Reviews for The Walking Dead: Season 2

99

Reviewing Dead: Season 2 --------> Buy it Or Not? (so far.....)

koticpaxx | Feb. 28, 2014 | See all koticpaxx's reviews »

Poor Clementine. Poor, poor clementine. She is one tough cookie. When I was her age, I couldn't make it through a scrape on the knee, let alone stitch myself together!

Welcome back to the land of the dead, where your favourite (Canadian) characters die, unnecessary brutality is permitted and you feel traumatized by the masterpiece that is The Walking Dead: Season 2. In this turn of events, you play as Clementine, and without SPOILERS, you're left to fend for yourself. Can this new and cruel world provide sanctuary for our little hero?

The gameplay is, like the previous one, simple. Choosing which words to say to lead you down different paths and moving around to explore, though I feel like this time, there is more important choices being presented. The presentation is like all the TellTale games, with a unique and cartoony look that proves that it is not your average saturday-morning cartoon, with its brutal themes and violent graphics. The music is needless to say, top-notch. Inspiring every emotion with every tune played is truly a very well placed move.

Now let's get to the main course. The story. Oh the story. Why must you do this to us? With a major death of a character still fresh on our minds, it's hard to see what's in store for Clementine and that's what makes Season 2 so great. The surprises and shocking events really make you go along a roller coaster of emotions.

Of course, it is outstanding. From a critic's point of view, I am rather worried that it might not live up to the emotional values that was Season 1, but looking at TellTale Games, I fully trust them with this. All in all, if you haven't played Season 1, WHY ARE YOU READING THIS, and to all you who have, and are looking to buy this game, i say do it. And as I said before in my Season 1 review, get your permission slips signed, we're going on a feels trip.

100

And so continuous the story.

wagamer | Feb. 8, 2014 | See all wagamer's reviews »

I was waiting for this game for a long time because the first one was so flawlessly done that I was so captivated I had to know what happens next. The game is perfect as the story continuous but for me the episodes seem to be short and I crave for more. The game takes off with Clementine and her 2 friends in a gas station where bad thing happen,after that you are leave with Christa in the woods and try to survive,at one moment you 2 are split apart and so begins the story of little Clem trying to survive by her self (at the moment) in the harsh world filled with flesh eating dead corpses.

The second season contains 5 episodes,each one should be released 1 and a half months apart from each other.

The game has a very captivating story with good mechanics and a great story with interesting graphics.For a point and click game I have to say that TWD is one of the best out there that's the reason I give it 100/100!

100

Amazing

comicnabster | Feb. 4, 2014 | See all comicnabster's reviews »

I loved the first Walking Dead. Telltale gave believable, sympathetic, non-stereotypical characters. All the protagonists were easy to connect with in some manner. The emotional impact was unlike that of any game I've played in the past. We finally have a "zombie game" that manages to feel like it's more than just gore!

I really don't know how to review Season 2 without giving a lot of spoilers about the plot. Suffice to say, my experience has left me waiting in agony for the next episode. Hurry up Telltale! Anyone who likes point-and-click storytelling games will be right at home with this game.

P.S. If you own the first Walking Dead but not 400 Days, buy 400 Days first and finish it, and keep the save file. Like Mass Effect, this game imports the saves from the previous ones and it's really not a complete experience to start anew.

95

A good start, but can it live up to the standard set by season 1

tehwabbit | Feb. 4, 2014 | See all tehwabbit's reviews »

With season 1 clearly being game of the year for 2012, I couldn't wait for season 2. I was a bit skeptical when I heard that we will be playing as Clementine and straight away assumed that the game would shift to a sneak/hide simulator and disguise it behind the lead characters vulnerability

Luckily I was wrong, and despite there being a few hide/evade scenes, they were incredibly well done. Telltale have re-worked their engine a little too, making it infinitely easier to click things if you struggled before, but have also changed the way you select responses. Additional to this, some game-play elements such as QTE Evasion have come across from 400-days DLC, which mix it up a little from the standard point-n-click.

Overall I am glad we are sticking with a known character,but I'm unsure if season 2 will be able to create the emotional and amazing ending that season one managed, hopefully I'm wrong! There's a lot to live up to!

100

Like an old-aged wine.

