Reviews for METAL GEAR RISING: REVENGEANCE

90

One of the best games in the history of spin-off games.

KingTed | Dec. 9, 2014 | See all KingTed's reviews »

MGR Revengeance is Platinum Games' over the top take on the Metal Gear franchise.

Who has never dreamed of playing Gray Fox, the cyborg ninja from the first Metal Gear Solid? Alright, this is not exactly THE Gray Fox but Raiden, aka Jack the Ripper, has obtained some extreme bonuses in charisma since his debut in MGS2!

The result is your typical PG Action game. Great gameplay. Excellent replay value and crazy amount of awesomeness in each segment of this badass adventure.

The only problem is the camera. It's too close to your character, making things quite frustrating when ennemies behind your point of view can attack you while you just can't see them.

You like action games? You love Ninja Games? You have to play this game.

90

One of The Most Outrageous Games...

GaryOak2792 | July 26, 2014 | See all GaryOak2792's reviews »

You know the game is good when you are jumping off of missiles, proceeding to then leap over a helicopter and slice that helicopter into hundreds of tiny pieces (Which are conveniently counted up for you to the side).

In all seriousness though, if you are on the fence about getting this game, I would definitely recommend it at it's current price and state. The game is full-on, nonstop action with the occasional cut scene or data codex to progress the story. In my own personal opinion, the story was definitely unique, although I found myself focusing more on the combat and clever jives that the game just throws out at you every other sentence. If you are here for a in-depth, expansive story, you may find your slightly disappointed, that is, until you start slashing things to bits, and you will find that two or three hours just flew out the window without you noticing. Honestly, if you are looking for a game where you fight giant robots and monsters in a poncho and sombrero, this is the game for you. If you aren't entirely sure, buy it anyway. 9/10

85

Fantastic Spectacle Fighter

884okeoJ | July 13, 2014 | See all 884okeoJ's reviews »

Pros -Incredibly fun gameplay -hilariously over-the-top dialogue and music -great graphics and effects -rewarding difficulty -very stylish

Cons -hardcore MGS fans might not like the genre switch -plot is fairly weak

Metal Gear Solid Rising shows that you can have both style and substance, with excellent gameplay and a hilarious over-the-top theme. While Metal Gear purists might hate it for deviating from the formula of older games, Rising is still an absolutely fantastic game.

85

Epic Rising: Revengance

vipertaco | April 6, 2014 | See all vipertaco's reviews »

Throughout the game I loved the game-play, but at times it felt repetitive ripping out spines after spines. Metal Gear Rising's campaign clocks in on average 7 hours which is pretty short for some people. Overall I loved the soundtrack and boss fights, and I hope they release a sequel.

78

Is an Amazing game, but apart of the Metal Gear Saga

CarlosX95 | Feb. 18, 2014 | See all CarlosX95's reviews »

Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance is an amazin game on his own category, we are talking about a game that not only change the style of gameplay of the Metal Gear Saga, also change the main protagonist, from the silent Solid Snake to the fastest and furious ninja: Raiden.

The game has his own potential in the new category that has entered, leaving behind the tactical espionage action from snake, to a "lighting bolt action"

the graphics are great, even in the minimum, surpass a little the PS3 and X360 versions.

Maybe the most of the fans of Snake criticize the game just because change the genre, but i give it a chance and a like it, even is not snake, it still have that essence.

80

Short, Fun, and Crazy!

Officebat | Feb. 14, 2014 | See all Officebat's reviews »

It is in the true style of Platinum games of being incredibly crazy and sometimes tough! The game does come from the consoles last year and this pc translation is pretty good for a JPN developer on PC. The game looks very nice still and plays well. There are a few bits of clunkiness but it is still worth buying!

