Reviews for Rift

88

Great Fun

DanielZo0 | June 9, 2013 | See all DanielZo0's reviews »

I have been playing Rift since its head-start, and I must admit that I've had the best first week experience ever. Servers have been smooth. Updates were done when necessary, addressing issues reported as soon as possible. Leveling has been interesting, although traditional and linear. Graphics look great even on my old computer. Quite a lot of people are playing it, so no shortage of players. However, three things really stood out. First, the whole class system is truly a work of genius. I love how I can mix and match my souls to experiment with different specs. There is no cookie-cutter build, and the strength of a character is determined by the skills of a player, not by whether she or he avidly followed someone else's guideline. Two, there's always something to do in the game. The game is so dynamic, having rifts and invasions all over different zones, not to mention Warfronts (PvP Battleground), challenging instances, and raids (which I've not been able to try yet). You have the sense of actually getting involved in this imaginary world. Third, last but not least, it is fun. It's difficult to pinpoint and state exactly why it is fun, but, trust me, it is so much fun. The game definitely has great and lasting value for its price, so I suggest you run into Rift and try it out now.

85

Solid MMO

lok0812 | June 5, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

This was a solid MMO when it was first introduced and promised to have new contents every month and a half and it delivered. This will soon hit a free to play model due to the lack of player base. Cash shop have nothing game breaking that will cause the game to be pay to win. The advantage of this game have is that each class can have utilize their many souls or subclass and create your own play style. Dungeons and Raids are included in the game for players to tackle and can get difficult. With the introduction of Chronicle which is a 2 man Dungeon it brings friends together and complete in the story as well. Definitely try it out now and received additional benefits when the game goes free to play.

50

fun for alittle bit =/

eplymale3043 | May 30, 2013 | See all eplymale3043's reviews »

It's a fun MMORPG, for maybe a month.

After that, you start to realize that it's all gimmick and little substance. Game world is too small, by a factor of 3X or 4X. Far too little content, which results in a far too quick leveling curve after which you realize there isn't much here worth playing once you hit the level cap in 3-6 weeks.

Replayability is severely limited, because there is almost no redundancy in leveling content. Even if you switch factions, post level 25 you'll be in the same zones as the first run through, only with a slightly different perspective.

Rifts start a blast, but get old very, very quickly. Same with Invasions.

The Developer has been taking steps since launch to cut down on the number of viable builds and balance around the least capable, least fun to play builds. With every balance patch, the fun factor drops a little (or a lot). Eventually, the initially overwhelming character class options will become just as restricting and limited as most MMORPGs.

Great job at producing a game that can hook people that try it, but the game has no legs and most people get bored with in the first 3-8 weeks and realize the game is smoke and mirrors, with little real substance. (BTW, another big minus is that the quality of the zones and content goes down hill severely post level 20-25. It's clear that everything beyond the first couple of zones was rushed).

I got my money's worth on the box price. I did play the heck out of it for three weeks. However, by the end of the free month, it was plain as day that this game fails as a medium or long term MMORPG experience. This will leave many frustrated, because they do a lot of things right, but then ruin the game's chances at being a successful, ongoing MMORPG by launching with a very tiny world with a small amount of content and a pointless, uninspired "end game" experience.

53

Turd of an MMO

rstokes | May 25, 2013 | See all rstokes's reviews »

While i can say the graphics are great and the class system is alot of fun (even if they removed a ton of its fun by making templates and instantly giving you all the souls). I have to admit this game is total crap, every mechanic is recycled from some other MMO and usually done poorly to boot. Trion must be smoking crack if they think this game is worth 15 a month, I played the beta and a month after release before this game got stale as old bread. Recently raptr had a giveaway where i received another copy of the game and a copy of storm legion, so i decided to start a new account (since applying a different code to my first account didnt give me the 30 days as promised) and It only took me around 2 hours to remember why I stopped playing in the first place. The content is stale, the community is all but gone, and those "rifts" and "invasions" are just a nuisance in this empty game. I feel like I stepped back into 2005, Clunky interface that never quite feels right, that whole BS death run thing that was so big in mmos 10 years ago, and so much particle effect it literally blocks the screen. I remember large rifts were just an orgy of particle effects that made it impossible to see yourself or what your aiming at, nothing has been done to fix this and even on low its a huge issue.

The game is in process of going the way of warhammer online, swtore, conan, and all the other crappy MMOs that didnt quite cut it.

68

Very Nice!

