Reviews for Streets of Rage™

81

Good Nostalgic Fun

Simao20 | Oct. 10, 2013 | See all Simao20's reviews »

One of the all time best side scrolling beat em up games around. Very fun to play with a partner , thats probably the best experience you'll have during this game. Its an older game so theres that level of punishment and difficulty that aren't seen around anymore. However, thats where having a good partner comes in handy because you'll survive and get through levels easier. It's your basic beat em up game, kick, punch, throw buttons etc are all there and easy to pull off. Can even do double team moves as well. Its a fun game, to go back to play with a friend and you'll enjoy beating up enemies

75

Fairly Decent

DanielZo0 | June 11, 2013 | See all DanielZo0's reviews »

It's got a decent length for a game of its time and it certainly worth playing more than once. The visuals are surprisingly vibrant. Most importantly, it's fun. But the online portion of SOR2 is executed poorly. And, once again, Backbone Entertainment presents a classic SEGA title with absolutely no extras.

70

Who needs some new socks and belts?

DeltaBladeX | May 26, 2013 | See all DeltaBladeX's reviews »

Back in the late 80s and early 90s, the beat em up genre was highly popular with Sega bringing out arcade games like Golden Axe and Alien Storm to compete with others like Final Fight and Double Dragon. While they ported their games to the consoles, it seems they decided they also needed a game just for the home systems, and so Bare Knuckle / Streets of Rage was born. This trilogy of games was highly popular on the Mega Drive and is considered great even now. The games did receive a fair bit of censorship when coming to the west, with the 3rd game losing a boss and secret playable character, as well as receiving a much different story. While Sega never made a 4th game for the series, fans have created a fan game called Streets of Rage Remake which is worth checking out. Well, enough history, time to talk about how it all started.

Story

Gangs own the city. Corrupt officials and cowards prevent the problem from being solved. Three officers quit the force, go vigilante and move forth to beat up some punks. Sound familiar? It should do, most games in the genre had a story just like this.

Presentation

Graphically, this game is okay. However, if you have already played the later games in the series, you will notice that the art style in this game was different, with both player characters and enemies looking different. The style in this game is fine, but I prefer the later designs.

Now the music, that is damn awesome, as should be expected from the series. Some truly memorable tunes during the levels, that helped cement this series as proof that the Mega Dive can output some good music with its hardware.

The sound effects however, aren't so great. Some basics yells, screams, thumps and dings. Rather uninspiring.

Controls

The emulator used for this and other games in the Sega Mega Drive Classics supports use of a keyboard, but I highly recommend a gamepad if you own one. Easier to control that way.

Anyway, the game controls well, not going to have any difficulties performing the attacks and moving around.

Gameplay

When starting the game, you have the choice of three characters. Adam, who moves slower than the other two, Blaze, the weakest of the trio, and Axel, who just can't do a decent jump kick. Minor differences between the three, really.

When it comes to the combat, there isn't much to say. Walk right, punch everyone a few times, then move on. Much as with the story, you will already know what to expect. This game is all about beating up the nameless thugs that get in your way. Your character was unable to perform any special move themselves in this game, but you are able to call in support from a police officer who will fire a weapon to take down any enemies currently surrounding you. This has a limit of one use per level though unless you find a pickup for more. Outside of that, you have all the genre standards to take down your enemies, punching, kicking, knives, baseball bats and metal pipes.

Lifespan

Other than replaying this on a higher difficulty, the only other extra in this game requires a second player. Late in the game, you will be able to unlock a bad end by having each player choose differently when asked a question. Nothing special really. On the bright side, it actually had support for co-op, unlike Final Fight.

Well, all said and done, while this game isn't as great as either of the following titles in the series, it was still fun back when I first got to play it on the Mega Drive. It just doesn't do so well in comparison. It was still the birth of a great series, and for that, it deserves my praise. If only Adam got to stick around for the later games.

80

Who Needs Guns, I Have These! PUNCH!

CrimsonWizard | Jan. 19, 2013 | See all CrimsonWizard's reviews »

Streets of Rage is the first in Sega's popular beat 'em up series where you star as one of three ex-cops hellbent on tearing through every thug in down to save the city from the mysterious Mr. X. A simple premise for a brawling game already seen in Final Fight, but Streets of Rage did a decent job of offering some differences to Capcom's competition. Streets of Rage 1 remains of the few side-scrolling brawlers with multiple endings (later seen in Splatterhouse 3), and was one of the first to feature a playable female character.

In terms of mechanics, Sega improved upon the formula set in Golden Axe by adding a fun system based on grabs, throws, and flips in addition to punching your enemy's face into paste with your fists or weapons. While the special attacks were simplified, in return you have more enemy variety, though by the last levels you see an unfortunate amount of recycling with palette swaps of the same enemies until the final boss.

