX's reviews »

So, what's the difference? The main difference that you'll first notice is the graphics which looks spectacular and doesn't require a high-end graphic card. In CS:GO, a few new game modes along with some new guns are added which are fairly good but if you don't like the new game modes, there's the classic mode available. There are a lot of community maps available for download at the Steam workshop which will keep you playing for hours and hours. Overall, this game is worth the purchase even though you've never played any Counter Strike games before!

90

Fantastic Addition to the Series

lachking | Dec. 16, 2013 | See all lachking's reviews »

CS: GO may seem like an unnecessary addition to the CS franchise as the core gameplay is still essentially the same and the game still only uses the source engine. However, CS: GO makes some good additions and refinements to the formula: there are new guns, maps, improved graphics, sounds and some of the maps have been re-made and re-balanced. There are also some new game modes such as arms race and this is a good game mode for those that don't like having to wait when they die. The new game modes are representative of an experience one would expect from a traditional COD game, and Valve have done a good job fitting it into the Counter-strike experience. Valve recently added item drops including cases and guns with skins, meaning you can collect items just by playing which is similar to the whole hat system of Team Fortress 2. Counterstrike veterans and newcomers alike, CS: GO is a great game that improves upon previous Counterstrike games in every way. Pick it up!

76

Many Headed Beast

bwrussell | Dec. 5, 2013 | See all bwrussell's reviews »

When looking at CS:GO, or really any online game, there are two separate discussions, the game itself (as a collection of mechanics, story, graphics, etc.) and the community (player base, maturity, general skill, etc). All cards on the table this is the first CS game I hae played for more than a few hours. Lets first look at the game side.

CS:GO plays like a marriage between a twitch shooter and a mil sim. In deathmatch or arms race modes you have the speed, respawn timing, and infinite lives of something like Unreal while retaining the health (how many shots you can take) and more realistic weapons of a mil sim. Basically its a slightly more arcade-y version of a modern military shooter. In addition there are some additional modes that play like tactical shooters. Objective based, single lives, and weapon/armor purchasing lead to a slower more careful play style. There is a decent stable of weapons but you will quickly notice that typically only a few are used given the choice of any weapon in the game and some are completely useless. For the most part the weapons feel varied and have decent impact when fired. The quick play feature for joining servers works well and is helped by the fact that servers auto-populate with bots to reach the minimum player quantity. This system, combined with the time limit on matches, makes it easy quickly jump in and play a match or two if you need a quick fix. There are quite a few maps but you won't see most of them with any regularity. Which leads us to talking about the community.

Continuing the spirit of full disclosure, I have not played a single match in Competitive mode. It may be great but the sound of it just doesn't appeal to me. For the most part I didn't have any issues with the people I played with in CS:GO but I also was exactly blown away by them either. Really in a lot of matches there is nothing of note. The majority of people don't talk and there is a wide range of skill levels. Every once in a while you will run across one of a few people: The excessive chatter/whiner/trash talker, the guy that spams the voice chat with their music, someone using some sort of mod/hack (I'm guessing this is much less common on Competitive servers as VAC suspensions/bans will be leveled), or someone that is just way to good for a casual server. Luckily you can just mute players or easily jump onto a new server to solve all these problems. The one issue that you will not get away from is the end of round map voting. This is why you will only see a handful of the maps in the game. 90% of the time it is available the majority if players will vote for Dust 2 and if it's not an option there are 2-4 other maps that seem to be favored for some reason. Honestly this is my biggest problem with the game because it's hard to avoid.

One other thing of note is the recently added cases and gun skins. It's important to realize that these are COSMETIC ONLY. If that's your sort of thing then skin away but if it isn't it presents a nice little perk. These semi-random drops can be sold for real money which is put into your Steam wallet. This means that if you buy this game on sale you can pretty easily make back the cost of the game and more. Not really a reason to buy or not buy the game, just something to be aware of.

In the end the ease of dropping into a match and relatively short match lengths (typically 10 min max) make this a great way to pass 30 mins or a couple of hours.

93

Finally, a CS game for EVERYONE

videopower77 | Nov. 29, 2013 | See all videopower77's reviews »

If you have never played a Counter-Strike game and were wary about jumping into this one because you have heard about how difficult this game is, this entry in this long running series is the best one so far.

Casual game modes out of the box (GREAT for getting used to the game mechanics and weapons) as well as the time-tested and well-oiled hardcore competitive gameplay.

The game also has e-Sports support as well as unlockable weapon skins which you can use or SELL for ACTUAL money in your Steam Wallet.