Matt43 | Feb. 4, 2014 | See all Matt43's reviews »

At some point, developers of Telltale Games, obviously tired of doing the traditional spirit of adventure in the "golden age" of quests , only in 3D. And there was The Walking Dead, which lasted the whole season has been , tearing at the end ovation players , wiping her eyes with a handkerchief with emotion . Because, like it or not , this game was quite comparable , for example, Heavy Rain to inflame the passions - and in some ways , perhaps, superior creation Quantic Dream.

Make the continuation of the project is always triumphant doubly difficult . Because the expectations of the public already inflated , and to please the players in the first episode of the new season of the same epic drama , as in the last part of the previous one - to put it mildly , a challenge .

Stupid and ridiculous

Apparently , just to squeeze a run of severe eye gamers a tear , the authors changed the main character to the main character , making it a small , helpless , fragile and , in general, Clementine , care about which was largely devoted to the life of our past protagonist - Lee.

Literally, in this very place , we must warn you that you expect on a decent amount of spoilers. Because without them write about interactive stories like The Walking Dead is simply impossible.

At the end of last season was put Clementine "from hand to hand" Christa and Omid - almost couples . At the beginning of All That Remains two cooing dove actively choose their future name of the firstborn - and it already leads to bad thoughts . Because we , you and I know that this kind of talk - a bad sign that shows the hard life for themselves or their parents , or for a potential child.

Usually fails. Just a few minutes of playing time Clementine already is in the company of not two but one attendant . To us, so to speak, not to relax and not postpone their handkerchiefs away.

This scene povorotets certainly looks a bit farfetched . The tragic death of one of the main characters - not the result of heavy moral choice , and even as a result of not attacking zombies. It is just about the only chance of a stupid accident , which usually say " stupid , ridiculous death."

However, perhaps the creators of the game is such an effect , and wanted to achieve ?

Little girls and taking over the world

Telltale What can not be denied , it's the ability to keep the rhythm of the narrative perfectly , alternating stages discharge voltage with brief periods of "rest" and action-packed scenes , interactivity, which was and still is quite questionable. In any case, even when we just walk quietly through the woods , anyone especially not bumping, not getting bored . All the matter in the oppressive atmosphere of helplessness and Clementines - at some point the girl is left alone with the cruel world even without the usual weapons in his bosom .

The need to make choices in this episode is the case quite controversial. From those options that we offer , in reality there is little independent . Try to help his partner or to escape - but it does not matter , the result is the same. Feed the dog , ownerless , or greedy - also no difference , it is still all end badly . Perhaps only the final fork really can somehow influence the plot .

As part slezovyzhimaniya Telltale again worked best. No, one hundred fifty eight even , because it is impossible not to notice some nightmarish busting in all that happens . When the little girl is forced to sew up the wound on his own hand, not even with coarse thread and fishing line - of course, without any anesthesia - it 's not so bad . Worse is that we have to manage the process . We have to do about five stitches before Clementine cope with its task . Naturally, every stitch is accompanied by cries after each need to pause . In short, total immersion , which is not so much sympathy as disgust, confusion and question why such a naturalistic scene generally needed writers ? On the other hand , in the first season was also tough enough - to recall the severed leg of the poor guy , landed in a trap.

The Walking Dead: Season Two Episode 1 - All That Remains How to make a baby is happy? Do not feed for three days, and then allow to find in the trash can of baked beans .

From grimaces gloomy day Dim

On the adventure series like less and less . So , never in all the time of the All That Remains we do not have to strain gyrus to get out of any difficult situation. Here no one puzzle - just search for active points, which is enough to click in order to achieve the desired result immediately and without the slightest effort . The game still is not about thought processes , but rather , about the reaction - in all senses of the word. The speed of psychomotor reactions in interactive scenes. To a depth of emotional response - in all others.

This very emotional response , of course, contributes lovely mimic animation . Committed by adults, very collected , sometimes recklessly stubborn little expression Clementines affects our feelings, really, more than all the " plot " inquisitorial contrivances designed to show how unhappy child suffers.

Beginning of the second season is fully consistent with the expectations of players realists . In All That Remains really suffered a decline in intensity of events compared to last year's finals history - and the inevitable decline quite predictable . But the rhythm of the writers Telltale hold as great as before , the story touches as much as before, bore all these wanderings living among the dead obviously did not have time - in general, everything is good in The Walking Dead. In the end, if the brevity of the episode is still perceived as its main drawback , so very hard series afloat .

