Reviews for The Stronghold Collection [Capsule]

90

Some of the best strategy games of all time

Xeled | Dec. 24, 2013 | See all Xeled's reviews »

I bought Stronghold: Crusader when I was maybe 12 years old. Loved it since then. In my opinion SH and SH:C are stll better than most of the new strategy games that are released every year. Stronghold 2 was a great game as well, although it's a lot harder to get your economy going, but you'll know how to do it once you play for a while. Stronghold Legends wasn't quite as good as the others, but it's still worth checking out. I can only recommend this bundle, especially if it's on sale, like right now.

85

Three Great games, two average ones

bootss1 | Dec. 19, 2013 | See all bootss1's reviews »

Stronghold and stronghold crusader are great games - there has not been a game since their release that does the same things they do half as well.

Stronghold crusader extreme is Stronghold Crusader with ridiculous unit allowances, if you want to play massive castle sieges then this is definitely the game to play.

I have fond memories of playing stronghold 2, but it's by no means a great game. They decided to simulate a whole lot more of the castle economy with stronghold 2, so if you play sandbox/peace mode it is quite a nice game. If your doing the war campaign however it is pretty aggrevating to have economic fails due to your peasants stealing, which means that other peasants start leaving due to lack of food and the only way to solve this is to hire guards and jailers, and if you want an efficient jailing systems you need torturers. But how are you going to afford this? your economy stalled and no new peasants are coming.

On what little I played of legends: it seems like Stronghold 2 with a magic system crowbarred into the game.

100

Flawless

rjb789 | Sept. 28, 2013 | See all rjb789's reviews »

This is a collection of some of the finest castle warfare strategy games of all time. The pack includes the first game, Stronghold, The second game, Stronghold 2, the third game, Stronghold legends and the other 2 crusader games. Every one of these games is worth the full price of the pack and they all feature a brilliant combat system, interesting castle building mechanics and great dialogue from the peasants you will find around your kingdom. Every single one of these games features great graphics and brilliant sound design and music. Each of the battles feels dynamic too. Go get this pack!

85

Legendary pack!

Veniu | Sept. 28, 2013 | See all Veniu's reviews »

All of the items in this pack (Well, maybe excluding Stronghold: Legends...) are true legends for gamers! It all started with Stronghold...

A unique, strategy game, where we're the king. But we have enemies, enemies that won't stop bothering us, sometimes they're weak, sometimes they're strong. Shortly saying: Challanging as you want it!

Graphics, sounds or gameplay is just right for the game of that type. It doesn't needs lots of graphical details, or many loud noises. However, game never seems to be repetive, from side of AI or ours. It's always something new. Also there's a level editor! You can make your very own campaign. All of this, actually can describe other "Strongholds". The only difference may be that Stronghold: Legends brings us into a fantasy world, with Ogres, King Arthur and such.

This pack is all about strategy and history of gaming. Doesn't matters if you're good or not, do you like FPS games, this is a pack you NEED to have if you think of yourself as a gamer.

80

My favourite genre

taytothief | Aug. 27, 2013 | See all taytothief's reviews »

I love this genre of games, it's my favourite among all. Anything to feature castles and archers and I'm interested and if it involves empire building (in this case castle building) then all the better. The first of the lot is without doubt the best, they just kind of repackaged everything again and again for the latter games. And it may not look as good anymore as it once did. It still holds a special place among my games, hence the high score, but it's not without flaws for new players.

85

A good collection

Demilisz | June 30, 2013 | See all Demilisz's reviews »

The Stronghold series started very high with first game and then Crusade, but after that it was only a downfall. Stronghold 2 goes down because of shameful bugs, but they was fixed later, so is quite good these days. Crusader Extreme and Legends was a ripoffs, but as additions are acceptable.

The game is about castle buildings, managing it and defending against opponents. Sometimes it will be us who makes a siege. Graphics may not be great nowadays (even with HD patches for Stronghold and Crusade), but aren't bad either. There are some basic economic chains (wheat become flour in windmill and then flour becomes bread in bakery) but practically all things you produces are for military purpose. So don't expect anything Settlers or Anno level, Stronghold is mostly about fighting.

Good price for good collection, worth buying.

100

Great Climate

grzegorz2047 | May 23, 2013 | See all grzegorz2047's reviews »

Enjoy the complete medieval experience in The Stronghold Collection, featuring five real-time strategy games. Create and defend your castle stronghold as you expand your lands, survey the castle life in your domain, host great jousting festivals and feasts, or conduct public executions to keep the peasantry in line. It's really great.

84

I love these games

chivshiv | March 3, 2013 | See all chivshiv's reviews »

Sure they are older, but these are some of the greatest economy games I have ever played.

The games in this collection are great if you like economy games. They are older so the system requirements are less, in fact play these on my little 11z laptop that has a hard time playing minecraft.

If you like economy games or tactical war games, you will like these. If you don't like setting up an economy and doing things like hanging or stoning peasants, sending hundreds of archers and knights to defeat the Noble who happens to live next to you, or setting up shop in a rocky valley to ambush an incoming invasion .. you probably don't want these.

81

Fantastic collection

dark2025 | Sept. 21, 2012 | See all dark2025's reviews »

Great collection of castle building games (although Crusader is more about the combat). Good combination of city management and combat, but it does get HARD (Crusader Extreme comes to mind...).

Stronghold 1 is still one of my favourites, despite its perhaps dated graphics, especially with no way to increase resolution, but it's extremely satisfying to build a bustling castle and then send hundreds of troops to take down your enemy's.

