Reviews for Sonic Adventure DX CAP

70

Decent game

Scorpy | Jan. 14, 2013 | See all Scorpy's reviews »

Sonic Adventure DX isn't the best Adventure game (that is reserved for 2), but it's not a bad game by any means. It introduced quite a slew of new, cool ideas that were used in later Sonic games.

The one qualm I have is that the game feels unfinished. It's very broken and unpolished. The port itself is decent, but it's just not that great of a finished product.

Still, for modern Sonic fans, this game is a must have.

93

A Blast From the Past

HeadCrabZombie | Jan. 14, 2013 | See all HeadCrabZombie's reviews »

This game used to keep me entertained for hours upon end, and it still holds up to this day. The graphics are a bit dated, given they were made for the dreamcast, but the gameplay is very smooth, and the level design is phenomonal! The voice acting is a it iffy, and the lip syncing is horrendous, but all around this is a really fun game!

90

Great classic from SEGA Dreamcast

Lippe1989 | Dec. 26, 2012 | See all Lippe1989's reviews »

Sonic Adventure was the first 3D Sonic game, but 3D for real. It gives us a diffrent proposal. You will not only run and run as we always do with Sonic, but will also walk on the stage, talk with other characters and explore more the environment. But of course. We are talking about our favorite blue hedgehog. You will run a lot playing with him. As I said, playing with him, because another interesting thing about this game is that you can also play with others charachters. It is amazing. The gameplay changes completely as the same way as the story. The gameplay of the game is very good remembering that we are talking about an old game from Dreamcast. The graphics are beautiful. Not as Sonic Generations of course but very beautiful like a lot of SEGA Dreamcast games. I only can recommend this game. It is excellent.

90

One of the best Sonic 3D game

antonioli84 | Dec. 23, 2012 | See all antonioli84's reviews »

When I first played this game it was on my old Dreamcast. It was a different way to play because was a 3D Sonic. And I really liked it. The graphics continues to be beautiful even nowadays. The gameplay is not perfect but it is good. There are a difference between this Sonic and the previous that is not only regarding the 3D. In this game you will have to speak with the others, have to go here and there, a little bit different from only running and running. But most of the time you will be running because is the best that our blue friend does. Another interesting thing is that we can play with different characters (not only Tails or Knuckles) and each of them has a different type of game and our objectives. It is amazing for sure. If you played this game, play it again because you know how good it is. If you never played...c'mon buy this cheap game and go play to see what is a 3D Sonic well done.

90

One of the best DreamCast titles of all.

ViTALiTY | Dec. 14, 2012 | See all ViTALiTY's reviews »

This game has amazing graphics for the so much underrated DreamCast, Playing with Sonic, Tails and Knuckles can be a lot of fun, but I don't think it applies to Amy, Big and E-102 Gamma (the robot character), as they are slower and it doesn't seem much work has been put on those characters, and yea I guess you would expect that being a Sonic game.

And it's simple, Sonic and the other two have fast-running, adrenaline-filled levels, that can really be a lot of fun to play. The others not so much. The story line is kind of boring and adapted to kids, but still good enough for the average aged player.

Bottom of all, great game, great graphics, great playing, and it is guaranteed to give you some hours of great fun.

84

The best 3D Sonic game

panz3r88 | Aug. 11, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Sonic Adventure is one of the first Sonic game in 3D. Every element present in the classic 2D Sonic games is reproduced well even with the new dimension and you must still travel at high speed through a level to reach the end. One of the best element of Sonic Adventure is the possibility of control other character like Tails, Knuckles and others that have a slightly different moves with respect to Sonic.This element adds a good variety to the gameplay. Sonic Adventure is a must have for every Sonic fan and it's a good 3D platform game,but the 2D titles are better

40

A completely broken game

Aquanauta | June 7, 2012 | See all Aquanauta's reviews »

The first thing you will notice upon launching this game is the fact you have a limited number of 3 "activations" for a borderline abandonware game you just brought, what a better way to introduce itself to the player.

After being reminded that you now enjoy the privilege of two more activations the game will start in an absolutely horrid aspect ratio constricted into a tiny window. There is no way to correct this from inside the game.

You will have to hunt down the config.exe file, which, of course, does not work at all. At this point you begin to wonder if simply downloading a dreamcast image and running the game into an emulator would provide a more seamless experience.

Then you will try your luck by editing the config.ini file by hand, which, unsurprisingly does not work either. You have to copy the file into some random folder inside My Documents for the game to acknoledge its existence.

