Reviews for Kerbal Space Program

100

One of the best early acess games i bought so far

dolsson94 | July 26, 2014 | See all dolsson94's reviews »

Then i first saw this game i was like wtf is this and then bought it cheep at a steam sale and first i dident understand a thing about it and it quite often ended up with the rocket exploded dude to poor design but after a lot of failed launches i finaly got the hang about the game.

since i bougth kerbal space programs thay have added a lot of stuff like the campaign mode where you have to research the diffrent parts with the science points you get for doing contracts and just collecting data about the environment around in orbit or on the diffrent planets.

shour it got some strange buggs and gliches that havent been fixed (get) but its an early acces game and for beeing that its runs realy good by my oppinon its realy worth buying if you like this kind of games

92

Infinite Possibilities

884okeoJ | June 30, 2014 | See all 884okeoJ's reviews »

Kerbal Space Program is one of those games where you aren't given a certain objective, you're just let to figure out what to do on your own. The brick wall of a learning curve this game has can be daunting, but that makes your achievements so much more meaningful.

While some games have hollow milestones you can reach, getting into orbit or landing on the Mun make you feel like you've actually accomplished something. There is also a treasure trove of mods available for this game, with most adding extra realism. I'm not usually one for simulator-esque games like Kerbal Space Program, but this particular game is truly something special.

95

Dreams come true, but brain doesn't follow

Gosen | June 17, 2014 | See all Gosen's reviews »

This game made my dream come true. Finally flying from planets into space and backwards. Not to mention building spaceships with such a freedom. What a customization, what a great sandbox it is. It's even possible to make a plane and fly over the planet.

Graphics is not bad, it has been improving over the months and having in mind that game contains entire solar system it would be hard to make graphics like in Crysis, but it is what is - fair enough. Unfortunately the game itself is hard and tutorials are somehow lacking. I couldn't do much in this game, barely escaping gravity of main planet and then drifting in space. I couldn't understand how to control rocket in space and how to get to any other planet or moon, not to mention building functional rocket itself is hard as hell. I would gladly welcome more explanations and tutorials in-game to have more fun from it, but other than that it is what I was always dreaming about (maybe a little easier than now) and keep in mind it has been still improving.

100

Who doesn't love the Kerbals!?

hildegain | May 16, 2014 | See all hildegain's reviews »

It'd be hard to list every single thing I love about this game, but I'll try to list some of the things I love the most.

Exploration on a scale so vast it's just amazing that it's Indie! I don't know how many other games allow you to build your own physics driven space-craft, have you learn how to perform orbital maneuvers AND have an entire solar system to explore!

Ship-Building - We all love to build things. This is basically Lego with rocket science. Sure, the aerodynamics and the systems management is rather elementary at this point but it works great.

Planets - So many planets to visit. Challenge yourself by transferring from one orbit to another in record time. Try to make a round trip from Kerbin to Laythe and back again!

Replayability - With the advent of career mode (and mods) this game just oozes with replayability. I've sunk more hours into this game than I dare to calculate. Every time I think I've done everything; people have challenges to beat, updates are released, new mods are created and a new idea just springs into one's mind.

Crazy - It doesn't matter what you can think of. Don't think "that wont work, it's a space sim". If you want to build a submarine, a sea-plane, a bomb or a battle-mech! Go ahead, you can do it!

As far as the negatives, the only downside I can see (and it's a big one) is the engine. For such a physics heavy and huge 3D game, Unity is certainly not what I'd consider as the 'go-to' engine in this case. As a result, it does have some load-time issues, it does get some incredible lag when physics gets to the point that unity just doesn't know how to handle it anymore and the development has suffered a lot of set-backs due to unity related errors.

Anything wrong with KSP at this point, I can't really attribute to the developers. They're doing such a good job and this game is still rather early in its development. The guys at Squad have a lot of content lined up and you can tell they're having fun with it, as are the community.

Go to Squad's website and try out the demo, if you find what's there to be at all to your tastes (even if you currently don't think so, just go and try it), then buy it!

100

Addictive, fun and appeals in many ways

verdegheata | April 28, 2014 | See all verdegheata's reviews »

This is the game for all that played with lego :) The fun part is that you also get to drive them.

You can invest an hour building the most sophisticated spaceship and than spend 10 seconds watching it explode on the launchpad.

You will than spend two hours watching in disbelief that you can get to the Mun and back in the ship you built just as fun.

You will have kerbals on the mun and on solar orbits that you plan to eventually rescue. (And you will strand more while trying it)

In conclusion it might be the game that I enjoyed the most, ever!

93

Buzz Aldrin I'm not

anto103 | April 1, 2014 | See all anto103's reviews »

What can be better than building your own Space ship and launching your little Kerbals into space at hundreds of miles per hour. What can be better than missing that very important shot that's needed to land safely on Mun? The best fun I've ever had in this game would be down to the look of horror on a Kerbas'l face as they fall to their death in the burning ruins of a failed rocket as it falls towards the upcoming ground. If you enjoy torturing small creatures this is the best game for you.

