Reviews for Sid Meier's Civilization® V: The Complete Edition (NA)

88

EPIC

TribalJeebus | May 4, 2014 | See all TribalJeebus's reviews »

I never was into these type of games but was looking for something new to play and grabbed this on sale. One of the biggest time consumers ive ever played, you literally space for hours and lose all track of time from the moment you click next turn. Highly recommended for any higher level gamers.

88

Unique, fun, in depth, and worth it

cup99 | April 14, 2014 | See all cup99's reviews »

Civilization V is a mental man's game. It doesn't require lightning reflexes, speed or precision, however it is probably one of the most complex games ever made with its unique faction building up system. Take control of your favorite leaders throughout history in your favorite time periods, trade, befriend, or dominate your adjacent civilizations to become the very best. Play from ancient times to futuristic times, with multiple ways to achieve victory and call your civilization the very best. Great online system that is similar to single player, but it seems much more fun with friends.

95

Complete edition gives a completely fun game

mkolp0 | Feb. 18, 2014 | See all mkolp0's reviews »

It took a while, but now Sid Meier's Civilization V is finally complete, with all the dlc and expansions packaged into a single game, ready to give a completely amazing experience for those who play. While the base game itself has loads to do, you could spend plenty of hours upon that only, but the dlc just adds so much new material and scenarios that brings so much more to the table. You just have so much more to play with when you have the complete edition. The gameplay is simple, where a beginner wouldn't have too much trouble learning, but there is a load of depth within that makes playing against other players so much fun. If you don't already own the game, even if you haven't played an entry of the series, you should definitely try it out.

90

Awesome

Robster99 | Feb. 13, 2014 | See all Robster99's reviews »

This game is a very fun game, turn base games are very cool especially this one, with u going all way from the past to the future This is a strategy game and it takes u a while to make a plan and then move your units. The one thing i dont like about this game is the AI and how when u want to team up with them it takes forever and then they all ways rip u off but u cant rip them off with your goods. Another great thing about this game is the graphics when u build a wonder it is great to look at. At the end of this i just want to say it is a little addicting and and if u play the world map it will take u like 2 weeks if u like to play a long time.

99

Amazing

ZephyrFlash | Feb. 12, 2014 | See all ZephyrFlash's reviews »

Civ V is one of those games that you wish every video game was like: absorbing, entertaining, perfectly executed. This is one of those games you can sit down and play for an entire weekend and still be late for whatever you've got going on Monday morning, The amount of time and effort you put into your civilization pays off though when after hours upon hours of raising your empire up from the dirt you can claim victory through a variety of different scenarios. This is then repeated with various other civilizations until well-another Civ game comes out. If you want a game that will be remembered for years to come this it it.

85

Excellent game, but issues with large long multiplayer games.

SlamminS85 | Feb. 12, 2014 | See all SlamminS85's reviews »

As most reviews of civilization games state, this game is unmatched in the world domination turn based strategy category. I won't go into a lot of the single player campaigns or the actual gameplay mechanics, this review is focused more on multiplayer.

When starting a multiplayer game, initially things go really well. You can play with friends against a computer or with friends against friends. The gameplay is turn based as normal, and if you are just playing against the AI, the turns happen rather quickly early on. The further and longer you play, the longer it takes for turns to cycle. This can reach a point around the year 2000 where the game essentially stops being fun if you have not conquered some of the AI opponents by then. When the game cycles turns, calculating the automated workers for all human players and for the AI causes the game to take minutes to cycle.

Other than this, the gameplay is excellent, and the slow down is avoided by engaging the enemy and not setting your workers to automate.

95

A game seriously worth getting

ChristianBurger | Feb. 11, 2014 | See all ChristianBurger's reviews »

Originally I just got this game because it was a choice of this and another game. I am so glad I picked Civ V! This game has great depth and fun for along time even without DLC, which is worth it considering the price vs how much content is added. My friends and I have had hours of fun strategizing and ganging up on the other civilisations. Even without DLC, the Steam workshop has countless dedicated fans who constantly produce fun little content packs to add. Definitely buy it if you have the chance.

95

A game seriously worth getting

ChristianBurger | Feb. 11, 2014 | See all ChristianBurger's reviews »

Originally I just got this game because it was a choice of this and another game. I am so glad I picked Civ V! This game has great depth and fun for along time even without DLC, which is worth it considering the price vs how much content is added. My friends and I have had hours of fun strategizing and ganging up on the other civilisations. Even without DLC, the Steam workshop has countless dedicated fans who constantly produce fun little content packs to add. Definitely buy it if you have the chance

95

Great Game, Great Value

Alexcalibur | Feb. 8, 2014 | See all Alexcalibur's reviews »

To say I have logged a lot of hours in Civilization V is an understatement - I have spent close to 600 hours playing this game. I bought it back when it first came out and have bought every expansion since. Over the years this game has developed into one of the most full-featured strategy games I have ever experienced. Between an improved combat system, a new religion and tourism system, and improved diplomatic options, there are literally hundreds of ways of going about becoming the greatest nation in the world. I cannot recommend a game more than this masterpiece.

91

Simply Amazing

Darius1 | Feb. 8, 2014 | See all Darius1's reviews »

3 hours into this game and going! First, you choose your leader/civilization, for example; George Washington (America), Gandhi (India), etc. It's a turn base strategy game. You first find a place to established your city, it gives you options to pick where your city location and it will depend on it for resources. It's all about timing and strategy in this game. You have to attack at the right time, and research/build. Early game, you focus on expanding your city, by buying titles, researching and building the right buildings. But this game may be hard to get into for beginners because you need the got to know what to build/research and when to attack. But online guides can help with that, but when you get into the game, you'll get addicted and love it. With the complete edition, you get all of the DLCs, maps, etc. which adds to your overall game play experience. Overall, this is one of the best strategy/turn base games I ever played, and I recommend who's into strategy games, and for beginners who wants to get into strategy games.

94

One of the Best Games I've Played

koticpaxx | Feb. 7, 2014 | See all koticpaxx's reviews »

Sid Meier's Civilization V is a strategy-based game that requires you to to think thoroughly before performing actions. Choose any civilization from any time period and lead them to greatness. When I first got this game, I was iffy as I would find that it would've been boring. Boy, was I wrong. I have ever so thanked my friend for recommending this game to me, to whom I am grateful for. The first civilizations from the core game is great, but repetitive game play with them can lead to a foul taste in the mouth. However, the DLCs provide even more great selections. And worry not, fellow gamers, the DLCs are not just expensive ways to get you to pay, but also add a TON of content added on top of your game. The actual gameplay itself is not that bad, with the tutorials, though long, really does it's job. I also like how they give you recommendations on what to do just in case if your stuck, but don't worry, you can turn them off in the settings. The imagery is very beautiful, especially after you've built a wonder. The actual graphics itself is not exactly breath-taking, but it does not take away from the actual experience itself. All in all, I would highly recommend this game to all who love strategy games, as this is a must-have. Don't buy the DLCs right away, as you may not have the time to invest into them. The only question remaining, will YOUR civilization stand the test of time?