Of course the game configuration tool will still fail to work, therefore you must hunt down patches and tutorials around the web to make a legally bought piece of software operate.

The game itself is the classic we all know and love. Although the experience of running it in modern hardware sadly does not improve the expierience one iota. If SEGA had concerned itself with setting up a proper framework for this classic instead of activations and DRM perhaps we would have gotten a nice nostalgia trip capable of displaying properly in a wide screen monitor.

40

A completely broken game

Aquanauta | June 7, 2012 | See all Aquanauta's reviews »

The first thing you will notice upon launching this game is the fact you have a limited number of 3 "activations" for a borderline abandonware game you just brought, what a better way to introduce itself to the player.

After being reminded that you now enjoy the privilege of two more activations the game will start in an absolutely horrid aspect ratio constricted into a tiny window. There is no way to correct this from inside the game.

You will have to hunt down the config.exe file, which, of course, does not work at all. At this point you begin to wonder if simply downloading a dreamcast image and running the game into an emulator would provide a more seamless experience.

Then you will try your luck by editing the config.ini file by hand, which, unsurprisingly does not work either. You have to copy the file into some random folder inside My Documents for the game to acknoledge its existence.

Of course the game configuration tool will still fail to work, therefore you must hunt down patches and tutorials around the web to make a legally bought piece of software operate.

The game itself is the classic we all know and love. Although the experience of running it in modern hardware sadly does not improve the expierience one iota. If SEGA had concerned itself with setting up a proper framework for this classic instead of activations and DRM perhaps we would have gotten a nice nostalgia trip capable of displaying properly in a wide screen monitor.

68

Sonic 3DX

emperor20 | Aug. 19, 2011 | See all emperor20's reviews »

Instead of having the usual story of Robotnik stealing emeralds, you now have some complex story about Eggman and Earth. I don't know how they came up with this nonsense, but the story is one small part of the Sonic X anime. If you saw either of them you will be spoiled on the plot. The gameplay is a collection of mini and not so mini games, specific to each character. Flying, fishing, digging, and other things that makes itself different than the usual side-scrolling rampage.

54

WoW

hotmando1 | Aug. 15, 2011 | See all hotmando1's reviews »

This game is amazing. But I prefer the 2d. Sonic plays out like you would expect it to play out. But personally, 3d isn't all that fit for sonic. It's okay. Sometimes you can't see where your going, but those air times are pretty awesome. Just running off a ramp is fun and amazing. Graphics aren't that solid but good enough for any sonic titles! Storyline...you can just wiki it. The story really feels like it's for kids. so I don't think it'll appeal to adults much. Still, a lot of good fun!

70

Sonic - but not as I remember it

hisnameisrob | April 8, 2011 | See all hisnameisrob's reviews »

I loved Sonic 1 and Sonic 2 on my Sega Master System II back in the early nineties. In two dimensions you got to know the levels very well as you played them over and over again.

I won't be playing Sonic Adventure DX over and over again. Sadly, I think it has too many faults for me to want to spend a lot of time with it: - the voice acting is very irritating. - The game insists on loading in a window which fills the entire width of my monitor but only uses two thirds of the height of it. - Despite the very wide window the game has bars on the side like you get when you watch an old 4:3 SD programme on an HDTV. - I can't seem to get the game to go full screen. - The levels seem very short and often I've completed one without really feeling I've done much. Sometimes spinning at the right moment seems to mean you shoot through the level without having to do anything at all.

Despite these flaws I am certain people who knew Sonic in the days of the Dreamcast (I never had one) will love the opportunity to reminisce. Even of you're not one of these people at this price you may still get enjoyment from this game.

75

A low price for a classic slice of console history.

GAMERamble | April 8, 2011 | See all GAMERamble's reviews »

I still remember when this game first came out looking at it in all the magazines and really wishing I could play it. Of course that was way back in 1999 when it was a Dreamcast launch title. Fortunately I was never tempted to buy myself an ill fated Dreamcast and when it went under Sega of course went on to focus on their software instead. This then is how Sonic Adventure makes its’ debut on computer and I didn’t hesitate to finally check it out. The computer market differs quite a bit from consoles so I can’t imagine what the average computer gamer would think of playing an aging console title in this day and age but I think this game is aimed squarely at the fans of the spiky blue one.