The graphics are decent, and while the later games highly improve on the environments, the first does an serviceable job of portraying a gritty city, while showing off a great amount of colors. The music works really nicely too, bouncing around urban and techno moods for good listening for the ears.

Streets of Rage 1 is relatively simple, but for a cheap brawler, it's a fun time, especially with a friend. While its sequel improves on everything presented here, the first game is a good game in it's own right, being one of the better brawlers of its era.

76

Classic Beat 'Em Up Action

AkaRai | Jan. 6, 2013 | See all AkaRai's reviews »

Back in the day, Streets of Rage was the first game I ever completed on the Game Gear. Since then it's seen numerous releases on various systems, and several sequels.

Similar to other beat 'em ups like Double Dragon and Final Fight, Streets of Rage has you travel through level after level fighting various thugs and criminals, each area ending in a boss, and picking up objects in your surroundings to use as weapons.

The plot is simple enough, a crime syndicate has taken over the city, and controls most of the local government and law enforcement. Three young cops -who happen to be expert fighters- quit the force to take matters into their own hands. You choose between Adam who moves slowest but has the highest attack and is a boxer, Axel who has medium stats but a poor jumping ability and is a master martial artist, and Blaze, who is a master of Judo and has the highest jump and speed but lowest attack (actually some of her attacks do more damage than the other two.)

If you like 16-bit arcade beat 'em ups, Streets of Rage is unlikely to disappoint you.

80

Good in its day

Micepudding | Dec. 27, 2012 | See all Micepudding's reviews »

I have great memories of playing this game with a friend, when I was 10. Replaying it more recently, I felt the gameplay was clunky and awkward at times, and while I still love the music - especially during the iconic city sweep before the title screen - I can't recommend the game itself to someone unfamiliar with the series. That said, it's still a great brawler for fans of the genre, and there are very few modern games of this genre being released anymore.

91

One of the best Genesis game

Lippe1989 | Dec. 26, 2012 | See all Lippe1989's reviews »

The first thing that I can say is that Streets of Rage is a game that everyone needs to play. It is an obligation. Today we have a lot of indie and more simple game being sold everywhere to different platforms. A lot of them are similar with these 16 bit games. It is a hack'n'slash. You will go there, beat some bad guys, use a special power or something like that and end the game. You will have some bosses until the end when you have to beat the big last boss. All that I am talking about is the formula of this kind of game. But what makes Streets of Rage different that everybody likes that much? Maybe the charisma. The characters are very cool. Also the gameplay is perfect for this kind of game. It is very fluid, with a few options about what to do, but the simplicity is the key to this success. This is a game to play alone or with a fried and have funny moments. Very recommended.

100

The best hack'n'slash game

antonioli84 | Dec. 24, 2012 | See all antonioli84's reviews »

What to say about this game. I remember my childhood playing this with my friends. Playing one, two, three, well, a lot of times. The game is funny, the game is amazing. This is a on hundred percent beat'em up game. You choose your character, Axel, Blaze and Adam and start punching some enemies util go to the end of the game. You will not have to thing a lot about the game, only about do not get hurt and how to beat the boss and more difficult enemies. But this simplicity is the charm of the game. The difficult is well balanced, nothing impossible to like like some 16 bit games, but not so easy that you can finish about 30 minutes. So, it is not the best hack'n'slash game for nothing. The mechanics is simple, very simple. You can jump, punch, call a car (something like what we call "special") and only it. The characters are well balanced, one is more powerful, another jumps higher and another one has more speed. Any of them are good choice. The graphics are great for the era. Very beautiful even nowadays. I recommend it a lot. On hundred percent of satisfaction.

100

Still worth playing

Wormy | Jan. 3, 2012 | See all Wormy's reviews »

Streets of Rage was one of the games that came with my Mega Drive back in the day and was one of the first games I ever completed. I was worried that my nostalgia would not hold up but after playing it again I realised why I liked it so much. The music instantly took me back and while the graphics certainly aren’t up to today’s standard, they don’t look that bad. You’ll probably be able to breeze through it within an hour but you’ll probably have so much fun you won’t mind playing it again and again. Buy it.

100

Streets of Rage for the win!

keysersoze16 | Aug. 24, 2011 | See all keysersoze16's reviews »

Ahhh I grew up on this game, this one game I could never get enough of! The attacks, the storyline, the enemies, and the amazing music with endless fun of choosing between Adam, Axle or Blaze! These 3 characters are teamed up to fight among the dark streets of their city to defeat the evil big boss, yes you may think the storyline is just the same as others, but somehow this game is very unique, and will always hold a special place in my heart for this one. Please check out the following sequels!

