Reviews for Crazy Taxi DNS

80

A different take on arcade racing

sweetcuppincake | Sept. 28, 2012 | See all sweetcuppincake's reviews »

If you've ever played an arcade racing game, you'll be familiar with the mechanic of the ticking clock. Pass through checkpoint to gain more time and try to finish the race. Crazy Taxi puts a new spin on that by taking you out of the race. The checkpoints are your fares and the faster you go and crazier you drive, the more time and money you get for dropping them off. The game still plays great. No complaints about the port except for one thing. Obviously, the soundtrack rights would have cost a lot to keep for this port, so people who remember the original may be disappointed by that, but the game still plays the same. Very fun and still nothing like it.

96

I don't always drive a taxi, but when I do, it's crazy.

Raoin | Sept. 3, 2012 | See all Raoin's reviews »

I lost the count of hours I spent playing Crazy Taxi on my old Dreamcast. I'm not a fan of racing games, but I found this one really interesting. The game itself is quite simple. Yet, the game is still fun because it works like it purposes to - you know, just be a crazy taxi driver! You drives through the city and have to transport passengers to randomly locations while the time runs out. Definitely, Crazy Taxi deserves a try. I highly recommend it.

72

Good arcade racing

panz3r88 | Aug. 31, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Crazy taxi is a simple game. You must take a passenger and reach the destination as fast as you can to earn more money and avoid game over. This is an arcade racing, so if you hit walls or other car the only effect is that you lose speed and time. The game is fun, but a bit repetitive, because you must always do the same thing , the only reason to keep playing it is to improve your scores. The alternatives to this gameplay are a few challenges where you must use your taxi in very funny situations.

94

Classic insanity

Cooberstooge | Aug. 30, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

For such a simple idea, Crazy Taxi has evolved into a legendary title. There's just something so disturbingly fun about earning your place by choosing to run over pedestrians to shave off one more second from your time and get the passenger to their destination that much sooner.

The graphics, despite being hopelessly out of date, only add to the charm of the game. You're always guaranteed to have a smooth run, even with tons of action on screen at once. The sounds are unbeatable, with your trip always accompanied by screaming pedestrians, things being smashed to bits, and the motor of your cab racing.

Even having to replay a route because you screwed up and didn't arrive on time isn't a big deal, since Crazy Taxi is just so awesome. The more stunts and risks you take, the more your fare will pay you - there's literally no limit to the things you can get yourself into while just trying to earn an honest days' pay.

I've never once encountered any problems with this little gem, on any of the operating systems I've been using while playing it. I completely recommend this game, it's just that good.

82

Good ol' game

xgatto | Aug. 2, 2012 | See all xgatto's reviews »

Great old game for playing a while, pretty simple and easy to pick up. The goal is just one, drive people to their destination and make money within the required time. But its all about the high scores, just like old games used to be. There is also challenges, which require you to do certain things, like drive that guy downhill in X time, but dont bump the car, or something like that. But the arcade mode its really where you'll be playing most time. Map is well designed and has some cool spots to make jumps and tricks, so if you get to know the town real well, you'll have a huge advantage.

85

Great for nostalgic times!

Babelfish343 | Oct. 12, 2011 | See all Babelfish343's reviews »

If you ever played the game back on Dreamcast, you will understand immediately the fun to be had!

Just like Midtown Madness, you drive around a car with no respect to road rules and crash through anything that gets in your way! In Crazy Taxi, you have to pickup and drop-off customers as fast as possible, all while causing chaos and destruction in your path behind you and listening to a rocking soundtrack!

This game will have you laughing and driving like a maniac for ages! Awesome!

81

I am going to be a Crazy Taxi

dr_house95 | Aug. 19, 2011 | See all dr_house95's reviews »

If you're bored, this game is going to brighten the day. The gameplay is very good, simple as only accelerate, break and bend. The goal is to bring the customer to their destination, whether on the road run over some things, we must reach in the shortest possible time. Graphically, as expected, is not very good, as it is a remake of the Sega game. In order to have fun and have a good time, Crazy Taxi is a very good option.

90

Awesome game

vigotski | July 2, 2011 | See all vigotski's reviews »

The concept is incredible. Driving like a madman that cab is absolute fun! The songs complete the mood and they will help you to feel like doing, as the title says, Crazy Taxi! It's a must-have for everyone!

82

Remarkable nostalgia

ravenholt | June 27, 2011 | See all ravenholt's reviews »

This game is very good. Be a taxi driver, get a passenger, and take them to their destination as fast as you can. every point you get will increase the game time. very great to have fun. truly recommended to enjoy.

75

A great classic!

thomasgjj | June 25, 2011 | See all thomasgjj's reviews »

This game was great! I remember being so much younger and playing for hours upon hours really having no clue what was going on, but that didn't stop me from enjoying it!

I would highly recommend this to anyone who has or hasn't played at as it use to be such a good game!

40

One of the iconic titles of it's time.

Aladar | May 25, 2011 | See all Aladar's reviews »

Do you remember when you used to play this game with your friends, and had lots of fun with this? If you are one of the fans of this game from it's glory days, I guess you don't need any reviews to get this game - if you, however, never played any Crazy Taxi adaptation before.. Well, I would recommend you to look elsewhere. The game didn't really age well, and what once was fun to many, is now just mediocre game plagues by bad port (emulation?). I would recommend looking for some of the PC ports of the series, but beware - riding the Crazy Taxi isn't as fun as it once used to be..

45

Classic, but buggy

PharaohsVizier | April 6, 2011 | See all PharaohsVizier's reviews »

I had fond memories playing Crazy Taxi on my Dreamcast years and years ago. The moment I saw that the games was being ported over to the PC, I immediately purchased it. Though it was faithful, and pretty much a straight port, the game froze pretty frequently between load screens.

The game itself is fantastic, just like I remembered it. Some of the gameplay is a little archaic by today's standards, for example the reverse and acceleration swap was sort of annoying, but again this is exactly as it was years ago.

For a couple of bucks this game would have been worth it had it been bug free, but I honestly cannot recommend it because of the troubles it caused me.

70

The past is always better

wahidasoldier | April 6, 2011 | See all wahidasoldier's reviews »

I remember playing this on my (still working) Dreamcast. For today's standard the graphics aren't that great, but, the gameplay is just awesome. The humor, something that I can never get past. One word: Rofl and LOL. Ok two words. Now I never figured out the objective of this game, all I do is drive around town and earn money.

The game is great, but very buggy running on my Windows 7 x64. It wouldn't even save the game.

Sega, where's my Crazy Taxi 2????