Shykon | May 24, 2013 | See all Shykon's reviews »

Very nice game! Definately deserves a sequal!

82

A solid MMORPG

Cooberstooge | May 6, 2013 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

There is a reason so many people play Rift, and why it's such a common mention for those just getting into the world of online RPGs - it's just plain good. While not revolutionary by any means, it works, the playerbase is for the most part friendly to newcomers, and the developers are still active in the community.

The game shows its age a little now, but the blocky texture work in some of the interior areas is mostly overshadowed during battles - combat is reminiscent of Kingdoms of Amalur, with flashy swings and hard hits that flow together rather nicely. For the way it looks, Rift rarely lags on me, which makes no sense but is something I can most certainly live with.

The controls are solid, while being familiar to anyone used to MMOs of this type. Audio-wise, I find the game somewhat lacking, as fights don't sound near as good as they look - other elements are just fine though, so I don't know why their designers fell down on the job for the fights.

Overall, I can recommend Rift, although it does have a rather small player base, since it's trying to compete with the likes of World of Warcraft. Less players is both good and bad, as sometimes you'll need to strategize and match up with others to be able to play a new area.

83

Stabile MMO

Infiltrator | May 6, 2013 | See all Infiltrator's reviews »

Hand's down the best MMO at launch since WoW, speaking of WoW if you love it but now hate it take a vacation from Azeroth and come on down. after talking to a lot about the Cata launch this just may be the bigger change of pace you need with no hit to quality. it all feels familiar yet different. While far more drastic that Coke Vs Pepsi it is easily a matter of taste between the 2. Overall the game is nicely balanced both in terms of what you can do and what you charter can be an has potential for improvement.

80

Overall Not Bad

Deathraiser898 | April 26, 2013 | See all Deathraiser898's reviews »

Coming from someone who has been playing all type of MMORPG games from MUD to WoW and all that are in between. RIFT is a great game by its own rights. It's been a long time since the MMO community has a very successful launch. I'm not going to compare features between this game and that game, but here are the good and the bad from my playing experience.

Default UI is a great. Although many of the goodies are turned off by default, you can easily turn them on through the interface setting. No need to go to addon website to install extra stuff. Things like target of target, AoE auto loot, auto sell gray items, etc. The UI layout editor is very easy to use. I'm actually really happy with it out of the box. It's not perfect, but a great starting point.

Public groups. I thought it was dumb when I first saw it, but there's a plus sign above everyone's avatar. You can click this and invite yourself to create an auto-group with the person. This is great when you see someone doing the quest you're looking to do, you can just auto group and you both and help each other. When you're done, just leave and be on your way. You can turn this feature off if you don't like a random stranger joining you. This also works for Public Group when taking down world events, such as RIFTs and Invasions. If there are multiple public groups, it merges them in to one.

Warfronts. Essentially, it's instance battlegrounds. The queues are very quick since its cross-servers. You need to be at least level 10 to do your first Warfront. There are brackets from 10-19, 20-29, and so on. It's pretty much the same old same old here, so nothing exciting about it. The experience gain is enough that you could level from just playing the warfronts if you choose to. I don't recommend it though, it gets boring pretty fast if playing it back to back... to back. Plus, you'll be pretty weak because you can't get gear efficiently if this is all you're doing.

Rifts and Invasions are pretty cool at first. After awhile it's just a zerg fest. I don't mind doing this, but again, in moderation. The blue and purple tokens you get from it are zone specific, so spend those to get yourself stronger. Not a lot of experience from invasions, so you can't level off of it like you can from warfronts. If you farm the invasion currencies you can buy items to make yourself stronger.

Quests are pretty much a straight shot. What is great about them is that you get pretty decent gears from following quests line. It will continually upgrade your gear as you go along. So this is the most effective way to get decent gear if you're playing by yourself or with a friend. Dungeons are also pretty much like other games, but a lot prettier! It's hard to describe in words. The first instance is the Realm of the Fae, and the winter top mountain is pretty amazing, a must see! I won't spoil it.

This brings me to another point. The graphic and game effects in this game look very nice. Warrior's cleave bring up dust from the ground looks amazing. If your computer can handle ultra setting, the game is very pretty. I enjoy the graphic a lot. The last game I play that I thought was pretty was LotRO, this beats it.

Sound effects is pretty good, nothing that stands out. The script events and voice over is a nice touch, but nothing special. I turn music off when playing so I can't comment on that.