In case you don’t know the story by now it centers around the evil Dr. Robotnik and his latest madcap plan. He’s once again after the seven chaos emeralds this time to summon up some powerful monster called “chaos”. Sonic is there to make sure this doesn’t happen though and he’ll also meet up with a few of his friends in this adventure. Although this game is getting a bit long in the tooth by now there’s still a lot to get excited about here for Sonic fans and while it might look like just another simple console game at first glance you’d be surprised at how long this one will keep you busy. You can of course just breeze through in two or three hours if you do the bare minimum and don’t’ care about any of the extras or endings but true fans will find themselves hooked for days unlocking everything on offer.

Since this was a Dreamcast game like I said the graphics which once looked so awesome look a little dusty compared to recent fare and unfortunately Sega hasn’t done much to improve things for the computer. The gameworld is quite big and everything is fully 3d but the textures are pretty basic and don’t expect any fancy new features like bump mapping, pixel shaders or anything like that. The level designs are some of the craziest I’ve ever seen though and twist and turn in all directions. You might be running down the side of a building one moment or soaring high up into the heart of a tornado the next. Playing as Sonic the game is lighting fast and all those loops, twists and turns now look better than ever. There are about ten levels set in locations like the Emerald Coast, Windy Valley, Twinkle Park, Lost World and more. Of course this wouldn’t be much of an adventure game if there weren’t adventure segments too and while these parts are pretty basic they do flesh the game out a bit more than just running around would have. You’ll mostly be strolling around Station Central or the Mystic Ruins taking to people and following very basic clues to the next location but it’s a nice touch none the less. It will also be in these segments that you usually meet the other characters that you can unlock and then use to play the game. In total there are six unique characters (not counting Super Sonic which only the hardcore players will unlock) to play with and each one is totally unique.

While the Sonic levels might be all about speed playing as Big the cat sees you catching fish to finish levels. Or how about searching for emerald fragments as Knuckles. If you like a bit more action and shooting then E-102 is your man er robot and for those with a cutesy side Amy Rose will brighten your game. While these extra characters might not have as much levels as Sonic they are a lot of fun to play with and change the way you play completely making for some varied and unique challenges. It’s clear to see that Sega tried to cram as much as possible into this game and the effort really pays off. The game is also jam packed with little bonus games like playing pinball in the casino, snowboarding or even a fully fledged breeding/racing game where you raise little creatures called “Chao”. This segments (which are completely optional) alone can keep you busy for ages. Completing levels and objects also earns you emblems and the good news is that for every twenty you collect you unlock a new mini game. These aren’t your average mini games though as they consist of previous Sonic titles that came out for earlier consoles like the Game Gear. Show me what true Sonic fan won’t be thrilled to have these earlier classics. You’ll have to work hard to get them all though.

If the replay value wasn’t high enough already with all the characters once you complete Adventure mode you’ll also open up Trial and Mission modes for that character. Trial mode simply allows you to redo levels with new objectives like time limits or other goals in order to earn more emblems. Mission mode is more like an adventure game as you wander around finding cards that give you a specific goal to aim for and then go try and complete it. So while you might complete the game with Sonic in a day or two doing absolutely everything you can possibly do in this game could literally take weeks. Knowing the average computer player I have my doubts as to whether many will go this far.

The audio is just about bearable and each of the characters has their own corny theme tune always playing in the background. All the main characters also have full speech and overall the voice overs aren’t too bad. If you plan on seriously playing this game I highly recommend a gamepad though. In fact mine got busted in the middle of the game and playing with the keyboard met with disastrous results. I rather waited until my gamepad was fixed than muddle on with the keyboard. Bottom line is if you don’t have a gamepad get one or prepare to suffer severe carpel tunnel syndrome.

So far I haven’t really gone into any negative points and unfortunately the game has quite a few. The dated graphics I can still live with but the horrible camera problems really suck and at times almost spoil the game. The camera has this nasty habit of constantly switching angles while your playing and this can result in some untimely deaths if you don’t pay attention to what direction you’re traveling in. In the slower segments the camera is also often obscured by parts of the scenery or struggle to keep up with you if you move around too fast. You can manually reposition the thing but it’s still a hassle and considering the level layouts in this game something that should have been more polished. The game can also become slightly repetitive after a while and the challenge level isn’t that high. There are a few other annoying niggles but nothing as bad and nothing that will detract fans from playing the game.

Sonic Adventure is going to appeal only to a certain type of player who loves squeezing every ounce of fun out of a game. Those just looking for a game with graphics that will impress their friends and the usual computer style gameplay won’t like this. While Sonic Adventure might not be the landmark title it was when it first appeared it’s still a fun and long lasting game that will thrill action fans. At least it adds some variety to the usual stale assortment of computer games.