89

One of the best collections out there.

Xgoesrawr | Sept. 6, 2012 | See all Xgoesrawr's reviews »

Stronghold 1: The game that started a fun castle building franchise that didn't take itself too seriously. Don't be fooled by the graphics as its an amazing game. The voice acting is still enjoyable to this day.

Crusader: This is the one I've spent the most time playing out of this collection. It added a few things the original game didn't have such as skirmish mode.

Stronghold 2: Its a pretty fun game. The honor system was different and I think the estate system could've been better. The graphical update from the first game and Crusader was very welcomed.

Legends: I admittedly haven't played this one too much.

This collection is amazing and is worth playing.

92

Great Price

Mikester7 | Aug. 31, 2012 | See all Mikester7's reviews »

First of all I need to make clear that the Stronghold series is VERY hit and miss. By that I mean Stronghold 1 and Stonghold Crusader are superb games worth the investment, though all of the others are very poor. The amazing castle simulation and sieges are the highlights here. My personal favourite is Stronghold Crusader, I believe it is the best out of all of them, so I will be basing my rating off that. I'm not sure about extreme, I've never played it, though I have heard it is too expensive for what you get, so now is certainly a great time to try it out considering you get them all at such a great price. I believe any strategy fan should be buying this, even Stronghold Crusader alone is worth the price tag.

85

Buy it for Crusader

ROKET | July 3, 2012 | See all ROKET's reviews »

If there is any game within this collection that I loved the most it was Stronghold Crusader. I cannot tell you how many hours I spent on that pointless campaign just trying to beat out the challenges and building huge castles.

I loved resource management, I loved the units, I loved combat, and I loved the satisfaction of tearing down the enemy block by crumbling block. It was magnificent.

The best part of Crusader was that it could run on any computer and ran wonderfully. It was just an amazingly solid game with great controls and the ability to customize your castle any way you liked.

I highly recommend this value bundle just for the sake of Crusader.

90

Nostalgia to the max

Phero | April 16, 2012 | See all Phero's reviews »

Played Stronghold 1 and Crusader on CD-Rom when I was a kid, amazing games! Building up your economy and food for your population while upgrading your fortress and creating your army, realistic playstyle and a unique feeling of strategy.

80

Superb Collection

dragonsifer | Aug. 11, 2011 | See all dragonsifer's reviews »

Ok, the first stronghold may not have had the eye candy most modern games offer today but then again neither did any of the games of its time either. Yet, we still speak of stronghold today while other games from that period are rarely (save a few exceptions) spoken of or even known. Stronghold's superb combination of resource limited strategy management gameplay sets it aside and helps keep the game a legacy. My preferred games are Crusader and Stronghold 2 (although the concept is the same, the gameplay is different with the introduction of a land control system that resembles feudal systems at that time). I would recommend all the games here.

91

Must Buy Collection

chetancs | Aug. 10, 2011 | See all chetancs's reviews »

All the games in this series are filled with battle action . The games graphics is improved from first game to the new one. The biggest plus point of those games are that it has military multiplayer mode and it has good scenario editor for both single and multiplayer games. Replay value is good for all the games since I can’t get bored while playing those games. Soundtrack in all the games is also nice. The replay value makes me suggest people to buy this Stronghold collection. Stronghold will be one of the nice addition in your collection.

92

Very cool RTS

newn | Aug. 6, 2011 | See all newn's reviews »

This is a very nice RTS middle-ages simulator. It is nice because it is somewhat realistic and very interactive. I liked Stronghold: Crusader the most, it was the best part in my opinion. I spend hours defending the king and building the castle. It's got A LOT of levels. Stronghold: Legends. This one was a disappointment to me. Maybe because it was a slight change in the genre, it wasn't so realistic anymore... If it wouldn't be in the pack - I wouldn't take that one.

I definitely recommend taking this pack; it is very cheap for all these great games - only 20€. If you are like me- you will spend HOURS playing it.

95

Best RTS!

etnies | Aug. 2, 2011 | See all etnies's reviews »

The stronghold series is fantastic. All the games in the collection are great, they all are a little different in their own ways but still share the same castle building concept. I've spent plenty of hours playing these great games, some of the missions may get a bit a repetitive, but that didn't make a difference to me and made me keep coming back and play more missions. If you love RTS games you should really look into this series its amazing!

90

Best castle building/crashing game you can buy!

wengart | July 29, 2011 | See all wengart's reviews »

Don't let the screenshots fool you the later games in the series look pretty good and offer a unique castle building experience.

Not only do you build a castle, anyway you want, but you are also in charge of the entire economy of the castle. Should you grow wheat and cook it into bread or just grow apples for food? What should we use our wood for crossbows or archers? Should we burn up the attacking enemies in a field covered in pitch or release attack dogs in the hundreds? these are the types of questions you'll be answering in Stronghold.

75

Good

hotmando1 | June 28, 2011 | See all hotmando1's reviews »

The stronghold series is a very nice castle simulator with custom games and whatnot. New players may need to learn the ropes to the game before playing but once they get the hang of it, it's a fun casual experience. Game can be fun or boring depending on the way some people play. Nevertheless, an enjoyable experience.

82

Stronghold, Strong Game

Crowface | April 21, 2011 | See all Crowface's reviews »

I really enjoyed all the stronghold games, because they are very good simulators of running a castle while remaining simple , easy and fun to play. I highly reccomend this to anyone who enjoys strategy games, castle defence or even games like simcity.