Reviews for Bastion

76

A beautiful game

damodarko | April 9, 2014 | See all damodarko's reviews »

Bastion is one of those rare games that comes along quietly and knocks you off your feet.

It's simplistic play style makes it easy to flick on for a fun smash and bash, but the level design, the narration and that soundtrack? Every time I sit down to play this game I am absorbed into it's beauty.

This is a game that plays well and invokes all the right emotions. A small tale that pulls you in and immerses you in a deep story while the vibrant designs and quirky game play keeps it nice an light.

A special mention has to go to the original soundtrack to this game. I rarely buy music separate to the game, but I have bought this game and soundtrack multiple times just to spread it among my friends.

This game is for everyone and should be played by everyone.

92

Wonderful game, fantastic soundtrack, touching story

radenthefridge | March 27, 2014 | See all radenthefridge's reviews »

I absolutely loved this game. The gameplay was solid, the narration (despite me not being a fan of the guy's actual voice) was excellent, and the soundtrack was stuck in my head for months.

The story did turn out to be much darker and sadder than I expected, but it also stuck with me for a long time.

95

A wonderful story-driven experience

pickelsurprise | March 21, 2014 | See all pickelsurprise's reviews »

I love a game with a good story. Bastion may not have multiplayer or too many extras to tackle, but for a gamer like me, this little game has it all. Solid gameplay, great visuals, and some downright beautiful reactive narration. While the story of the game doesn't necessarily change based on your actions, the narrator's dialog will actually respond to what you do and what happens to you. While this does little to advance the plot, it makes the game feel so much more immersive.

On the whole, Bastion is a great ride from start to finish. New Game Plus mode adds to the fun, letting you play through the whole game with your favorite weapons and skills without the need to unlock them. Some may say this makes it too easy, but for someone like me, it lets me experience the story again without having to worry too much about the difficulty.

If you're looking for a smooth, stylistic action game with some light RPG elements, and above all, great storytelling, this is definitely a buy.

93

Bastion ------> Buy it or Not?

koticpaxx | March 6, 2014 | See all koticpaxx's reviews »

To jump right in, Bastion is a work of art. A unique style on taking on a game, Supergiant Games has truly created a brilliant master piece. In the world of Bastion, you play a character simply known as The Kid. As him, you fight to discover and retrieve the lost world which has been destroyed by ancient invaders. So let's start with the presentation. The graphics are amazing, and though it's not in a realistic point of view, it has an astounding artwork. The voice over, only presented by the Narrator, is top-notch. He narrates simple little moves you make as The Kid, which adds the element of profound storytelling. The actual voice of the Narrator is soothing, in a mixture of a Morgan Freeman and Liam Neeson kind of way, which is quite awesome. The gameplay is great, with the view of the camera in a unique spot. This can sometimes get annoying, as it allows you to misjudge narrow paths where you can end up falling to your death. The game is kind of a hack and slash, with different levels and enemies to make each one unique. All in all, Bastion is a hands down BUY. It is a must have with it's unique style of story telling, and its great gameplay.

98

An Amazing Experience

XiPaRiSiiTeiX | Feb. 10, 2014 | See all XiPaRiSiiTeiX's reviews »

Bastion is a game that although may look a little off by triple A games standards at first glance is actually thrilling masterpiece. The art style of this game is very pretty I was very pleasantly surprised how beautiful the game looked when I was playing, with environments ranging from the lush green bastion to the dank murky darkness of the wall. The soundtrack is a thing of wonders that will be stuck in your head for days, one song in particular stuck with me as I wandered around the bastion taking a break from dispatching enemies with my hammer, and the best thing is there is a record player so you can kick back and relax listening to the amazing soundtrack while browsing the wares of one of the many unlockable buildings around the bastion. The gripping narrative is something of a spectacle in the game also as the narrator's calm, deep, soothing voice made me play the whole game over just to hear him again, telling a tale of a young boy on his quest to find out what exactly had happened to the once beautiful world they lived in. I wholeheartedly recommend this game, actually, stop reading this review. Go buy it, go on!

90

Can't hold back the feels...

damienjameswebb | Feb. 3, 2014 | See all damienjameswebb's reviews »

Ok, so when i fist started playing this game i was like "ya cool, its a brawler". you try to get through the level filled with monsters to find crystal pieces to save the world.... NOPE instead your thrown into wonder as your trying to figure out who you are, how did you survive, why did this happen, and who was responsible. Lets just say that this game could have easily been a paperback book that i read in junior high for book report week.

As thought provoking as the story is (which i am trying really hard not to give away), the real drive for this is the classic throwback to the iso beat-um-ups of old. The gameplay is smooth and you really feel like your having to work at defeating your enemies (even on the easy settings). The best part by far is the narrator, who literally talks about everything your doing as your doing it, and not just the main story line... if you decide to stop for a minute and start breaking pots, he'll say something about it. if you leave your game running and say go and get a drink from the fridge, he talks about how your character has stopped to stare into the oblivion that is the eternal abyss...

the only downside i have for this game is the leveling system.i didn't like how limited you were with ability stacking, and that you had to change your weapons at the hub rather than on the fly (you only get 2 weapon slots). however, this ends up being a plot point so.... i'll forgive them.

All in all, Bastion is a great game. It was like a good book that i never wanted to finish, but would defiantly read again.

