Reviews for Nihilumbra


Great story, Good platformer

samtahbou | June 6, 2015 | See all samtahbou's reviews »

I love this game, it has a simple formula and it executed it well. It didn't go for anything particularly new but that's ok. Simple platformer style game with a narrated story, the graphics are nice and the soundtrack fits well. I liked the story and enjoyed the game through out. These days with so many games in my library, I often don't finish the games I play. But this game was different, I played it through start to finish, and was quite satisfied with the experience. That's something not a lot of games can achieve, it draws you in and moves you a long through the whole journey. I would definitely recommend the game, especially now that it's in the GMG bundle, well worth the money.


Escape from the void.

PlayTyrant | May 12, 2015 | See all PlayTyrant's reviews »

This is one of those games I've played for hours because it's simple enough to keep you entertained without being a bother, which is what we want sometimes. Reminded me a bit about Abe's Oddysee, but I guess it's just because of the platforms and enemies. The game has a lot of content and the narrative is good. Good Spanish indie titles!


Spanish magic

Obsessor | May 2, 2015 | See all Obsessor's reviews »

This game proves once again, that Spanish developers know how to make magical, enchanting, and attention grabbing games. Nihilumbra has everything you need. It looks artsy, the music is simply amazing, and gameplay intuitive. It is pretty short, I've finished it in just 3 hours. However it offers Void mode when you beat the game, has Steam achievements, and unlockable gallery of concept arts. 10/10.


A bit of fun for a couple hours...

llonerin | Jan. 28, 2015 | See all llonerin's reviews »

Finished the story in a single run. The game is not too bad and it has a deep meaning... Liked the way you sometimes had to mix up the colors to go on... Have to try the Void mode yet, but seems like a lot of unexpected content there... Like the real game only starts now! Makes me wonder... Was the story only a big tutorial to the void mode? XD A nice game standing at a low price. Buy it, if you like indies.


Not the best out there

ptsfthfll | Feb. 6, 2014 | See all ptsfthfll's reviews »

Nihilumbra is a puzzle/platformer game in which you have to make your way by using colors to your advantage. The puzzles are rather easy but at least it's fun to play. Since there are a lot of games this kind by Indie Developers. You may ask yourself it's worth. Well, the graphics are not that great but colorful enough to make you feel at ease. Level designs are above average but you'll get quite a bit fun before first completion. After completion you'll get "the void" mode which is basically the harder version of the same levels changed dramatically. I recommend this game for those who really enjoys platformers and puzzles. But unfortunately, it's not must-buy game. Addition to this, If you see this on sale, go get it immediately. Because it has it's moments.


Good story game with some puzzles...

Azralynn | Jan. 24, 2014 | See all Azralynn's reviews »

As you play through the worlds of Nihilumbra, you gain colours to change the world around you. You need to solve the puzzles using the colours to progress through the story. The puzzles aren't overly complicated, and in some cases there was more than one way to progress through them. The graphics are fairly simple, but well done overall. The best thing about the game is definitely the narrative throughout the story. From start to finish, the narrative was my favourite aspect of the story, followed by the puzzles. It's a short game, but enjoyable nonetheless.


Interesting and Fun Experience

Subj3ctLambda | Jan. 4, 2014 | See all Subj3ctLambda's reviews »

Nihilumbra is basically about a "piece" of the vast empty void! This piece breaks off and that's when the narrator says "You are Born", This may refer to his birth, but is now also his name! The game basically shows Born, a piece of the void, escaping it and discovering the world with all its colours! Interesting to Born since he himself, is by definition-nothingness, therefore black! He comes across various colours throughout his journey and when he comes into contact with them, they change him and give him abilities! He must use these abilities to fight other hostile pieces of the void, and escape the void itself! However, I must mention here that your first playthrough of the gamr may feel too easy! That's because it is basically a tutorial for "Void mode"! When you beat the game once and unlock Void mode..........that's when the real fun begins!


Fun Indie Adventure

juxtaposed_j | Dec. 23, 2013 | See all juxtaposed_j's reviews »

Unique title in which you play as Born in the fantasy, magical world of Nihilumbra a void. This title uses colours and physics to create a very special and enchanting user experience, the soundtrack is nice also. If you are into small, unique, abstract independent games this is worth investing some time in.