The loot is pretty also straight forward. The nice touch here is that all souls in the class use the same stat no matter what you're doing. For example, all clerics will use WIS gear. So I won't have to haul STR/DEX gear when tanking, WIS when healing, and INT/DEX when trying to DPS. All cleric uses WIS as the main attribute and that gets converted depending on the souls. If I'm tanking as Cleric Justica my WIS converts to STR for tanking. All I have to worry about is if I want to tank with 2H weapon or 1H and shield. Pretty awesome!

The Classes and Souls system is also nice, because it's very flexible. You can also purchase new roles to swap out from Tank to Healer on the fly. Since you're using pretty much the same gear from one role to another, it's painless.

In my opinion, this game doesn't bring anything new or innovative. It takes all the things other games done well and implement them in a nice package. There are a lot of improvements to be made. Like I said, it's not perfect, but it's a great start.

NOTE: If you are looking to buy this game, I recommend getting the Digital Collector's edition for $60. An extra $10 will get you a mount right off the bat (no level restriction) for all new characters that you make. The cheapest mount you can get is about 2.5 plat. I didn't get 2.5 plat until about level 20 from a normal play. I created 3 characters to level 20, and it's pretty much the same pace. Having the mount as soon as you can get to the mailbox is awesome.

65

It's WoW's prettier twin.

PM_DMNKLR | Feb. 6, 2013 | See all PM_DMNKLR's reviews »

Sub-based, similar design overall, prettier visuals, and a few elements that do set it apart from the rest, but overall the only assessment I can give is that if you're new to the scene, Rift may be a good game, but if you're a seasoned WoW vet then stick with what you know. It's a good game, but not good enough to draw any crowd away from WoW, Guild Wars, etc. Perhaps if they one day drop the sub requirement, but not as it currently stands.

80

Rift is a quite brilliant MMORPG

Lekes | Jan. 27, 2013 | See all Lekes's reviews »

RIFT is a well polished game that brings many popular aspects of other MMOs together. The random zone events make for some fun times as you team up with your fellow players fend off planar invasions. The "Soul Tree" class system allows for the creation of a unique character though some combinations will ultimatly shine through as the standards. If you are looking for a change of scenary in a MMO then RIFT is worth a try, but it doesn't bring a whole lot new to the table.

60

A great looking MMO that gets old fast

rstokes | Jan. 11, 2013 | See all rstokes's reviews »

I played this game from the initial beta stages to about 3 months after release.

The "soul" class system is a ton of fun to mess around with and allows you to customize your toon to an extent, meaning some soul combos are just flat out better than others making a vast majority of the possible combos obsolete.

The gameplay and combat is like any other MMO and the game's "rift" system works better on paper since as the game's subs dropped many areas of the game simply became unavailable for long periods of time. You cant always find the required amount of people to defeat a rift or invasion, so while the idea is great, it does little more than frustrate you when a quest hub is full of elite NPCs and you cannot do squat about it.

The graphics however are great and will truly test your hardware, but overall the game is simply another run of the mill MMO with an interesting class system. Try guild wars 2, its infinitely more fun and doesnt require a monthly sub (seriously how are they still charging a sub for this game?)

76

Not Bad

kalil | Dec. 21, 2012 | See all kalil's reviews »

Well, now I will do a review on what I liked and did not like about this game: D The Good:

  • A variety of classes are not just the typical, tank, mage, healer, there are many that are very different, I was struck by the bombardier example, devoted to attach or drop bombs to enemy
  • The skill system I like, choose a main class but you like where to spend two points so that you can do many variations. For example you can choose to be a thief, but there are many types of patron "thief", for example you could make combinations murderer and bombardier
  • Innovations as rifts system, which are merely dimensional door openings other planes entering does invade earth beings.
  • It is more or less dynamic, entering these extradimensional beings can kill NPCs that give quests, all you do is enter the capitals, which are very rare, but if they reach normal raze whole cities so that the Sometimes people meet to raze them and clean some area. These bugs give you points you can spend then getting rewards, but neither are amazing, and you need to kill very many bugs and close many rifts to get something interesting.
  • It leaves a pleasant feeling is subjective but if the game does not stand out too hooked though, I give him a "good" for this game

The bad:

  • It is more or less the same as the other MMORPGs, just doing repetitive but not both, the dynamics of rifts makes it more interesting
  • The graphics are not the wafer but well
  • This very focused on guilds, if you belong to a guild that can get different objects to the guild so that they get bonuses for the guild, if you like to go on your own do not advise this game, I went for that reason because the guild depend and if you want to change or lose throw everything done for the guild. It also makes people unite sole most powerful guilds.