80

Over the Top Outlandish

CrimsonWizard | Feb. 10, 2014 | See all CrimsonWizard's reviews »

Metal Gear Rising is yet another spinoff game of the long storied Metal Gear series, but is basically a sequel to Metal Gear Solid 4, starring everyone's favorite punching bag from the second game, Raiden! Of course, if you've played past MGS2, the developers have worked to turn Raiden from being the pretty boy annoying rookie into the one eyed metal death machine you see in Revengeance. I admit, the game does a very nice job of using that fact to give the game a more energetic and speedy action mood with Raiden executing between ninja runs, swift sword combos, and brutal Mortal Kombat-like kill moves.

The game though is a bit indecisive at times on what it wants to be. The game's initial set up works really well with Raiden being a part of a security detail before the job goes bad, and he swears revenge on those who killed his employer. You get to slice open some baddies and even get a fun fight against a Metal Gear Ray at the end of the first level, at least keeping a connection to the giant mechs even if the huge build up to them is over. However, the game quickly delves into darker subjects, some familiar in Metal Gear such as the horrors and real costs of war, but also really focuses on the innocent children sucked into the system. Despite these legitimately unsettling and gut-wrenching moments, the game can quickly delve right back into comedy and high action with the series use of over the top hammy bosses and even Raiden himself at points, and some of the silly codex exchanges between you and your team. It's not bad, but does make me wonder sometimes if the makers of the game were going for awesomeness, a dramatic thriller, or a mix of the two into a dark comedy. If nothing else though, the game does a great job of keeping things interesting. Between the ridiculous ninja sword action, the quirky exchanges and cutscenes between you and all the characters in the game, and the over the top scenarios Raiden forces himself through, Revengeance is great way to kill about 10 hours. There's even more if you play around with other difficulties, the free DLC in the PC version, or the VR missions.

Speaking of the PC version, it works really well and makes me happy to see more Japanese games getting PC ports like Dark Souls 2 in the future. I had no real issues with either control scheme. I admit the camera could be annoying at times, but that seems to be more of a flaw of the game itself. It looks and sounds really great too, you'll be treated to some really energetic boss themes straight from a power rock and roll album, matching the awesome portions of the game really well. The developers did a fantastic job making it look good on PC, especially when they get out of the urban environments and play around with color like the Japanese garden level.

So final thoughts on the game? It's a lot of fun, but has some little issues like the camera and the tone of the game jumping around from serious to zany, but I was rather entertained. The combat system works fairly well, though the bosses might give you the fits at times. Also, I really wish this game had a quickfire button for sub-weapons like the grenades, that sluggish bit of control feels so out of place in an otherwise fast paced game, but I guess they don't want you to spam them perhaps? In any case, MGR: Revengeance is fun and even if it's a little short (if you cut out the cutscenes and codex messages), there's plenty of content after the main game. At the reduced price on PC and the free DLC missions, it's a great deal, and I highly recommend it, even if you weren't a fan of the stealthier Metal Gear games.

75

"Dangerously cheesy!"

OMGmyFACE | Feb. 5, 2014 | See all OMGmyFACE's reviews »

This game was a blast. Slicing enemies into hundreds of little pieces as rock music (complete with hilariously serious vocals) blares. MGR:R almost seems like it was made as a response to the gamers who complained about style of substance or how much they hated QTEs because those are pretty much all you get in this title: 5+ hours of running around, flailing weapons at people, until it's time to mash a button or two. And, you know what, it was great for that reason alone.

Metal Gear Rising is to video games what Crank is to film. Sometimes you want to debate whether or not video games are art, sometimes you want to rip off a giant mech's armsword and use it to slice through the rest of it as someone in your headphones yells DmC-grade angsty lyrics at you.

60

Hype Rising: Revengance

mars_elliot | Jan. 25, 2014 | See all mars_elliot's reviews »

Given a healthy amount of praise from both the media and the forums, I may have gone in to this expecting too much. While the game itself could be considered a reasonably passable hack'n'slash, that can also be said for the options. Simple features such as V-sync are not present, and of the features that are available, some don't work right. When I attempted to adjust the resolution up to 1080p while in full screen, my monitor blacked out and said "not within range". Now before you say to yourself "this guy doesn't know what he's talking about!", 1080p works fine in windowed mode. Upon browsing the forums I read of other users problems, some similar, some different than mine. For some "fullscreen" causes there to be black bars around their monitor.