98

A truly amazing game

sonictj | March 20, 2014 | See all sonictj's reviews »

The graphics and simulation is amazing, with different planets to explore and a stunning environment that is yours to use. You can build spaceships and send them to space. Although the game is still in alpha, it's insanely fun and amazing capability with my laptop, it lags every once in a while but that doesn't affect the gameplay whatsoever. It's a fabulous game that has unlimited playtime and never gets old, you can do anything. Currently, you can choose career or sandbox, but career doesn't really have too much to it, which makes sandbox mode stand out even more. Overall, it's an amazing game with stunning graphics.

95

Great game!

xtrememe7 | Feb. 28, 2014 | See all xtrememe7's reviews »

Kerbal Space Program is a trial and error game and when you start playing it is incredibly confusing as you continue to play you learn how things work and it is amazing and before you know it your making an overly-complicated rocket that may or may not explode on launch and it is truly rare to find a game as good as Kerbal if your interested in Kerbal and debating getting it I for sure recommend just getting it and begin your space adventures!

100

Really great simulation

alex91923 | Feb. 14, 2014 | See all alex91923's reviews »

The first game i really wanted to get since its alpha. This game combines space ship building with the eventual launch of the spaceship. This allows for crazy designs and amazing ships! The physics engine part needs to be worked on a bit however, as currently air resistance is not calculated very well, but mods are able to fix it!

However, one of the better parts in my opinion is building a space plane. As this combines both the dynamics from building a rocket, with the ability to land a plane. This game will never get dull, and its only in beta right now. Only more parts will come about as the game matures throughout the beta. This is a definite must-buy.

100

An addictive, education and fun simulation!

jiayaik | Jan. 27, 2014 | See all jiayaik's reviews »

Kerbal Space Program is a game where you build rockets and space ships and explore space. The sense of achievement that you get from this game is amazing. Whether it is successfully reaching orbit, landing on the Mun, reaching the other planets in the system, flying to the sun, etc., you will feel as if you had achieved something significant. Failure, on the other hand, is often hilarious. The variety of mods that are currently available for the game is fantastic.

In conclusion, KSP is a fun simulation that will keep you awake late into the night as you try to not crash on the Mun for the 77th time. While it may still be in 'Alpha', the game is in a very playable state and has much to explore.

95

Much more than what you would expect

Neonberry | Jan. 20, 2014 | See all Neonberry's reviews »

Kerbal Space Program seems to be a lighthearted game where you send Kerbins (the little creatures at your disposal) to space and observe the results. Generally its a sandbox game though the career mode will limit your progression and you have to develop all the different parts by research. The depth of the game comes in with the surprisingly accurate physics engine. Since the game is based on Newtonian physics it will allow you to do pretty much anything with your parts. If you get bored with shooting rockets to the moon you can try to assemble a multi-part space station. You can make an airplane or even a boat. Since physics is the main limitation you will have in this game it is pretty much up to your imagination what you would like to do. The game is complicated. If you want to play a simple how far I can shoot my rocket type of game then avoid Kerbal Space Program. You will have to familiarize yourself with at least the basics of physics it uses to be somewhat succesful at your tasks. You need to learn how to best put some object in orbit and how to break out of it - all of which is quite realistic. And when I say realistic, I mean NASA is taking interest in this game. If you like in depth simulations, want to see how your rocket designs would do or want to gain some real knowledge on space travel then the game will be perfect for you. It might take a few hours to get a good grasp on all the governing factors but once you are there you will have total freedom. Cant wait to see how the final version of the game will be.

94

Awesome!

darkrift | Jan. 20, 2014 | See all darkrift's reviews »

This is a game where you can design your own space program. You can use a variety of parts (at least 100, I'd say), to go on missions to wherever you want in the solar system. You can go to the two moons of Kerbin (where the titular Kerbals live and where you send ships from), and then to all of the planets in the system. If you really want, you can just fly around Kerbin! Or you could make a satellite that orbits around the Sun. Or you can make a research base and fling it off to the moon.

In a recent update, they introduced something called Career mode and the devs are still working on it. Currently, you launch missions and use different instruments to collect Science. You then use the points you earn from Science to unlock new parts. They are planning on adding a budget mechanic in a later update.

Most of my fun, however, has been in Sandbox mode, where you have unlimited materials and no constraints- just you, some rocket parts, and a giant map.

Not only can you build rockets, but there's even a fully fleshed out spaceplane/jet building to design, build, and fly your own planes.

Another really cool mechanic in the game is the docking feature- just like the way they built the real International Space Station This feature is EXTREMELY difficult and unforgiving, because if you screw up, then you risk blowing the entire thing up.

There's definitely a learning curve to this, but you can learn things fairly quickly provided you watch some videos and/or know some physics. Orbital mechanics are difficult to learn, and it's still a bit rough around the edges at times. It would be nice if there were a few more tutorials to show people how to use everything.