60

Verdict

Sanako59 | Dec. 21, 2012 | See all Sanako59's reviews »

Trion has come out of the gate swinging with Rift. There are flaws -- it's a game that will overwhelm anyone who hasn't experienced an MMO before, and it brings little new to the genre -- but to my mind the quality of the content, the detail of the world, and Trion's excellent early support outweigh those flaws. There's a steep learning curve, but once you're comfortable with what Rift offers, you will find a deeply immersive experience. Telara is a worthy alternative to Azeroth for anyone looking to explore a new world.

70

Play it with your crew.

Darder | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all Darder's reviews »

I played rift with a group of friends, and we had fun for the 2 months we played it. It had alot of potential when I was reading about it before it was released. Now that it is, well it isn't the game I was hoping for, but it is worth checking out. I played World of Warcraft for a long time and this is refreshing compared to it. However, I found that the quest were still very similar to those of WoW and could be massively improved. The minimal requirements are not very high and that is good because some of friends did not possess a high end computer but could still enjoy the game with me. Fun, just bring friends.

45

Some good ideas for future MMOs

Mikester7 | Aug. 20, 2012 | See all Mikester7's reviews »

As a bit of a self proclaimed (lol) veteran of MMO's, I had a go and played about two weeks or so of Rift. It seems that Rift aimed to grab players over from the current giant World of Warcraft by using very familiar aspects. Personally I find that kind of lazy and I didn't think it was going to work considering the ridiculous about of content available for WoW players currently (for goodness sake even the text color is the same as WoW). Rift however does have a few unique elements that I found quite nice such as the server wide events, rift portals, awesome talent system and other helpful stuff that you can do while leveling. It has some pretty decent quests and story telling, but nothing to different to WoW. The combat however is indredibly shallow and feels extremely boring compared to some other MMO's (shame they didn't rip the combat feel off WoW to, it would have been a bearable game then).

You have to ask yourself I guess, should I play a game that's a shallow shell of World of Warcraft, or WoW itself. An example of this is when I played the rogue and went a hunter-style class and could not choose my own pet, instead it gave me either a wolf, boar or raptor. At the end of the day they cost about the same anyway. It's kind of an easy choice unless you have some kind of vendetta against WoW because it's popular. I strongly suggest skipping this game entirely and playing WoW instead, or like I said if you have a mental vendetta against it, wait until another decent one is released.

At the end of the day Rift offers absolutely NOTHING to the MMO genre aside from making future companies understand how important it is to not totally rip off other games. Taking chunks from other games is fine and a common occurrence in MMO's, but Rift is just blatantly cloning.. badly. The great talent system alone is not enough to save it from it's awfully dull combat.

In conclusion I would say this game is not an alternative for any game currently on the market and you should avoid at all costs, their is simply not enough good content to be a better game logically than WoW.

65

Nothing new for the MMO genre.

nele25 | Oct. 18, 2011 | See all nele25's reviews »

Pretty alright game, but does nothing new for the genre. This would probably be a great game for those new to MMORPG's, but for veterans (and those who already played WoW) it brings nothing new.

What it does do is take some good elements from other MMO's and incorporated them. Takes UI and Control from WoW.

Rifts are similar to Warhammer online public quests. The multiple class/soul trees are in Guild Wars. It still needs to be seen how the devs will support the game content and patch wise. As that is what makes or breaks the MMO game, but so far it looks promising.

So, if you are new to MMO or didn't play WOW, try this one out (there is 7 day trail). Otherwise, wait for Guild Wars 2 or Terra Online.

46

Fun With Friends

Mondu | Sept. 2, 2011 | See all Mondu's reviews »

If you plan on getting this game then try to rope one of your friends in too. This MMO offers nothing new to the MMORPG experience and nothing feels polished in the game. Questing is dull and monotonous, PvP is skilless and spam-y, dungeons are boring with no real memorable parts and the zones are fairly uninspired. Even with friends the game will feel particularly dull and you will require your banter to make the game somewhat fun.

The game offers no fun in a single-player experience. (Which is fair enough as it's an MMO). But if you want to continue playing when your friends log off, the enjoyment from the game plummets to rockbottom as you see how lifeless and unpolished the game really is.