Pros: dynamic history ; charismatic main character , natural facial expressions of characters . Cons: deliberate and somewhat pointless brutality of some scenes , far-fetched plot device in the beginning of the episode , the illusory nature of choice.

100

i love this game

Tira777 | Jan. 14, 2014 | See all Tira777's reviews »

great story , great characters , i just LOVE IT

100

Great Beginning to a hopefully sensational season

tommy255 | Jan. 5, 2014 | See all tommy255's reviews »

If anyone played heavy rain then you will love this game, the gameplay is a case of follow the story line and make your choice, save this person, kill this zombie, make a choice of who you want to save, who gets food, the best part about the game is the storyline, its more like a film your creating as you go along, i dont want to put any spoilers on here, i didnt think i would like the game to be honest im more of a call of duty and fifa person but i have had this game for a week and just completed episode 2. its not very often i will replay a game but with this i find myself going back to restart the episode to see how i can save the person i wanted to save, what happens if i make this choice or that choice. honestly one of the best games i have played in a long time.

94

O my darlin Clementine...

gildorluthien | Jan. 3, 2014 | See all gildorluthien's reviews »

Season 1 of The Walking Dead brought even more life to the world created by Robert Kirkman in his comic. A different group of survivors, different circumstances, but still ultimately connected by the need to survive and reevaluate what trust...and family...and friendship really are in this crazy world. Season 2 just keeps the train rolling. I urge you, please go back and play Season 1 AND 400 Days. Not only will you understand everything about why Clementine is growing into the young lady that she is and what she may or may not face, but the carrying over of your choices into Season 2 will enrich the overall playing experience.

The graphics are consistent with Season 1, in some ways I see some slight upgrades in the look of Season 2. The overall look is maintained, but...better. The interface is easy to use...and I've still not determined if I like it better than Season 1's or not.

And as some people have said, yes, this first episode seems...a little...slow...but there's a whole new set of characters and potential plots, it's not really a detractor, but I think actually makes you stop and analyze early on what choices you make for yourself to setup the gameplay further on.

BUY IT!

92

Telltale nail it again

parallelTom555 | Jan. 2, 2014 | See all parallelTom555's reviews »

Telltale games are masters of their craft. They may have started off creating games that generated mixed responses, but with the Walking Dead they have created a world and characters that the player can truly care about. While the first episode is used as a kind of transition from season 1, introducing the new Clementine and the array of new characters, it is still a fantastically created episode. The gameplay hasn't changed much, although a new UI is introduced. Some frame rate issues still exist, but they aren't game breaking. But lets be honest, everyone is here for the story, and it won't leave you disappointed, despite some characters voice acting being slightly off.

Despite some frame rate issues and voice acting that could be improved, the first episode puts the player on the feel train instantly, and doesn't let up until the credits roll. Get ready for yet another emotional rollercoaster of a season!

100

The Bar Has Been Set Too High

TheSteve | Jan. 1, 2014 | See all TheSteve's reviews »

If there's one flaw in this game, it's that the bar has been set too high. It's very early to write a full review of this game since only 1 episode has come out, but so far TWD is off to an amazing start.

You play as Clementine this time around and Telltale knows exactly what to do. They know you're playing a child so you're not as strong as Lee and some dialogue choices are exactly what a child would say. Very impressive.

But what makes these games just so... so... AMAZING to me is the powerful story. You cry. You will gasp in horror. You will stand and applaud. Need I remind you only ONE episode is out? If you haven't already, play the one episode and you will be just as excited as me for the next.

90

Episode 1

penguinfizzy | Dec. 28, 2013 | See all penguinfizzy's reviews »

Graphics: 9 - It looks slightly comical but this is how it's meant to be. Audio: 10 - Great. When you choose your response, there is a slight lag before the character speaks. Story: 10 - Had many things that I never expected, which was great. Controls: 8 - Played this with a controller. Took me awhile to realise that A,B,X and Y have different abilities. Sometimes, constantly pressing a button to push away a zombie can be tiring. Lifespan: 8 - Considering that I finished episode 1 in about 2 hours, this game would last for about 10 hours, which isn't that great. (There is also 500 days)

The storyline was fantastic and everywhere you go, you marvel at nature's beauty. Making your own decisions makes you feel like you are actually in the game. But beware, decisions have a time limit so you have to quickly choose an answer.