This game I give a 10 out of 10! or 100 :)

90

Favorite Genesis Fighter Series

xorn000 | Aug. 22, 2011 | See all xorn000's reviews »

This game is a must for anyone that played Genesis. It may have a lot less flare than 2 or 3, but is still a great game. It is unfortunate you can't play with a friend, but who cares. You'll be too busy bashing in faces and throwing people around to notice. No coop is a downfall, but either way. A few dollars is well worth it for this game.

81

Still awesome!

pauljebe | Aug. 10, 2011 | See all pauljebe's reviews »

Streets of Rage was Sega’s answer to the Final Fight series on the Nintendo console. Many people originally saw it as a knock off but the title (indeed the series) proved to be a high quality beat-em-up with all the right elements. This game has aged well, as punching, throwing, and slamming your way through hordes of thugs is every bit as fun today as it was back in the day.

Streets of Rage 2 is also available and offers more of the same plus some new fighters and moves to use. The requirements for the game are slim so this title is perfect not only for older gamers looking for nostalgia but also for mobile gamers. Bring a friend, you won’t regret it.

90

Must play beat 'em up

t20k | Aug. 9, 2011 | See all t20k's reviews »

Streets of Rage is the best beat 'em up series out there. Those who remember playing this game as a kid will want to pick this up. The arcade-y gameplay is just fun as hell. As satisfying and enjoyable as a game gets. It's still a worthwhile experience, The sequel is also fantastic.

78

Take yoru rage to the streets.

GAMERamble | June 9, 2011 | See all GAMERamble's reviews »

Life in the city was pretty quite until a powerful secret criminal organization took over and turned it into a den of violence and crime. Taking control of the government and police nothing could stop them until now. Three young ex-police officers have decided to take things into their own hands and clean up the streets of the city even if it costs them their lives. Now Adan Hunter, Axel Stone and Blaze Fielding will take the fight to the criminals and put an end to the madness. If you’ve ever played the game “Final Fight” then the premise behind Streets Of Rage might seem a little familiar to you. Picking one of three fighters you take the action to the streets fighting gangs of bad guys with kicks, punches and special moves. While not exactly original Streets Of Rage is quite entertaining and will give you that arcade rush at home. The game features some nice tunes and although not exactly catchy provides the perfect backdrop for your fights. It’s a pity that the sound effects are so weak though and none of them are going to impress anybody. Controls are a breeze and you can do all kinds of cool moves like flying kicks and even suplexes. Watch out as in this game enemies can grab and throw you as well and towards the end there is two very annoying girls that can really spoil your day with their acrobatic moves. Streets Of Rage ruled the roost back in its day and even now it can provide a quick blast of fun.

77

Solid beat 'em up game for the nostalgic...

niniendowarrior | April 15, 2011 | See all niniendowarrior's reviews »

Streets of Rage is a very straightforward beat 'em up game from the Genesis' golden years, featuring catchy tunes and a very solid fighting system. Each of the three characters has a combination attack and a few grapple moves at their disposal to dispatch the hordes upon hordes of thugs the game pours at you throughout the game. Weapons are dropped in the levels to aid you in dishing out punishment though the amount of attacks you can do with them are rather limited. The plot is also fairly simple, its only purpose is to supply you some thugs to beat up. It may not be the fanciest title in the market at this point in time, but its the perfect platform to indulge yourself in some retrogaming.

91

Free it! Fight it! But it! You certainly won't regret it!

Truegamer | April 4, 2011 | See all Truegamer's reviews »

Felling nostalgic? I certainly was! This is the game of my childhood, this is proof that a game doesn't have to have cutting edge graphics to be unbelievably fun, this is worth your money! So i ask you, are you yurning for a simplier time where badguys were just that? BAD! Then this is where you want to be, forget about all those troubles of moral implications, fighting your inner demons over which side to pick (choosing whether to blow up Megaton in Fallout 3 comes to mind) this is real, this is both revenge and justice, this is the STREETS OF RAGE! with nothing but your fists and a few friends for company, and 'only' a city full of bad-guys between you and your target, nothing can stop you!

Following suit of the scroll along games of the 1990s, this game doesn't take more than a few hours to complete, aslong as your not beaten up along the way, but to hell with it, those few hours will be some of the most guilt-free pleasurable hours your likely to face, your start to think it is illegal, and as for replay value, let's just say i have completed it one too many times more than i'd care too remember.

The play-through is simple, you choose one of three young head strong ex cops out to take out MR X, the mob boss whos taken over the city, through several levels of broken down streets that look like the set of a batman movie, you will face countless enemies, boss fights, music you will head-bob too without knowing it (trust me, its amazing) and several fun thrashing levels you won't care how dated it looks, this is class, this is good vs. evil, this is the streets of rage and all you could ask for from a game of this type, my only wish is that all games made you feel this good, i won't give anymore away, but for only a few pounds, you would be silly not to try it!