It's one of the better MMO's out on the market but it's still not a satisfying game and a lot could be improved. Don't expect anything original; it uses mechanics from other MMO's such as WoW and WaR, but even these mechanics feel broken and underdeveloped.

85

New MMO? Check. Worth your time? Definitely!

lonelyjedi | July 23, 2011 | See all lonelyjedi's reviews »

So I've been playing this game since launch, and have been thoroughly enjoying it. It seems like I've played every one out there and this is like a breath of fresh air. Let me start out by saying this is not WoW, though it has similarities, it is not.The soul (or in other words) class system is what sets it apart, and the massively awesome PvP modes. The graphics are beautiful and with everything maxed requires a pretty beefy rig. If you're tired of WoW, or any other MMO, you owe it to yourself to check this one out! Especially for how cheap it is.

69

Bring friends.

TorpedoVegas | July 23, 2011 | See all TorpedoVegas's reviews »

I played Rift with two friends when it first came out and had quite a good time. It borrowed all of the great stuff that wow and other mmos had, but made it more fun and fresh. I thought I was going to play the game for months.

Sadly my two friends got tired of the game, quit, and I had lost all momentum to play it. Unlike wow, guild wards and other mmos, Rift is not that fun playing single player. Bring a friend that will last as long as you, and you could be having a great time.

85

A wonderful alternative to WOW

Xbomborz | July 21, 2011 | See all Xbomborz's reviews »

After years of WOW towering over the market, it is about time for a game to come along and be just as good. Featuring a new and interesting storyline, characters, and gameplay, Rift is a fresh take on the aging and competitive MMO genre. Although it does still feel like, well, WOW, new and innovative gameplay features help to make this game feel fresh and new.

80

An Original MMO

IganX | July 20, 2011 | See all IganX's reviews »

Rift is a fantasy mmorpg which in first place may seem to be another of the bunch, but once you give it a try, you can clearly see it is something different. The storyline is catchy, the gameplay and combat are fine, and the graphics are great, and the events are awesome. I would say this is a game for PvE more than PvP, so if you like raids and dungeons, this is your game.

80

Rift is AMAZING!

thomasgjj | June 25, 2011 | See all thomasgjj's reviews »

Rift is one of the best MMORPGS I have ever played. The graphics are stunning, the plot is good and the gameplay is great! The only this is that is that you need a high end computer to play the game in the ultra setting!

From the second this is game is downloaded you are in thick of combat. This game had be hooked from the beta and I have to say I keep coming back. It has everything you want an MMO to have.

The dungeons and battlegrounds are accessible from lower levels and the guild questing system is very good.

I would recommend this game to the most casual to the most hardcore of gamers!

74

Weirdly enough

hotmando1 | June 24, 2011 | See all hotmando1's reviews »

Rift makes full use of player interest of instances and raids to rifts. Combat and UI is similar to other mmorpgs out in the market already. Questing is already a given in the game. The game goes on sale more than once, which is good because it increases the player base. Dynamic events and gm events make the game all the better. However, sometimes they'll screw up because of mismanagement such as the invasion held a few months ago. The game is good. It''s good enough to draw people from lotro and Wow.

86

Finally surprised by a developer

jimmyxtreme | April 26, 2011 | See all jimmyxtreme's reviews »

After spending many years going through the same old routine, New MMO released, Buy, Download, Play to level cap, Rinse & Repeat, I have found the genre to become rather stale & dated. then about a year ago I stumble upon Rift "Planes of telara" as it was then called, by this time i was pretty much sick of MMO's and had lost all faith in the genre so i bypassed applying for the beta. i bought the game about a month after release and must say i was pleasantly surprised.

I log on for the first time to find one of the most polished MMO's available today. sure its cookie cutter same old same old, but rift already seems to have attracted a very mature & friendly community, not seen since the launch of LOTRO. its very refreshing to finally have a developer that listens to its player base & acts upon its requests. as for the actual game itself although it could on the surface be any generic mmo there is so much more, the class system is one of the most versatile things i have seen in an mmo and allows the player to customize there build to suit there play style exactly.

There was recently a world event that, granted did have teething problems but this was amazing and really helped bring the community together you had raids of people roaming the lands with a variety of people from all over the world, ranging in level from 10 to 50, no one was left out. also if you like surprises then rift is the game for you as the world is constantly changing and rifts & invasions are a lot of fun once you get the hang of them. and on a final note, we have been promised a lot of new things with regards to world PVP which, when added to all the other aspects of this game, i know that i will be playing rift for a long time to come.