92

Review for Episode 1

gforcesa | Dec. 21, 2013 | See all gforcesa's reviews »

I was expecting the first episode to be good but no,IT WAS EPIC.I loved it,i love how Clementine has gotten used to everything that is happening and is fighting to survive.The first episode not a lot of stuff happens because it's mainly focused on getting the story straight.I don't want to talk about the story because i don't to spoil the game to everyone so I won't.The graphics have improved a lot compared to Season 1 and the gameplay is similar to The Wolf Among Us.As always the episodes are short, around an hour and half and will come in monthly.I really can't wait to see what how we are going to see Clementine grow up in this world.

90

Worth the wait!

jdavies655 | Dec. 20, 2013 | See all jdavies655's reviews »

The episode continues the form of season 1 without being to similar and sets up for some very interesting plot lines for the next episodes. It is testament to telltales writing ability that they make clementine both a vulnerable young child and able to be useful, which most other games do not seem to be able to do properly. Overall the first episode was solid and is a spectacular start to another great season and i can't wait for the rest. FEED ME WITH YOUR FEELS TELLTALE, FEEEEEED ME!

87

A great start

kalil | Dec. 19, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

I've waited this second season from the moment I finished the first . Unlike the first season (not quite expect anything from that game when I bought it offer ) , I had very high expectations for this first episode and I really do not disappoint. The action and plot twists unfold at an early stage and hooked me even more than the first episode of the first season.

  • Gameplay: I will not talk much of this section as it is an adventure and there really is not much to talk about in the general area jugabilistico .

  • Graphics : I notice a slight improvement over the first season , although some animations remain somewhat robotic and overdone. That any other flat texture, maybe it's the game looser paragraph (excluding the gameplay ) . Despite this , I like the atmosphere you have given comic .

  • Sound and music : The sounds have improved so brutal , especially those in the atmosphere . I remember a scene where Clementine is opening a can of food and that's where I noticed it worked is this section. The soundtrack is also very good although many are recycled from the first game .

-History : The Best of the game very clearly . As I said before, I was hooked more than the first game , honestly I like even more the game and the series in my life I had this happen with a videogame based on a series or film. Not much to talk about history , it is an experience that you have to play to know of what I speak .

Finally, one of the negatives of this episode is the duration and the end of it, took the whole episode with plot twists and final I expected a little more honestly Habra to see how the story continues in the next episodes .

85

Episode 1 review

logicbomb | Dec. 18, 2013 | See all logicbomb's reviews »

Season 2 starts off with a bang and keeps delivering. I just finished it already want to play it again to see what the other choices I can make. If you liked the first season and don't mind bashing zombies heads with a little girl then this game is going to impress you. The compelling story and brutal reality of the situation keeps you wanting more.

89

Telltale done it again

lok0812 | Dec. 18, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

The long awaited released to last year GOTY is finally here with season 2. If you enjoyed the storyline from the first season then this is a definitely a must get as it continues the story of where it ended in the first season with Clementine. If you have your saves from the previous season and 400 days then the game will carry it over to season 2 and continue from there. With season 2, the story is just as great and it immediately starts you off in a suspense mood from beginning to the end. The first episode of the season is around 90 minutes and it was definitely a thrill to go through it. Overall, this is one of those adventure game that cannot be missed.

90

Early review.

TETfromLondon | Dec. 17, 2013 | See all TETfromLondon's reviews »

This review isn't particularly focused on the story, firstly because most of it isn't out yet, and secondly because it is almost impossible to discuss the story without mentioning spoilers. All I'll say is that it is so far keeping up the high standard of the first season. In terms of gameplay, virtually nothing has changed. However, there have been some fairly major changes to the user interface. It is now entirely mouse driven when selecting a speech option or an action, rather than using numbers. I personally didn't like the controls of Season 1 that much, and to me, this interface actually feels far more intuitive than before. The art style is also the same as before. I'll say little else as I'll just ruin it, but if you liked the first Season, you'll probably like this one too.