Another problem I had with the game were the mission lengths. Although the game is said to be very short in total length, the same can not be said about breaks between missions. With frequent, long cut scenes and frustratingly cheap boss battles there are few real rests during the campaign. This would not necessarily be a problem if I was enjoying the game, but I'm not. Determined to get the story experience I paid for at a cost of less frustration, I wanted to go back and set the game difficulty to easy. Unfortunately, you can't change difficulty until you've finished the mission. As an early example, for me to reset the difficulty prior to completing the first mission I would have to restart the "R-00" mission, which was not particularly fun, and then subsequently replay the mission I am already bored with. Probably not going to happen.

Although this game feels like it is brimming with potential fun, it all feels bogged down by a clunky UI, poorly implemented options for PC owners, and tedious boss battles. Considering this game is cheaper on consoles, buyer beware.

73

OK

chataolauj | Jan. 24, 2014 | See all chataolauj's reviews »

It sort of reminds me of Ninja Gaiden 3, and I didn't really like Ninja Gaiden 3 all that much. At least in this one, you get to kick them into the air and keep slicing them as long as you desire.

The voice acting is very terrible. I'm just never a fan of English dubs because it just sounds so dull to me. I usually like to play these games with Japanese voices because the emotion put out by Japanese voice acting is more powerful than English. I don't really recommend this game, but go ahead if you like cutting up things for fun.

70

I want to like it more but it's just so clunky.

TomWeise62305 | Jan. 21, 2014 | See all TomWeise62305's reviews »

This game is a decent PC port on the technical side of things. Supports up to 1080p with marginally better IQ than the consoles versions with little to no frame drops. Unfortunately it's capped at 60fps which is a bummer for us 120hz users. A game like this would benefit greatly from increased framerate. Gameplay wise it's a pretty typical hack n' slash besides blade mode. My biggest is issue is the absolutely horrendous camera. Half the time, it goes wherever it wants without user input. It auto center when you don't want it to. The FOV is way too low for a hack n' slash to the point where you can't even see enemies from the sides coming to attack you. The camera wouldn't be so bad if you didn't need to "aim" the analog stick towards enemies to parry their attacks. The camera having a mind of its own makes parrying ten times harder than it should be. Also, the lock on button doesn't work particularly well either and still contributes to enemies sneaking up on your sides. The bosses and larger enemies can be a bit on the cheap side as well making them less fun to fight than normal soldiers. Graphically the game is average at best which wouldn't be so bad if the framerate was at least uncapped. I'm far from the best hack n' slash player, but for me this game ended up being every bit as frustrating as it was fun.

85

Different from DMC, but still very good.

mmmbbbb | Jan. 14, 2014 | See all mmmbbbb's reviews »

Metal Gear Rising has you playing as the main character from Metal Gear Solid 2, Raiden, and while i wasn't huge about missing out on Snake in that game, I am more than happy to play as him in this game.

The gameplay is similar to other conventional Beat 'em Ups, where you spend most of the game only pressing a few buttons, and killing a LOT of enemies.

While other games, such as DMC, have you using several different moves and combos to juggle enemies in some lengthy battles, Rising has you cutting regular enemies to pieces quickly, and rather satisfyingly. But, that being said, normal combat isn't anything TOO special.

However, when it comes to the boss fights, that is where my opinion changes.

The game simply outdoes the boss fights. From the variety of battles themselves, to the amazing rock style battle themes. The atmosphere is always intense, and you always feel like you're a bona-fide badass, with your over-the-top attack moves.

If you're looking for a game that truly gives you a satisfying rush, then this is the game for you. But, if you're a die hard fan of DMC, you may find this game to be a bit too much of a button-masher.