Tech-wise, it's good, not anything jaw-droppingly awesome, however. The graphics are generally sharp and have a gentle cartoon effect to it that sort of blend reality and art-Borderlands without the cel-shading is a good example of this. The game runs smooth on even the lowliest computers most of the time, provided you turn down the settings. The performance problem sets in when you make large, complex ships, composed of hundreds of parts. It's very CPU-intensive, and it's not optimized for multi-core use properly yet. Sound is pretty good, with a surprisingly good ambient soundtrack.

Good things -lots of freedom -decent graphics, physics and sound -tons of parts -active community, lots of mods -good value -difficult, but offers good sense of accomplishment

Bad things- -learning curve can be overwhelming -unoptimized for large craft -some bugs (nothing major)

99

Brilliant, brilliant game.

Xpire | Jan. 19, 2014 | See all Xpire's reviews »

First of all I've never been a huge fan of simulator games but, man, did this game change my views of them. Took me quite a while to figure things out or at least, have a rudimentary knowledge on the basis of the game. But after all that is done, hours of my life is taken away from me(in a good way!) because of me trying to find out the best way to launch the ships.

This game makes me wish I knew more about space and science, particularly physics. Have never been that interested in physics when I was in high school but now; things have changed.

If you like space, science, consuming yourself in a game and you love life; get this game.

100

it is just brilliant!

dolsson94 | Dec. 10, 2013 | See all dolsson94's reviews »

the first time i started this game i thought it can't be like rocket science But i was so wrong it took me a really long time just to get in to a stable orbit. but once you learn how things work its really fun, and the career mode that they added not that long time ago makes thing really interesting then you have to get science points by doing things that got scientific value (like doing EVA reports and even by flying around different places at kerbal and taking different readings like temperature in different areas of the planet.

then you have to use the science points research different parts that you can use t(like bigger fuel tanks, better engines, and so on) but that is the only difference between that and the sandbox mode. but the game is still in beta so i guess they are going to add more stuff as it get closer the the full game so is probably just going to get better.

100

Totally awesome

gaurlglmistrz | Dec. 3, 2013 | See all gaurlglmistrz's reviews »

It's like, there are some games designed for special target group. For people, who always wanted to do something not popular in particular, like to drive a bigass scale large miner truck. Or to construct their own flying vehicle, or even project a whole space program. And then it turns out, that the latter idea is just spectacular and goes completely viral.

Kerbal Space Program is just like this. It's like Minecraft of space exploration. And of air simulation. You can build basically anything you could think of in terms of flying machines. It's a great physics sandbox, which is just as demanding as to make you feel a bit of challenge and dont get bored too easily, and yet is simple enough for everyone to make it, if one tries hard enough. Add some beautiful graphics and music, and you're there. KSP. If you are interested in space etc., you'll love this till the death. If you're not keen on space exploration itself, I still would risk the statement that this game is just such fun, such gameplay-packed producution it will get you sucked to your computer screen for long hours. I personally wait for the career mode to get completed, but I can't resist playing it again and again. It's just when you seem to explore every possibility in one direction (like building a spacestation) you can immediately turn into new things to do - create a spaceplane, or try to go land on some planet with a rover. And it's not a serious, dull mimick of our world, it's a complete funny creation of alternative, Kerbal reality :D Set and go!

92

Great Game!

grzegorz2047 | Dec. 1, 2013 | See all grzegorz2047's reviews »

Kerbal Space Program is unusual, multi-species production, which develop its own space program. The game was developed by studio Squad, consisting of several persons led by Felipe Falanghe, also known as Harvester. In Kerbal Space Program player has a fairly complex task: to develop from scratch its own space program. At the beginning of the game the ship must therefore be built from many different parts. Each of them has a certain function and affects the operation of the machine. The vehicle must safely reach the crew on orbit, and then to travel in space (for example, one of the two moons of the planet title Kerbal planet). The mission ends with an extremely difficult landing. The game is polished and highly recommended.

85

Amazing!

Ithuraen | Dec. 1, 2013 | See all Ithuraen's reviews »

I never even knew I wanted a space program/Newtonian physics simulator until I got this. The recent career mode update has bolstered this title into a brilliant game with an enjoyable difficulty curve (probably because you choose your own pace, goals and achievements) and I found it fun even in failure because of the gains in science (so long as EVERYTHING didn't explode...)

If you've ever had a class or course in physics or maybe astronomy you'll love the little things you can do in this game: calculating and pulling off slingshots around large bodies to send a probe into deep space around a tiny moon on the other side of the system is really amazing when done right, and in doing it wrong will really see you go back with a vengeance to the drawing board and rethink your own strategies.

At once the game is relaxed and quite frantic as you can never pause and set up a maneuvre when you're 20 seconds from your apoapsis and you really need to escape orbit, but at the same time you'll be rocketing through space for days at a time (with the variable speed warp settings on of course, going up past x10000 speed) For ultra-long missions you can even of back to your space centre and launch another mission at the same time.

Anyway, if the following situation ignites any kind of interest in you, buy this now and enjoy it: Fully custom built deep space probe docking with your fully custom built space station orbiting the moon at 300km, before refueling and firing off into the sun.

If you don't have much of a head for flight simulators or physics/astronomy, maybe give it a miss. Check some youtube videos maybe!