86

An amazing experience

gforcesa | Dec. 28, 2013 | See all gforcesa's reviews »

Bastion is a game you should not miss.It's basically a one of it's kind.I really don't want to spoil the experience for you so i wont talk about the story.The narrator of the game is so awesome to listen to, mainly because his voice reminds me of Morgan Freeman's voice which is pretty rad.I really like how the developers have told the story of the game and how the narrator is, well, narrating everything you do and that's fun.The soundtrack of the game is really good because it's so relaxing to listen to and never gets old.The game is around 4 hours to beat but its well worth the price for this awesome game.

95

A magical game

bourdoulas | Dec. 28, 2013 | See all bourdoulas's reviews »

Stunning hand painted graphics with an even greater OST and a narrator that will remain in your head for quite a while after you finish the game. Recommended to every action RPG gamer out there.

The duration could be longer but fortunately you can replay the game again and again on "New Game Plus" mode.

95

Just buy it now

KalGoran | Dec. 27, 2013 | See all KalGoran's reviews »

Bastion is one of the games on my person list of standout games in recent years. With a beautiful and unique visual style, an excellent and involving story, fantastic music and the beloved narrator, it is a real gem of a title.

There are "moral choices" though I say that with a caveat--there are only two, both at the end of the game, and they aren't "moral" in the sense of right and wrong. Both possibilities in each choice can probably have equally strong arguments, they simply give you a choice on what you want to do, and they're surprisingly impactful.

The gameplay, while not necessarily unique or revolutionary, is fast paced, moderately challenging, and fun. There is a solid selection of very unique weapons that are fully upgradeable, letting you experiment and create very different play styles.

The visuals never disappoint, the music is just beautiful, and the narrator is awesome--a great voice that really brings you into the experience, and very well written. It's a great hook for an already great game. Buy this now, if it appeals to you at all, and you won't regret it.

87

Great All Around Game

TheBarcaShow | Dec. 26, 2013 | See all TheBarcaShow's reviews »

Everything about this game seems pretty well done.

The first thing which you have to notice is the artwork, as the images above show you, it is hand drawn/painted and gives the game a fairly unique feel.

The narration I think is pretty famous for this game. It can be a bit repetitive but to me it was never boring. The narrator uses a deep tone which reminds me of some movie narrations.

The gameplay is great. The controls are simple enough, WASD keys with the mouse to aim with hotkeys for potions. There are a vast array of weapons, upgrades and challenges which can make each playthrough a bit different than the one before. There are also a vast amount of enemies, as well as boss battles which can be a bit of a challenge.

If you've been on the border with this game, if you see it on sale, you should definitely get it, you will not be disappointed

84

A classic game counted differently dyes

kalil | Dec. 20, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

Bastion is a great game . Of the best indies in recent years . Note that it is a job done by a few people , but you have much, much pampering . Note that it is a small study, a humble project , because the game is short ( about 10 hours in my case , increasing the difficulty as you become more powerful ) .

GRAPHICS : the care with which the game is made by paragraphs like this is noted . Everything is hand drawn with a taste and a sublime palette of colors. The art section is a high level. The scenarios are varied enemies , too. You can interact with many objects in the scene.

TECHNOLOGY : It is not your strong point , nor intended. It is a game that could be technologically previous generations.

Playability : Very worked. With a learning curve and difficulty appropriate . It is an action- rpg, with touches of hack n 'slash . The combat never becomes monotonous , despite the few available actions ( attack , guard , dodge , heal, and special attack ) in part by the large number of available weapons , each more spectacular and effective , and the variety of enemies and when you think you 've seen all and know their attack patterns , new enemies begin to appear with different behaviors. SOUND: The music is without a doubt MASTER . From the best I 've heard in a video game in recent years . You had heard praises me this before the game, and not exaggerated . It is a shame that many issues have not ( between 10 and 15 items equally). Marry perfectly with the game. The sounds are good , nothing more.

INNOVATION: I think this game will be remembered mainly for innovation that has led to the inclusion of an omniscient narrator, a voice who explains us not only what it has to do with history , but it often makes comments about the things we are doing at all times. Surely the significance of this narrator gameplay is not great , but gives the game a depth and complexity that would not exist without it ( I must say that everything he says is right , witty, and also has a voice in English , that 's cool that you shit ! :) otherwise it is a game that does not innovate in any section.

BEST: - The gameplay , which grows as the game progresses . - The music, impressive as very few . - The novelty of the voice of a narrator , which gives the game more complex .

WORST: - It is short , though to be an indie, approx 10h can be considered long even - Sometimes I get the feeling , it's a wasted game, with pillars and ideas that revolve around the history of the game , too ambitious for such a small study

88

Fall in love with the narrator

Coolicy | Dec. 17, 2013 | See all Coolicy's reviews »

the art style is more cartoony, and the fighting isn't as robust as Torchlight, but these are all not reasons why you should be playing Bastion. The combat is slower paced, but takes a backseat to the story. You explore a charming world with a strong progression system, making you attached to your character. Moreover, it's the narrator that narrates your every move that makes the game so charming and endearing. His witty descriptions, comments and snark remarks is really what makes Bastion.

I have this on steam, and it's great to have this added to GMG's backlog. If you haven't tried this game, definitely give it a shot when it's on sale (and maybe even throw in one of GMG's vouchers).

IMO, this game really proves Warner Bro's as a solid publisher. This and the Arkham series shows to me that they invest in their game and want it to be good. This is an indie game, but the amount of polish really shows.

This game is highly regarded by gaming critics, you owe it to yourself to try it out.